wtk pros and cons corolla vs cruze

htsob

wtk pros and cons corolla vs cruze

Postby htsob » November 18th, 2012, 3:59 pm

looking to buy new....have my eye on toyota corolla
and chevy cruze....can anyone give me pros and cons
in terms of parts; gas mileage ;problems etc
thanks

rajbiss

Re: wtk pros and cons corolla vs cruze

Postby rajbiss » November 18th, 2012, 4:19 pm

Hey its simple... The cruze is NOT A TOYOTA!

Eagle

Postby Eagle » November 18th, 2012, 10:23 pm

Horse in my personal view the cruze is looking far better than the corolla.I find when every other car manufacturer have improve on there design like hyundia ,kia,chevy etc ,corolla is looking boring .Chevy also have a name so do your research,the world is changing,But I will really consider the cruze

blackberry

Postby blackberry » November 18th, 2012, 11:00 pm

to be honest i am not impressed with the corolla at ALL an i am talking about the s line corolla . . right now we regret that buy an wish we bought a civic or something . . i am not pleased at all!! AT ALL!! i dont know about the chevy but as i said i stress on NOT IMPRESSED WITH THE COROLLA!!!!

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » November 19th, 2012, 6:23 am

when your Cruze start to call for parts you will see why people pick a corolla over a cruze. Go brave.

htsob

Postby htsob » November 19th, 2012, 6:28 pm

thanks for all the responses....i have done extensive research on the new compact sedans
including elantra, corolla and cruze......
never liked hyundai and toyota has been tested and proven
however the 2012 cruze suits all my purposes....afraid of chevy though
i have done the hp...rtunk space...gas...suspension...torque etc
and i must say the chevy looks good.....i agree with blackberry..i am
not impressed with the new corolla at all
i am though very afraid partswise....thanks again all
ps....1st choice was lancer buh cyah afford premium lol

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 19th, 2012, 9:34 pm

the ability to order parts online and ship makes up to an extent the parts issue. the corolla has the same boring design from how much years ago with minor cosmetic changes to lights etc, bro in law has one and he seems to be not to pleased with it, if I were him I would have brought down an axio instead, those are mucho sexy

htsob

Postby htsob » November 22nd, 2012, 7:13 pm

i have a friend and also family who own parts places so i could source parts
there....test drives next week...whoopee

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 22nd, 2012, 8:43 pm

htsob wrote:i have a friend and also family who own parts places so i could source parts
there....test drives next week...whoopee

rolla or cruze?

Flylikplanes

Postby Flylikplanes » November 22nd, 2012, 8:52 pm

lifestyle motors has a track record for ridiculous service and spare part prices, in my point of view...Big Con!

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 23rd, 2012, 11:26 pm

Flylikplanes wrote:lifestyle motors has a track record for ridiculous service and spare part prices, in my point of view...Big Con!

Flylikplanes, track record for ridiculous service and spare part prices according to whom? When you're making fallacious statements like that please support it with some solid facts, not broad generalizations.

I'm on my second Grand Vitara, my father-in-law is on his third. We have 5 Grand Vitaras in the family, 3 Suzuki Swift Sports and 2 Cruze 1.8LTs. WE CAN without a doubt say the WE have had NO MAJOR PROBLEMS over the past 7 years - service or parts or even customer service. Next year I'm buying a Captiva. Such brand loyalty isn't given just like that, it's earned.

Flylikplanes

Postby Flylikplanes » November 24th, 2012, 12:09 am

Thats my two cents based on my experiences. I own a Suzuki Liana and im quite pleased with the performance of the vehicle and my mom own a GV, she is quite pleased with the performance as well, the prob is availability of parts outside of the company and the cost of them. Thats my opinion, and you sir NorStar2k are entitled to yours.

htsob

Postby htsob » November 24th, 2012, 11:01 pm

gonna try cruze...hustla
norstar2k...can you tell me anything about the 1.8LT?
thanks

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 24th, 2012, 11:15 pm

Flylikplanes wrote:Thats my two cents based on my experiences. I own a Suzuki Liana and im quite pleased with the performance of the vehicle and my mom own a GV, she is quite pleased with the performance as well, the prob is availability of parts outside of the company and the cost of them. Thats my opinion, and you sir NorStar2k are entitled to yours.

