QUESTION: "X" Series number plates

civicious

QUESTION: "X" Series number plates

Postby civicious » December 17th, 2015, 11:05 pm

Looking to buy an ATV dat registered as XCK. Anybody know the requirements/restrictions to drive this on public roads?

Re: QUESTION: "X" Series number plates

Postby zoom rader » December 18th, 2015, 10:25 am

I believe that X reg are for vehicles that not supposed to be on public roads but must be registered.

Drag cars that go abroad to race eg Rail cars normally have an X reg.
ATVs will fall on the same.

VII

Re: QUESTION:

Postby VII » December 19th, 2015, 11:04 pm

You can drive it on the road,just get insurance.

Don't know what the above poster is trying to say lol.

I think he means the opposite lol,cranes etc are registered X and are free to travel on the road with relevant insurance and safety precautions,registering them is for the sole purpose of driving them on the road,you don't register vehicles to not drive them on the road,I think he's mixing up having to pay MVT on anything imported with a combustion engine and actual registration to drive on the road.

Being identified as an 'All terrain Vehicle' the geniuses at licensing decided it should be 'X' as they would do with an 'All terrain crane' . It could have easily been a 'P' as well,there are a couple 'P' reg'd ATV's around Maraval,Paramin,North Coast,Tobago etc.

civicious

Postby civicious » December 20th, 2015, 6:57 am

^^thanks, i was actually thinking along that line, why even bother to register the vehicle if u cant drive it on the road right. I still gonna do some diggin up tho, might hv to look far and wide cuz we all know how knowledgeable our officers of thhe law are. Worst case scenario i guess wud be bein pulled over and playing chupid like i eh kno nutn bout da lol

pinks

Postby pinks » December 20th, 2015, 7:11 am

I've seen steam rollers registered "x" and driving on the road

Postby *KRONIK* » December 20th, 2015, 1:30 pm

OPie Pm me some details on the atv plz.

I have been looking into purchasing 1 and having it registered for a while now

Postby zoom rader » December 20th, 2015, 4:47 pm

pinks wrote:I've seen steam rollers registered "x" and driving on the road

Yeah have see those as well as certain cranes.
Was speaking to a licencing worker that stated X meant extra ordinary vehicle. The X is for the insurance companies to identify the type of insurance that is needed.

What insurance will you give a steam roller that is seldom on the road or multi wheel cranes. Some cranes are wider are 8 feet and need police escorts when on the road.