FugiTECH Junior Datsun & FugiTECH intro> UPDATE Dyno & Track

FugiTECH

FugiTECH Junior Datsun & FugiTECH intro> UPDATE Dyno & Track

Postby FugiTECH » June 20th, 2015, 10:11 pm

Bless up tuner peeps.
I present to you my small story in a journey to create a racing brand ''FugiTECH'' with aims of learning to build racing projects of our own and assisting others in what we can with the help of other friends/teams/shops who specialize in their fields (Mechanical, Electrical, Sales) giving these people credit also.
FugiTECH began with myself ,Colin Austin and recently our foreign link Ray ''Dona Silvia who we met in August 2012. The name is a mixture of the original Fugitves (Doing a few mischievous things in the past) which started off as DJ/Car Audio crew and TECH from now learning the Technical aspects of a Racecar building. I must thank all who have taught us what we know starting right here in November 2005 getting tips from dudes like Dave and BlueIce , a few in the SR20-Forums all the way to now.
Some projects have come and gone but the most recent being the Full Drag Tube Chassis Datsun 1200 SR20 build in Puerto Rico being done by Dona Silvia. Clearing up some conspiracy, Just before choosing the foreign way out we did have a local version capable of 8 seconds guaranteed BEFORE MEETING DONA SILVIA IN AUGUST 2012 and we have Private Message History to prove this. A better deal and idea was discovered in Puerto Rico so we went that way.

''Junior'' is a Datsun 1200 Sedan to Drag Race and its was purposely bought and built for Practical aspects in driving , mechanical and experimenting combination because we all know combination is the key. Having everything done on the foreign car brought some criticizing and it was decided why not do a very quick Local Build for experience and experimenting.

After the years of researching we had great knowledge on combinations and happened to assist in other persons car/van to test/experiment our theory with them, giving them the right combinations and calculations, in an amount we can make a list of more than 25 major pointers that did work out on just one project alone but it happened in a funny way where the advice will first be ignored, they might try their own way and fail and a month after they will do what we said , it will work and we wouldnt get the credit / recognition we deserve.

So back to the topic My friend Shaun linked me with his uncle who had a rolling Datsun 1200 without engine for sale already bracketed for an SR20 and equipped with a Stronger 620 Pickup Rear End. A Good start !!

Here is how I bought her:

Transport home by Ram and Sons
S13 SR20DET Upgraded by Nerve Essentials Japan I bought by Chris Juman Performance
Nerve ECU tuned for 550cc's , Z32 MAF @ 16 PSI 280PS On an S14 T28
Turbo

Got a Pair of 26 x 8.5 x 14 from Kevin Mohan (Local 9 second CA18 Escort guys)
Engine Bay and Fender work by Mong and Sharon

Back to Engine work. Tubular T3 Top Mount Manifold by Mikey Point
New Bearings and Rod Bolts Installed by Sparkitech Auto
New Tools to work with from PriceSmart
Engine works
Engine Inside
Side Exit Designed my FugiTECH and Welded by Sharon
Last edited by FugiTECH on March 3rd, 2016, 8:27 am, edited 5 times in total.

FugiTECH

Re: FugiTECH Junior Datsun and the Team FugiTECH story.

Postby FugiTECH » June 20th, 2015, 10:11 pm

First Version of the Engine Bay
Trunk Setup

There was a big issue with the previous S13 Coilover Shocks so I thought a plan to get some New Inserts installed in the S13 Housings. Outcome was quite pleasing.

Here is the First startup. Big up to Electrician Marvin !!!

After a couple of test drives I noticed an error I did and the ebay Turbo started smoking. Even thought not damaged I opted to get the Turbo I always wanted and went to Tuner Imports for my Garrett T3T4E. I was told to go a 35R and done but I did not know if the ECU was revving past 7200 and I only wanted 300+HP and Peap power around 7200 so I sticked with my plan.

Toughest and most thoughtful part of build. Who to do the cage? Errybody be like $8000+. Aww Hell Naahh lol. I knew what design I wanted, I knew what Material to use, I am good at maths and Most important I have a welder who is good at Mig. So why not me?
Got these from work. 1-5/8 DOM .120

Imported a bender sponsored by Navin of D One Stop Auto and started off with the Hoop

Here she is today 20th June 2015. Still to do: Finish Electrical Wiring, Dyno at Current Boost Level, Weigh and then to the tracks.

Goals on the 1/4 Mile ? If the car is around 2000-2100lbs with 300HP+ Peak @ 7200RPM, crossing the 1/4 at 7000-7100RPM could do around 120MPH and 11.3 on a Perfect pass but with the Leaf Suspension , Clutch assisted Transmission an 11.5-11.9 is excellent but hopefully 12 second passes is acceptable with the track conditions we will be seeing at Camden since its Back to square one with surface conditions.

