International Auto Sound Challenge Association
Official IASCA T&T Forum

Cone area question

Postby 3stagevtec » April 8th, 2010, 1:27 pm

Just trying to beat the system here..

According to the rules, the 'Advanced 2' class range is 261 - 520sq.in cone area and according to the rule book

1 15" - 176.63sq.in
2 15"s - 353.25sq.in
3 15"s - 529.87sq.in

so 3 15"s clearly exceeds the class limit..

BUT according my speaker manufacturer, the Sd of my 15" drivers is 130sq.in each.. and three of those only work up to 390sq.in! in fact, 4 of those only comes to 520sq.in, which should still be allowed in Advanced 2!

So, my question is, if i can prove the Sd to the judges (by walking with the appropriate manufacturer documentation) will i be allowed to use 3 15"s in Advanced 2?

jeff

Postby jeff » April 8th, 2010, 1:57 pm

nopes
the cone area was used as a guide line regardless of how big speaker's surrounds are

audioangel

Postby audioangel » April 8th, 2010, 2:57 pm

man try ah ting oui :lol:

Postby 3stagevtec » April 8th, 2010, 3:03 pm

I'm making a good point though, by using the actual Sd of the driver and not a generic figure..

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » April 8th, 2010, 4:35 pm

A situation like this actually occurred at Spring Break 2010 this year where a competitor was arguing this to me and another IDBL judge at the event. This was then referred to the head Iasca official for the show (Moe Sabourin) who ruled out any possiblity of allowing it. A 15" speaker is 176.63 sq in end of story. Doesnt matter the size of suspension !!

Good investigating though :D

Postby 3stagevtec » April 8th, 2010, 5:03 pm

I always had this idea in my head to ask..

So how would you guys class the Pioneer 5000SPL or JL 13W7? because they are technically 13" drivers?

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » April 8th, 2010, 5:47 pm

Simple maths

area = pi r^2.

for a 13.5" woofer

3.14x6.75^2 =143 sq in

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 8th, 2010, 8:27 pm

ah man try ah ting .... :lol:

i done check out long time how they came up with their figures & iasca eh chupid : they know exactly what they doing ...

shameer

Postby shameer » April 8th, 2010, 11:31 pm

:mrgreen: 8-)

Postby 3stagevtec » April 8th, 2010, 11:44 pm

so much for that idea.. :mrgreen:

Return to “IASCA Caribbean”