i need the extra edge, ford men, help

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

i need the extra edge, ford men, help

Postby Team Loco » September 11th, 2007, 4:38 pm

The last BYCC the car ran very well with my best time being 41.6 and James being 41.8. My mistake one soldex back was running 15" rims/tyres. when i switched to 13" with victors, i immediately knocked off a whole 10 seconds which has now made the JEP competitive even to the likes of evos and high end hondas (like SR). right now i run a bone stock 1300cc escort engine, which runs well but is lacking in power. ford men, what do you recommend for the lil edge, that 1 or two seconds (and dont tell me change the engine) ,weber? Extractors? Turbo??

I have the ultimate solution, but i dont think they will allow me to run like this:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » September 11th, 2007, 4:58 pm

port and polish the head, run bigger valves / three angle valve grind, side draft, tubular exhaust manifold, electronic ignition

also lose the fenders and put on some cycle wings, replace the windshield with a driver-side deflector, and ditch all the wood trim

Postby Maserati » September 11th, 2007, 5:06 pm

^care to explain the three angle valve grind?

Postby Team Loco » September 11th, 2007, 6:27 pm

Good advice mg man, but I ent losing the wood finish

DEVI

Postby DEVI » September 11th, 2007, 8:07 pm

First and easiest thing to do is lose weight.....do you really need a nav...if not the wood trim what else to lighten up....then i would do exhaust ....its a little late to do head work...what brakes are you running ... can you upgrade the pads...

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » September 11th, 2007, 8:37 pm

well in my ford days, and I have had alot. I would say for what you want to do with the car you should be looking at stage 2 burton head, kent cam kit, 40dcoe webers. This would give you enough power. you could take it further like Lsd etc as far as the pocket allows.

these engine can turn 10000 rpm all day long once put together right

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » September 11th, 2007, 9:12 pm

saltydog wrote:well in my ford days, and I have had alot. I would say for what you want to do with the car you should be looking at stage 2 burton head, kent cam kit, 40dcoe webers. This would give you enough power. you could take it further like Lsd etc as far as the pocket allows.

Good advise, may be costly but well worth it if you have the extra cash imho.
If not, I would go with Kevin's advise on the headwork. Throw on a 32 36 or a 36 36 and you would be good to go.

Postby MG Man » September 11th, 2007, 9:59 pm

Maserati wrote:^care to explain the three angle valve grind?

improves port flow at all engine speeds, and works in conjunction with the porting

Postby MG Man » September 11th, 2007, 10:00 pm

saltydog wrote:well in my ford days, and I have had alot. I would say for what you want to do with the car you should be looking at stage 2 burton head, kent cam kit, 40dcoe webers. This would give you enough power. you could take it further like Lsd etc as far as the pocket allows.

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Postby Team Loco » September 11th, 2007, 10:24 pm

Ok, got a 32/36 weber. Now I need an intake manifold to accomodate it. The original manifold is too high, hence the top draugh weber would be hitting the bonnet. I understand ford made the same intake with a flatter top. Where could I get one?
As for the fenders, they are made of steel and not aluminum like the rest of the body. I originally wanted the cycle fenders, which are way lighter, but ended up with the ones on now. However. I think I will be looking at swapping to the cycle fenders due to obvious weight factoer and since they are bolted to the hub itself, move with the wheel turns hence blocking flying gravel/ stones.

Postby MG Man » September 12th, 2007, 5:19 am

Loco, my mechanic would be the best man to talk to, especially since he actually owned a Lotus Super Seven a few years back. He can enev do a proper turbo conversion for you. Call me when u ready

DEVI

Postby DEVI » September 12th, 2007, 8:09 am

How de man suppose to do all dat for the weekend....steupsss....btw Sean the guy who did the body kit for the Mirage can actually take a casting of ure fenders and make Fibreglass copies.....

Postby Team Loco » September 12th, 2007, 8:48 am

Devi, you'd be amazed what my workers can do on this car before the weekend. i am going to try to roll some aluminum cycle fenders for this weekend's event. also decided on trying this weber setup, just having a hard time to get that intake manifold. The fibreglass fenders sounds like a plan. we used the steel fenders front and back, since we intend to licence and run the car on the streets, steel fenders may offer a little better protection

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » September 12th, 2007, 1:49 pm

Team Loco wrote:Ok, got a 32/36 weber. Now I need an intake manifold to accomodate it. The original manifold is too high, hence the top draugh weber would be hitting the bonnet. I understand ford made the same intake with a flatter top. Where could I get one?

Not sure where You can get the original, they are around but hard to find. I know a mechanic who has one, but he may not sell.

Besides getting the original you can chop the top of your intake (if it can be done) and weld on an aluminum plate that you can fabricate with the appropriate opening. Smooth the two pieces together on the inside and blend down into the intake opening for smooth air flow. Bolt the carb to the plate.

Postby Team Loco » September 12th, 2007, 1:56 pm

lucky me!! was driving by and came across a guy with some escorts in his yard. meh boy was glad i passed, not only did i get the intake manifold, i also got a 1600cc engine and an old weber 36/36 carb!!!, free

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 13th, 2007, 1:40 pm

^^^^^^ :shock: :shock: damn ..... yuh gonna try to drop that in for this weekend?

