Suv with best ground clearance

death365

Suv with best ground clearance

Postby death365 » April 28th, 2022, 8:36 pm

So where I work now and how we are back to working all week and normal hours, I think I need a vehicle with higher ground clearance to avoid any chance of getting water in the car and engine.

(Yes this has to do with the recent flooding in town)

So which suv has the best ground clearance?

carluva

Re: Suv with best ground clearance

Postby carluva » April 28th, 2022, 8:39 pm

What's your budget?

4WD, 2WD or AWD? (4WD will always have the best ground clearance).

New or used?

What features interest you?

death365

Postby death365 » April 28th, 2022, 8:54 pm

For the car not to wash away ...

Ok all kicks aside ... sub 350k ... im a big guy 6'5" so I need to fit in it properly. If it has android auto will be nice too

New or foreign used

trinigoon

Postby trinigoon » April 28th, 2022, 9:22 pm

Buy a used local Prado put a lift kit ..good value for money

carluva

Postby carluva » April 28th, 2022, 9:36 pm

From my experience:

Toyota RAV4 - lots of room in the driver's seat and lots for the passenger behind you with your seat adjusted to your frame. Option New or Second Hand. This will be 2WD but has some decent clearance to get through some waters you will encounter.

Toyota Fortuner. Good for your frame but the passenger behind you will be a bit cramped. Option is Second Hand and you can get a good one for under 300k. This will be 4WD, good ground clearance. Replace head unit with one that has android auto. Add a differential breather and that will manage most flood waters.

Else you can go van territory.

350k also puts you in Hyundai and Kia medium SUV territory but those will be a bit cramped for your frame and render the rear passenger very uncomfortable as well as probably have electronics flaking out with the slightest splash of water. 350k also puts you in Xtrail and Mazda territory but again those may be a bit unsuitable due to your height.

death365 wrote:For the car not to wash away ...

Ok all kicks aside ... sub 350k ... im a big guy 6'5" so I need to fit in it properly. If it has android auto will be nice too

New or foreign used

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » April 28th, 2022, 10:41 pm

death365 wrote:So where I work now and how we are back to working all week and normal hours, I think I need a vehicle with higher ground clearance to avoid any chance of getting water in the car and engine.

(Yes this has to do with the recent flooding in town)

So which suv has the best ground clearance?

Prado/surf

Postby adnj » April 28th, 2022, 11:29 pm

Maximum wading depth is not the same as ground clearance. So do a search on that first.

I recall Prado Land Cruiser and HiLux as good. Ford/Mazda pickup as better. LR Defender as better still.

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 29th, 2022, 1:36 am

Ground clearance in mm for current brand new production crossovers and SUVs available in our market via the authorized and grey market dealers:

Land Rover Defender - 291
Mercedes Benz G-Class - 283
BMW X7 - 228
Jeep Wrangler - 225
Jeep Compass - 225
Mitsubishi Xpander Cross - 225
Ford Everest - 225
Jaguar E-Pace - 224
Volvo XC90 - 223
Subaru Forester - 220
Subaru XV - 220
Toyota Rush - 220
Toyota Land Cruiser Prado - 219
Land Rover Range Rover - 218
Toyota Fortuner - 216
BMW X5 - 214
Land Rover Range Rover Sport - 213
Jaguar F-Pace - 213
Mercedes Benz GLB - 213
Mercedes Benz GLA - 213
Mercedes Benz GLE - 212
Land Rover Discovery Sport - 212
BMW X6 - 212
Audi Q8 - 211
Volvo XC60 - 211
Volvo XC40 - 211
Nissan Xtrail - 210
Suzuki Jimny - 210
Ford EcoSport - 209
Honda CRV AWD - 208
Toyota Corolla Cross - 206
Mitsubishi ASX - 205
Kia Sonet - 205
BMW X4 - 204
BMW X3 - 204
Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross - 203
Mercedes Benz GLC - 201
Lexus RX - 200
Toyota RAV4 - 200
Toyota Raize - 200
Datsun Cross - 200
Suzuki XL-7 - 200
Mercedes Benz GLS - 199
Honda CRV - 198
Audi Q5 - 197
Mazda CX-5 - 193
Audi Q3 - 191
Volkswagen Tiguan - 191
Lexus NX - 190
Porsche Cayenne - 190
Porsche Macan - 190
Hyundai Creta - 190
Nissan Qashqai - 188
Suzuki Vitara - 185
BMW X1 - 183
BMW X2 - 182
Hyundai Tucson - 181
Nissan Juke - 180
Suzuki S-Cross - 180
Suzuki Ignis - 180
Audi Q7 - 178
Kia Seltos - 177
Hyundai Santa Fe - 176
Kia Sorento - 176
Mazda CX-30 - 175
MG HS - 174
Toyota Yaris Cross - 170
Honda HRV - 170
Honda Vezel - 170
Hyundai Venue - 170
MG ZS - 164
Kia Sportage - 163
Mazda CX-3 - 160
Kia Niro - 160
Hyundai Kona Electric - 158
Toyota Harrier - 155
Audi Q2 - 144
Toyota CHR - 137

