The magic of the 70s

Postby wagonrunner » March 13th, 2007, 1:24 am

Boodram & Gonsalves (2).jpg

Boodram & Gonsalves (3).jpg

Boodram & Gonsalves (4).jpg

Boodram, Gonsalves, Wing Quan (1).jpg
Last edited by wagonrunner on February 27th, 2018, 7:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagonrunner » March 13th, 2007, 1:27 am

Bowen 1.jpg

Bread Van 1.jpg

Bread Van & Cheekes 1.jpg

Brodie 1.jpg

Brodie 2.jpg
Last edited by wagonrunner on February 27th, 2018, 7:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RoadWarrior

Postby RoadWarrior » March 20th, 2007, 9:21 pm

Keep it going wagonrunner, much appreciated.

Postby Monk BANzai » March 20th, 2007, 9:46 pm

i remember Brodie!!!......daaam!! memoroes hoss!!!

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » March 20th, 2007, 11:31 pm

Any with Tim Meyer? Used to run a Mini, low budget, so he built his own "bucket seat" out of wood and foam! When he was not racing, used to sell hot dogs.

Postby wagonrunner » March 21st, 2007, 3:07 am

nice to know, i'm not playing to empty seats. :D thanks

Autosport, not seeing any bearing that name, but you may see some minis if i keep this going.

Again thanks to Gordon Gonsalves for compiling the pics.
so here we go.............
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Capri1

Cheekes1

Cheekes2
Last edited by wagonrunner on February 27th, 2018, 8:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagonrunner » March 21st, 2007, 3:10 am

Cheekes3

Cheekes4

Cheekes5

Cheekes7
Last edited by wagonrunner on February 27th, 2018, 8:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagonrunner » March 21st, 2007, 3:12 am

Cheeks9

Cheekes & Frankie 1.jpg

Cheekes & Janspeed Sunny 1.jpg

Cheekes & Janspeed Sunny 2.jpg
Last edited by wagonrunner on February 27th, 2018, 8:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagonrunner » March 21st, 2007, 3:20 am

Clarke in Ensign 1.jpg

Clarke in Ensign 2.jpg

Clarke in Ensign 3.jpg

Clarke in Ensign 4.jpg
Last edited by wagonrunner on February 27th, 2018, 8:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagonrunner » March 21st, 2007, 3:28 am

Clarke, Ibrahim, Kelshall - Guyana.jpg

Clive.jpg

Contemplating the March (1).jpg

Contemplating the March (2).jpg

Correia 1.jpg

Da Costa Jones action 1.jpg
Last edited by wagonrunner on February 27th, 2018, 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lowlife

Postby lowlife » March 21st, 2007, 7:32 am

*sighs* these pics are nice, but they make me depressed (I wanna race :cry: )

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 7th, 2007, 10:32 am

:shock: :D wow much thanks to the people who brought those picts here and to you wagonrunner

Postby MG Man » September 7th, 2007, 10:52 am

I have some old 120mm negatives with pics my dad took in the late 1970s...anybody can scan them properly?

for flee? :mrgreen:

Postby Maserati » September 7th, 2007, 11:01 am

lol send me them :lol:

Postby MG Man » September 7th, 2007, 7:57 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :(

Postby wagonrunner » December 5th, 2007, 4:00 pm

i will make the effort to contniue with these pics. also mg man, if its not a rush, i can try with your negatives.
pity, i could no longer blow them up for free

Postby wagonrunner » December 5th, 2007, 4:11 pm

Fifi 1.jpg

Fifi 2.jpg

Fifi 3.jpg

Fifi 4.jpg

Fifi March

*now remember i have these on meh machine as a screensaver :mrgreen:*
Last edited by wagonrunner on February 27th, 2018, 8:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Maserati » December 5th, 2007, 4:14 pm

nice :P

Postby wagonrunner » December 6th, 2007, 11:44 am

Firenza.jpg

Frankie 1.jpg

Frankie 1_1.jpg

Frankie 2.jpg

Frankie 2_1.jpg
Last edited by wagonrunner on February 27th, 2018, 8:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » December 6th, 2007, 2:52 pm

anybody know whatever happened to the geese? Where is it now?

Postby Maserati » December 7th, 2007, 3:35 pm

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » December 7th, 2007, 7:44 pm

The car could either be the Geese or the one that Easton use to drive" shotgun".

I might be wrong but I believe that when the Geese first came down it was black with red stripes. Shotgun was either all black or blue.

I remember Easton thought Shotgun was the match for the Geese. It was up to parr power wise but driving skill killed him against Frankie.

