My First Solodex!

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

Spectre
Location: Constanly using the savannah as my personal raceteack

My First Solodex!

Postby Spectre » June 28th, 2009, 9:49 pm

After spectating Solodex events for over a year, i finally got the "courage" to participate and i must say that my first solodex was really awesome!! and i just want to publicly thank the CARS executive for hosting such an amazing event and for making me a first timer feel like very comfortable. Although i came in forth in my class, ne1, fastest time was like a 94.9somthing i think that im really hooked on this type of motor sport and im really looking forward to the next event, i dont mean to bash anyone but.....anybody could drive in a straight line.. :twisted: but it takes REAL skill to pilot around hairpin turns without missing a beat! Any way the day was well spent and i had lots of fun, so see you fellow dexers on the 19th. (oh! how come so much experienced dexers got DNFs?..strange huh?)

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » June 28th, 2009, 10:21 pm

^^ course was particularly tricky hence the amount of DNF's

MrD15Bvti

Postby MrD15Bvti » June 28th, 2009, 10:25 pm

tricky 4 certain ppl, cause this was my first time and i got 1 dnf!!

So it would be better 2 say everybody level of intelligence different.

Spectre

Postby Spectre » June 29th, 2009, 12:00 am

ouch!! :mrgreen:

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » June 29th, 2009, 7:59 am

dont worry about the dnf's you will get the hang of it. next time walk the course till you know it, you should not be thinking where to next you should be thinking 2 corners ahead.

Blue

Postby Blue » June 29th, 2009, 8:40 am

I had great fun for my first time back out after more than a year. But while my car has the power I just can't get it to the ground. How do you guys keep traction out of the corners and still maintain speed??

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » June 29th, 2009, 9:27 am

this was by far the best dex ive been to so far, i was tempted to enter but i chickened out :mrgreen:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 29th, 2009, 9:47 am

if u fine u are spining tires on your way out of corners then you have to modulate the ex pedal

basically pumping it to maintain speed and little slipage

Postby SR » June 29th, 2009, 9:53 am

course was nto diffucult to navigate
i couldnt understand why soo many people got lost

people need ti understand that walking the course is key
as well as the 1st slow drive you dont stick up behind the man in front of you but give some space so you can see the course in front of you as well as the upcoming cones

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 29th, 2009, 9:56 am

agreed that why i waited till last to go.. after everyone was finished i ran my drive through.. go to see the course as whole

Postby Ignorant Ignis » June 29th, 2009, 10:11 am

MadCrix wrote:agreed that why i waited till last to go.. after everyone was finished i ran my drive through.. go to see the course as whole

^^^^^ not me alone eh mr. salty dog. :lol: :lol: :lol:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 29th, 2009, 10:16 am

yea who vex tough saddest..
i not lining up in a huge mass of cars to do a "drive through"

the ppoint is to see teh course from yoru car.. u cah see the course if all u can see is a man bumper so

salty if yuh vex.. hard luck :lol: :lol: :mrgreen:

Blue

Postby Blue » June 29th, 2009, 10:17 am

I agree. Now we'll all be doing that next time.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » June 29th, 2009, 11:49 am

SR wrote:course was nto diffucult to navigate
i couldnt understand why soo many people got lost

people need ti understand that walking the course is key
as well as the 1st slow drive you dont stick up behind the man in front of you but give some space so you can see the course in front of you as well as the upcoming cones

Not being disrespectful or anything but i did see the white civic with the red wheels take the wrong corner to head back up to the cross on both first and second laps, when it was at the pointer cone you should be turning.
I did it as well no big deal we all make mistakes

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » June 29th, 2009, 12:03 pm

chris1388 wat was ur best time

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » June 29th, 2009, 12:13 pm

Well my official best time was 86sec flat i think, but i did do 85.XX on my last run, it was a flawless run but i came into the finish box too hot, was literally STANDING on my brake pedal, ABS trying all how to slow me but i ended up a foot out of the box and they gave me a cone penalty :oops:
Not too bad for my 2nd event, will try again next time
Last edited by chris1388 on June 29th, 2009, 12:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

eurotuner

Re: My First Solodex!

Postby eurotuner » June 29th, 2009, 12:18 pm

Spectre wrote:After spectating Solodex events for over a year, i finally got the "courage" to participate and i must say that my first solodex was really awesome!! and i just want to publicly thank the CARS executive for hosting such an amazing event and for making me a first timer feel like very comfortable. Although i came in forth in my class, ne1, fastest time was like a 94.9somthing i think that im really hooked on this type of motor sport and im really looking forward to the next event, i dont mean to bash anyone but.....anybody could drive in a straight line.. :twisted: but it takes REAL skill to pilot around hairpin turns without missing a beat! Any way the day was well spent and i had lots of fun, so see you fellow dexers on the 19th. (oh! how come so much experienced dexers got DNFs?..strange huh?)

whe d arse is dis!! u in d mix now specs lol!! Ah commin BY U NOW!!!!

