Food for thought: Solodex

roam
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Food for thought: Solodex

Postby roam » August 9th, 2005, 8:48 pm

Solodex Etymology…

Dexterity races and events have been around for quite some time, but the word “Solodexâ€

Postby Maserati » August 9th, 2005, 9:02 pm

i was wondering the same thing..i never hear of solodex outside of trinidad

Postby wagonrunner » August 9th, 2005, 9:04 pm

2) why not? you still alone in the course, not like another car attempting to sit on your bumper.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 9th, 2005, 9:09 pm

Solo = one.....dex = from dexterity!

Its funny though, because i was mentioning it to two of my freinds earlier and they had no idea what solodex was, but when i called it autocross one of them knew, while the other...well...he's not really much into cars/racing :lol:

roam
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby roam » August 9th, 2005, 9:38 pm

wagonrunner wrote:2) why not? you still alone in the course, not like another car attempting to sit on your bumper.

I know that you’re alone on the course, but now with H2H you’re no longer alone in the race. It’s no longer a solo event. There’s a competitor now you see…it’s not just a clock anymore.

I’m just thinking out loud here, don’t take it personally.

Snags

Postby Snags » August 9th, 2005, 11:22 pm

^What if you do like vincent twice from now on and say "solodex...solodex" :| :|

Postby wagonrunner » August 9th, 2005, 11:59 pm

roam, is no scene. i was just saying there is one driver per course. now with head to head there are two courses.

roam
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby roam » August 10th, 2005, 2:38 am

Two courses, two cars, two drivers… but one race.

It’s more competitive now, that’s what makes it more fun. If it was still about the clock then we didn’t need to go through the trouble of having two courses.

Let me be clear, I love the Head 2 Head idea. I think it was an ingenious way of reinventing solodex, and attracting new people to the sport. But by doing so, we may have in essence, created something new… and that’s huge. It will no longer be just a time trial event and I think that we need to acknowledge that, and thank the person responsible.

So, to throw another question into the mix;
3. Who came up with the idea of H2H racing?

Jahling
STAG 2NR Weekly Winner

Postby Jahling » August 10th, 2005, 3:55 am

Autocross is the generic name for these dexterity events. SCCA calls their events Solo II and CARS have branded their events Solodex. This is why you dont hear of solodex outside of Trinidad. Correct me if I am wrong.

The idea of head to head is not new. There has been events such as these put on by the SCCA for a few years now, calling it ProSolo.

[quote]The Tire Rack SCCA ProSolo combines the excitement of drag racing and the skill of Solo on side-by-side, mirror-image autocross courses. Lining up at the familiar “Christmas Treeâ€

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » August 10th, 2005, 4:35 am

So Jah....why u cah lend a brotha d pug when he in Trinidad....u know I will take care of it...and if I break anything I will pay and fix.

roam
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby roam » August 10th, 2005, 9:23 am

Bummer… I was hoping we had something original there with the H2H.
But say what, its still fun no matter what it’s called.
Thanks for the info Jahling, good looking out.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » August 10th, 2005, 9:37 am

Dueldex?

Z Tourer vtec

Postby Z Tourer vtec » August 10th, 2005, 2:35 pm

zodiaque wrote:Dueldex?

DoublesDex?

Maybe ya'll could get the doubles man to come to the next night dex, then ya'll could have a doubles lime and a doublesDex in one, unless it's not H2H, then it will be SOLOdex again. :roll:

OR
Invite the South BBQ people, Debe doubles green shed and the Valpark burger man and have a Trinituner EXPO :roll:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 12th, 2005, 11:53 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 12th, 2005, 6:44 pm

ROFL @ SIR CIVIC

it would be FANTASTIC to have two lane timing for the next head to head!!!

but seriously I feel we should invite the doubles man to come and sell at the next dex!!!

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » August 12th, 2005, 8:10 pm

^ yeah, only prob with that is that I go be by the doubles more than in my car :oops:

Precious Roy

Postby Precious Roy » August 13th, 2005, 8:23 pm

I think even with H2H its still pretty much a Solodex since the guy/gal should be studyin dey own route and time rather than what the other fella doing the nex side.