Including some pickups so you can see the difference in relation to the crossovers, SUVs and cars:

Ford Ranger FX4 - 256
Mazda BT-50 - 240
Isuzu D-Max - 240
Ford Ranger Wildtrak - 232
Volkswagen Amarok - 226
Nissan Frontier/Navara - 220
Mitsubishi L200 Sportero/Triton - 220
Toyota Hilux - 216

Including some cars so you can see the difference in relation to the crossovers, SUVs and pickups above:

Toyota Agya - 180
Suzuki Ciaz - 170
Suzuki Baleno - 170
Suzuki Dzire - 170
BMW 3-Series - 165
Honda City - 165
Mazda 6 - 165
Audi A4 - 160
Hyundai Atos - 160
BMW 1-Series - 153
Volvo S90 - 152
Mazda 2 - 152
Mercedes Benz CLA-Class - 150
Mazda 3 - 150
Toyota Camry - 145
Toyota Vios/Yaris - 145
Hyundai Ioniq - 142
Lexus IS - 140
Hyundai Elantra - 140
Kia Rio - 140
Jaguar XF - 135
BMW 7-Series - 135
Toyota Corolla - 135
Kia Cerato - 135
Honda Civic - 134
MG 3 - 132
BMW 5-Series - 131
Honda Accord - 131
Mercedes Benz S-Class - 130
Subaru Impreza - 130
Jaguar XE - 125
BMW 4-Series - 124
Mercedes Benz CLS-Class - 123
Mercedes Benz E-Class - 122
Suzuki Swift - 120
Mercedes Benz C-Class - 118
Mercedes Benz A-Class - 112

NB: Some ground clearances would differ depending on market and spec/trim so expect variations in random google searches.

death365

Postby death365 » April 29th, 2022, 5:47 am

Thanks ... thats great info ... I have the sylphy (new model ... ground clearance 137) at present and a sportero too (wifey).

It have to be accessible to buy via government travelling officers standards.

No diesel or T.
agent007 wrote:Ground clearance in mm for current brand new production crossovers and SUVs available in our market via the authorized and grey market dealers:

