Questions for Solodex novices

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

Postby Ignorant Ignis » January 24th, 2008, 11:45 am

SlimThug wrote:can a FWD Primera wagon handle a solodex course

with a sport tune nismo suspension

....masterbates drove a fwd sr20de vvl primera cvt with tein suspension

esp champion 3 years in a row....and to date the only person to accomplish thats in any class :wink:

Postby honda hoe » January 24th, 2008, 11:48 am

honda hoe wrote:
MG Man wrote:proper shoes, NO SLIPPERS

:x :x

wha bout tracks an wife beaters?

:!: :!: :!:

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » January 24th, 2008, 11:50 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:

esp champion 3 years in a row....and to date the only person to accomplish thats in any class :wink:

:D :D :D

Lovely. Nice to see a heavy car can still compete with the rest. Now at least I have hope.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » January 24th, 2008, 1:07 pm

A good site for the Novices to acquaint themselves with:

http://www.tirerack.com/features/solo2/handbook.htm

Postby 16 cycles » January 24th, 2008, 1:39 pm

how significant if any effect at all does tyre pressure affect camber set-up?

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » January 26th, 2008, 2:08 pm

strut bar is a must for hard cornering?

Postby MG Man » January 27th, 2008, 8:59 am

SUZUKI SPORTsman wrote:strut bar is a must for hard cornering?

not a 'must'

Postby crazybalhead » January 28th, 2008, 12:58 pm

WHERE CAN I GET A PAIR OF BRIDGESTONE POTENZA RE01's!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

235 45 17!!!!!!!!! :cry: :cry: :cry:

Postby SR » January 28th, 2008, 1:06 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:

hmm ponders returning to competive dex

Postby Razkal » January 28th, 2008, 2:57 pm

^return nah man, the more the merrier, plus i was pretty close to your times last BYCC that you and samiir ran both hatches :)

Postby Razkal » January 28th, 2008, 3:17 pm

Rudman, that link is excellent! 8)
wish i could get some of the books mentioned in the article (if its the same one i read a whil ago)
good stuff! :)

Postby crazybalhead » January 28th, 2008, 3:28 pm

Razkal wrote:^return nah man, the more the merrier, plus i was pretty close to your times last BYCC that you and samiir ran both hatches :)

Yeah but SR does be mostly playin de ass in them BYCC's. Bunnin out tires and thing. He will cut yuh ass in serious competition. :lol: :lol:

TIRES PEOPLE TIRES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! URGENTLY POTENZA!!!!!!!!! I ASK IN EVERY OTHER FORUM!!!!!!!!

Postby Razkal » January 28th, 2008, 3:33 pm

^nah man dont burst my bubble, he was really running samiir's car hard as well as his own, last two runs SR, myself, Devi all just played the ass...
either way, he put down two pretty decent times, adn i was right on his arse :lol:

nice to know even if he wasnt going all out, i was close to a seasoned driver's times by a bit. :)
i'll be glad if a couple of these guys return, just to compare my times etc,
i especially wanna compare my times with Narend and sirbill, as their cars basically have the same layout and power as mine, it'll ust be a matter of driver skill, wanna see if i can stack up against them, or even close! :lol:

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » January 28th, 2008, 6:52 pm

wheyzz look all yuh men comparing, lol i quaking i missed the bycc and not sure but might be there on the 17th i hoping i atleast dont place last, any tips or wa fellas?

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » January 31st, 2008, 1:44 pm

what kind of advantage does strut/sway/all dem bars have against no bars?(not that kinda bar eh karl)

Advil

Postby Advil » January 31st, 2008, 2:12 pm

i was gonna ask a question, and the i found this, so i thought it may be useful to my fellow n00bs

X2 wrote:Here... under current rules, this will determine what class you will ultimately be put into.

It's based on (PWR) power to weight ratio (Car's weight in LBS / Car's Flywheel HP)=PWR Which also translates to 1/4 mile times (nope, u can't beat physics :P )

It's broken down like this:

Class
Power to Weight Ratio (PWR)
Quarter Mile ET

NE (Novice Class)
All
Open

GS
30+
20.000+

HS
26-29.9
18.500 to 19.999

ES
22-25.9
17.000 to 18.499

ESP
15-21.9
15.500 to 16.999

SS
11.5-14.9
14.000 to 15.499

EP
<=11.5
under 14.000

^^ According to those rules, you would eventually be put into SS class.

