240Z engine swap Polll

Which engine would you swap into a 240Z

VQ30DET
6%
VQ35DE
No votes
RB26DET
47%
SR20DET
19%
L28ET
28%

Total votes: 36

sr20ve

240Z engine swap Polll

Postby sr20ve » November 22nd, 2012, 2:37 pm

Restoring a 240Z .....and need some advice on which way to go when it comes to the engine .
This is intended to be a cruiser .

the VQ/SR series engines are all aluminium, lightweight and sits behind the front suspension making the car mid engine and increasing the handling characteristics of the car . Requires custom everything for the VQ series. The SR has store bought swap kits.

RB series are heavy, negatively affects handling but makes a lot of power easily. Store bought swap kit available.

L28ET i have no info but seems legit for this car

.:PROZAC:..

Re: 240Z engine swap Polll

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 22nd, 2012, 2:43 pm

it's not on your list but also a great option for weight, parts, swap information and positioning in the car is an LSx motor. You said restore but doing an engine swap so that covers a whole nature of sins unless you want to keep the heart nissan. I have an R32 and tbh that's the only chassis I'd recommed an RB in. The SR will fit and handle better and you'll have more room to work requiring less custom stuff with exhaust and intake plumbing.

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » November 22nd, 2012, 2:43 pm

Lol, B, you ent easy yes.

nigie

Postby nigie » November 22nd, 2012, 2:58 pm

Last edited by nigie on November 22nd, 2012, 3:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » November 22nd, 2012, 3:02 pm

keep it all nissan....

Nissan or nothing!!!!!

i personally like the vq30det.......

something different.....would surely stand out.....

Miatabrah

Postby Miatabrah » November 22nd, 2012, 5:05 pm

L28 with LD28 crank and triple carbs
Or RB30 with RB26 head and triple carbs

zorced

Postby zorced » November 22nd, 2012, 6:37 pm

SR does not sound like a bad idea at all

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » November 22nd, 2012, 6:46 pm

Postby Ted_v2 » November 22nd, 2012, 8:35 pm

l28 with 2/3 carbs with a M/T is the bomb for that car, however parts are kinda hard to get for it but its worth it, its also a bit hard to tune

else
stick a sr in it

Postby sliderz1 » November 22nd, 2012, 9:48 pm

i'd opt for the newer VQ's......maybe a VK if you can

what teh price comparison for the above list? and your plan for said vehicle?

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » November 23rd, 2012, 12:47 am

Miatabrah wrote:L28 with LD28 crank and triple carbs
Or RB30 with RB26 head and triple carbs

RB30 if possible, had the pleasure of driving one in the US and it was excellent, but it will be a tight fit also takes quite a bit of custom work but if you're up to it, its worth it.

Postby turbosingh » November 23rd, 2012, 6:31 am

I say keep it in the straight six line go RB26.

moti

Postby moti » November 23rd, 2012, 9:45 am

SR.....a very well tuned SR thats pushing about 300+ RWHP and the car will be epic.

as you said; the SR will improve handling and no matter how much you tune the suspension if you have a L28 or RB in there it will still be too heavy in front.
(if you ever had the chance to drive a 280Z with the L28 in it you will know that the car handles like crap even with coil overs etc)

it's like what i would do even with a C33 laurel, rip the RB out and stick in a well built/tuned SR in there.

and the support for the SR is just as good as the RB on the market so parts is sooo not a problem.

Postby cinco » November 23rd, 2012, 10:05 am

what about a napz 2.4 dual plug?
or a ka24de from the usdm
to keep it 2.4 as per the moniker

moti

Postby moti » November 23rd, 2012, 10:08 am

that is a classic nissan...the Nap Z....wow you know how long i aint see one of that

the KA24DE is good as well

Bezman

Postby Bezman » November 23rd, 2012, 10:46 am

The one and only option in my mind... you can easily find the parts and once tuned right it will sound like a mechanical orchestra..

Screen shot 2012-11-23 at 10.42.49 AM.png
Screen shot 2012-11-23 at 10.42.49 AM.png (230.66 KiB) Viewed 5678 times

you will see the engine in the first skyline in this vid.. instead of machining your own intake, use RB26 intake manifold on 48mm Jenvy ITB's ;)

But honestly, you can make anything fast and do any swap, depending on how you building it, a L28 with tripple side draft webbers would be epic too ;)

L28 Carbs
http://www.modified.com/features/sccp_0 ... ewall.html

Stroked L30ET
http://www.superstreetonline.com/featur ... mport_car/

Postby turbosingh » November 23rd, 2012, 10:53 am

So if an RB too heavy why most tuners want plant a 2 jersey in their car? :?

