Auto Cross Setup

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

sirbill

Auto Cross Setup

Postby sirbill » November 23rd, 2008, 8:54 pm

This may have been posted before, but it is worth a look again. As usual, the more successful guys in the sport turn conventional wisdom and urban myths upside down.

I think I am going to dump my cheap Coil Overs (see the "Shocks" section) and replace the OEM setup and just learn to drive better. Best tuning that can be done given my inability to test test test as prescribed.

The who : Denis Grant
The Info: http://farnorthracing.com/autocross_secrets.html

Also, basic damper theory here....

Be warned: This stuff can make you depressed!

daymean

Postby daymean » November 24th, 2008, 7:40 am

^^Thanks, some very good reading there.

DEVI

Postby DEVI » November 24th, 2008, 7:43 am

good stuff bill...plenty eye opening there....like the FWD setup and the shocks list....

sirbill

Postby sirbill » November 24th, 2008, 8:11 am

yup - lsd for fwd is the first thing listed. large rear sway bar is number 2 for entry turn in, aka oversteer.

Postby wagonrunner » November 24th, 2008, 8:17 am

In practical terms, if you are getting beat, the first place to go looking for problems is in the driver; it is the driverwho has the most effect on the car's performance.

The big prtoblem is that most red blooded males think that they spring from the womb the reincarnation of Ayerton Senna (not to mention Cassanova and Sgt. York) but that simply isn't true; driving in competition is a learnt skill and not one that comes naturally to anybody. It must be practiced, practiced, practiced until it is mastered, and until it is mastered, there is very little that car tuning can do for you. There are no shortages of expensive, slow cars out there. No matter how much money and time you spend tweaking the car (and some have spent hundreds of thousands of dollars) money cannot overcome skill and physics.

Most of the times that I go beat, I got beat because I was outdriven, not outengineered. And most of the times I was outdriven; I put in a shitty performance where my opponent put in a good one. I beat myself much more often than I got beat despite my best efforts.

This is, bar none, the single toughest lesson for a driver to learn. Many never learn it. They are easy to recognise; these are the guys who are quickest to cry 'foul!" whenever they think somebody else has a technical advantage over them.

The very first and most important step along the road to becoming truly fast is to get over your own ego, realize that almost everybody out there has more seat time than you, and that until you get that seat time, they will be faster.

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » November 24th, 2008, 9:26 am

This guy obviously cam to a few solodex events at ARC :lol: How that sounding like some of our drivers!

Postby Razkal » November 24th, 2008, 11:00 am

^Yorkie, you posted this link before, excellent read, i printed and binded it :oops:

Postby gt4tified » November 30th, 2008, 12:09 am

Was introduced to that link via the celica forums....really, really good stuff. Razkal, ah tink I need to print and bind a copy too boy.

professor

Postby professor » November 30th, 2008, 9:09 am

Took off my 22mm front sway bar on my STI, was hearing noise, drove around with DCCD in auto and manual, really turning in nicely, could be a good setup to try in Solodex (22mm in rear). Very interesting, never drove car with only rear stabilizer.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » November 30th, 2008, 9:40 am

odd i was thinking to hitin' solodex with the new car without the coilovers for 6 mouths and really apply myself...

dam i i think i need somewhere where i can drive ever weekend even if for a 2 hrs

:?

Postby wagonrunner » November 30th, 2008, 10:25 am

kes_vtec,
check Image

Postby Razkal » December 1st, 2008, 11:35 pm

^steups...wham send ah indo trini ah msg too nah? :?

i itchin home every weekend :x

Skyline_babe

Postby Skyline_babe » December 2nd, 2008, 12:21 am

ok..this has to be the most interesting thing i have read on tuner...well... most off it just started and got up to launch control...(something i was misinformed about but now i know)
this is really a great piece of info..love it...and i am learning a lot!! :mrgreen: good stuff meng..it's brilliant... :twisted:

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » December 2nd, 2008, 7:42 am

^So when yuh coming to dex to try out your new found knowledge?

Postby honda hoe » December 9th, 2008, 11:51 pm

hmmmmm

Postby Razkal » December 11th, 2008, 8:29 am

^brent yuh read it? nice info there hoss...lemme know if yuh can't pronounce anything eh :P

Postby wagonrunner » December 11th, 2008, 11:53 am

Razkal wrote:^brent yuh read it? nice info there hoss...lemme know if yuh can't pronounce anything eh :P

d man using corgi's and racing sims to try to comprehend what he's read, but they keep flipping, can you help him out?

Postby honda hoe » December 11th, 2008, 12:02 pm

:evil:

Postby honda hoe » December 11th, 2008, 1:40 pm

d man say JIC and tein is crap :shock:

i have JIC coilovers on my teggy :? :oops:

Postby wagonrunner » December 11th, 2008, 2:24 pm

honda hoe wrote:d man say JIC and tein is crap :shock:

Honda owners are in uproar

honda hoe wrote:di have JIC coilovers on my teggy :? :oops:

self-explanatory. where pios avatar?

Postby honda hoe » December 11th, 2008, 2:26 pm

hymc :lol:

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » December 23rd, 2008, 12:06 am

Harmonic motion, oh yes, Physics.......long but interesting literature. :!:

moti

Postby moti » December 30th, 2008, 10:16 am

75% driver, 20% tire, 5% setup - is not hard science, but it feels about right, for cars similarily classed.

Bottom line here: learn to drive before you start spending money and turning wrenches; it's the best investment you can make.

very good advise

i'll try tellin myself this when i'm getting my arse cut by a 1.5 automatic lancer

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » December 30th, 2008, 10:55 am

i'll try tellin myself this when i'm getting my arse cut by a 1.5 automatic lancer

Unfortunately, this lancer has been retired from dex this year. Expect cutarse from something else.... :mrgreen:

Postby SUPAstarr » December 30th, 2008, 11:14 am

^^^ yuh get a hatch???

Postby honda hoe » December 30th, 2008, 11:22 am

so.....

what wrong wit JIC suspension? :(

Postby wagonrunner » December 30th, 2008, 12:02 pm

honda hoe wrote:so.....

what wrong wit JIC suspension? :(

check yuh previous car.

Postby honda hoe » December 30th, 2008, 12:04 pm

^ ummm

i have it on dis one

not my previous one :roll:

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » December 30th, 2008, 12:25 pm

lol... true....

but u duh dex, so wah u worried bout

Postby honda hoe » December 30th, 2008, 12:43 pm

so suspension upgrade is only for drivin rong car park? :?

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”