Thinking about starting a project vehicle...

streaminhonda

Thinking about starting a project vehicle...

Postby streaminhonda » April 15th, 2012, 6:12 pm

Ok so after reading about moti's TE71 i was wondering what exactly does it take to build a project vehicle, take for instance $$$ wise...
i have always been a fan of the toyota line of old school corollas especially the ke70. if i can get my hands on a good one for a reasonable price i would go for it, but when it comes to the mechanics what type of engine would you guys suggest i use for the project. :|
some ppl quick to say drop ah sr in it or rb, someone even suggested a jz, but my idea of this vehicle's use is more like a weekend vehicle, something decent to attend events with, something like a special event vehicle... :lol:
i am not familiar with the toyota lineup of engines and i would like to avoid the cross breeding, what be the ideal toyota engine for a ke70 project where i am not looking for huge hp but something decent to have a lil fun with... :?
this is basically the look i am going for... :twisted:

Re: Thinking about starting a project vehicle...

Postby BrotherHood » April 15th, 2012, 10:48 pm

:shock: :shock: @ pics.

Nice rolla dey

streaminhonda

Postby streaminhonda » April 16th, 2012, 4:45 am

BrotherHood wrote::shock: :shock: @ pics.

Nice rolla dey

Yup demz b some sweet rollas, nice n simple... :D

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 16th, 2012, 1:09 pm

If you want to remain 'purist' stay 4 cyl toyota, but it may be a lot of work!

With some massaging, a 4agze can be mated to a 4ag (?) rwd gearbox and in a Ke70 will be pretty potent, well balanced with the right suspension mods.

If you want straight line power or a drift machine, go with the 1jz or 2jz.

Postby eliteauto » April 16th, 2012, 1:49 pm

I'd avoid the JZs, if you're looking for a fun easy to maintain vehicle, stay 4cyl and n/a, a 4AGE 16V can be pretty potent and drops right on, there are lots of parts support online for it, mate to a T50 gearbox for a decent go getter, suspension and braking mods would make it a great canyon carver for Maracas, Toco, Icacos runs

moti

Postby moti » April 16th, 2012, 2:36 pm

k,

in a heart beat i would do one of these.

my plan would be a 4AGE 20V (this time to make things easier) so yea a 4AGE 20V mated to a T50 gearbox, coil-overs with some 15's Watanabe Type-R.
custom headers with some lovely stacks for the itb's.

or you can go the route of BEAMS i mean 200hp stock with a 6fwd box will have that little car
spinning around on a 10¢
can work with little mods, only major problem may be the intake manifold clashing with the clutch cylinder but that can fixed easy once your mechanic is capable or you can think outside the box.

everything must be super clean though and that takes time to have everything done right

but please stay away from cross breading.

as for funds well i spent 28k or more with Olivia but in the end it was all worth it
learning experience i will never have gotten that for free.
this was over a two year period

just looking a Chelsea makes me wonder how much i will spend this time.........but that wont stop me.
its not as much as people like Jason (triniGT) spends but hey at the end of the day it's yours pal.

streaminhonda

Postby streaminhonda » April 17th, 2012, 9:40 am

I have been checking around the internet and reading up on some of the conversions from ke70 forums and one guy did his conversion using the ae86 parts like crossmember, gearbox brackets and even the pedal box (auto to manual conversion), drive shaft and rear suspension and they are supposedly bolt for bolt parts with little modification... what i would like to know is if ae86 parts are available here or will i have to source them on the net...

moti wrote:k,
my plan would be a 4AGE 20V (this time to make things easier) so yea a 4AGE 20V mated to a T50 gearbox, coil-overs with some 15's Watanabe Type-R.
custom headers with some lovely stacks for the itb's.

or you can go the route of BEAMS i mean 200hp stock with a 6fwd box will have that little car
spinning around on a 10¢
can work with little mods, only major problem may be the intake manifold clashing with the clutch cylinder but that can fixed easy once your mechanic is capable or you can think outside the box.

