novices need to move up faster

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

novices need to move up faster

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 7th, 2008, 8:19 pm

was discussing this with s few dexers on sunday

lets here allyuh views

the top three competitors in novice class should automatically be placed in there class for the next event ......

or once yuh place in the top three twice for the year ......

comments / suggestions ?

Postby SR » August 7th, 2008, 8:22 pm

why

xauss

Postby xauss » August 7th, 2008, 9:04 pm

Ignorant Ignis, I think this is a great idea...place in the top 3 twice and move up to your respective class. Lord knows i been waiting to compete and see where i really stand against cars in my proper class :twisted:

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 7th, 2008, 9:09 pm

SR wrote:why

20+ novices and on sunday we had a class un-constituted in HS

i think the transition of 6 competition events or 2 first place wins is too long.

xauss

Postby xauss » August 7th, 2008, 9:10 pm

^^^ X one meeelion

Postby wagonrunner » August 7th, 2008, 9:33 pm

i don't agree with forcing anyone to make the transition if they're not ready for it.
how many of them compare their times to the class they'll be going into?
judging from xauss post................not many.

however i am in favor, of cars members who compete in novice (they'll most likely compete for the entire year) being bumped out of novice after either winning twice, or placing in the top three 3 times.

this means you are competitive, and doing better than the other novices........consistently.

of course, for the above to be meaningful, the novice class needs to stay big, (thinking minimum 15 off the top of my head), if yuh going to be moving 6 max by the middle of the year.

regarding the non-composition of HS, reyos should have been informed that he would be placed in ES for the day, and points awarded based on ES winning time, (especially if it was his) :mrgreen:
Last edited by wagonrunner on August 8th, 2008, 6:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

xauss

Postby xauss » August 7th, 2008, 9:53 pm

wagonrunner wrote:i don't agree with forcing anyone to make the transition if they're not ready for it.
how many of them compare their times to the class they'll be going into?
judging from xauss post................not many.

however i am in favor, of cars members who compete in novice (they'll most likely compete for the entire year) being bumped into novice after either winning twice, or placing in the top three 3 times.

this means you are competitive, and doing better than the other novices........consistently.

of course, for the above to be meaningful, the novice class needs to stay big, (thinking minimum 15 off the top of my head) if yuh going to be moving 6, max by the middle of the year.

regarding the non-composition of HS, reyos should have been informed that he would be placed in ES for the day, and points awarded based on ES winning time, (especially if it was his) :mrgreen:

I not too sure what u mean....since i started i've been constantly comparing my times to those in the GS and HS classes...i jus unsure which class the wingy wud have fallen in so i tried to keep abreast of the times posted by HS cars...Being in novice for the entire season did have a huge advantage for me by bein able to gain experience and skill on the track...but I can't speak for the rest of novice competitors....I personally just really wanted to see if i could hold my own against the cars in my respective group...and move up and on from there. :D

Postby wagonrunner » August 7th, 2008, 9:59 pm

my apologies xauss.
in the quick scan i gave your post, i did not realise that you were paying attention to HS (which is where your car would go more than likely)
GS tends to be for older carbueretted cars. 1500cc and under or really heavy.

xauss

Postby xauss » August 7th, 2008, 10:01 pm

wagonrunner, kool seen man :D

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » August 7th, 2008, 10:46 pm

wagonrunner, so which class would a stock B14 GA15DE EFI fall into?

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » August 7th, 2008, 11:23 pm

Perhaps we could move using the top 2 then?

So if you placed either 1st or 2nd, twice for the year, you will move up... :wink:

Postby gt4tified » August 8th, 2008, 12:33 am

I don't think its a bad idea Iggy, but the drivers should be given the option of doing so if they want to or not. There are too many factors at play that can determine a win or place (using Santa Rosa terminology) twice for the year.

Postby wagonrunner » August 8th, 2008, 6:19 am

Suzuki Sportsman wrote:wagonrunner, so which class would a stock B14 GA15DE EFI fall into?

same HS.
check past results for comeptitors and types of cars driven in which classes. will give you an idea where your car would be classed, unless modded for a lot more power.
most are stock, with the exception of ESP class. :poke:
that way you'll have an idea where your car would fall.

Postby Razkal » August 8th, 2008, 7:16 am

Yeah thas cool with me.... :|
Place in top 3 three times and get bumped, sounds fair enough

Postby crazybalhead » August 8th, 2008, 7:18 am

Some of us take this upon ourselves.

Postby crazybalhead » August 8th, 2008, 7:19 am

Some of us take this upon ourselves.

Postby Razkal » August 8th, 2008, 7:20 am

^Yuh move twice or what? :lol:

I cyah move til mih car fix :( ....again.

Postby SUPAstarr » August 8th, 2008, 9:18 am

im still tryin to find out what class i would be placed, is a 1.3 Hatch gonna be in GS

Psychomatrix

Postby Psychomatrix » August 8th, 2008, 9:19 am

Hey i am a novice and find that the ideas sounds good.
i mean since i have started i have not yet compared my time to other novice times i have been comparing them to that class times where my car should fit, i believe its ESP?
i have competed in dex4, bycc, and dex5 which is minimal experience. so i am enjoying all the experience i am getting in the novice class.
i also dont believe that anyone should be forced into a group unless they are ready so i would modify Amir's idea some what and say that if the win 2 time bump them but if they place in top 3 two times then give them the option to be bumped upon their consent. if not let them compete their 6 times in novice then bump their ass.

Postby crazybalhead » August 8th, 2008, 9:42 am

Psycho, you always have that option to move up if you want.

sirbill

Postby sirbill » August 8th, 2008, 10:29 am

I really don't see the point of staying too long in novice. The experience is going to come whether running NE, ES or EP. If someone in NE is already putting down competitive times for the eventual class they would be in, why stay in NE at all? What does one gain in staying in NE for a whole year?

Postby SR » August 8th, 2008, 10:48 am

some novices only in the country for 3 months out of the year

whats the sense moving him up as he would not have had the same amount of course time as others

hwoever if its mandatory that after your first year you need to move into a cat no probs with that

Postby wagonrunner » August 8th, 2008, 11:11 am

SR wrote:some novices only in the country for 3 months out of the year

whats the sense moving him up as he would not have had the same amount of course time as others

hwoever if its mandatory that after your first year you need to move into a cat no probs with that

timeframe doesnt matter if you are competitive.
i htink the general concensus is dont stay in novice just to place in top 3 in novice.
If you're times are competitive consistently against your class, move to your class.

bluecurt

Postby bluecurt » August 11th, 2008, 1:29 am

I agree once you complete six runs in novice you go up in class. If competitive times are being made before six runs, must be allowed to choose if one would like to move up. Do not force people!

Postby MG Man » August 11th, 2008, 10:54 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:im still tryin to find out what class i would be placed, is a 1.3 Hatch gonna be in GS

HS

Postby eliteauto » September 16th, 2008, 11:59 am

so the NE class competitors who were classed for the Tobago Dex event will be staying in their respective classes come Dex 6 ?

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » September 16th, 2008, 1:04 pm

^Good question........HS go more than 2 people for dex 6 then!

As long as wagonrunner is not one of dem...... :|

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » September 18th, 2008, 7:51 am

well those so called novice drivers that competed in bago dex, won their class and took part in the championship should be in class dont you think?

Postby eliteauto » September 18th, 2008, 8:06 am

eh eh jus so :lol: :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » September 18th, 2008, 8:07 am

saltydog,
"won their class" among a different field of competitors.

but they also should no longer be daunted by the trini class-leaders, and upsets are what we all live for.
I recommend it be left up to them, but will say might as well get an early start on next year.

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”