The Official Car Care Thread

NR8

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby NR8 » February 5th, 2016, 1:12 pm

Guys, need to get a bottle of Mothers Step 2 Micro Polishing Glaze. Anywhere in south I could get this besides Car Plus at a reasonable price?

Soochi boi

Postby Soochi boi » February 10th, 2016, 8:33 pm

Need some assistance.
Rotten garbage scent or dead animal scent.
This scent is coming from underneath right side front and back wheels(fender shields )
This happened this afternoon immediately after following a garbage truck.
Have tried to clean with purple blaster ,
All purpose cleaner
And even bleach scent still remains

Postby Chimera » February 10th, 2016, 10:57 pm

Like yuh drive through some of the garbage juice lol.

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » February 10th, 2016, 11:39 pm

^^get an underwash

Postby MG Man » February 11th, 2016, 9:08 am

DVSTT wrote:
SUPAstarr wrote:
reem316 wrote:LF a good ac vent sanitizer, plastic restorer & interior cleaner any suggestion an where I can buy them?

As mg said, Valvoline VPS 2 Part Kit, check your PM

That's single use?

yeah, but if the car's not too bad, you can do two cars
call 679 0500, CPSL...they are the agents for it...ask for Andrew and hopefully he will perhaps justify using up so much oxygen on this planet

andres13

Postby andres13 » April 1st, 2016, 11:48 am

DVSTT wrote:
SUPAstarr wrote:
reem316 wrote:LF a good ac vent sanitizer, plastic restorer & interior cleaner any suggestion an where I can buy them?

As mg said, Valvoline VPS 2 Part Kit, check your PM
Where can you buy this? :lol:

That's single use?

yeah, but if the car's not too bad, you can do two cars
call 679 0500, CPSL...they are the agents for it...ask for Andrew and hopefully he will perhaps justify using up so much oxygen on this planet

pimp

Postby pimp » April 7th, 2016, 4:03 pm

Heard of a place in San Juan dat dos engine steam cleaning....close to maraj air conditioning I tink.
Do anyone know of dis place?
Do anyone hav a contact # for dis place?
Name of the place?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » April 7th, 2016, 4:10 pm

pimp wrote:Heard of a place in San Juan dat dos engine steam cleaning....close to maraj air conditioning I tink.
Do anyone know of dis place?
Do anyone hav a contact # for dis place?
Name of the place?

Tech-Motive Imports Limited

799-5274

744-5243

638-9755

pimp

Postby pimp » April 8th, 2016, 6:36 pm

tanx bro

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » April 10th, 2016, 2:40 pm

Guys good day I have my window glass in my vehicle it have some very hard acid rain stain I tried
Wet sandpaper and water
3M compond
Meguiars Glass Cleaner
Vinegar and warm water
I remove the tint to make sure it was not the inside but it was not.

Could someone please tell me what I could use to Remove acid rain/ water spot stain on a glass in my vehicle

Parvin

Postby Parvin » April 11th, 2016, 6:05 am

Where can I purchase a foam
Cannon locally at a reasonable price?

kadet100

Postby kadet100 » April 13th, 2016, 9:39 am

R.P.J wrote:Guys good day I have my window glass in my vehicle it have some very hard acid rain stain I tried
Wet sandpaper and water
3M compond
Meguiars Glass Cleaner
Vinegar and warm water
I remove the tint to make sure it was not the inside but it was not.

Could someone please tell me what I could use to Remove acid rain/ water spot stain on a glass in my vehicle

Iwash Auto Spa on the main road in Garden Village, Arouca. Ask for Arthur...they will polish it out. 382-0460.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » April 20th, 2016, 3:42 pm

Any feedback on where i could get a foam cannon locally?

Re: RE: Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby cinco » May 28th, 2016, 10:30 pm

Parvin wrote:Any feedback on where i could get a foam cannon locally?

Try the karcher folks in elsocorro

Postby cinco » May 28th, 2016, 10:32 pm

Spent some time on this yesterday. Just a quick autoglym srp coat to start with
ImageImage

Parvin

Postby Parvin » May 28th, 2016, 10:33 pm

cinco wrote:
Parvin wrote:Any feedback on where i could get a foam cannon locally?

Try the karcher folks in elsocorro

I ordered one online already. Got it and used it once, now it's up for sale.