moti

Postby moti » November 23rd, 2012, 11:14 am

toyota is best yo! :lol:

2.6 VS 3.0

trinis go for size and power not whats practical

Postby Razkal » November 23rd, 2012, 11:23 am

^ent? the logic is flawed.

imo, it goes like this, sr is nice, but boring, end of story.

a 240z is a car full of history, passion and the envy of enthusiasts the world over...don't strip away it's essence with a hum-drum everyday 4 banger.
you said its gonna be a cruiser not a racer right? well i'd vote for an RB without hesitation, hands down its the best sounding jap 6 available, makes easy power, and is easy to work on.
handling isn't that compromised and as you aren't gonna race, i don't see why it'll be an issue.

a cool RB build will be a 25 with a 20 crank and a 30/71 or 76 snail...300 six cylinder ponies is way more fun than 300 4 banger giddyups. :P

i vote RB and modern F/R suspension gear!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » November 23rd, 2012, 12:20 pm

Razkal wrote:^ent? the logic is flawed.

imo, it goes like this, sr is nice, but boring, end of story.

a 240z is a car full of history, passion and the envy of enthusiasts the world over...don't strip away it's essence with a hum-drum everyday 4 banger.
you said its gonna be a cruiser not a racer right? well i'd vote for an RB without hesitation, hands down its the best sounding jap 6 available, makes easy power, and is easy to work on.
handling isn't that compromised and as you aren't gonna race, i don't see why it'll be an issue.

a cool RB build will be a 25 with a 20 crank and a 30/71 or 76 snail...300 six cylinder ponies is way more fun than 300 4 banger giddyups. :P

i vote RB and modern F/R suspension gear!

RB20 block, RB26 crank (better oiling) ;)

Conrad

Postby Conrad » November 23rd, 2012, 12:56 pm

Bezman wrote:The one and only option in my mind... you can easily find the parts and once tuned right it will sound like a mechanical orchestra..

Screen shot 2012-11-23 at 10.42.49 AM.png

you will see the engine in the first skyline in this vid.. instead of machining your own intake, use RB26 intake manifold on 48mm Jenvy ITB's ;)

But honestly, you can make anything fast and do any swap, depending on how you building it, a L28 with tripple side draft webbers would be epic too ;)

L28 Carbs
http://www.modified.com/features/sccp_0 ... ewall.html

Stroked L30ET
http://www.superstreetonline.com/featur ... mport_car/

Oh snap, this dude know what's up.

Stroked 2.4 RB20 with model number removed off of the front cover to keep people guessing.

Fairly cheap and is a retro build keeping in theme with the Z's original straight 6/Nissan/2.4 heritage.

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » November 23rd, 2012, 1:04 pm

Alotta fellas up in the States here putting LS1 and older small block chevy and ford v8s in these 240s with great results.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » November 23rd, 2012, 1:54 pm

SUNNYB310GUY wrote:Alotta fellas up in the States here putting LS1 and older small block chevy and ford v8s in these 240s with great results.

They put LS1s in EVERYTHING :lol:

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » November 23rd, 2012, 4:14 pm

lol true dat..I putting one in my chevy truck next year

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » November 23rd, 2012, 7:45 pm

There are so many Nissan options out there, but at the end of the day 240Zs don't just pop up everyday.

After pumping so much $$$ into a car i wouldn't want an engine that every Hillman Hunter, Ford Escort and Box lancer has these days.

I would go out of my way to have an L-series engine in that engine bay.....but that's just me.

moti

Postby moti » November 23rd, 2012, 10:08 pm

I’m sorry; I can’t build a car for just cruising nah.

I’ll need that b!tch to handle the crap out of her a$$ as well.

Though I can understand the OP wants to build this car because the owner has something that can do the above; something as epic as the 240Z should be able to hold her own on the track (cruiser or not).

Again; my vote: Well built/tuned SR20 DET

However, keeping the 2400cc range then I’ll stick to Bezman’s idea.

but at the end of the day, stick to whats practical to the driver

heavyweight280

Postby heavyweight280 » November 23rd, 2012, 11:31 pm

Since going custom, 20b? Check how far back it sits

Rb26 is my dream but gonna be a while :(
Check hybridz.org if you haven't already, lots of info on swaps. Supposedly, an RB20det can be swapped with very little effort

Postby black start » November 24th, 2012, 1:20 am

l28et would be more in theme with the car not so.

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » November 24th, 2012, 2:26 pm

How bout a L31 stroker like in these videos?? :D L28 stroked to 3.1 litres with twin cam head and twin turbo. one of the baddest L28s on the planet.