Land Rover Defender - 291
Mercedes Benz G-Class - 283
BMW X7 - 228
Jeep Wrangler - 225
Jeep Compass - 225
Mitsubishi Xpander Cross - 225
Ford Everest - 225
Jaguar E-Pace - 224
Volvo XC90 - 223
Subaru Forester - 220
Subaru XV - 220
Toyota Rush - 220
Toyota Land Cruiser Prado - 219
Land Rover Range Rover - 218
Toyota Fortuner - 216
BMW X5 - 214
Land Rover Range Rover Sport - 213
Jaguar F-Pace - 213
Mercedes Benz GLB - 213
Mercedes Benz GLA - 213
Mercedes Benz GLE - 212
Land Rover Discovery Sport - 212
BMW X6 - 212
Audi Q8 - 211
Volvo XC60 - 211
Volvo XC40 - 211
Nissan Xtrail - 210
Suzuki Jimny - 210
Ford EcoSport - 209
Honda CRV AWD - 208
Toyota Corolla Cross - 206
Mitsubishi ASX - 205
Kia Sonet - 205
BMW X4 - 204
BMW X3 - 204
Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross - 203
Mercedes Benz GLC - 201
Lexus RX - 200
Toyota RAV4 - 200
Toyota Raize - 200
Datsun Cross - 200
Suzuki XL-7 - 200
Mercedes Benz GLS - 199
Honda CRV - 198
Audi Q5 - 197
Mazda CX-5 - 193
Audi Q3 - 191
Volkswagen Tiguan - 191
Lexus NX - 190
Porsche Cayenne - 190
Porsche Macan - 190
Hyundai Creta - 190
Nissan Qashqai - 188
Suzuki Vitara - 185
BMW X1 - 183
BMW X2 - 182
Hyundai Tucson - 181
Nissan Juke - 180
Suzuki S-Cross - 180
Suzuki Ignis - 180
Audi Q7 - 178
Kia Seltos - 177
Hyundai Santa Fe - 176
Kia Sorento - 176
Mazda CX-30 - 175
MG HS - 174
Toyota Yaris Cross - 170
Honda HRV - 170
Honda Vezel - 170
Hyundai Venue - 170
MG ZS - 164
Kia Sportage - 163
Mazda CX-3 - 160
Kia Niro - 160
Hyundai Kona Electric - 158
Toyota Harrier - 155
Audi Q2 - 144
Toyota CHR - 137

Including some pickups so you can see the difference in relation to the crossovers, SUVs and cars:

Ford Ranger FX4 - 256
Mazda BT-50 - 240
Isuzu D-Max - 240
Ford Ranger Wildtrak - 232
Volkswagen Amarok - 226
Nissan Frontier/Navara - 220
Mitsubishi L200 Sportero/Triton - 220
Toyota Hilux - 216

Including some cars so you can see the difference in relation to the crossovers, SUVs and pickups above:

Toyota Agya - 180
Suzuki Ciaz - 170
Suzuki Baleno - 170
Suzuki Dzire - 170
BMW 3-Series - 165
Honda City - 165
Mazda 6 - 165
Audi A4 - 160
Hyundai Atos - 160
BMW 1-Series - 153
Volvo S90 - 152
Mazda 2 - 152
Mercedes Benz CLA-Class - 150
Mazda 3 - 150
Toyota Camry - 145
Toyota Vios/Yaris - 145
Hyundai Ioniq - 142
Lexus IS - 140
Hyundai Elantra - 140
Kia Rio - 140
Jaguar XF - 135
BMW 7-Series - 135
Toyota Corolla - 135
Kia Cerato - 135
Honda Civic - 134
MG 3 - 132
BMW 5-Series - 131
Honda Accord - 131
Mercedes Benz S-Class - 130
Subaru Impreza - 130
Jaguar XE - 125
BMW 4-Series - 124
Mercedes Benz CLS-Class - 123
Mercedes Benz E-Class - 122
Suzuki Swift - 120
Mercedes Benz C-Class - 118
Mercedes Benz A-Class - 112

NB: Some ground clearances would differ depending on market and spec/trim so expect variations in random google searches.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 29th, 2022, 5:49 am

I must also point out that vehicles that carry live rear axles will naturally have lower ground clearance than some SUVs simply because of the axle/banjo itself.

death365

Postby death365 » June 4th, 2022, 5:30 pm

I decided on the subaru xv based on the 8.5 inch ground clearance, all wheel drive, and android auto deck. Somewhat the 1.6 engine for better gas mileage too.

Postby Dave » June 4th, 2022, 6:02 pm

Stop and go that FB16 is disappointing but highway would be better.
Engine is a bit lethargic but depends on what you are coming from.

death365

Postby death365 » June 4th, 2022, 6:20 pm

San Juan to town everyday... as well as drives on d weekend ... beach sightseeing etc.