Water always locking off and the pressure washer gone through

Postby cinco » May 28th, 2016, 10:34 pm

Gave this corolla some much needed love also. The light dot is actually the sun's reflection
ImageImage

Postby cinco » June 8th, 2016, 9:47 pm

Mishi had one for sale but he in Tobago

Postby eliteauto » August 14th, 2016, 3:28 pm

Are the following available locally? Wanna know before I order them
CarPro Cquartz Fabric Coating
Meguiars Ultimate Interior Detailer

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » August 21st, 2016, 4:35 pm

Meguiars ultimate compound worked wonders

aidan

Postby aidan » August 26th, 2016, 6:51 pm

looking real good jeevdude199

Postby cinco » August 26th, 2016, 8:55 pm

Lil shine up using collinite 476

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » August 29th, 2016, 3:55 pm

I like 476, easy to use, decent beading, implies good protection. My car got a layer 2 weeks ago, car sleeps outside. I'll see how it lasts.

ryandtrini

Postby ryandtrini » September 1st, 2016, 7:06 pm

I would like to know what is a good product to use in order to remove swirl/scratch marks on my car.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 11th, 2016, 12:30 am

Good Evening

First off, thanks "pioneer", Lubetech still sells the Meguiar's Grit Guard and I would have purchased one online were it not for the post you made almost 4 years ago :)

Now I have a couple questions

First...How long do persons usually take, detailing/caring for their automobile. Today was my first time using more than just a cleaner wax and an instant detailer after washing, and I took nearly five hours...btw the inside of my vehicle and the door sill areas still need attention. Products used were
-Turtle Wax Wash and Wax
-Turtle wax, "Wax and Dry"
-Auto glym, Super Resin Polish
-3m Imperial Hand Glaze
-Meguiar"s Gold Class Carnuba Plus Liquid Wax
-Turtle Wax ICE Spray detailer
and were used in the order mentioned

Next question
Does anyone know if using the Spray detailer at the end removes/negates anything that was done before. I usually use it because it makes the removal of the dry wax haze a bit easier.

My usual treatment involves the Turtle Wax Wash and Wax with Turtle Wax ICE Synthetic Paste Polish and the ICE Spray detailer to finish (as mentioned detailer makes wax removal a bit easier).

Comments/Criticisms are welcome

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 11th, 2016, 9:39 am

kamakazi wrote:Good Evening
Now I have a couple questions

First...How long do persons usually take, detailing/caring for their automobile. Today was my first time using more than just a cleaner wax and an instant detailer after washing, and I took nearly five hours...btw the inside of my vehicle and the door sill areas still need attention. Products used were
-Turtle Wax Wash and Wax
-Turtle wax, "Wax and Dry"
-3m Imperial Hand Glaze
-Turtle Wax ICE Spray detailer
and were used in the order mentioned

Comments/Criticisms are welcome

You are definitely using to much products.

Here is my recommendation in that order!

- Wash and Wax

I will recommend you will get better results using one brand as it is designed to be more effective and efficient together. Eg Meguiars >Ultimate Polish > Meguiars Ultimate Wax etc.

Next question
Does anyone know if using the Spray detailer at the end removes/negates anything that was done before. I usually use it because it makes the removal of the dry wax haze a bit easier.

If your using the spray detailer to remove dry wax haze it probably means something is not right. What type of MicroFiber Cloths (MFC) are you using? Are you using clean MFC? where are you applying the wax ? in direct sunlight , under cover?. what is the temperature of the area you are applying the wax? are you leaving it properly dry or over drying ?

A possible reason your getting hazing is that you are using too much products on the surface. If you use a system approach it should alleviate some of your problems.

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » September 11th, 2016, 9:42 am

My opinion, you are adding another layer of wax, which is positive. The only negative I see is you may be applying too much wax and hence the difficult removal.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » September 11th, 2016, 9:49 am

guys whats the best product that would get black leather looking like new?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 11th, 2016, 12:25 pm

I started using the spray detailer as it was mentioned by turtle to assist in the removal of the synthetic paste polish...I kinda just continued using it. It isn't necessary but it helps.
Conditions
- In the shade, I started at 3pm in the afternoon
I use those bright yellow microfibre towels ah la Pricesmart.
I attempted to wash and dry sections of the vehicle at a time.
I used the wax and dry to help dry sections of the vehicle instead of letting it air dry as most times the soap would have already begun to dry by the time I am on the last section.

Thanks for the advice... Will utilize in future... But in the meantime I have a lot of product to go through (read finish) :)

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 11th, 2016, 11:40 pm

The Spray Detailer will help to remove / loosen stuff from the paint work.

When I attended the Meguairs NXT advance class that was held at the Meguiars Head Quarters California I had an in depth conversation with Jason Rose who was the then Global Technical Services and Training Manager about the impact of loading the paint work with too much product and mixing and matching different brands.

The idea is to keep it as simple as possible . For example , when washing the car with a Wash and Wax product , the WW leave something behind to protect the surface, if following up with glaze , the glaze leaves something on the paint work and following up the a wax the wax leaves something behind and following up the a Quick Detailer , the QD leaves something behind. At the end of it all the paint will be huge sausage party of products all musshed together. If these products are not compatible they are not going to work well together and it may not give the desired results and expectations.

The manufactures of detailing products all have their "proprietary blend " and they manufacture their product to be compatible with each other for optimal effectiveness. That being said nothing is wrong with using brand A with brand B. I do it , but you just have to cognisant to the fact if it does not look right or does not give you the results you just have to revert to using the system approach.

I too have so much detailing stuff thats either half empty or not even open, so i know the feeling. Its either you trow all away and start from a fresh or using out what you have before acquiring new stuff.