new rules for 2009

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

saltydog
CARS Member

new rules for 2009

Postby saltydog » December 23rd, 2008, 7:40 pm

As most of you know the rules are in the process of being updated and revised for the 2009 season. This has been long in coming and was supposed to be done last year. there are a few things still to be sorted out but for sure some of the things to come are

(1) Helmets are manditory.
(2) victor racers are a class bump

more to follow

Postby Ignorant Ignis » December 24th, 2008, 3:22 am

hhehhehehehhehehh

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » December 24th, 2008, 8:19 am

(2) victor racers are a class bump

Bye bye victors!..... :(

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » December 24th, 2008, 8:37 am

So......group buy on helmets?

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » December 24th, 2008, 8:42 am

I spoke to andy from Mini City in Valpark and he is willing to give good prices for a quantity order for the club. Pool together and make an order.

Also just in for the rules

(3) stickers (15bhp) = 5 points = class bump

amir - victors, stickers, flywheel etc = EP hehehehehehehe

merry christmas all, keep safe see you in the new year.

Postby SUPAstarr » December 24th, 2008, 9:18 am

bye bye 2nr sticka, do non branded decals count???

moti

Postby moti » December 24th, 2008, 9:17 pm

will we need helmets for the BYCC in january ?

how soon will we know about this " group buy " i interested in that

Postby Ignorant Ignis » December 24th, 2008, 9:54 pm

if i got a dollar for every time someone said i had a light weight flywheel i could have afforded one by now :| :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby gt4tified » December 28th, 2008, 2:12 am

What's the justification for helmets being mandatory? Is it we're just adopting to other clubs/countries standards? Just asking eh...... :mrgreen:

Postby MG Man » December 30th, 2008, 9:46 am

damit
I finally got me 4 victors and now it's a bump?
***steups***
.....what is the justification?

Regarding helmets, who will be checking proper fit and ratings? Reason being, a poorly fitting helmet is almost as bad as not wearing one. Also, I've seen people use older helmets that just have some hard styrofoam padding inside, which is basically the same as hard cork, and not very safe. I can also buy a cheap helmet from the Bajaj dealership, and they are not SNELL rated. Those helmets use an Indian / Asian rating, and I could find no SNELL cross reference. So.....helmets good..........as long as competitors know the standards required.....

moti

Postby moti » December 30th, 2008, 9:55 am

what are the standards and ratings required for these helmets ?

when buying a helmet what to look for, who has these helmets ?

does those helmets from mini city meet the requirements MG Man is speaking about ?

Postby MG Man » December 30th, 2008, 10:20 am

the helmets in MIniciti should be good to go
IMHO the most important thing for dex is the fit. You dont want the helmet too loose or too tight. Most ppl prefer open faced as they are cooler
We are not sure why helmets are required so I am just speculating and the CARS exec will have a better answer. But I think it's a move in the right direction

Postby MG Man » December 30th, 2008, 10:28 am

also, for the guys who never wore a helmet, weight is an important consideration. Full face helmets are heavier than open faced ones, and take some getting used to. As you move your head, the extra mass and inertia wants to keep your head moving when u try to stop. A foam neck support helps, but it is probably cheaper to just buy an open faced helmet

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » December 30th, 2008, 10:31 am

Helmets being introduced is obviously for safety reasons. The courses are getting faster and due to the broad spectrum of competitors we do not want to wait until we have an indicident to then say we should have done it. Besides we are involved in motorsport and as such need to follow all the safety measures.