Special Thanks on this project goes out to:
Colin Austin
Ray ''Dona Silvia''
Navin Maraj D One Stop Auto
Chris Juman
Shaun Beharry
Paul Beharry
Stefan Ragbir and the entire Kingston Team
Bhola Lalee and Maggie Creative Glass
Sparky Sparkitech Ramoutar
Adesh Ramnarine
Ram and Sons
Marvin
Sharon, Ramon and Maria
Tuner Imports Nick and Sarah
BCR Bert
Hyper V Racing
All the FugiTECH and TTMN Fans and anyone I forgot !!! Thanks to everyone for contributing to development of the Team FugiTECH.

FugiTECH Senior Project Build Coming Soon !!!
Last edited by FugiTECH on June 20th, 2015, 11:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » June 20th, 2015, 11:34 pm

BTW This is FugiTECH Senior

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 21st, 2015, 6:07 am

Nice build

Postby Ted_v2 » June 21st, 2015, 8:22 am

excellent work especially the fenders, i just dont like the battery and i believe it should be in a box.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 21st, 2015, 4:02 pm

Nice work on the cage actually. Proper mandrel bends and bracketing is the only way. I may need some help when completing my GTiR cage. Waiting to see what times you get, nice to see how far you have progressed with your projects.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » June 22nd, 2015, 8:10 am

look real fresh, hope u run a 82 an tubular ROFL

nigie

Postby nigie » June 22nd, 2015, 1:47 pm

Excellent work....really inspiring..

Postby Ted_v2 » July 6th, 2015, 1:22 am

Two questions. What's the proper name for that fuel cell? It looks different, I like it a lot. Another. That mechanic could of used something as a backup for changing the bolts. Just a few seals holding that above his Head

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » July 6th, 2015, 7:51 am

Well done Fugitives!!!!!!!!!!!!

Excellent workmanship, great coverage of each phase of the build, good use of what you have, extremely impressive job with the cage, very nice of you to mention the guys who helped you along the way and from the looks of it you take great pride in saying with authority that you BUILT her from scratch.

Was wondering what became of Paul's car....he had her almost after we left school yuh know! You got a good man in Sparkorama there!

Only improvement I could see needed here is a PROPER fuel cell. That plastic outboard tank won't get past official rules...yuh done buildin everthing...so build one yourself! Ent?!

I have the pick up for an aluminum one...It's yours...

11223799_1090021197693669_4240444133011493865_n.jpg

just go down to Marc One or Lifewear Mufflers and get a sheet of 1/4" alluminum sheeting, let Lifewear plasma cut the pieces, make sure put in a baffle and have someone TIG weld it together for you....lots of people I could suggest for you...maybe one guy I know would do it for free for you. But check to see if any of the race guys have one they took out...might be cheaper that way. Maybe.

And what's the most worthy of note is that YOU did it! I mean...weren't you just the other day runnin up and down takin pics and vids and PERSONAL BEST-ing every car and driver in T&T?! Hahaha!

I admire the spirit you've shown here bro...big respect!

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » July 6th, 2015, 9:22 am

Is the original braking system goin to be enough?

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » July 7th, 2015, 4:22 pm

Clifford Thanks alot my brother !!!

Ted its a Boat Gas Tank lol.

TurboSingh it has S13 front Rotor and Calipers, 620 Drum Brakes and a Nissan Brake Cylinder.

Finally gave the car a Launch with slicks on the road with some decent results experimenting tyre pressure and gathering info. This one was bit soft side but hook better and felt better , even though its spinning. So a trackbite surface should be better and not ''boggy'' but as Stephen said a completely different ball game as that will be Full Runs , so a reset and more things to take into consideration

Slick Pics !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last edited by FugiTECH on July 8th, 2015, 10:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » July 7th, 2015, 5:09 pm

BEST thread on Tuner right about now!!!

Like the development and now the test and tune trials. Clutch sorta sounded like it was slippin...and I kinda distrust tall slicks on a swb car. But this is the fun part. Hope to see you and your ride atop its NEW trailer at Wallers SOON! Its so smmmamamoood!

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » July 8th, 2015, 9:29 pm

Gave it a next shot today. Made a few changes from previous data and Launched it enough to not break traction and spin out like the last Test Pull. On a prepped track I will need to come out harder definitely !! Car felt really good for a first timer, worked well and nothing broke. Nuff Thanks to Stephen Rodney and Sparky Ramoutar for some tips !!

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » July 9th, 2015, 6:12 am

Car launching straight :twisted:

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 9th, 2015, 10:24 am

lewwe see some more on FUGI senior nah ;)

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 10th, 2015, 5:18 am

nice project man

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 17th, 2015, 11:10 am

great lil project man, love the old dattos... take it easy launching the car on the road :lol: done seeing accident markings :lol:

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » July 19th, 2015, 9:23 pm

The Boss Marvin finishing up the Electrical in the car

Engine Bay after completing the Electrical.