I would guess that you would be referring to the black top 20v??? not too familiar with these engines until i read your thread and started searching up on them... i would really like to go with the na option as boost (aka sr/rb/jz inna box lancer/cefiro/galant) seems to be the norm now, and i dont want the norm... what you see in the pics is the look i aiming for, something fun to drive but not ordinary...

What is the prices for a 4age engine???

Postby eliteauto » April 17th, 2012, 9:57 am

a 4AGE 16V RWD engine goes for 6K-9K depending and condition and mods
a 4AGE 20V blacktop FWD will run you 7K ( you can recover some when you sell the tranny) you'll have to find aT40/50 GB
a 3SGE Beams RWD (Altezza) will run you 9-13K

moti

Postby moti » April 17th, 2012, 11:24 am

eliteauto wrote:a 4AGE 16V RWD engine goes for 6K-9K depending and condition and mods
a 4AGE 20V blacktop FWD will run you 7K ( you can recover some when you sell the tranny) you'll have to find aT40/50 GB
a 3SGE Beams RWD (Altezza) will run you 9-13K

hence the reason why people don't follow through with toyota because quality is not cheap.
take for instance an na sr20 rwd with box can cost as little as what 5-7k?

but the black top 20V may be the better option as its not everyday you can walk into bamboo and find a RWD 16V 4AGE.
heck my 16V 4AGE was off an MR2 (148hp rating) and mated that to a charmant 4fwd box which i later got a 5fwd off a 2tb engine from another sr5 corolla.

best bet is to get a great shell first and then you can finalize the power train after.
there are a number of ke70 shells out there that are in good condition.
look for one with little or no filler and rust.

heck the guy that bought Olivia's engine/box wants what i sold him it for $8k

streaminhonda

Postby streaminhonda » April 17th, 2012, 12:58 pm

Fifth Generation "Black Top"
The fifth-generation 4A-GE engine produced from 1995 to 1998 is the final version of the 4A-GE engine and has black cam covers. This engine is commonly known as the "black top" due to the color of the valve cover, and yet again features an even higher compression ratio (11:1). The air flow sensor is replaced with a MAP sensor, the diameter of the four individual throttle bodies was increased from 42 mm to 45 mm, the exhaust port diameter was increased, the intake cam lift was increased from 7.9 mm to 8.2 mm and the intake ports were significantly improved in shape, contour and also the width at opening at the head was increased. Additionally, the black top had a lighter flywheel, a larger plenum, and revised rubber velocity stacks, and was also offered in 1997 with a six-speed C160 transaxle. This revision increased the power to 165 PS (121 kW) at 7,800 rpm with 16.5 kg·m (162 N·m) of torque at 5,600 rpm. These figures were issued by Toyota and are considered optimistic. It is assumed that Toyota ran the motor without ancillaries to inflate the power ratings, as some companies did before the adoption of the SAE J1349 rating standards in 2005. Still, the 'Blacktop' has become a favorite among enthusiasts and is used as an easy power upgrade for the early Toyota Corolla models, especially for use in the drift scene. Squeezing extra power from such a highly strung, naturally aspirated engine can be expensive because of the relatively high state of tuning of the stock motor, and most gains come from higher lift cams and engine management.

This is some info i got from the wiki and i was wondering how true the statement in red is...

moti wrote:hence the reason why people don't follow through with toyota because quality is not cheap.
take for instance an na sr20 rwd with box can cost as little as what 5-7k?

I can understand where you are coming from, but even though i am looking for something different it must be also able to hold it's own. What i am getting at is, parts for the 4age engine, are they easy to come by compared to say an sr/rb/jz??? i dont mind if the parts are readily available but costly but if is the other way around, well u know...

VexXx Dogg wrote:With some massaging, a 4agze can be mated to a 4ag (?) rwd gearbox and in a Ke70 will be pretty potent, well balanced with the right suspension mods.

