Best place for foreign used R Tyres?

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

soo

Re: Best place for foreign used R Tyres?

Postby soo » June 18th, 2010, 5:40 pm

lol aite thanks. i tried out my car for the first time at the bycc that just went. the tyres (sumitomo htr200) held ok. but could be better. then again i am fwd.

Postby X_Factor » July 1st, 2010, 3:15 pm

i'll hav a pair of Potenzas RE-01R's to sell soon
will post pics when i get back in the country next week

Postby MG Man » July 1st, 2010, 9:55 pm

soo wrote:lol aite thanks. i tried out my car for the first time at the bycc that just went. the tyres (sumitomo htr200) held ok. but could be better. then again i am fwd.

I was never impressed with those (RWD)
ok for daily driving, but for dex, back end was all over the place

Postby wagonrunner » July 1st, 2010, 10:43 pm

MG Man wrote:I was never impressed with those (RWD)
ok for daily driving, but for dex, back end was all over the place

but enough about you, what's your opinion on the RWD car's handling?

Postby pete » July 2nd, 2010, 8:19 am

X_Factor wrote:i'll hav a pair of Potenzas RE-01R's to sell soon
will post pics when i get back in the country next week

What sorta price u looking at?

Postby X_Factor » July 2nd, 2010, 8:58 am

500.00 but tentatively sold already yes

Postby pete » July 2nd, 2010, 1:20 pm

No probs man.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 21st, 2010, 12:53 pm

Anyone have any other suggestions besides Chippy's? Used to go to John's but finding a good pair is becoming harder everytime as the boys are playing hide and seek.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 14th, 2011, 11:53 am

Anyone willing to try BigZ's Kuhmos for Dex?

Saw his stickier tyres wasnt priced that badly.. viewtopic.php?f=6&t=359292

Thinking bout the KU15 in particular

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » April 14th, 2011, 1:38 pm

17" in the KU15s? I say go for it!

drinker41

Postby drinker41 » April 15th, 2011, 12:05 am

went chippys last week and got 4 potenza re050 for like 800 tires seem to be good .. we will see sunday

drinker41

Postby drinker41 » April 15th, 2011, 12:16 am

ohh and there is some kumho racing tire by the rim place in st joseph right after the bridge 900 for one didnt find out the exact name or anything

Postby pete » April 15th, 2011, 7:21 am

What size you got the potenzas in? I got a pair of turanza er50s at chippy's but they're more a comfort tyre than a performance summer tyre so even though the treadwear is 140 I don't find they had too much grip. Could just be a mental thing though. I gonna have to go back to chippy's before solodex 3 to see what I can find.

Rudman

Postby Rudman » April 15th, 2011, 7:25 am

^Please don't.....yuh sharing enough cutarse as it is already. Dem Turanzas wuckin.

Postby pete » April 15th, 2011, 7:37 am

I switched from the turanzas back to the sumitomos for the last two runs. But now one is completely smooth so I don't think I can use that again.

Rudman

Postby Rudman » April 15th, 2011, 10:37 am

Crap! yuh mean is dem HTR 50Z that took the last run last dex? Sounds like yuh should fine some more of those. They were $525 when last I saw them.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 19th, 2011, 11:34 am

got some nice 245 45 17 re050 from johns on thursday

chipps only had continental tires and those are 280 tw vs re050 is 180

Postby pete » April 19th, 2011, 2:02 pm

How much John's charge for those tyres? From my last experience going there I will never be back. Not helpful at all and they don't know wtf they have. I guess the problem is just my tyre size 205/45R16 and 205/50R15 they didn't have any good tyres in those sizes at johns.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 19th, 2011, 2:20 pm

i paid 500 for a pair

at first he tell me go look for my own tire

i went lookign and when a worker pass by i hail him and say help me nah i lookign for blah blah blah

i always tip them a 40 or so when i leaving. next time i come by they always sort me out nice nice
rememebr tip them and they will keep the tires for u :)

Postby Dave » April 20th, 2011, 8:53 am

does terry/tony by the firestation in santa cruz still deal?

in the day, always found some great tyres by him

drinker41

Postby drinker41 » May 1st, 2011, 12:06 am

madcrix watch them re050s ....... mine missing a chunk in the centre ( like a tear) after bycc n the ones i got were 235/45 r17 i believe one more dex and they done paid 200 a tire

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 2nd, 2011, 11:56 am

been using reo50's about 2 years now from chippys and johns.
never had a bad set and they last bout 3 dex. infact since i doh dex anymore, they last REALLY long on the street. tire never miss a beat in rain or sun. my alternative tire is michellin sport pilot 2 but that is a 220 tw tire.

drinker41

Postby drinker41 » May 3rd, 2011, 12:54 am

im now trying them out they seem good for dex but ruff on the road compared to the toyos i had before

NST

Postby NST » May 8th, 2011, 2:14 am

pete wrote:How much John's charge for those tyres? From my last experience going there I will never be back. Not helpful at all and they don't know wtf they have. I guess the problem is just my tyre size 205/45R16 and 205/50R15 they didn't have any good tyres in those sizes at johns.

pete if you find anything decent in the 16" dept..gimme a shout plz..i fighting the same battle you are

alexx7x

Postby alexx7x » March 7th, 2018, 8:19 am

Whats the best place for used tires?

nailsmagnet

Re:

Postby nailsmagnet » October 8th, 2018, 3:24 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
chris1388 wrote:where chippy's is exactly ??

chaguanas...before jack's tyres if you're heading east..there's an insurance company right on the corner as well,i think is maritime

Thanks for the link.

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”