new rules for 2009

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

Postby Ignorant Ignis » December 31st, 2008, 12:49 pm

anybody know if mm have 15" victors still ... i ripped the firetruck out out 2 of mine in drifting sunday

Postby MG Man » December 31st, 2008, 1:19 pm

you drifted in what? :poke: :stalk:

just call them and see

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » December 31st, 2008, 4:26 pm

MG Man wrote:Loco, keep dem for de VK Specials

There will be no more "VK" super specials as those 2 get a divorce. But even so the ministry of sport has denied use of the stadium for these type of events.

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » January 1st, 2009, 2:12 am

Looks like next year or later half '09 I'll start to compete :|

Postby MG Man » January 1st, 2009, 8:19 pm

saltydog wrote:

There will be no more "VK" super specials as those 2 get a divorce. But even so the ministry of sport has denied use of the stadium for these type of events.

4 new kumho Victors f/s :?

Postby wagonrunner » January 1st, 2009, 8:39 pm

saltydog wrote:

4 new kumho Victors f/s :?
\
wham? Bagodex canceled too? and what about BIMdex?

Postby MG Man » January 1st, 2009, 10:01 pm

u know I doh run unless is for points or at circuit events. Anythin else just feels like destroying the cars

Postby Team Loco » January 1st, 2009, 10:38 pm

^^mg man, check James with those tyres. he might want them. then again, his jep not even halfway ready yet.

Postby wagonrunner » January 1st, 2009, 11:02 pm

MG Man wrote:u know I doh run unless is for points or at circuit events. Anythin else just feels like destroying the cars

will keep my further comments to myself.

Postby wagonrunner » January 2nd, 2009, 10:09 am

saltydog,
Somethign just dawned on me..............

So i take it, passengers in said vehicles would require helmets too?
helmet sellers and renters gonna make a $$$ :mrgreen:

Postby MG Man » January 2nd, 2009, 10:12 am

MG Man wrote:u know I doh run unless is for points or at circuit events. Anythin else just feels like destroying the cars

will keep my further comments to myself.

but whyyyyyyyyyyyy
The last two times I ran a car for fun, it broke
between the wall and cracking the engine block, it not startin to make sense
I prefer the competition to just comin out for fun runs
Actually the only fun events I might consider, esp with the HSR would be drift events, since I canot do it and would like to try it

Postby Monk BANzai » January 2nd, 2009, 11:22 am

Helmet Rentals are available to those that require them on competition days.

Open Face Helmets (black with Silver stripes) are going to be rented for $60TT for the day and Closed face Helmets (green and yellow with silver and black highlights) for $70TT per day.

Helmet bookings can be done via PM to me on trinituner or by calling me directly.

Requirements are that you leave your Driver's Permit with me along with the rental fee. You collect your DP when you return the helmet.

All helmets are sanitized in your presence before use. It is suggested that you have a Balaclava.

It is not recommended that you "lend" your rental to others during the course of the day as you are responsible for the security of the helmet.

The renter is to pay any costs due to damaged/lost helmets.

Postby MG Man » January 2nd, 2009, 12:34 pm

you should invest in surgical hair net thingies. They cheap and will help with the ickyness of long term rentals

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » January 2nd, 2009, 1:47 pm

Hurray for me buying a bike helmet 2 years ago!

Postby wagonrunner » January 2nd, 2009, 1:49 pm

zodiaque wrote:Hurray for me buying a bike helmet 2 years ago!

What's the Snell rating on that?

Postby MG Man » January 2nd, 2009, 3:05 pm

what is the required rating??????
otherwise I bringin ah half calabash wid ah happy smiling elastic round mehchin

Postby wagonrunner » January 2nd, 2009, 3:15 pm

MG Man wrote:what is the required rating??????
otherwise I bringin ah half calabash wid ah happy smiling elastic round mehchin

saltydog wrote:Helmets being introduced is obviously for safety reasons. The courses are getting faster and due to the broad spectrum of competitors we do not want to wait until we have an indicident to then say we should have done it. Besides we are involved in motorsport and as such need to follow all the safety measures.