Dude, there's a difference between 'your opinion' and making fallacious statements. You're lucky you live in a country like ours because had you been in Canada or the US you'd been receiving a summons to appear in court for libel from Lifestyle Motors.

Consider the age of the Liana and your expectancy for parts for a vehicle that's been out of production for over 5 years. The parts would be expensive.

And btw, the rest of us get parts from suzukiparts.com and use a skybox. Its not everything you'll get from the bamboo or local parts places (with Taiwanese superstitious parts).

If that's your issue, next time do better research before you buy so you won't be forced to make any more fallacious statements.

Because the "availability of parts outside of the company and the cost of them" isn't unique to Lifestyle's products. Try and get parts 'outside' as you so eloquently put it for the new Sportage, Tucson, ASX, Jetta, Elantra, Focus, CX5, etc.

I challenge you to give me the price of any part you fine expensive and I'll get you a better price, considering parts for the Liana (Aerio) will be hard to get generally.

Your serve!

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 24th, 2012, 11:35 pm

htsob wrote:gonna try cruze...hustla
norstar2k...can you tell me anything about the 1.8LT?
thanks

Send me a PM

moti

Postby moti » November 26th, 2012, 9:32 am

although Toyota is the first choice for me for any vehicle.......

i must say that the corolla is suckish now.
it's well over priced as well, and thats why i bought a Tiida for the wife instead of a Corolla.

you tell me that at 180K the corolla does not have automatic folding mirrors? Auto lights?
when i'm buying a vehicle i tend to compare all the available features and the corolla lacks in this department, i'm i to tell my self that when i park and lock my car the mirrors don't fold in for it self that oh well at least i drive a corolla and then push them in?

toyota needs to do something about the corolla.
oh and i'm not paying over 200K for a mid sized sedan so buying the S model is out of the question.
but then again; i could be wrong as it's the highest selling sedan in the world.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 26th, 2012, 11:34 am

moti wrote:although Toyota is the first choice for me for any vehicle.......

i must say that the corolla is suckish now.
it's well over priced as well, and thats why i bought a Tiida for the wife instead of a Corolla.

you tell me that at 180K the corolla does not have automatic folding mirrors? Auto lights?
when i'm buying a vehicle i tend to compare all the available features and the corolla lacks in this department, i'm i to tell my self that when i park and lock my car the mirrors don't fold in for it self that oh well at least i drive a corolla and then push them in?

toyota needs to do something about the corolla.
oh and i'm not paying over 200K for a mid sized sedan so buying the S model is out of the question.
but then again; i could be wrong as it's the highest selling sedan in the world.

Very good points moti. Personally I don't care for electric folding mirrors having had that on three of my cars. When some idiot hits your mirror the drive mechanism is often damaged which results in a malfunction or failure of the folding/un-folding capability. Replacement costs are high (if not found in the bamboo). The benefits of the manual fold is; if hit, most times you just fold it back out manually and you're good to go. My 2¢

Postby MG Man » November 26th, 2012, 1:32 pm

cincuanta wrote:when your Cruze start to call for parts you will see why people pick a corolla over a cruze. Go brave.

do you have any verifiable statistics to back up your claim that the cruze will start calling for parts?
If not, then you are just talking out of yourass
10 years ago, we looked at the corolla, megane, lancer and focus.........ended buying a MINI Cooper...........every salesman threw that same crap at us: oh when dat mini start callin for parts, blah blah blah.................no call yet

Plus, I much rather be in a cruze than a corolla if I end up in a collision..............

htsob

Postby htsob » November 26th, 2012, 6:32 pm

great discussion guys.....i do personally think the compact sedans may be a bit overpriced
and standard features are now extras..$$$$...if i am not mistaken the baseline model cruze
also has manual mirrors....however the crash test ratings and the number of airbags are great
partswise there is a 1 yr 20, 000 km free service and i am hoping to resell within 3-4 yrs or sub 80,000kms
i hope i wont need major parts by that time.
further issue is that the cruze hasnt really been around long enough to build a proper history
nor to gauge its resale value...

