Page 1 of 2
My First Solodex!
Posted: June 28th, 2009, 9:49 pm
by Spectre
After spectating Solodex events for over a year, i finally got the "courage" to participate and i must say that my first solodex was really awesome!! and i just want to publicly thank the CARS executive for hosting such an amazing event and for making me a first timer feel like very comfortable. Although i came in forth in my class, ne1, fastest time was like a 94.9somthing i think that im really hooked on this type of motor sport and im really looking forward to the next event, i dont mean to bash anyone but.....anybody could drive in a straight line..

but it takes REAL skill to pilot around hairpin turns without missing a beat! Any way the day was well spent and i had lots of fun, so see you fellow dexers on the 19th. (oh! how come so much experienced dexers got DNFs?..strange huh?)
Posted: June 28th, 2009, 10:21 pm
by chris1388
^^ course was particularly tricky hence the amount of DNF's
Posted: June 28th, 2009, 10:25 pm
by MrD15Bvti
tricky 4 certain ppl, cause this was my first time and i got 1 dnf!!
So it would be better 2 say everybody level of intelligence different.
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 12:00 am
by Spectre
ouch!!

Posted: June 29th, 2009, 7:59 am
by saltydog
dont worry about the dnf's you will get the hang of it. next time walk the course till you know it, you should not be thinking where to next you should be thinking 2 corners ahead.
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 8:40 am
by Blue
I had great fun for my first time back out after more than a year. But while my car has the power I just can't get it to the ground. How do you guys keep traction out of the corners and still maintain speed??
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 9:27 am
by ShIvAm
this was by far the best dex ive been to so far, i was tempted to enter but i chickened out

Posted: June 29th, 2009, 9:47 am
by MadCrix
if u fine u are spining tires on your way out of corners then you have to modulate the ex pedal
basically pumping it to maintain speed and little slipage
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 9:53 am
by SR
course was nto diffucult to navigate
i couldnt understand why soo many people got lost
people need ti understand that walking the course is key
as well as the 1st slow drive you dont stick up behind the man in front of you but give some space so you can see the course in front of you as well as the upcoming cones
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 9:56 am
by MadCrix
agreed that why i waited till last to go.. after everyone was finished i ran my drive through.. go to see the course as whole
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 10:11 am
by Ignorant Ignis
MadCrix wrote:agreed that why i waited till last to go.. after everyone was finished i ran my drive through.. go to see the course as whole
^^^^^ not me alone eh mr. salty dog.

Posted: June 29th, 2009, 10:16 am
by MadCrix
yea who vex tough saddest..
i not lining up in a huge mass of cars to do a "drive through"
the ppoint is to see teh course from yoru car.. u cah see the course if all u can see is a man bumper so
salty if yuh vex.. hard luck

Posted: June 29th, 2009, 10:17 am
by Blue
I agree. Now we'll all be doing that next time.
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 11:49 am
by chris1388
SR wrote:course was nto diffucult to navigate
i couldnt understand why soo many people got lost
people need ti understand that walking the course is key
as well as the 1st slow drive you dont stick up behind the man in front of you but give some space so you can see the course in front of you as well as the upcoming cones
Not being disrespectful or anything but i did see the white civic with the red wheels take the wrong corner to head back up to the cross on both first and second laps, when it was at the pointer cone you should be turning.
I did it as well no big deal we all make mistakes
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 12:03 pm
by TRDcorolla
chris1388 wat was ur best time
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 12:13 pm
by chris1388
Well my official best time was 86sec flat i think, but i did do 85.XX on my last run, it was a flawless run but i came into the finish box too hot, was literally STANDING on my brake pedal, ABS trying all how to slow me but i ended up a foot out of the box and they gave me a cone penalty
Not too bad for my 2nd event, will try again next time
Re: My First Solodex!
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 12:18 pm
by eurotuner
Spectre wrote:After spectating Solodex events for over a year, i finally got the "courage" to participate and i must say that my first solodex was really awesome!! and i just want to publicly thank the CARS executive for hosting such an amazing event and for making me a first timer feel like very comfortable. Although i came in forth in my class, ne1, fastest time was like a 94.9somthing i think that im really hooked on this type of motor sport and im really looking forward to the next event, i dont mean to bash anyone but.....anybody could drive in a straight line..

but it takes REAL skill to pilot around hairpin turns without missing a beat! Any way the day was well spent and i had lots of fun, so see you fellow dexers on the 19th. (oh! how come so much experienced dexers got DNFs?..strange huh?)
whe d arse is dis!! u in d mix now specs lol!! Ah commin BY U NOW!!!!
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 5:35 pm
by honda hoe
i found the course very confusing