Postby Team Loco » September 13th, 2007, 1:45 pm

Manifold, weber already in.....new plugs too

Postby eliteauto » September 13th, 2007, 4:03 pm

^^ fack you're very lucky :lol:

Piranha

Postby Piranha » September 13th, 2007, 8:53 pm

Lets see now your car is 1,500lb -:- 65hp = 23ld per hp:) and now with mods you have more than 75hp? yes:) if so, the car is now less than 1,400lb -:- 75hp or more = 18.6lb per hp wow:) Very Good it's now a SS Car:) hehehehe thanks:) :D

Postby Team Loco » September 13th, 2007, 9:49 pm

SS? Boy Wayne be quiet nah. The only mod added in for this event is the weber. Next year before the first event, I will complete the car and dyno it. You know me, I always in it for the fun, not really competitive, except for when we were running neck and neck, corolla vs baleno back in 1999 I believe.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » September 14th, 2007, 6:21 am

sean drafts please......... the sound alone ... heaven

Postby MG Man » September 15th, 2007, 12:57 am

Piranha wrote:Lets see now your car is 1,500lb -:- 65hp = 23ld per hp:) and now with mods you have more than 75hp? yes:) if so, the car is now less than 1,400lb -:- 75hp or more = 18.6lb per hp wow:) Very Good it's now a SS Car:) hehehehe thanks:) :D

stock would be 60 - 65 at the flywheel, so realistically we are looking at 40 - 45 at the wheels MAX
the mods sean has done, ie downdraught weber, will add 3 - 5whp at best, given the stock head.........the weight is probably over 1500lbs, given the metal fenders, heavier than stock body and floor panels, wooden dash, seats etc.....sorry Wayne :wink:

Postby Team Loco » September 15th, 2007, 4:57 am

Yup the car will not be in ss as mg man said. Finally got the weber tuned. Had to do an overhaul on it. Damn a kit costs $250 and the power take off plunger is sold seperately for $150. But its worth it

djaggs

Postby djaggs » September 16th, 2007, 1:20 am

Team Loco wrote:lucky me!! was driving by and came across a guy with some escorts in his yard. meh boy was glad i passed, not only did i get the intake manifold, i also got a 1600cc engine and an old weber 36/36 carb!!!, free

Is it a pushrod 1600 or a Overhead cam 1600??

If its a pushrod 16 youre lucky, crossflow head works much better. If you stick that in you wont need too much expensive mods to make power. The Kent block is much better too.

Postby MG Man » September 17th, 2007, 6:54 pm

so de mark buss...........
wha de people hadda say?

I say smoebody hadda buy some blinker fluid for nex dex cuz like dey use up all in de fuss two runs :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » September 17th, 2007, 9:11 pm

the results make me ask a question.
where the ESP guys having such a bad day?
loco
need to dyno again

Postby Team Loco » September 17th, 2007, 10:29 pm

Need to dyno again you say? Lol, never did. I knew this problem would have popped up and its amazing my car only became a problem when my time were beating other high performance cars. My first event I ran in gs, second event I was moved to es, no questions asked, even then in es, nobody would question my times, until I started to do better. Now all of a sudden, with a mod of a carb, attempts were being made to bump me into esp, with the argument being my power to weight ratio would bump me to esp. Remember folks, I have no problem in being bumped, but its the basis and principle on which it is being done. For one second, did anyone ever think this is just the spirit of competition? Or is it just that 'some' people, and this isn't for Wayne, just can't handle the fact that a bone stock ole school 1300cc escort powered locost could give high performance modern day cars competition?

This is not a car bought over the shelf. It was built just for solodex over a period of three yrs. For the sake of the sport, I will dyno the car before the next event. If it is an esp car, I will hand back the trophies to the deserving winner, once cars can show me the latest dyno results of his/her car. For next year's competition, I will do all the mods before, and dyno the car again before solo one 08. I think that's fair enough

Postby MG Man » September 17th, 2007, 11:39 pm

Loco, plain and simple, when some people win, people say is talent....when other people win, people cry foul........this whole scenario has a nasty (familiar) taste to it

Postby wagonrunner » September 18th, 2007, 6:20 am

i eh understand d slant the two of allyuh taking. yeah i've been told of the history, but i try to not let that bias my perspective.
Look doh, make me hadda find nomex to show up at kennicon on saturday nah. :lol:
lemme open a can of worms. yuh aware scca has nothing like a power / weight ratio for classing their cars.
vehicles are classed based on the performance the previous year. :shock:

i'm saying yuh did well.
i'm saying vaughn, and vishnu normally do well.
the results showed you even beat their times. availabe at http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 73#2069773
and hopefully on www.carstt.com soon.

now the question again is, were the ESP guys having such a bad day, or can your car be competitve there?

Postby MG Man » September 18th, 2007, 6:46 am

what about the baleno? It also bested ESP times on sunday as well....not so?
Big picture

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”