Postby honda hoe » June 29th, 2009, 5:35 pm

i found the course very confusing :oops:

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » June 29th, 2009, 5:37 pm

^^^Agreed, it was a bit confusing to the new comers

Spectre

Postby Spectre » June 29th, 2009, 6:16 pm

Was i at the same solodex? The course was confusing?? :roll: uh...no it wasn't im a new comer, and i got no dnfs and yesterday was the first time i ever push my car so hard. First thing i did after i got my ride scrutinized, i walked the course with the experienced dexers and asked "stupid" questions :mrgreen: I dont mean to sound judgmental but.....come on dudes! allyuh serious?? and i agree with SR the 1st drive through is pretty crucial dosent make sense to stick up behind another driver...i could understand anew comer being a little nervous and missing a gate but fellas with the rippin rides "DNFing"?... yall need to come better than that. See yall on the 19th.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » June 29th, 2009, 6:26 pm

You want a clap, a prize or a medal ? And after ALL that you just boast about you still come fourth, why you didnt win if you so high and mighty?

Postby r3iXmann » June 29th, 2009, 6:28 pm

Spectre wrote:Was i at the same solodex? The course was confusing?? :roll: uh...no it wasn't im a new comer, and i got no dnfs and yesterday was the first time i ever push my car so hard. First thing i did after i got my ride scrutinized, i walked the course with the experienced dexers and asked "stupid" questions :mrgreen: I dont mean to sound judgmental but.....come on dudes! allyuh serious?? and i agree with SR the 1st drive through is pretty crucial dosent make sense to stick up behind another driver...i could understand anew comer being a little nervous and missing a gate but fellas with the rippin rides "DNFing"?... yall need to come better than that. See yall on the 19th.

hmm@arrogance

anyways,i only walked the course twice and to be honest i didn't get to watch anybody run since i was second in line :lol:

but the course was a little tricky at some parts..say what,there's always next dex..at least i got to test my new ES bushings :twisted:

also,my apologies for driving over the timing system wire :oops:

Postby honda hoe » June 29th, 2009, 6:31 pm

thread fail imminent

Spectre

Postby Spectre » June 29th, 2009, 7:09 pm

My apologies if i sound "arrogant" all im sayin is that the measures that were put in place to ensure that everyone has good run are there for everyone's benefit and that ALL OF US (bess driver and novice) should try to make the most of it i.e. walking the course and the 1st drive through, thats all. Chris 1388 fourth is small ting it dosent matter to me i could of come last and i would have still had a blast! and thats what its all about. "Annoying Muffler Dude" LOL at the "thread fail imminent" comment good one! Say whatever yall want after this. Solodex rules! :twisted:

Blue

Postby Blue » June 29th, 2009, 7:10 pm

MadCrix wrote:if u fine u are spining tires on your way out of corners then you have to modulate the ex pedal

This would call for some tricky clutch work then?
I should brake before I enter the corner, modulate clutch/gas through the corner and then axcellerate as I exit the corner?

Postby r3iXmann » June 29th, 2009, 7:33 pm

Blue wrote:
MadCrix wrote:if u fine u are spining tires on your way out of corners then you have to modulate the ex pedal

I should brake before I enter the corner, modulate clutch/gas through the corner and then axcellerate as I exit the corner?

just feather the throttle when you're exiting (or during,if need be)...works for me

maybe somebody else has another technique

Blue

Postby Blue » June 29th, 2009, 7:38 pm

reiXmann wrote:
Blue wrote:

just feather the throttle when you're exiting (or during,if need be)...works for me

I'm usually still braking as I begin the turn, no gas through the turn and then axcellerate as soon as I feel grip out of the turn.
So I should brake before and be at turn speed as I enter then feather the throttle through (like you say)?

Postby r3iXmann » June 29th, 2009, 8:04 pm

nah,don't brake during the turn

Blue wrote:So I should brake before and be at turn speed as I enter then feather the throttle through (like you say)?

that's the principle (i'm open to correction :lol: )

the feathering depends on the sharpness of the corner though

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » June 29th, 2009, 8:15 pm

Blue wrote:
reiXmann wrote:
Blue wrote:

I'm usually still braking as I begin the turn, no gas through the turn and then axcellerate as soon as I feel grip out of the turn.
So I should brake before and be at turn speed as I enter then feather the throttle through (like you say)?

never coast through the corner, break in a straight line before the corner, set the car up for proper entry speed not too fast not too slow. Only experience will help you find the balance. As you enter the corner apply 1/4 throttle, slowly increase to half. As you hit the apex and start to come around go to 3/4 and as you start straightening up floor it.

Dex is about being smoothe not smashin the breaks or accelerator and making sudden sharp steering movements, its the complete opposite. You will find the most boring drive has the fastest time, where as one that is fast and stop go stop go a lot tends to be slower

Blue

Postby Blue » June 29th, 2009, 8:18 pm

^^ Excellent advice... thanks guys. I'm getting there.

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”