I'm coming from the 1.8 sylphy and I'm OK with being less powered. I know what and why im looking to upgrade- not power but height and flood mitigation
Dave wrote:Stop and go that FB16 is disappointing but highway would be better.
Engine is a bit lethargic but depends on what you are coming from.

Postby Dave » June 4th, 2022, 6:30 pm

Another San Juanian in the house lol.

You would be good then.

It would more than suit your needs. I have a local B17 and my wife has the XV.
She came from J10 Qashqai which in my opinion was an overall downgrade but my requirements and hers were totally different so all in all it would be a good choice for you given what you stated.

Enjoy and good luck!

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 4th, 2022, 7:37 pm

Lol....a J10/J11 Qashqai was designed and engineered by a night shift "B" team. It happened to get approval because of Ghosn bean counting. Those were and continue to be garbage. Even the 2007 based first gen XV would be superior and let's not throw in crash safety. An old Impreza would probably score better than a new qashqai.

Death, congratulations on your sweet ride bro, you went best in class!

Ps...not 8.5 but 8.7-inch ground clearance.

Postby adnj » June 5th, 2022, 8:02 am

Last edited by adnj on June 5th, 2022, 8:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » June 5th, 2022, 8:15 am

agent007 wrote:Lol....a J10/J11 Qashqai was designed and engineered by a night shift "B" team. It happened to get approval because of Ghosn bean counting. Those were and continue to be garbage. Even the 2007 based first gen XV would be superior and let's not throw in crash safety. An old Impreza would probably score better than a new qashqai.

Let's just hope that you're joking. Because if not, you have no fukking idea about what youre're talking about.

There is no such thing as a "a night shift "B" team" in automotive. All Nissan/Renault product programs, follow the same cross-functional product approval process:

1. Business Unit project review
2. Product Planning cost and volume review
3. Pre-program team assignment
4. Program team assignment
5. Pre-Prototype prove-out
6. Plant Prototype prove-out
7. Launch
8. Job 1

Small programs, like a audio upgrade or interior trim change take about 12 to 18 months to complete steps 4 to 8.

A facelift will take 18+ months.

Major programs take 24+ months.

New vehicle programs take about 36+ months. BMW takes about 60+ months to launch a new vehicle.

Also:
Afternoons are Shift 3
Midnights are Shift 1

matix

Postby matix » June 5th, 2022, 8:34 am

adnj wrote:
agent007 wrote:Lol....a J10/J11 Qashqai was designed and engineered by a night shift "B" team. It happened to get approval because of Ghosn bean counting. Those were and continue to be garbage. Even the 2007 based first gen XV would be superior and let's not throw in crash safety. An old Impreza would probably score better than a new qashqai.

Let's just hope that you're joking. Because if not, you have no fukking idea about what youre're talking about.

There is no such thing as a "a night shift "B" team" in automotive. All Nissan/Renault product programs, follow the same cross-functional product approval process:

1. Business Unit project review
2. Product Planning cost and volume review
3. Pre-program team assignment
4. Program team assignment
5. Pre-Prototype prove-out
6. Plant Prototype prove-out
7. Launch
8. Job 1

Small programs, like a audio upgrade or interior trim change take about 12 to 18 months to complete steps 4 to 8.

A facelift will take 18+ months.

Major programs take 24+ months.

New vehicle programs take about 36+ months. BMW takes about 60+ months to launch a new vehicle.

Also:
Afternoons are Shift 3
Midnights are Shift 1

This should be interesting…

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 5th, 2022, 10:44 am

adnj, it’s called sarcasm. Planters peanut brain persons like you need to cuss to get your point across but its simply doing the opposite! I realize you have a beef with me ever since you gargle that hybrid bs and I set you straight with yuh nonsense lol. You even tried an alter ego account and failed rofl.

Now since I have complete control of your emotions, boy (more than likely you have identity issues but your brain is juvenile so I chose boy) you in for a ride now.

I can’t remember when or if I ever had an issue with someone on this forum, so I thank you for giving me some hope and popping up in my radar.

