Opinions on IASCA "Stock" category

International Auto Sound Challenge Association
Official IASCA T&T Forum

riadb

Opinions on IASCA "Stock" category

Postby riadb » October 15th, 2008, 10:06 am

With respect to IASCA "stock" division, why are sedans and hatchbacks/wagons in the same category?

It is plain and obvious that with respect to the vehicular requrements outlined in the rulebook, wagons/hatchbacks have a clean cut advantage over sedans.

In a sedan it is required that our enclosures be located in the trunk/cargo area and all seats,etc be in the upright and locked position.
As a result the subwoofers are basically concealed in the trunk behind the back seat and are not able to directly couple with the air in the cabin area. Scores are on average are much lower because the rear seat backrest impedes the oncoming sound wave.

In a wagon, things are different. Remaining "stock" with the enclosure located in the cargo area, the subwoofers are still able to directly couple with the air in the cabin area. This provides the ultimate scenario for
"stock" competition as there is nothing impeding the sound wave resulting in higher scores when compared to a sedan with the same equipment.

now honestly I wouldn't sell my sedan and buy a wagon for IDBL. It just isn't feasible to me.

A fair adjustment to the rules would be to put 2 categories:

1. wagon/hatch vs wagon/hatch
2. sedan vs sedan

here all competitiors would be on the same level playing field with respect to "vehicles" and i'm sure more people would come out to compete without the fear of being eaten up by the SPL wagons..

now i am not contradicting the rules here....just looking for opinions on the situation from fellow competitiors.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 15th, 2008, 12:00 pm

seats can be dropped for spl competitions in sedans that are in stocn categories

markzz

Postby markzz » October 15th, 2008, 12:15 pm

really? but only for vehicles which have manufacturer set folding seats.. and not those where the seats were not originally intended to be folded. correct?

so say a vehicle with non folding seats where i removed the pair of lower bolts enabling it to fold? :?

this rule kinda makes little sense to me... seems the rules are giving some vehicles an unfair advantage over others.. if i did fold my "non stock folding" seats.. wouldnt that make the competition fair? :?

Lance

Postby Lance » October 15th, 2008, 12:47 pm

MonsterPower wrote:seats can be dropped for spl competitions in sedans that are in stocn categories

Only if the Seats can do so by OEM specifications. you can't unbolt stuff etc.

It must be able to fold up and down seamlessly as the Manuf. intended.

yos19

Postby yos19 » October 15th, 2008, 1:45 pm

well that suxxxxxx.....lol....

but y let them fold theirs down den,,,,,you can't sit in the back when the seat are folded down so then all seats should be up for stock categories den....

i know rules are rules and dats jus the way they r, but it real shi tty for men who already have their rides and wanna compete competitively in spl;..

make up another class for sedans with non folding seats :wink:

riadb

Postby riadb » October 15th, 2008, 5:20 pm

but it real shi tty for men who already have their rides and wanna compete competitively in spl

for real eh..
can't believe my car actually holding me back from SPL dred.

jeff

Postby jeff » October 15th, 2008, 7:14 pm

fuzz_174 wrote:Deoraj Deonan (cortina guy)

does over 150 db's in stock category locally, with backseats in place

Dont be afraid of havin your backseat up, just try to work on your enclosure design

instead of fighting the rules, make a spl box for spl
people use music boxes and want to know why they dont score high spl
your box is quicker changed than the rules

Postby SR » October 15th, 2008, 7:43 pm

rule books and membership available for purchase

$150 for the rule book
$500/yr for the membership

keep in mind that non members scores do not count internationaly

riadb

Postby riadb » October 15th, 2008, 10:38 pm

instead of fighting the rules, make a spl box for spl

yea well dat was de plan from long ago jeff

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » October 15th, 2008, 11:04 pm

well stop complaining and get 2 work yo

spl is alot of trial and error.

what works for some cars may not work for yours..

riadb

Postby riadb » October 16th, 2008, 8:04 am

fuzz_174 wrote:^^

well stop complaining and get 2 work yo

spl is alot of trial and error.

what works for some cars may not work for yours..

yea doh worry....i have something in the pipeline :wink:

Postby 3stagevtec » October 16th, 2008, 1:18 pm

fuzz_174 wrote:Deoraj Deonan (cortina guy)

does over 150 db's in stock category locally, with backseats in place

Dont be afraid of havin your backseat up, just try to work on your enclosure design

wait a minute.. his back seats were up when he made over the 150dB mark??

Postby SR » October 16th, 2008, 1:21 pm

yup

TheWiseOne

Postby TheWiseOne » October 16th, 2008, 9:27 pm

3stagevtec wrote:wait a minute.. his back seats were up when he made over the 150dB mark??

his back sets were folded down when he made that score.

Postby 3stagevtec » October 16th, 2008, 9:42 pm

TheWiseOne wrote:his back sets were folded down when he made that score.

that's what i figured.. thanks

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » October 20th, 2008, 1:44 pm

SR wrote:yup

hmm so who correct and who right...
sr sa "yup"...lol

yos19

Postby yos19 » October 20th, 2008, 2:02 pm

please clarify for us ......

up or down,,,,,,,which one is it :wink:

Postby 3stagevtec » October 20th, 2008, 2:52 pm

i strongly believe it was down...

yos19

Postby yos19 » October 20th, 2008, 2:55 pm

down makes sense for the high number but hopefully it waz up, jus for motivation :wink: lol

TheWiseOne

Postby TheWiseOne » October 20th, 2008, 3:07 pm

it was down

but ull can do some good numbers with ur back seat up without any problems but ull have to be willing to try differnt stuff like enclosure deisgn and placement.

nirmal_333

Postby nirmal_333 » October 20th, 2008, 7:10 pm

do some searching on the forum i think there was something about this a wile ago
where SHAMEER was talking about some score he made with his seat up and down i think it was .5 db less

nirmal_333

Postby nirmal_333 » October 20th, 2008, 7:21 pm

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... &start=140

page 8 check it out i not picking up for anyone i just showing you all what shameer had said

jeff

Postby jeff » October 21st, 2008, 1:44 am

a back seat can make about 3 db difference

yos19

Postby yos19 » October 21st, 2008, 7:41 am

jeff wrote:a back seat can make about 3 db difference

very true :wink:

very true for mines with back seat up i lost at least 2db easy,,,,,

markzz

Postby markzz » October 25th, 2008, 7:45 pm

i lost 3-4 dB cuz of my back seat :(

taurussystems

Postby taurussystems » November 3rd, 2008, 1:56 pm

so hear this...... if u fold down the hand rest in the B15 and Almera and them, would you get a higher score. and then too would you be placed in a higher category?

yos19

Postby yos19 » November 3rd, 2008, 2:38 pm

so hear this...... if u fold down the hand rest in the B15 and Almera and them, would you get a higher score. and then too would you be placed in a higher category?

yes u can fold down hand rests........no bump in category...

yes more spl.. :wink:

taurussystems

Postby taurussystems » November 3rd, 2008, 2:50 pm

yos19 wrote:

yes u can fold down hand rests........no bump in category...

yes more spl.. :wink:

one more question category decisions are made based on cone area and stuff like # of batteries etc?

yos19

Postby yos19 » November 3rd, 2008, 3:16 pm

yes correct,,browse in this IASCA forum and look for IASCA rules 2008.

look at each category and c which one best suits ur system :wink:

yos19

Postby yos19 » November 3rd, 2008, 3:19 pm

Return to “IASCA Caribbean”