2014 Carib Great Race- MONSTER Ready! *Video*

RoTaRyBoYz

2014 Carib Great Race- MONSTER Ready! *Video*

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 15th, 2014, 9:22 pm

Can Total Monster take the crown again this year? Hmmmm

Re: 2014 Carib Great Race- MONSTER Ready! *Video*

Postby rspann » August 16th, 2014, 4:03 pm

Except for a breakdown or malfunction ,it hard to beat that . He pass me on the stretch coming out of yacht club, that thing have the right name!

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 16th, 2014, 9:08 pm

Monster is a little heavy compared to the other boats but it sure has a lot of HP & a very experienced crew, so with some luck I don't see why they can't take home another GR win..

The GR is anybody's race... It all comes down to lots of luck & who can outlast an hour of pounding in rough seas..

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 16th, 2014, 9:53 pm

Monster all the way .

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 16th, 2014, 9:58 pm

Yeah I'm a Monster fan all the way, but I don't mind seeing Paramount with a podium finish... 2nd of course lol.. Paramount's haul is my favorite among the line up & they're making huge power from Steve Morris... The only thing is SM is known for his drag racing engines, so in not sure how that will play out in the abusive offshore racing environment. I guess time will tell

Postby rspann » August 16th, 2014, 10:05 pm

Fly in for the weekend,you know where to meet me. Your uncle moving with us too.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 16th, 2014, 10:28 pm

I was there last weekend for the parade.. Actually I passed by you on Monday but I didn't stop bcuz I was running late for my flight. I saw the white Audi parked across the road.
I'm wayy ahead of you lol.. I'm flying in on Thursday and will be with team Monster for my entire time there..
Keep him with you... Next thing he tell me one if his usual out of timing talk & police hadda lock me up..

Postby rspann » August 17th, 2014, 9:35 am

U did their jerseys?

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 17th, 2014, 9:47 am

Yeah, I did all their uniforms.. I was there for all the regattas this year except the Gulf party..

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 17th, 2014, 10:07 am

I was riding shotgun for the trip into town lol

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 17th, 2014, 11:00 am

I agree with you on Paramount yeah 2nd Place since it's here I haven't seen it run but it's a Great looking Boat .

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 17th, 2014, 7:46 pm

Just hoping paramount will finish this year. Best of luck to Jason, Donnie and co.

Sad that we will never see the Mystic really stretch its legs in a race (unless the current class structure gets changed)

What happened to Alan's turbine plans? Didn't reach in time?

Best boat for me is the new cigarette gladiator. I have always loved that hull. Solid like a rock in the rough

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 17th, 2014, 7:59 pm

I agree! The Mystic really comes alive at 150+ but I highly doubt TTPBA changing the rules anytime soon.. Perhaps they should introduce a once a year unlimited class for the Gulf Classic fete event. It will be nice to see those guys running balls out!

Allan's new boat will be sorted out here then sent home for the next season.. I think they're gearing up for Key West.. Actually there're a few boats that will be running at KW before heading to Trinidad.

Lee has a record setting Fountain V-bottom on the way by the name of "CatKiller".. I guess a few if those cats getting skinned by that new boat next year lol

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 17th, 2014, 8:02 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:I agree! The Mystic really comes alive at 150+ but I highly doubt TTPBA changing the rules anytime soon.. Perhaps they should introduce a once a year unlimited class for the Gulf Classic fete event. It will be nice to see those guys running balls out!

Allan's new boat will be sorted out here then sent home for the next season.. I think they're gearing up for Key West.. Actually there're a few boats that will be running at KW before heading to Trinidad.

Lee has a record setting Fountain V-bottom on the way by the name of "CatKiller".. I guess a few if those cats getting skinned by that new boat next year lol

Your idea of a once a year unlimited class race is FULL OF WIN!

Lee buys good race boats. Stampede formerly Saratoga Stampede was a badass race winner in the US. I wouldn't have changed the setup at all.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 17th, 2014, 9:16 pm

True and yes the Cigarette is Sweet .

Postby 16 cycles » August 18th, 2014, 7:40 pm

A few months ago...these boats were doing a shakedown/race...i had a camera with me...walked up to the boats and asked to take pics....

Without exception, all the boats...mechs and owners were very welcoming...one actually telling me to climb up to get better pics ...plus convos on set up and engines ...gas etc..

Same happened at the meguairs with the boat on display...

Some cool people!

cornfused

Postby cornfused » August 21st, 2014, 10:49 pm

Would love to get a vessel to be up north to get some shots as they make their way over .

I too have wondered why all these vessels use the catamaran type hull, while some racers in the America offshore series use the Cigarette hull with great success . Was checkmate our last Cigarette Champion ?

ranger

Postby ranger » August 22nd, 2014, 9:03 am

so can anyone advise.....where would be a good place to see the boats go by?

Postby rspann » August 22nd, 2014, 7:37 pm

The best place if you are with a a boat is on the north coast around Saut D'eau (shodo) .They are running real hard there. The First Boca is also good ,you see the action close up. If you are land bound, go up North Post Rd, by the TSTT installation ,you will see when they bend the corner out of the First Boca till they disappear further up the north (especially if you walk with binoculars. This is a pic of Solo passing us at Saut d'eau last year. Watch how close they were passing.
photo (1).PNG

Postby rspann » August 22nd, 2014, 7:42 pm

cornfused wrote:Would love to get a vessel to be up north to get some shots as they make their way over .

I too have wondered why all these vessels use the catamaran type hull, while some racers in the America offshore series use the Cigarette hull with great success . Was checkmate our last Cigarette Champion ?

Well you'll get a chance this year, 'Chris gone wild' ,running one this year called 'Chris Gone Wilder'
A Cigarette Gladiator with two big block chevy 500's, running like a beast.

Postby rspann » August 23rd, 2014, 8:56 pm

Monster! yuh don know!

Postby shogun » August 23rd, 2014, 10:06 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:I was riding shotgun for the trip into town lol

Victory.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 30th, 2014, 7:30 pm

Just reach home from a week of awesomeness! MONSTER dominated all year & blazed them on the way to Tobago.. Next year things may be a but tougher for them with Paramount & a few new boats coming out, but I'm confident MONSTER will be first to Tobago for the 3rd time in a row..
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1409441218.281082.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1409441241.768724.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1409441283.624552.jpg

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 30th, 2014, 7:33 pm

A few of the shirts we did for this years great race..
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1409441479.276615.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1409441502.608562.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1409441563.980059.jpg

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 30th, 2014, 7:33 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1409441629.351585.jpg

matthew2730mvp

Postby matthew2730mvp » September 9th, 2014, 2:16 pm