Regarding the rules these will be given out at the first event. We have come up with a points system for modifications. It still has to be finalized but so far 5 points is a class bump. (victors = 5 points) There is a table of modifications that have point values e.g poly bushings 1 point. The point values are the last thing to tweak and then the rules will be published. There is also a new class EP-R which essentially is open class all mods allowed

We would like everyone that is driving on the 11th to wear a helmet, this will help you to get used to it before the first event. I will contact Banzai who has helmets to rent. Also MG man the helmets have to be up to standard as stated in the rules I believe it is Snell 2000 and above

Postby MG Man » January 2nd, 2009, 4:12 pm

*throws calabash out the window*

Postby Monk BANzai » January 2nd, 2009, 8:57 pm

^^ hahahah man i love your spirit we!!!

mazdamaniac

Postby mazdamaniac » January 3rd, 2009, 1:20 am

glad that i borrowed one two years ago and did'nt return it yet

Postby r3iXmann » January 3rd, 2009, 9:12 am

what about the helmet group buy? thinking to order one on amazon :x

Postby wagonrunner » January 3rd, 2009, 1:08 pm

reiXmann wrote:what about the helmet group buy? thinking to order one on amazon :x

send d link i'll think about it.
seeing i hadda get one to be able to ride shotgun.

Postby r3iXmann » January 3rd, 2009, 5:00 pm

reiXmann wrote:what about the helmet group buy? thinking to order one on amazon :x

send d link i'll think about it.
seeing i hadda get one to be able to ride shotgun.

i want an open face helmet..don't know how that'll go down with you..but so far:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001A6 ... 91&sr=1-13

DOT certified and all that

http://www.amazon.com/HJC-AC-3-CL-33-SH ... 241&sr=1-3

a little cheaper..but looks like something you'd find in the bamboo :|

Postby wagonrunner » January 3rd, 2009, 5:21 pm

reiXmann,
liking the wine color
and every two that are ordered together, you pay no shopping (once order exceeds US$100).
not bad, not bad at all.

If customs will see it as a sporting accessory (helmet), yuh in d game there.
CARS members, what could be done about that?

Postby r3iXmann » January 3rd, 2009, 6:49 pm

just emailed the seller about whether they offer group discounts or specials

daymean

Postby daymean » January 3rd, 2009, 10:32 pm

i am in for the group buy
so what if the helmet is dot certified and not snell 2005 certified? can it still b used for solodex?

moti

Postby moti » January 4th, 2009, 8:34 am

ok so i spoke to Andy from MINICITY and he said that although a helmet might
be SNELL 2000 or 2005 certified, a helmet thats DOT certified will also meet the
same requirements as the SNELL certified one.

what i would like to know is can i buy a DOT certified helmet or do i have
to purchase the SNELL 2005 certified ones ?

SNELL 2005 = $$$

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » January 4th, 2009, 7:21 pm

What's the Snell rating on that?

Not Sure of The Snell rating (if it was rated), but it meets/or exceeds DOT specifications.

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » January 4th, 2009, 9:35 pm

For those of you who are looking to buy helmets for a good price, please check out www.bellhelmets.com

I bought my helmet there, and they always have helmets on clearance.

I bought my closed face helmet for $99.00USD, and the open face helmets are even cheaper.

Kirk

Postby wagonrunner » January 4th, 2009, 9:54 pm

Mr. Fixables wrote:For those of you who are looking to buy helmets for a good price, please check out www.bellhelmets.com

I bought my helmet there, and they always have helmets on clearance.

I bought my closed face helmet for $99.00USD, and the open face helmets are even cheaper.

Kirk

k, amazon has for US$60, +$6 shipping, with free shipping if total over US$100.

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”