ah want to try meh hand...

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » December 18th, 2007, 10:56 pm

Once you are a newcomer, you will all be grouped together in Novice class (NE). This is any car. You are allowed in this class for 6 events or if you win NE twice you will be bumped into whatever class your car's horsepower puts you in. You can also choose to be put straight into the correct class for your car and miss Novice class completely, however, this is not recommended.

Looking forward to seeing you all in the new year. The first event will not be a BYCC. We want to take advantage of the dry season to get in as many events as possible, so we will be starting early with SoloDex 1

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » December 18th, 2007, 10:58 pm

Check out CARS site for more info.

http://www.carstt.com/faq.html

Looking forward to next year. 8-)

Now is to try and find a set of tyres.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » December 19th, 2007, 8:30 am

Damn, I dunno if my car will be ready in time.

It took me 4 weeks to get the parts for my gearbox, when I took it to the garage yesterday the man tell me some sprangers break into he garage to theif aluminum and they theif the cover from my gearbox!

Oh geeezzzz......parts for that car scarce like common sense in ther PNM govt.

I dunno what goin on this country, they theifin man gearbox cover and all now, if yuh fall asleep in de road dey might theif yuh kidneys.

Anybody here know anyone with a junked GTI Swift gearbox ?? I badly need a case.

F1

Postby F1 » December 19th, 2007, 8:57 am

how is it on tires? do you have to buy tires for each event?

djaggs

Postby djaggs » December 19th, 2007, 9:39 am

F1 wrote:how is it on tires? do you have to buy tires for each event?

Buy used tyres.

The wear on the tyre will depend on the weight of your car and how you drive it, also the tyre itself (hard or soft)

Postby honda hoe » December 19th, 2007, 10:57 am

yeah... but EVERY event :|

Postby X2 » December 19th, 2007, 12:17 pm

If you want grip, you will need to sacrifice some rubber.

I have gone to events where I end up driving on the same tires for a long time after... but have also gone to BYCC events where I burned the tires down to the steel belts well before the day ends.

It's best to bring a couple steelies with some F/U just in case your front tires get toasted.

Postby honda hoe » December 19th, 2007, 12:42 pm

steelies won't fit over my brembos :|

f/u low profiles tyres is how much now?

Postby wagonrunner » December 21st, 2007, 2:13 pm

now seeing the tire question...................
my advice to the newcomers.
put on a pair of steelies and cheap tires. especially if you its a front wheel drive.
more than likely you will stress them, and i'm sure you would prefer to preserve your street tires.

hoe,
last check, used tires go for $150.
see if you can pick up some FU rims and mount them on. might be the easier solution to your brembo problem.

Postby honda hoe » December 21st, 2007, 2:47 pm

i tink u need to check back dat $150 price

like u ain't buy none since 2003 :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » December 21st, 2007, 5:12 pm

honda hoe,
:oops: i ent buy since 2005.
that's when i learned, if you can fit a 13" tire, the grip gods have blessed mileage mack with the ability to give racer performance for cheap.

Postby X2 » December 23rd, 2007, 10:41 pm

When the tire shops get used to seeing you, you will get better pricing... :D

$150-200 is common... but make sure YOU choosing them !

Also... that was good advice... pickup a set of cheap rims with ur lug pattern, throw on some f/u tires and use those as your track sluts.

Postby honda hoe » December 25th, 2007, 2:00 am

i have an extra set of rims and tyres

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » December 27th, 2007, 6:09 am

is it ok to use original alloy rims that may have come with your car?

i have some 15's that came with some brand new Dunlop 205/60/15 tyres

my plan is to buy 17's rims n tyres but keep the 15's for dex....

would the 15's alloy rims be ok or is it still advisable to go with the steelies as previously mentioned?

Postby wagonrunner » December 27th, 2007, 6:32 am

alloy rims are fine.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » December 27th, 2007, 7:57 am

Wow! So ^Pretty^, yuh really serious about making some runs for dex in 2008 then?

That's great.

Postby honda hoe » December 27th, 2007, 1:03 pm

Rudman, she finally get a fast car now :lol: :lol:

Postby eliteauto » December 27th, 2007, 1:49 pm

^^serious?? I thought she bought a CIVIC :roll: :lol: :lol:

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » December 27th, 2007, 2:25 pm

Where to get decent foreign used tyres for a low price?

Looking for a set of 205/R16/45 or 40 series.

Postby Razkal » January 1st, 2008, 11:11 am

i need 245/50/R16 and 215/50/R16 :|

Postby honda hoe » January 2nd, 2008, 8:42 am

^ u need a good car :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » January 2nd, 2008, 9:08 am

honda hoe,
don't let me start on your list of needs nah................
i eh have the time, and the servers eh have that kinda space. :poke: :lol:

Postby Razkal » January 2nd, 2008, 9:58 am

Brent calm yuhself eh.... :lol: *picks up book of car flipping jokes*

Postby honda hoe » January 2nd, 2008, 10:23 am

alyuh gimme talks man

word of advice... doh bring allyuh gf solodex eh :twisted:

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 2nd, 2008, 10:24 am

hmmm honda challenge gonna be back in 2008?? have some falken tires to kill so if there is a BYCC in jan ill be there

Postby honda hoe » January 2nd, 2008, 10:44 am

Aaron 2NR, u racin pretty or wha? :lol:

Postby X2 » January 2nd, 2008, 12:12 pm

honda hoe wrote:alyuh gimme talks man

word of advice... doh bring allyuh gf solodex eh :twisted:

Why ? Yuh fraid she go beat yuh time ? :lol:

Postby honda hoe » January 2nd, 2008, 1:16 pm

U2 X2 :oops: :cry:

Postby X2 » January 2nd, 2008, 3:58 pm

hmph....I just pressuring you meng.... Yorkshire lass can put me to shame... so I staying quiet about de gyuls...

Postby Razkal » January 2nd, 2008, 4:11 pm

^yeah boy :oops: jeeeeez :|
impresses me everytime she does a run 8)

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”