These japs b real skillful... are ae86 struts really built like this or is that a special kind of strut...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7KWCDDBbpNc

Postby eliteauto » April 17th, 2012, 1:06 pm

the 20V statement is true, significant power gains while remaining n/a are expensive and hard to get, you say you want it to hold it's own....hold it's own against what? Most of the well preserved and restored KE's aren't superfast, many have stock engines with I/H/E mods, many of those on http://www.club4ag.com/ and http://www.rollaclub.com/ aren't track stars, just well put together tasteful cars with some pep and suspension and braking mods that are hella fun to drive

Postby eliteauto » April 17th, 2012, 1:08 pm

take a look at some inspiration, this is my kinda restore, hopefully something my son and I can do in the future (42 pgs eh lol) http://www.rollaclub.com/board/topic/47 ... t-fighter/

car went from this:
to:

in only 1 year :faint:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 17th, 2012, 3:38 pm

$$$$$$$

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

and when you're about to cheap out and buy that second tier part that can do the same job 80% effectively, slap yourself and throw out more $$$$$$$$$$ and get the one you wanted in the first place.

Just thought I'd throw in a lil' negativity to ensure you don't jump in with both feet then have to retreat later. :lol:

streaminhonda

Postby streaminhonda » April 18th, 2012, 8:49 am

Conrad wrote:$$$$$$$

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

and when you're about to cheap out and buy that second tier part that can do the same job 80% effectively, slap yourself and throw out more $$$$$$$$$$ and get the one you wanted in the first place.

Just thought I'd throw in a lil' negativity to ensure you don't jump in with both feet then have to retreat later. :lol:

:lol: negativity can be a plus at times if you know how to look at it...

eliteauto wrote:the 20V statement is true, significant power gains while remaining n/a are expensive and hard to get, you say you want it to hold it's own....hold it's own against what? Most of the well preserved and restored KE's aren't superfast, many have stock engines with I/H/E mods, many of those on <a href="http://www.club4ag.com/" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" title="Link added by VigLink" class="vglnk">http://www.club4ag.com/</a> and <a href="http://www.rollaclub.com/" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" title="Link added by VigLink" class="vglnk">http://www.rollaclub.com/</a> aren't track stars, just well put together tasteful cars with some pep and suspension and braking mods that are hella fun to drive

That is exactly what i am looking for, like i said i don't know much about the engines and i have never seen one perform personally hence my statement...

eliteauto wrote:take a look at some inspiration, this is my kinda restore, hopefully something my son and I can do in the future (42 pgs eh lol) <a href="http://www.rollaclub.com/board/topic/47985-spencers-ke70-touge-street-fighter/" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" title="Link added by VigLink" class="vglnk">http://www.rollaclub.com/board/topic/47985-spencers-ke70-touge-street-fighter/</a>

car went from this:
[img]<a href="http://www.rollaclub.com/board/uploads/monthly_01_2012/post-7-0-02108900-1325380109.jpg[/img" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" title="Link added by VigLink" class="vglnk">http://www.rollaclub.com/board/uploads/monthly_01_2012/post-7-0-02108900-1325380109.jpg[/img</a>]
to:
[img]<a href="http://www.rollaclub.com/board/uploads/monthly_01_2012/post-7-0-73351600-1325382052.jpg[/img" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" title="Link added by VigLink" class="vglnk">http://www.rollaclub.com/board/uploads/monthly_01_2012/post-7-0-73351600-1325382052.jpg[/img</a>]

in only 1 year :faint:

:shock: :lol: I def cant do that in one year but what's the rush, patience and persistence is the name of the game... i ended up joining the rolla club last night will check out the forums when i get some time today...

moti

Postby moti » April 18th, 2012, 10:32 am

dude with a 4age you can milk 200hp off that b!tch easy but at a cost most won't consider
(trinis are hell bent on bamboo speed)

however the 4age's are a perfect match for the chassis you have chosen.
weight will be evenly distributed between front and rear.

