The Battle of Orange Peel

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 26th, 2019, 9:08 pm

Had my car painted almost a year ago and it had severe orange peel. Yunno, when your paint is so rough it looks like the skin of an orange. Well mine more like grapefruit peel.

The painter was of the opinion he did a magnificent job and was not inclined to rectify anything. Say what, you live and learn.

I get to the point where i couldn't walk past my car without cussing for a few minutes, so, I have taken matters into my own hands. If it's going to get even more fracked up, bess it happen at my own hands. Going to sand and compound and polish etc etc.

Note: I am not a professional and as such may not always use the best products, tools and techniques that would be obvious to someone with years of experience. I'm more like a motivated hobbyist.

This is what the car looks like now. It kinda hard to catch orange peel on a silver car on camera.

IMG_20190826_160925091.jpg

IMG_20190826_160911997.jpg

IMG_20190826_160852037.jpg

IMG_20190826_160842338.jpg

IMG_20190826_160805926.jpg

IMG_20190816_095206190.jpg

Re: The Battle of Orange Peel

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 26th, 2019, 9:27 pm

Started on the bonnet

IMG_20190816_095634894.jpg

You can get an idea of how bad it is after 1 pass with 1500 wet sanding

IMG_20190816_101201320.jpg

IMG_20190816_101125935.jpg

This the same spot before and after 3 passes of 1500, 2 passes of 2000, compound and finishing polish. Going lightly as i don't know how much coats of clear there are. This level seems good enough for me.

IMG_20190816_095103255.jpg

IMG_20190816_095124583.jpg

djruncrowd

Postby djruncrowd » August 26th, 2019, 10:17 pm

Good job , looking good

Postby rspann » August 27th, 2019, 11:34 am

You could come and work for me dan. It looks real good.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 27th, 2019, 6:28 pm

rspann wrote:You could come and work for me dan. It looks real good.

Thanks Spann.

Sanded hood and fenders. There is still some very minor orange peel remaining but again, I don't know how thick the clear is so not going to push my luck too far. Meem know bout no paint thickness gauge and ting. It a million % better than before.

IMG_20190826_133607538.jpg

IMG_20190826_133602114.jpg

IMG_20190826_133548831.jpg

IMG_20190826_133541879.jpg

IMG_20190826_133528103.jpg

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 27th, 2019, 6:37 pm

Finished pieces. Haven't gone through the clear yet.

IMG_20190826_160749769.jpg

IMG_20190826_160712337.jpg

IMG_20190826_160651467.jpg

IMG_20190826_160642728.jpg

IMG_20190826_160625600_HDR.jpg

Postby rspann » August 27th, 2019, 6:41 pm

Don't worry about the thickness. To put on the clear it would take at least three coats, 1500 and 2000 not cutting through so easy. Use a 3M sqeegee block though, so you'll get it level nice. When buffing, turn the machine so the pad rides off the edges instead of into it so you won't cut the edges. Spray wd40 in the creases when you finish ,you'll see how easy it cleans up. Buff until the compound disappears and clean it off dry. Don't use water to wash off the excess compound. Just a few tips.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 27th, 2019, 10:13 pm

Thanks. Made a small boo boo on one of the fenders not following proper polisher technique and I'm using a rotary so more pressure to keep it right.

Water was used to wash down the sanding residue after I was done for the day. Polish/compound was cleaned up as you said except for the WD40. Didn't know that one. Had doors open while doing the hood and now I have spatter on my door upholstery. This sheit is hard work.

Postby rspann » August 28th, 2019, 6:50 am

Try doing it everyday for years. It becomes easy. I have guys who rub a whole car in two hours. Tape off all the mouldings. Keep the door closed. Put masking paper over the cowl panel/wiper area. Stand on an old chair when doing the roof. Don't dip the paper in a bucket to rub, you'll just carry back dirt or slush on the finish and cause scratches, use a squirt bottle. Don't tear the paper cut it. The torn edges also scratch.

Postby rspann » August 28th, 2019, 6:53 am

To clean the upholstery. Mix some purple blaster in water and wipe the seats semi-wet. Re wipe with clean water.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 28th, 2019, 3:53 pm

rspann wrote:To clean the upholstery. Mix some purple blaster in water and wipe the seats semi-wet. Re wipe with clean water.

Thanks, it cleaned up well. Giving mih arms a rest for a few days. Muscle memory for allyuh fellas.

My muscles saying hold it dey padnah, dafuq wrong with you.

Postby rspann » August 28th, 2019, 4:56 pm

I could rub a paint job to buff in one hour with a DA sander. No need for sore muscles.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 28th, 2019, 5:41 pm

That's what separates the pros from...well...people like me.

Postby rspann » August 28th, 2019, 7:33 pm

You do a professional job there ,time to join the ranks.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 5th, 2019, 5:35 pm

Started the 4 doors. Left and right is the same.

Before

IMG_20190829_115059169.jpg

During

IMG_20190829_125618350_HDR.jpg

After

IMG_20190829_151157158_HDR.jpg
IMG_20190829_151144462_HDR.jpg

Mistakes were made

IMG_20190830_142925538.jpg
IMG_20190830_142936907.jpg

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 6th, 2019, 12:51 pm

rspann wrote:You do a professional job there ,time to join the ranks.

Spann, may I pick your brain for a moment.

I also have a roro 2014 Mazda 3 that has factory installed OEM orange peel. Is it advisable to attempt to rectify this in the same manner as above?

From all the tutorials and articles I have seen, the consensus seems to be leave it alone as OEM clear coat is quite thin. I am inclined to just compound and polish but just wondering if anything is possible.

Postby rspann » September 6th, 2019, 5:23 pm

It can be done too. Just rub with 2000 and up (make sure to use a sanding block, mask off handles and black trim and go brave. The new cars are not colour sanded that's why there is orange peel ,but there is enough paint on the surface for corrections. I'll post some pics later of a new Mini Countryman that was delivered today after some serious collision repairs.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 6th, 2019, 5:48 pm

Go brave... i like it. Go brave it is.

I'll attack that after i get done with my Mazda. Thanks!!!

Postby 16 cycles » September 7th, 2019, 6:25 am

rspann wrote:It can be done too. Just rub with 2000 and up (make sure to use a sanding block, mask off handles and black trim and go brave. The new cars are not colour sanded that's why there is orange peel ,but there is enough paint on the surface for corrections. I'll post some pics later of a new Mini Countryman that was delivered today after some serious collision repairs.

In for countryman

Postby rspann » September 7th, 2019, 2:20 pm

IMG-20190907-WA0003.jpg
IMG-20190907-WA0001.jpg
IMG-20190907-WA0002.jpg
IMG-20190907-WA0001.jpg

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 9th, 2019, 6:04 pm

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 16th, 2019, 8:02 pm

Finished rear fender.

IMG_20190912_113259630_HDR.jpg

Postby rspann » September 17th, 2019, 7:43 am

I could imagine the painter passing in the road and showing a potential customer that car. "I paint that yunno"

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 17th, 2019, 11:12 am

rspann wrote:I could imagine the painter passing in the road and showing a potential customer that car. "I paint that yunno"