100% iasca 9 april 29, centre pointe mall -chaguanas

International Auto Sound Challenge Association
Official IASCA T&T Forum

shameer

100% iasca 9 april 29, centre pointe mall -chaguanas

Postby shameer » April 11th, 2007, 1:49 pm

2007 iasca season officially open.............

were back at iasca central - CENTRE POINTE MALL

APRIL 29............

2007 rules will be in full effect.........

lots of new launches and relaunches..........

will you be there???????

more details coming soon.............

stay tunned..........

Postby equipped2ripp » April 11th, 2007, 10:35 pm

lookin good :twisted:

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 13th, 2007, 10:50 am

cool cool. will be there :D

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 13th, 2007, 11:35 am

2NR Smurf wrote:cool cool. will be there :D

DUH 8-)

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 13th, 2007, 11:40 am

^may not be competing tho.

Postby wagon r » April 13th, 2007, 12:30 pm

^ good....another camera man.... :mrgreen:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 13th, 2007, 1:16 pm

make sure and give him some work to do. :twisted: :twisted:

Sully

Postby Sully » April 13th, 2007, 1:25 pm

I think that I'll sit this one out. I am still very disappointed by the lack of interest IASCA Trinidad shows in its soundQ competitions.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 13th, 2007, 1:42 pm

well Sully, you might as well as never compete then. Sq has always been put on the shade wrt to SPL and now bass boxing.

Things are changing. For the first time, afaik, a SQ team is now affiliated with a brand and is now part of an international competition team.

Sq has its fair share of challenges. The mere design and appreciation of a true sq system contradicts typical thinking.. (compare component set sales vs dj speakers, compare the amount of bask dash builds vs door pods).

The odds simply are against SQ, so don't blame IASCA Trinidad for what seems like a lack of appreciation.

The fact remains, is that ticket sales are what offsets expenses. If you had an event with sq alone, it will surely bust, with what 4 competitors?? We need to understand that IASCA Trinidad is only 2 working people.

From a business perspective, because there are expenses that have to be recovered from ticket sales, so its a business, how much revenue do you think will be generated from people coming to look at 4,5,6. cars with 2 guys sitting in them for 30 mins???

Back in the day, we were allowed to play some music after the car was judged, just to give the crowd something. I think we need to do something like that, just to they can hear "how clean it sounds" so to speak as a means to build interest.

I have not missed a sq event since Iasca Trinidad (Shameer) has been offering SQ, and I will continue to support him. Why? Because I understand whats going on and the challenges him and Sr have to face.

Team Hybrids will be there, showing our support...

Postby SR » April 13th, 2007, 3:47 pm

How does it look when a sound q competitor comes competes then leaves and is not interested in showing off/demoing thier vehicle to the public..........

how does that generate interest in sound q at a show??

no on says u need to stay till midnight
but at least have somthing to present to the public to sho that there is a sound q event and sound q vehicles.....................

how many sound q competitors are guilty of doing this

then expect us to give them high priority over everyone else

we try to get a balance for everyone
it is only shameer and myself and we have been trying hard to bring bac up the standards of the shows

any help would be appreciated

our bass boxing competitions are bigger than those in the states
they dont see or have the issues we have with it

sound q competitors usually hang around and have thier cars on display and are willing to demo and talk to anyone who is interested in either thier car and how it sounds or sound quality in general

do any of the present sound q competitors do that after competing?

or do they usually leave before the show is actually open to the public

when i use to compete we demoed the vehicles till the show was over
proving that sound q was the more affordable and enjoyable competition to get involved with

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 14th, 2007, 3:14 am

back then, sq was on sat. givjng the sq men the chance to demo.

nowadays we're there from 9 am. the show starts after 3. we leave after 5. how much longer would iasca reasonably want us to remain for?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 14th, 2007, 8:45 am

Do the attendees know how long the sound q cars stay there? and are available during the show for demo's? (which are extremely impractical during show time)

During the show, the sound q cars look like the rides the gallery cars' "other equipment" came with. They don't look like show cars when compared to the others, so no one is interested in them.

What's the disadvantage of doing the sound q show on a different day from the other events?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 14th, 2007, 11:51 am

Thanks for posting Silent Riot.

Here is a guy who waited 3 hours to hear my car. He waited till we competed and was finished. He is a true SQ fan.

By the time sq was done, we had a very small window of opportunity to demo, cus there were the gallery guys making nuisances of themselves.

What is being asked of the SQ guys is a tad unfair. We spend days upon days tuning, months upon months installing, to reach there for 9, to have to wait till IASCA gets organised to begin judging, 2-3 hours later. Continuing this rant is pointless.

Since my first competition in 1995, Sq has run on time a grand total of 1 or 2 times. BAck then we had to wait like 5-6 hours. So 2-3 is quite good. In another 12 years, Sq will begin on time.

