honda CRV or nissan X trail review

Amit

honda CRV or nissan X trail review

Postby Amit » January 7th, 2019, 9:06 pm

Good night all

a friend is in the process of buying a suv,
need you reviews on the new
Honda CRV,
Nissan X trail
Nissan X trail hydrid

ek4ever

Re: honda CRV or nissan X trail review

Postby ek4ever » January 11th, 2019, 11:12 am

Honda CRV .... no contest. Nissan is sheit!!

Postby MaxPower » January 11th, 2019, 12:15 pm

Amit wrote:Good night all

a friend is in the process of buying a suv,
need you reviews on the new
Honda CRV,
Nissan X train
Nissan X trail hydrid

X Train FTW bro

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 11th, 2019, 1:22 pm

ek4ever wrote:Honda CRV .... no contest. Nissan is sheit!!

I never drove the X-Trail hybrid, but I don't see how it would be any different to the normal X-Trail other than with respect to fuel economy. I don't find the X-Trail is value for money when you assess the quality of the construction and materials used, as well as how it drives. The CR-V, while in my opinion is the uglier of the two, would be my choice.

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 11th, 2019, 11:29 pm

CRV is cheaper as it starts at 310k and goes up to 410k in awd trim. There are 3 models: fabric, leather and leather awd.

Xtrail is more expensive as it starts at around 345k and goes all the way up to 469k. There are 4 models available: fabric, fabric awd, leather awd, leather awd 7 seater.

Xtrail is more expensive not because it's more premium but because it incurs higher taxes since it's a 2.0 engine. The CRV is much more powerful because it's a 1.5 turbo engine which incurs less taxes.

The xtrail is more spacious and has higher ground clearance. Lastly the CRV comes from Thailand and the xtrail is from Japan. I will lean more towards the Honda.

The xtrail hybrid was never imported by Massy. They were all imported both used and brand new from the grey market dealers. Despite being a hybrid, the performance is much better than the non hybrid xtrail because of the dual clutch system which aligns the electric motor power to the ICE for a joint output of 177hp and a combined torque estimated to be around 300Nm. Nissan mentioned that the Xtrail Hybrid generates more power and torque across the entire rev range than the 2.5 version sold in other markets. So I suspect, an Xtrail Hybrid would probably be closer in performance to the CRV turbo than the regular 2.0 xtrail sold by Massy. Xtrail Hybrids are no longer a lucrative purchase since the taxes are being applied, ie. Duty, MVT and VAT. Those Xtrail Hybrids skyrocket in price and are selling in the 300s and 400s category. You won't be seeing much of these Xtrails whether hybrid or not because it has become expensive. The most you will probably see would be basic ones from Massy.

Concerning the CRV though, they are being imported by grey market dealers so you dont have to depend on ANSA for them brand new. The 1.5t engine is the subject of some TSB's and long term reliability maybe suspect.

We have both and the CRV despite cleared to run on super, we strictly put premium in it. The xtrail is also cleared for super but we have since changed to premium. I would advise people who own GDI engines to strictly put premium gas in it especially GDI turbos.

I would encourage you, if you can wait, the 2019 RAV4 should be here soon or get a Mazda CX5 2.0 which is 313k and SS only offers 1 model at least for now.

Postby RedVEVO » January 13th, 2019, 12:33 am

agent007 wrote:CRV is cheaper as it starts at 310k and goes up to 410k in awd trim. There are 3 models: fabric, leather and leather awd.

Xtrail is more expensive as it starts at around 345k and goes all the way up to 469k. There are 4 models available: fabric, fabric awd, leather awd, leather awd 7 seater.

Xtrail is more expensive not because it's more premium but because it incurs higher taxes since it's a 2.0 engine. The CRV is much more powerful because it's a 1.5 turbo engine which incurs less taxes.

The xtrail is more spacious and has higher ground clearance. Lastly the CRV comes from Thailand and the xtrail is from Japan. I will lean more towards the Honda.

The xtrail hybrid was never imported by Massy. They were all imported both used and brand new from the grey market dealers. Despite being a hybrid, the performance is much better than the non hybrid xtrail because of the dual clutch system which aligns the electric motor power to the ICE for a joint output of 177hp and a combined torque estimated to be around 300Nm. Nissan mentioned that the Xtrail Hybrid generates more power and torque across the entire rev range than the 2.5 version sold in other markets. So I suspect, an Xtrail Hybrid would probably be closer in performance to the CRV turbo than the regular 2.0 xtrail sold by Massy. Xtrail Hybrids are no longer a lucrative purchase since the taxes are being applied, ie. Duty, MVT and VAT. Those Xtrail Hybrids skyrocket in price and are selling in the 300s and 400s category. You won't be seeing much of these Xtrails whether hybrid or not because it has become expensive. The most you will probably see would be basic ones from Massy.

Concerning the CRV though, they are being imported by grey market dealers so you dont have to depend on ANSA for them brand new. The 1.5t engine is the subject of some TSB's and long term reliability maybe suspect.

We have both and the CRV despite cleared to run on super, we strictly put premium in it. The xtrail is also cleared for super but we have since changed to premium. I would advise people who own GDI engines to strictly put premium gas in it especially GDI turbos.

I would encourage you, if you can wait, the 2019 RAV4 should be here soon or get a Mazda CX5 2.0 which is 313k and SS only offers 1 model at least for now.

Everywhere you turn is a X-trail .

It's so boring dudes .

BTW 007 do you have a review or an opinion on the LTZ Chevy Colorado ?

Looking @ it for 99.

Hybrids are disposable like a bic razor .

Zetski

Postby Zetski » January 13th, 2019, 3:12 am

I would not even consider Nissan... unless yuh iza bandit

Amit

Postby Amit » January 13th, 2019, 7:23 am

agent007 wrote:CRV is cheaper as it starts at 310k and goes up to 410k in awd trim. There are 3 models: fabric, leather and leather awd.

we know someone with the cx5, it is beautiful, but i don't like ss service , we have two mazda at present

sindread

Postby sindread » January 14th, 2019, 9:28 am

For me -
Nissan is the number 1 target for banditry and theft, I'd go for CRV
Honda products are generally superior as well.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 14th, 2019, 11:29 am

You can compare both make/models in different trim levels available locally on TTAutoGuide

https://www.ttautoguide.com/compare-vehicles/

IMG_4918.JPG

IMG_4919.JPG

IMG_4920.JPG

IMG_4921.JPG

IMG_4922.JPG

Amit

Re: honda CRV / nissan X trail, cx5 / sportage review,

Postby Amit » February 3rd, 2019, 11:03 am

add in the kia sportage 2019
and mazda cx5

Postby Ted_v2 » February 4th, 2019, 6:42 pm

honda gets my vote for parts.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » February 5th, 2019, 8:26 am

It have a ting dem foreign used boyz sellin called a Honda Vezzle. I hear that rel haaaaard

snatman

Postby snatman » February 5th, 2019, 9:15 am

so why he not considering the better vehicles?
Rav 4 and Forester