Those were the days.

kurtiejjj

Postby kurtiejjj » December 19th, 2007, 5:39 pm

Interesting array of cars you have over there in trinidad! Never knew the carribean had so much racing history. Even european single seaters, the orange/yellow is a Brabham as far as I can see.

I was the poster on the trinturbo forum, who posted the photos of the black racing escort. I'm pretty sure now this is the car that went to Mr Boodram. As suggested on another thread.

By the way that (janspeed) datsun sunny from the photo in this thread is also an ex-dutch racing car :shock: Anybody have a clue where that went?

ggonsalves

Some comments from 70s driver Gary Huggins

Postby ggonsalves » May 19th, 2008, 12:58 pm

Hi Folks,

Gary Huggins is one of the best drivers I have ever known (in fact, Gary was responsible for getting me interested in car racing back before we were even teenagers) and now lives in the Cayman Islands. Gary still competes in solodex-type events and will probably still jump into a racing car at the drop of a hat and give people a hard time on a circuit.

We've recently been corresponding and I showed him this forum and topic. He replied to me with the following which he has given me permission to publish here. Its another driver's perspective and he raises a number of good points which I believe are still very relevant.

Gordon

[i] Hi Gordon,

I was reading your article in TriniTuner, and a few thoughts came to me.

The films we used to show at Club meetings were borrowed from the British High Commission. They were very strict as to who could borrow them, and were even stricter as to when they had to be returned. I developed a good relationship with them, and, as a result, we were allowed to borrow great films, such as The Flying Finns, Nine days in Summer, From Harrigate it Started, to name a few. All these films are now Motor Sport classics. As you pointed out, this was sometimes the highlight of the meetings; as well as the camaraderie and friendship shared by most of the Club members.

The only way that Motor Sport can regain some of its glory anywhere, is to have a dedicated board of passionate people who are willing to work together for the common good of the sport. They must also not be afraid to stand up to people who are willing to cheat, threaten, and undermine the sport just so they could look good. This is what killed motor racing at Wallerfield. There was a person who threatened some Board members by taking business away from them if they took a stand against them.

Cheating, or bending the rules, has always been a part of racing. But if the rules are not enforced and obeyed, then everything will come apart as we saw in the past. Do you know when I stopped racing, 22 other drivers did the same? The sad part was that all we were asking for was to penalize the culprits and make it public and enforce the rules, but everyone was afraid to do it. Any sport has to have someone willing to enforce the rules but they have to be backed up by the other members. Also, any driver who starts Motor Racing and thinks they will win all the time, better get out of it immediately.

In the words of the great Phil Hill: “To be a great Champion, you first have to be a great loser, because you will do a lot more losing, than winning.â€

Postby wagon r » May 19th, 2008, 2:01 pm

.....i'm extremely humbled by that letter......speechless in fact... :|

Postby eliteauto » May 19th, 2008, 5:31 pm

lovely letter actually, and @ the last BYCC/Driving School that feeling of "passion" for driving was conveyed by the instructors, somehow that seems lost on most esp those who focus on a few secs on a race course, I really hope I can see a return of circuit racing

Re: Some comments from 70s driver Gary Huggins

Postby Maserati » May 19th, 2008, 6:02 pm

ggonsalves wrote:
The only way that Motor Sport can regain some of its glory anywhere, is to have a dedicated board of passionate people who are willing to work together for the common good of the sport. They must also not be afraid to stand up to people who are willing to cheat, threaten, and undermine the sport just so they could look good. This is what killed motor racing at Wallerfield. There was a person who threatened some Board members by taking business away from them if they took a stand against them.

this stood out for me.

ziig

Postby ziig » June 9th, 2008, 10:10 pm

hye Gordon, nice peice, brings back many memories..........I do wonder though how come you didnt mention your good ole friend the "DOC"..Mike Baboolal...........as he recalled you got your very first sponsorship from him and the ole man "Zig"....do you remember that..?.......

Also his ROSUN datsun rotary was quite a match for all the fast and expensive UK and IMPORTED race cars.......not bad for a local built datsun 120 with a home built prei port 13b....it was so bad that when he started winning races they decided to ban non homilgated cars.....thats how we decided to go to the rx7.......
anyway.....it was really good reading....and it brings back many memories...
I am in usa now and I do NW region ohio autcross and really loving every minnute of it..........
:wink:

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » June 10th, 2008, 11:23 am

this is easily one of the greatest threads in Trinituner history!!!

I pissed on my first tyre in Wallerfield!!! :lol:

djaggs

Postby djaggs » June 11th, 2008, 12:46 am

I remember watching Gary Huggins race, he was quite an aggressive driver if I remember correctly.