htsob

Postby htsob » November 28th, 2012, 12:21 pm

ok...fresh from test drive
norstar got it right...the vehicle is SOLID....sits on the road well and suspension
is firm but not overly stiff....may be better with weight
steering is responsive...roomy enough for a compact
have to get used to indicator and windshield wiper controls being switched
car seemed sluggish and unresponsive until it was explained that there is a
double pump of the accelerator and then picks up speed...when this is
done acceleration is good....6 speed tiptronic works great (MARACAAAS)
BIT DISAPPOINTED in the features offered in the 1.6LS no onstar(doesn't work here)
bluetooth is companys brand, no sidemirror indicator lights, the stock 17" more than
makes up though
the 2013 grill and headlights and rims are different to the 2012
you have to pay extra for reverse sensors, tint and bluetooth...all in all 175k
unfortunately the LT is not offered in 1.6 which sucks...woulda gone for that...1.8LT
takes it well over 200k
all in all a good buy...any further info from tuners will be welcome before i take the plunge

htsob

Postby htsob » November 28th, 2012, 12:28 pm

oh and most important....standard warranty...5 yrs...and service costs doesn't
seem like it'll break your pocket

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 28th, 2012, 10:54 pm

Glad you like it htsob!

And the after-market custom kits are extensive.
$T2eC16NHJHQE9nzE)jzoBQY(YKSwO!~~60_3.JPG
$T2eC16J,!)sE9swm(yjsBQb8OOp(nQ~~60_3.JPG
CruzePredator2Pic1_599.jpg
$T2eC16F,!)kE9s4Z-Ue7BQGhO2ir4!~~60_12.JPG
$T2eC16F,!)kE9s4Z-Ue7BQGhO2ir4!~~60_12.JPG (85.88 KiB) Viewed 6522 times

htsob

Postby htsob » November 28th, 2012, 11:15 pm

norstar...question....after market body is one thing...how about electronic upgrades
in terms of DVD; NAV; REVERSE CAMERA; DVR; 2WAY PAGING REMOTE
if i were to 'bring in' these extras would i have to go thru the company to install
without voiding warranty....thanks again for all info.

htsob

Postby htsob » November 28th, 2012, 11:23 pm

oh and does anyone know average insurance rate for this car
before i go shopping...thanks

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 28th, 2012, 11:32 pm

htsob wrote:norstar...question....after market body is one thing...how about electronic upgrades
in terms of DVD; NAV; REVERSE CAMERA; DVR; 2WAY PAGING REMOTE
if i were to 'bring in' these extras would i have to go thru the company to install
without voiding warranty....thanks again for all info.

Check REO. They do work for LSM. Notify your sales rep prior though.

htsob

Postby htsob » November 29th, 2012, 8:58 am

cool thanks

Postby MG Man » November 29th, 2012, 9:20 am

what's the big deal with mirror-mounted indicators and navigation?
Just seems like extra expense for things you don't need........same for back-up camera - sensors.......unless you really can't drive

htsob

Postby htsob » November 29th, 2012, 12:37 pm

MG... hobby dude....its both pleasing and psychologically cathartic to some degree to work on car overtime and add
the personal touches..including aesthetics which may seem unneccesary
but whose intrinsic value is immeasurable....

Postby Dizzy28 » November 29th, 2012, 2:11 pm

My biggest regret after I purchased a car in April last year was not going into Lifestyle Motors and checking the Cruze (N&M did not yet have the new Elantra). Price for features the Cruze takes it even over Kia and Hyundai IMO. Whilst the market offers 1.5 and 1.6 L engines in the $180-230k price range the Cruze giving you a 1.8l below 200k.

htsob

Postby htsob » November 29th, 2012, 3:01 pm

creature of habits....i missed the left foot rest that i have on my ck2...lol