You can find more basic info here: http://www.carstt.com/

rjaggs

classes

Postby rjaggs » February 11th, 2008, 1:40 pm

how and when does one move from ne to another class?

Postby MG Man » February 11th, 2008, 1:44 pm

Yorkshirelass wrote:Once you are a newcomer, you will all be grouped together in Novice class (NE). This is any car. You are allowed in this class for 6 events or if you win NE twice you will be bumped into whatever class your car's horsepower puts you in. You can also choose to be put straight into the correct class for your car and miss Novice class completely, however, this is not recommended.

Looking forward to seeing you all in the new year. The first event will not be a BYCC. We want to take advantage of the dry season to get in as many events as possible, so we will be starting early with SoloDex 1

carryman88

Postby carryman88 » February 11th, 2008, 2:02 pm

i'd like to know EVERYTING.....sounds like alot but all i have is time.....very interested....tryin 2 touch on all aspects of motor racing.....dex is but one stop....hopefully will get my hands on a FWD 1.6 5 foward Matrix.....sounds better dan a van MG Man?....

p.s. definitely interested in an in car coach

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » February 11th, 2008, 10:10 pm

^ Aye, so you making it then? see ya there 8-)

carryman88

Postby carryman88 » February 12th, 2008, 7:17 am

^^yeah yeah 4 sure....lol....see u there buddy....u wanna coach me :?: :mrgreen:

Postby honda hoe » February 12th, 2008, 9:24 am

:gay:

Postby wagonrunner » February 12th, 2008, 9:32 am

honda hoe wrote::gay:

i see you only showing off yuh new logo.

Positive Performance

Postby Positive Performance » February 12th, 2008, 3:49 pm

Ok so i want to enter my first dex, do you all have a checklist I can go over to make sure I pass the scrutineering?

Postby wagonrunner » February 12th, 2008, 3:56 pm

Positive Performance,
if your car can reach there, chances are your car will be driveable.
things that will disqualify you however are.
no battery clamp / unrestrained battery (battery moving while cornering and shorting )
defective foot brakes / hand brakes
leaks "oil / gas / other fluids"

again, drivers cannot race with slippers (feet slipping off pedals, slippers jamming pedals)

this is what i can remember now.

Postby X2 » February 12th, 2008, 5:20 pm

Despite my multiple changes of tire pressure, why does my car tend to eat the sidewall ?

Postby wagonrunner » February 12th, 2008, 7:20 pm

X2 wrote:Despite my multiple changes of tire pressure, why does my car tend to eat the sidewall ?

you are turning to sharply, and try to accelerate too quickly too soon.
or your camber could be too positive. top of tires leaning outward, over bottom of tires when fully locked.

try taking corners wider, slower, (coasting, just enough gas to keep going. instead of stamping the gas, trying to accelerate too hard too fast.), smoothness is the key, and possibly adjust camber slightly. -0.5 to -1.0 works wonders. note more than that would be a class bump.

carryman88

Postby carryman88 » February 12th, 2008, 10:11 pm

honda hoe wrote:

wham dreadie?.....u feelin left out o wah?? :shock:

Advil

Postby Advil » February 12th, 2008, 11:40 pm

wagonrunner wrote:Positive Performance,
if your car can reach there, chances are your car will be driveable.
things that will disqualify you however are.
no battery clamp / unrestrained battery (battery moving while cornering and shorting )
defective foot brakes / hand brakes
leaks "oil / gas / other fluids"

again, drivers cannot race with slippers (feet slipping off pedals, slippers jamming pedals)

this is what i can remember now.

take yuh speaker box out the trunk
make sure u have lots of drinking water
and a jack

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » February 13th, 2008, 8:11 am

X2 wrote:Despite my multiple changes of tire pressure, why does my car tend to eat the sidewall ?

Camber could be too positive. Are you switching between rim sizes between street and dex setups? (i.e 15's to 14?) I had a problem of my shoulders not lasting one event on the front, until I decided to run 13's (street and dex) throughout.

This has helped tremendously over the last 2 events. Consider this first.

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”