IDBL Class For Pickups

International Auto Sound Challenge Association
Official IASCA T&T Forum

DooMRR

IDBL Class For Pickups

Postby DooMRR » April 22nd, 2011, 2:38 am

I don't have access to the rules and I want to know what class I will be place in if I have a single 8" sub. It will be used in a pickup truck (Mazda B2500) and resting somewhere on the back seat. The amp is behind the back seat and everything in the van is stock including the alternator.

Also, if I add a second battery and rest it on the floor behind the driver/passenger seat, will that change the class?

Re: IDBL Class For Pickups

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 22nd, 2011, 8:11 am

stock, your enclosure must be mounted to the rear wall and be under 25inchs in height and if on the seat under 20inchs in depth

Or advance nw :)

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 22nd, 2011, 10:00 am

Back when I started to compete in SPL, stock category world records were held by pickups in Bangkok.

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » April 22nd, 2011, 1:53 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:stock, your enclosure must be mounted to the rear wall and be under 25inchs in height and if on the seat under 20inchs in depth

Few questions about this:
"Mounted to the rear wall" as in up against the back SEAT right? Also, I'm guessing taking out the back rest is not an option for Stock class?

What about a second battery in the back on the floor behind the driver or passenger seat?

silent_riot wrote:Back when I started to compete in SPL, stock category world records were held by pickups in Bangkok.

This just made my day. Didn't think pickups were SPL friendly.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 23rd, 2011, 1:20 pm

You can consider folding the rear seat down and (temporarily) mounting the enclosure to the back wall.. not sure where that would put you in the rules though..

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 23rd, 2011, 2:05 pm

cvt-7_RR wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:stock, your enclosure must be mounted to the rear wall and be under 25inchs in height and if on the seat under 20inchs in depth

Few questions about this:
"Mounted to the rear wall" as in up against the back SEAT right? Also, I'm guessing taking out the back rest is not an option for Stock class?

What about a second battery in the back on the floor behind the driver or passenger seat?

silent_riot wrote:Back when I started to compete in SPL, stock category world records were held by pickups in Bangkok.

This just made my day. Didn't think pickups were SPL friendly.

might buss ur bubble because somehow i feel those pickups he talking about have blow-throughs

still try though since u might get lucky if little to no competitors showup in ur bracket ....

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 23rd, 2011, 2:44 pm

^^ Not allowed in stock class

cvt_xoxoxoxo, quoted from the rule book

The subwoofer enclosure must be mounted to the rear wall of the cab and no taller than 25 inches in height (see equipment criteria for Stock Division) from the cab floor. The enclosure cannot impede the full operation of the seat and seat travel must remain intact. EXTENDED (KING) AND CREW CAB TRUCKS (Compact and Full Size) - The subwoofer enclosure can be mounted in the rear ―seat‖ or passenger area of the vehicle, but the enclosure depth cannot exceed 20 inches. Additionally, the enclosure must be mounted to the rear wall of the cab and no taller than 25 inches in height from the cab floor. The enclosure cannot impede the full operation of the seat and seat travel must remain intact.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 23rd, 2011, 4:21 pm

No blow-thrus, the only difference I can recall with today's rules was that back in the day, they used to store their amps, wiring and batteries in the stock cargo location i.e. the tray. I don't think that's allowed today.

Postby SR » April 23rd, 2011, 5:12 pm

more than likely you are looking at advance nw

Postby 3stagevtec » April 23rd, 2011, 9:40 pm

SR wrote:Advance NW 1
1st Devindra Dhanasar 140.9
2nd Amrit Jairam 139.2

yuh target to beat!

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 23rd, 2011, 9:51 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
SR wrote:Advance NW 1
1st Devindra Dhanasar 140.9
2nd Amrit Jairam 139.2

yuh target to beat!

backyard testing shows 142db 8-)

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » April 24th, 2011, 12:32 pm

Advanced NW it is then. I'm not really desperate for a trophy (although it would be good to win something for my effort). Just want to see what score I can make with it. Can't fit any sub behind that seat because it is just too small. "Hopefully" I will be in the next show. The enclosure is one thing, the vehicle is another. Don't know how well it will work for SPL.

Thanks for the feedback...

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 24th, 2011, 2:38 pm

^^ If the 4x2 and the 4x4 is the same cab then the left maybe louder.

:)

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » April 28th, 2011, 2:32 am

I know the rules have changed since last time I competed. Can one use a laptop as a head unit to send an input to the amp? (Touch screen doesn't work well for SPL)

Postby 3stagevtec » April 28th, 2011, 2:58 am

or can a laptop be used to control the head unit? such as laptop headphones amp output to deck..

Postby SR » April 28th, 2011, 5:50 am

source unit must be 12 volts

usb stick with iasca idbl cd can be used if its available from iasca

a laptop will not be allowed to be used as the source

Postby 3stagevtec » April 28th, 2011, 9:19 am

external preamp ftw!