Sully

Postby Sully » April 15th, 2007, 12:37 am

I pay my money to enter a competition like every other bass boxing / SPL competitor. I'm there on time, and my membership is up to date.

Sound Q events don't start on time. Parts of the event (RTA) is omitted so that SPL / bass boxing can be setup. The cost of the SQ competition remains the same.

I did not force the host of the event to have soundQ competitions on the same day as SPL. There have been some test and tunes that were successful without having a big show out of it. I am sure that most SQ competitors don't really care if the SQ competition is on the same day of an SPL / Bass Boxing event. Actually I'm pretty sure that they will appreciate it if the competition starts on time, and is properly judged without the intervention of SPL / Bass Boxing on the event.

I agree that it is a business. You're taking my money and giving me an incomplete service. And that's the reason that you will not be getting my business on the 29th.

Sully

Postby Sully » April 15th, 2007, 12:38 am

Sully, you might as well as never compete then.

I don't mind doing this. There are a lot of soundQ fans that don't. I will just be one of them instead.

roger

Postby roger » April 16th, 2007, 6:57 am

i am a true soundq quy who has been arounfd for a while, but has not been very interested in competition, for the reasons sully mentioned as well as others.

however, i think that the only way for the soundq competition to survive and grow, would be for guys like myself to get into the competitions. not for the sake of numbers, but to attempt to generate true interest and competitiveness

to that extent, though i will be a spectator at this show, i should be in the lanes for the next.

i am in it purely as an audiophile understanding that i can play a role in the sustainance (to some extent) of the sq competitions.

i have no probs getting cut arse and cuttin arse in the lanes!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 16th, 2007, 12:05 pm

How does it look when a sound q competitor comes competes then leaves and is not interested in showing off/demoing thier vehicle to the public.

so very true - this is why i not attracted to d pure SQ shows as a spectator as much

same with d pure SPL cars - men hiding with their cars locked up tight in d background & when they name called they just go up to d judging spot for spl u just see a car pull up & hear a brrrrrrrrrrr vibration & see a score on a meter & d cars go out d compound instantly after

i know d owners must be thinking ppl scoping out what to tief but .....only activity\fun is for d competitor & not d patron - this is why i rather go see\hear d other cars that ppl come with to play for d public @ large in d same iasca shows & i totally ignore d sq\spl comp part of d show .......just IMHO........ 8-)

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 16th, 2007, 12:05 pm

roger wrote:i have no probs getting cut arse and cuttin arse in the lanes!

damn str8

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 16th, 2007, 1:25 pm

roger wrote:to that extent, though i will be a spectator at this show, i should be in the lanes for the next.

I will be going to this show to get some competition knowledge. I am interested in competing, but not if the sound q shows go the way they do.

roger wrote:i have no probs getting cut arse and cuttin arse in the lanes!

those are fightin words round these parts...

On a more serious note, I think sound q should not be held with the other aspects of iasca, given how two disciplines clash. It attracts two different types of car enthusiasts.

From the competitiors reported experiences, all aspects of the sport are not completed, and is not on time. From an attendee's point of view, hearing the beauty of the system is impossible at "show time".

roger

Postby roger » April 16th, 2007, 1:52 pm

^^tru on the last point..

Postby SR » April 16th, 2007, 2:06 pm

we are looking at holding sq on days separate from the actual show itslef but then there is no exposure to the public

as for the rta scoring

the new 2007 rules now has RTO scoring and takes intop consoderation the floor noise as people around the world also experience the same issues with too much background noise while testing rta

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 16th, 2007, 6:12 pm

but how does that work?

would the ambient noise throw off everyone's curve?

BTW gents, hitting 110 with the pink noise isn't as easy as it sounds.

Postby SR » April 16th, 2007, 6:20 pm

well thats how its gonna be

most will hit around 100 to 105

but we are going with the 2007 rules

that way no one can complain about not having RTA done anymore

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 16th, 2007, 9:43 pm

who's complaining... bring it on... were ready.

Postby SR » April 17th, 2007, 7:17 am

nigel1977 wrote:who's complaining... bring it on... were ready.

yuh joking right

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » April 17th, 2007, 11:39 am

we in this show for sure.........look Out for My Green Laurel.... 0X

Postby SR » April 17th, 2007, 12:40 pm

nice

we will be having 2 lanes of spl testing simultaneously

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 17th, 2007, 12:46 pm

how about running 2 classes of sq simultaneously?

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » April 17th, 2007, 4:13 pm

I go make a pass thru

Postby SR » April 17th, 2007, 6:27 pm

nigel1977 wrote:how about running 2 classes of sq simultaneously?

you can discuss that with shameer at the meeting

i hope sully is also present to air all the issues he has with iasca trinidad

Return to “IASCA Caribbean”