Just some minor stuff now on the Dash to complete

Kinday

Postby Kinday » July 19th, 2015, 9:47 pm

Great work

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » July 26th, 2015, 12:37 am

Just weighed the car. 2072 lbs without me and 2233 lbs with me. Now I'm closer to proper theoretic guideline to know what 1/4 Mile ET is possible at a HP made but it depends on many factors like Track Conditions, Driving , Traction , Temps, Gearing ETC. Example if I do:
250HP= 12.3-12.4 @ 110 MPH,
300HP= 11.6-11.7 @ 117 MPH,
350HP= 11.1-11.2 @ 123 MPH.
Up next is to see what power on the Dyno at the 12lbs its on and also that Boost for a starting introduction on the Track see the actual ET it will do with me driving.

Thank you Gordon Rooks for the Car Scale !!

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » July 26th, 2015, 12:38 am

Finally fixed the Watermarks when making Videos so I made over this Video and added the other 1st-2nd Pull I made where I Launched Slightly harder but Shifted 2nd a bit too early. This is on 12psi of Boost.

Last edited by FugiTECH on August 21st, 2015, 6:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » August 21st, 2015, 6:13 pm

Boost Control check !!! Here we have a New GFB G-Force ll Electronic Boost Control made in Australia and supplied by my friends at Hyper V Racing. Car is currently at 12 PSI so will hit the Dyno on a few Settings, See what power it makes, ET it can do with weight at 2240Lbs and well hope one of them tracks pull through for Testing FugiTECH Junior.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » November 5th, 2015, 7:01 pm

Long time no Update. After alot of preparations, work , time and money of course, we were successful in our journey.

Got the car in a order to pass the scrutineers with Extinguisher.

Got a spot in the Garage Fresh Magazine

So on race day morning we went to do the Alignment.

Went to the Dyno. First pass was 242hp. Thats how the car was running all along with a set FP and Tech Point Marvin adjusted the Fuel Pressure to give us an end result of 265HP which when Calculated could give exactly results like:
60 Foot E.T. : 1.65
1/8 Mile E.T. : 7.49
1/8 Mile Trap Speed : 90.79
1/4 Mile E.T. : 12.06
1/4 Mile Trap Speed : 112
1/4 Mile Trap RPM : 6,660

So time for the tracks to see what happens !!!

At the tracks and I made a ''Feel out'' run which amazingly touched a 13.9 just cruising. Then decided to come off the line harder but not hard enough to break anything. Couldnt believe I did a 12.6 letting off a bit before the finish. I was amazed and pleased when I asked the guys at the Pit what time I did.
Went back up on Sunday with the guys telling me to come out hard out the hole so with a 12.6 in the books I didnt care if anything broke.
On the 1st Pass I came out hard and I knew it was another record coming but missed 3rd gear then pushed 5th lol :(
Went back again and as I released the clutch , PAXX , tatatata. Drive shaft Cross Broke. Its a smaller 280c. The GOOD PART about Sunday was the amazing Perfect 60ft of 1.67 in the first pass which was good enough for 12.1 or 12.2 seconds, had that been a full run

Thats my friends was the weekend. Had lots of fun and I thank FugiTECH Team Mate Colin Austin , Main Sponsors Navin Maraj , Bhola Lalee and everyone who have contributed, assisted and supported !!!

Here is the Video

Some pics by Photographers

FugiTECH

Re: FugiTECH Junior Datsun & FugiTECH intro> UPDATE Dyno & T

Postby FugiTECH » March 2nd, 2016, 6:47 pm

We tried again on the tracks this time with a better driveshaft sponsored by TurboRav Performance

and also some new Poly Bushings supplied by Kristopher Stunna

and managed to achieve a Personal Best of 12.46 @ 113 MPH .
Video

Then decided to see why oil constantly blew out the Catch Can and amazingly discovered two broken Piston Ring Lands

So after many thoughts I decided to do a decent Forged Piston Setup with some Upgraded Cams. Motor Built by Sparky

Ghetto Coat up !!!

Engine Bay after rebuild

FugiTECH

Re: FugiTECH Junior Datsun & FugiTECH intro> UPDATE Dyno & T

Postby FugiTECH » March 2nd, 2016, 6:54 pm

Finally made it to the Dyno and we reach a safe 375HP on 19psi but it could have done 410hp on 25psi if we had something to tune. Here is the Video

So we went to the tracks with this . The track conditions was a little cold so we played around with boost on more hard tyre pressure just to be safe. Managed to achieve 11.68 @ 120 MPH with lots more to come next event !!