Concerning the J10, there is simply no excuse. What I meant to say is, the engineers were out in the parking lot one day during a planned drill exercise and saw some text book notes in a nearby garbage can. When the lead engineer saw this, he picked it up and realize it was notes on how to build a little crossover. Being the lazy people that they are, they got the design approved and hence the Dualis/Qashqai was born. Google it, it’s true. Make sure you have ample back support whilst you research it, cause you need extra time and I want you to be very comfortable as you prepare your next rant. Remember to give your eyes some rest as well as too much screen time in one position can cause RSI. No one wants a rant that is partly due to bad posture….stupidity is one thing but not bad posture too.

I digress, the J10 is not 100% garbage, absolutely not! It’s better still than a Datsun Cross, a BAIC x25 and the MG ZS. It also manages to score a higher crash safety rating than a bmx bike with you on it crashing into a wall at 10mph. Now don’t go trying the latter to prove me wrong now ok. You will get injured and I certainly don’t want your moms to go contacting a mod to have me in bantamano bay on a year long vacation like zoom for your stupidity.

Come on, have a heart! Imagine I at the same resort with this tuner only hearing red govt this and that. I might turn crazy just like you and we don’t want this now do we?

I wish I can go on and on but you see I now get water after 2 days so I gonna start some Sunday cleaning now. Ttyl ok.

Postby sMASH » June 5th, 2022, 11:15 am

Quashquai engineers were picked up in curepe

Postby adnj » June 5th, 2022, 5:38 pm

agent007 wrote:adnj, it’s called sarcasm. Planters peanut brain persons like you need to cuss to get your point across but its simply doing the opposite! I realize you have a beef with me ever since you gargle that hybrid bs and I set you straight with yuh nonsense lol. You even tried an alter ego account and failed rofl.

Now since I have complete control of your emotions, boy (more than likely you have identity issues but your brain is juvenile so I chose boy) you in for a ride now.

I can’t remember when or if I ever had an issue with someone on this forum, so I thank you for giving me some hope and popping up in my radar.

Concerning the J10, there is simply no excuse. What I meant to say is, the engineers were out in the parking lot one day during a planned drill exercise and saw some text book notes in a nearby garbage can. When the lead engineer saw this, he picked it up and realize it was notes on how to build a little crossover. Being the lazy people that they are, they got the design approved and hence the Dualis/Qashqai was born. Google it, it’s true. Make sure you have ample back support whilst you research it, cause you need extra time and I want you to be very comfortable as you prepare your next rant. Remember to give your eyes some rest as well as too much screen time in one position can cause RSI. No one wants a rant that is partly due to bad posture….stupidity is one thing but not bad posture too.

I digress, the J10 is not 100% garbage, absolutely not! It’s better still than a Datsun Cross, a BAIC x25 and the MG ZS. It also manages to score a higher crash safety rating than a bmx bike with you on it crashing into a wall at 10mph. Now don’t go trying the latter to prove me wrong now ok. You will get injured and I certainly don’t want your moms to go contacting a mod to have me in bantamano bay on a year long vacation like zoom for your stupidity.

Come on, have a heart! Imagine I at the same resort with this tuner only hearing red govt this and that. I might turn crazy just like you and we don’t want this now do we?

I wish I can go on and on but you see I now get water after 2 days so I gonna start some Sunday cleaning now. Ttyl ok.
To my eyes, your sarcasm looks a whole lot like posts based solely on personal opinion and a lack of supporting evidence.

david12

Postby david12 » June 5th, 2022, 6:08 pm

^Was going to say something similar and ask this:

What experiences support those statements?

Not trying to start any conflict but I really want to know since I've had experience with a J10 for 8 years or so. Want to see if I can relate, I guess.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 5th, 2022, 10:15 pm

My poorest sarcasm still better than your best supposed intelligence. Wheel and come again peanut brain.
adnj wrote:
agent007 wrote:adnj, it’s called sarcasm. Planters peanut brain persons like you need to cuss to get your point across but its simply doing the opposite! I realize you have a beef with me ever since you gargle that hybrid bs and I set you straight with yuh nonsense lol. You even tried an alter ego account and failed rofl.