BTW They have some nice doubles selling at the airport. :D

Mr. Fixables

The scoop

Postby Mr. Fixables » August 14th, 2005, 9:15 am

Solodex was a terminology created by those who formed CARS.

It is a hybrid version of the (SCCA) Autocross events held in the US.

Initially, Solodex was fashioned along the same lines as SCCA rules, but due to different circumstances, some changes were made for it to work here in Trini.

In the US, they class it as Solo 1 and Solo 2. The difference being the top speeds acheived during the run.

Solodex has evolved over the years, but needed an injection of interest, so changes had to be made.

Actually, I came up with the H2H idea, but this is a team effort, so I could not have made it work without all of the CARS executive.

We are not ruled by any sanctioning body, so we are free to make any changes we see necessary. It is great way to push your car harder than you would ever get to on the streets, without the fear of ending up in disaster. Great sportsmanship from all competitior also.

It's a growing sport, as seen by all of the new competitors and spectators in recent events..

The twin timing system is in the works, however, it is an expensive piece of equipment, and we will need to raise funds to purchase it. That may be the future of Solodex?!

See all of you on the 28th August at ARC.

Kirk

roam
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby roam » August 15th, 2005, 10:22 pm

Special thanks to Kirk and the rest of the guys at CARS for their efforts and hard work… and for creating a fun and exciting way for drivers to improve their skill.
Well Done Mr. Fixables!

Mr. Fixables

Thanks

Postby Mr. Fixables » August 17th, 2005, 6:00 pm

Thanks for the support guys, almost makes me cry ....... almost!

Kirk

SubaBlu

Postby SubaBlu » August 18th, 2005, 1:44 am

Kirk,
Please actively seek the cost of the system we need, and options to consider.

Once you guys have this cost, we can see how we can get it paid for by sponsors. We'll own a timing system, we could then have sanctioned drags once in a while, to help pay some CARS bills, who knows.

But lets get the costs, and see where we can go from there.

Cris

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 18th, 2005, 9:01 am

kirk yuh wuss, man tear up and sheit... lol

buh i feel i going walk with foood this time.... unless food man go be dey? kirk? he go be dey? i fed up of kfc yes... i feel i go move like a real trini and walk with a pot of pleau in my trunk yes hahahahha

Mr. Fixables

Food

Postby Mr. Fixables » August 18th, 2005, 9:10 am

I am tryng to organize the food thing by Friday, will update as I know.

Kirk

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 18th, 2005, 9:23 am

cool scene

so yuh plot the course yet? email me it nah, NOBODY go know haha

Mr. Fixables

s5 course

Postby Mr. Fixables » August 18th, 2005, 8:26 pm

The course is set, much more challenging this time.

I'm taking bribes, how bad do you want to see it ?

Kirk

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 19th, 2005, 8:53 am

hehehe wha u want? i go let u drive a real car on sunday den for fun runs

i go let u drive the beast hehe

de beast i refering to is in my avatar

:P :P :P :P :P

Mr. Fixables

Yeahright

Postby Mr. Fixables » August 20th, 2005, 8:05 am

I'll reserve comment on that one Ryan.

Kirk

Picasso

Postby Picasso » August 20th, 2005, 8:18 am

^^ do you drive a white corlla wagon drop low low in DEX?? :|

TREX

Postby TREX » August 20th, 2005, 9:01 pm

The name Solodex was coined by the 1st President of CARS Raymond Franco and William "SiR Bill" Barrow back in 2000 and the 1st event was held at ARC in Jan 2001.
Bill ran the event from 2001-02, I did 03-04 and now kirk is de man, ah doing a pretty good job.
Kirk, H2H at wallerfield or a track day at the circuit with staggered starts, need to exercise the Gheisterfahr ARC too small.

Those two gentlemen started the ball rolling.

Glad to see all you young fellas enjoying it now.

roam
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby roam » August 20th, 2005, 10:07 pm

Good info there… it will be noted.
It’s good to give credit where credit is due.