Posted: June 29th, 2009, 5:37 pm
by chris1388
^^^Agreed, it was a bit confusing to the new comers
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 6:16 pm
by Spectre
Was i at the same solodex? The course was confusing??

uh...no it wasn't im a new comer, and i got no dnfs and yesterday was the first time i ever push my car so hard. First thing i did after i got my ride scrutinized, i walked the course with the experienced dexers and asked "stupid" questions

I dont mean to sound judgmental but.....come on dudes! allyuh serious?? and i agree with SR the 1st drive through is pretty crucial dosent make sense to stick up behind another driver...i could understand anew comer being a little nervous and missing a gate but fellas with the rippin rides "DNFing"?... yall need to come better than that. See yall on the 19th.
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 6:26 pm
by chris1388
You want a clap, a prize or a medal ? And after ALL that you just boast about you still come fourth, why you didnt win if you so high and mighty?
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 6:28 pm
by r3iXmann
Spectre wrote:Was i at the same solodex? The course was confusing??

uh...no it wasn't im a new comer, and i got no dnfs and yesterday was the first time i ever push my car so hard. First thing i did after i got my ride scrutinized, i walked the course with the experienced dexers and asked "stupid" questions

I dont mean to sound judgmental but.....come on dudes! allyuh serious?? and i agree with SR the 1st drive through is pretty crucial dosent make sense to stick up behind another driver...i could understand anew comer being a little nervous and missing a gate but fellas with the rippin rides "DNFing"?... yall need to come better than that. See yall on the 19th.
hmm@arrogance
anyways,i only walked the course twice and to be honest i didn't get to watch anybody run since i was second in line
but the course was a little tricky at some parts..say what,there's always next dex..at least i got to test my new ES bushings
also,my apologies for driving over the timing system wire

Posted: June 29th, 2009, 6:31 pm
by honda hoe
thread fail imminent
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 7:09 pm
by Spectre
My apologies if i sound "arrogant" all im sayin is that the measures that were put in place to ensure that everyone has good run are there for everyone's benefit and that ALL OF US (bess driver and novice) should try to make the most of it i.e. walking the course and the 1st drive through, thats all. Chris 1388 fourth is small ting it dosent matter to me i could of come last and i would have still had a blast! and thats what its all about. "Annoying Muffler Dude" LOL at the "thread fail imminent" comment good one! Say whatever yall want after this. Solodex rules!

Posted: June 29th, 2009, 7:10 pm
by Blue
MadCrix wrote:if u fine u are spining tires on your way out of corners then you have to modulate the ex pedal
This would call for some tricky clutch work then?
I should brake before I enter the corner, modulate clutch/gas through the corner and then axcellerate as I exit the corner?
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 7:33 pm
by r3iXmann
Blue wrote:MadCrix wrote:if u fine u are spining tires on your way out of corners then you have to modulate the ex pedal
I should brake before I enter the corner, modulate clutch/gas through the corner and then axcellerate as I exit the corner?
just feather the throttle when you're exiting (or during,if need be)...works for me
maybe somebody else has another technique
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 7:38 pm
by Blue
reiXmann wrote:Blue wrote:MadCrix wrote:if u fine u are spining tires on your way out of corners then you have to modulate the ex pedal
just feather the throttle when you're exiting (or during,if need be)...works for me
I'm usually still braking as I begin the turn, no gas through the turn and then axcellerate as soon as I feel grip out of the turn.
So I should brake before and be at turn speed as I enter then feather the throttle through (like you say)?
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 8:04 pm
by r3iXmann
nah,don't brake during the turn
Blue wrote:So I should brake before and be at turn speed as I enter then feather the throttle through (like you say)?
that's the principle (i'm open to correction

)
the feathering depends on the sharpness of the corner though
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 8:15 pm
by chris1388
Blue wrote:reiXmann wrote:Blue wrote:MadCrix wrote:if u fine u are spining tires on your way out of corners then you have to modulate the ex pedal
I'm usually still braking as I begin the turn, no gas through the turn and then axcellerate as soon as I feel grip out of the turn.
So I should brake before and be at turn speed as I enter then feather the throttle through (like you say)?
never coast through the corner, break in a straight line before the corner, set the car up for proper entry speed not too fast not too slow. Only experience will help you find the balance. As you enter the corner apply 1/4 throttle, slowly increase to half. As you hit the apex and start to come around go to 3/4 and as you start straightening up floor it.
Dex is about being smoothe not smashin the breaks or accelerator and making sudden sharp steering movements, its the complete opposite. You will find the most boring drive has the fastest time, where as one that is fast and stop go stop go a lot tends to be slower
Posted: June 29th, 2009, 8:18 pm
by Blue
^^ Excellent advice... thanks guys. I'm getting there.