To my eyes, your sarcasm looks a whole lot like posts based solely on personal opinion and a lack of supporting evidence.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 5th, 2022, 10:40 pm

The argument is similar to the great old Corolla vs Civic vs Sentra debate. You will see based off of reviews alone (whether local or international) that the Sentra is the lowest ranked amongst the 3. It is what it is cause we've come to expect this, so this is not argued much anymore.

Similarly, the J10 qashqai compared to stuff like the Rav4, crv, asx, xv and grand vitara of that era would put the qashqai in last position. In fact, the upper tier would be the rav4, crv and xv. In the lower tier, I would still put the ASX over the qashqai.

Now I'm no Nissan hater by any means. The tables would turn if we included the Xtrail Classic T30. That would be in the upper tier and is far better than the J10 in terms of reliability....from the 4AT transmission to the QR20DE engine.

The MR20DE continues to show that Nissan went downhill with their naturally aspirated 2.0L transverse 4-cylinders. The QR20 couldn't stand a chance against the SR20 and the newer MR20 continues to make a QR20 look better in comparison.

Lastly, those earlier Nissan CVTs have made transmission specialists all across T&T very wealthy over the years. I know what I'm saying, a used J10 to me is not worth it. To be fair though, I'll take the J10 over the J11 only because the MR20DD is an absolute nightmare to own.

Your turn..
david12 wrote:^Was going to say something similar and ask this:

Not trying to start any conflict but I really want to know since I've had experience with a J10 for 8 years or so. Want to see if I can relate, I guess.

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » June 6th, 2022, 6:58 am

agent007 wrote:The argument is similar to the great old Corolla vs Civic vs Sentra debate. You will see based off of reviews alone (whether local or international) that the Sentra is the lowest ranked amongst the 3. It is what it is cause we've come to expect this, so this is not argued much anymore.

Similarly, the J10 qashqai compared to stuff like the Rav4, crv, asx, xv and grand vitara of that era would put the qashqai in last position. In fact, the upper tier would be the rav4, crv and xv. In the lower tier, I would still put the ASX over the qashqai.

Now I'm no Nissan hater by any means. The tables would turn if we included the Xtrail Classic T30. That would be in the upper tier and is far better than the J10 in terms of reliability....from the 4AT transmission to the QR20DE engine.

The MR20DE continues to show that Nissan went downhill with their naturally aspirated 2.0L transverse 4-cylinders. The QR20 couldn't stand a chance against the SR20 and the newer MR20 continues to make a QR20 look better in comparison.

Lastly, those earlier Nissan CVTs have made transmission specialists all across T&T very wealthy over the years. I know what I'm saying, a used J10 to me is not worth it. To be fair though, I'll take the J10 over the J11 only because the MR20DD is an absolute nightmare to own.

Your turn..
david12 wrote:^Was going to say something similar and ask this:

Lol

Finesse in ya mc !

death365

Postby death365 » July 7th, 2022, 12:18 pm

she does put premium or super?

Dave wrote:Another San Juanian in the house lol.

You would be good then.

It would more than suit your needs. I have a local B17 and my wife has the XV.
She came from J10 Qashqai which in my opinion was an overall downgrade but my requirements and hers were totally different so all in all it would be a good choice for you given what you stated.

Enjoy and good luck!

death365

Postby death365 » October 5th, 2022, 4:41 pm

I forget to update this .... last week Wednesday I got it.
20220928_125858.jpg
20220928_124918.jpg
20220923_155804.jpg

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 5th, 2022, 6:03 pm

Congratulations!!! Excellent choice, treat her well and you’ll not be disappointed one bit

Postby *KRONIK* » October 5th, 2022, 6:11 pm

death365 wrote:I forget to update this .... last week Wednesday I got it.
20220928_125858.jpg
20220928_124918.jpg
20220923_155804.jpg
Rell fresh

Looking full100

Postby Dave » October 5th, 2022, 6:22 pm

B17 gone and Xv in the house.

Did some flood driving with our Xv today. Stood up proud with all the vans!

Good vehicle and one of the few originating from the land of the rising sun!