my take is you have to know what you want and stick to it.

you want a drift pig then get a silvia and stick an rb25 in her

you want a drag whore then stick with 4wd (evo as the 4g63 is the best 4 cylinder in my book)

want a dyno queen - that just dont make sense

what you want my friend is a car that people can enjoy looking at when it's parked, a great conversation piece, a car that you can enjoy driving from traffic light to traffic light and a car that will down right make people like me, cinco, mg, metro and others drool over it.

i say go for it buy a 4AGE and keep it stock for now, after finishing the body and suspension then you can opt for performance upgrades on the engine.

as for your question on support in trinidad for the 4age, you will get mostly original parts to keep the engine running but if you desire you can talk to nick from tuner imports or big G from teknet as they will be able to import down to the last bolt for you from either japan or the usa.

stay na though as to me thats enough to have total fun while sounding cool with itb's.

streaminhonda

Postby streaminhonda » April 18th, 2012, 8:55 pm

supposed to go check out a ke70 in aranguez, d guy wants 10k for it but there is some issues to transfer the vehicle....
anybody know of any other ke70s around??? 4 or 2 door???

moti

Postby moti » April 19th, 2012, 7:03 am

good luck finding a 2 door KE, i know of 2.
one i see ever so often and the other i heard about.

Postby black start » April 23rd, 2012, 3:31 pm

2 door?where slaus at?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 23rd, 2012, 10:50 pm

My gramps still have his KE70 in mint condition but he won't part with it even though he stopped driving, as he doesn't see as well now at 96yrs.

streaminhonda

Postby streaminhonda » April 24th, 2012, 7:21 am

lol... that's the case allover....

moti

Postby moti » September 4th, 2012, 11:08 am

dude.....

any news on you starting this?

Postby dougla_boy » September 6th, 2012, 10:35 am

dude, exactly what elite and moti said is what u should do.

i myself have had a love/hate/loveforsure relationship with my car. after almost 1 yr of almost letting the car go to sheit, i have decided to fix it and soon, i would rejuvenate my ched with the baby hulk (d car gonna be real green, lol)

"well put together tasteful cars with some pep and suspension and braking mods that are hella fun to drive"

streaminhonda

Postby streaminhonda » September 6th, 2012, 10:53 am

Aye still have my plans but recently had some tragic family issues to deal with so things on hold for now, but def looking to acquire something by early 2013...

Postby dougla_boy » September 6th, 2012, 10:58 am

eh, sorry to hear bro........ IMO i would thro in the beams engine in it with some suspension mods and sheit........

always remember when modding,

1) Stop
2) Turn
3) Go

thas the order when doing the mods, brakes, susp then engine........

anyways good luck with you project!!

SLaus

Postby SLaus » March 25th, 2014, 7:31 am

black start wrote:2 door?where slaus at?

Right here bro, sorry for the late response but i did a search and found this post lol..

Getting a roll cage, launch control and diff installed then body job. don't let the pic fool you, it's bom spray over the rust!! lol..

TE72.jpg
Last edited by SLaus on March 25th, 2014, 7:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

SLaus

Postby SLaus » March 25th, 2014, 7:33 am

SLaus wrote:
black start wrote:2 door?where slaus at?

Right here bro, sorry for the late response but i did a search and found this post lol..

Getting a roll cage and diff installed then body job. don't let the pic fool you, it's bom spray over the rust!! lol..

The attachment TE72.jpg is no longer available

IMG-20130318-00133.jpg

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » March 30th, 2014, 12:58 am

First pic is a cross breed(Volvo 5cylinder turbo :twisted: ) but Moti's advice is the best way to go IMHO good luck with the build (whenever it starts) :D

Postby black start » March 30th, 2014, 4:55 pm

Project b13 pumpin hard