Regarding the rules these will be given out at the first event. We have come up with a points system for modifications. It still has to be finalized but so far 5 points is a class bump. (victors = 5 points) There is a table of modifications that have point values e.g poly bushings 1 point. The point values are the last thing to tweak and then the rules will be published. There is also a new class EP-R which essentially is open class all mods allowed

We would like everyone that is driving on the 11th to wear a helmet, this will help you to get used to it before the first event. I will contact Banzai who has helmets to rent. Also MG man the helmets have to be up to standard as stated in the rules I believe it is Snell 2000 and above

moti

Postby moti » December 30th, 2008, 10:33 am

yup wouldn't want to keep hitting the side of the car all the time when cornering.
so the lighter the better for me

would like to know if this helmwt is needed for the bycc on the 11th of jan?

you will have the MG ready for january event ?

or are you still sitting on your cornflake

just make sure it's not a sunshine cornflake eh
they get stale really fast :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » December 30th, 2008, 10:34 am

the MG will be off the road for the next three to five years

Last edited by MG Man on December 30th, 2008, 10:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagonrunner » December 30th, 2008, 10:35 am

aye aye.
more progress. but..............
MG Man wrote:the MG will be off the road for the next three to five years where it belongs.

yuh leff out that
Last edited by wagonrunner on December 30th, 2008, 10:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » December 30th, 2008, 10:37 am

MG Man wrote:the MG will be off the road for the next three to five years where it belongs.

yuh leff out that

buttmunch :lol:

Postby SUPAstarr » December 30th, 2008, 11:17 am

closed helmets arnt so bad wore a closed faced for dex vs drags (jus need to remember to take glasses off before puttin them orn) :oops: . Even though i am superiorly slow i like the helmet idea, but i have a feel men with premium hairstyles might have a prob. :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » December 30th, 2008, 11:50 am

important to remember helmet shells are HARD. When you are dexing with your windows up and you car gets all squirrelly, you can whack the window pretty hard and crack it :!:

Postby wagonrunner » December 30th, 2008, 11:57 am

MG Man wrote:important to remember helmet shells are HARD. When you are dexing with your windows up and you car gets all squirrelly, you can whack the window pretty hard and crack it :!:

:(

i broke the glass which was wound down with my shoulder once, in the PAY 323. sigh............

:( hopefully this never happens in our daily drivers.

moti

Postby moti » December 30th, 2008, 7:51 pm

so who knows the average cost for an open face helmet ?

would like to get one before the bycc in january

Postby gt4tified » December 30th, 2008, 10:22 pm

MG Man wrote:the MG will be off the road for the next three to five years

a$$. :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » December 31st, 2008, 5:51 am

moti wrote:so who knows the average cost for an open face helmet ?

would like to get one before the bycc in january

was approx $600.
There was a motor cycle accessories place by HE Robinson on SMR after kaydonna where they where a bit less. mke sure it meets the SNELL req though.

Postby MG Man » December 31st, 2008, 6:38 am

gt4tified wrote:

a$$. :lol:

well does it LOOK like it will be ready?

Postby wagonrunner » December 31st, 2008, 7:26 am

MG Man wrote:well does it LOOK like it will be ready?

But that's the best i've ever seen it.

moti

Postby moti » December 31st, 2008, 8:06 am

so thats the same MG here right ?

damn what happened

rust ? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » December 31st, 2008, 8:41 am

yup
same car
Long overdue restoration in progress
The body has been completely stripped for a repaint
The engine and gearbox due for an overhaul
Trying to source a new dash panel
The big money items which will take the time are new carpets, new chrome trim, new interior trim. All readily available, just have to buy in parts over time, since I don't have all that cash to dump in one go.....I already have all the door and windo rubbers, new headlamp trim, new lenses and other bits waiting since 2005.....

The car does not have much rust. Some in the passenger footwell where water used to keep the carpets nice and damp, and the bottomof the doors. Otherwise, the shell is solid

check out the work here:

http://www.zorce.com/zforums/viewtopic. ... &start=180

Postby Team Loco » December 31st, 2008, 10:59 am

dammit, just got 8 new victors. saltydog, wayssss, set up. pressure for me since the low nature of the jep. it really needs some seriuos rubber to grip the track. oh well.
well the helmets aren't an issue for me hehe.

mg man, that exactly what happened to me! was racing with the windows up and i broke it. :lol: :lol:

btw, when is the first official dex? cause me engine out right now.

Postby MG Man » December 31st, 2008, 11:28 am

Loco, keep dem for de VK Specials
Last edited by MG Man on December 31st, 2008, 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”