The Official Car Care Thread

Karim Khan

The Official Car Care Thread

Postby Karim Khan » September 13th, 2011, 8:20 pm

Guys what kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

i like to use this on my ride

what you use?

Karim Khan

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby Karim Khan » September 13th, 2011, 8:28 pm

Do they still have this around,

I would like to get one just to remember the ole days

Postby nervewrecker » September 13th, 2011, 8:33 pm

Karim Khan wrote:Do they still have this around,

You wanna hear something real funny? I know a place that uses that on people's vehicles :lol: :lol:
What is even more funny the customers believe in the product & claims products like Auto Glym too expensive because polish is polish, period!

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 13th, 2011, 8:34 pm

Autoglym Super Resin Polish.

Postby rollingstock » September 13th, 2011, 8:39 pm

I use Mother's, it's three bottles for different stages.

Haven't waxed the cars in ages though.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 13th, 2011, 8:43 pm

Karim Khan wrote:Do they still have this around,

You wanna hear something real funny? I know a place that uses that on people's vehicles :lol: :lol:
What is even more funny the customers believe in the product & claims products like Auto Glym too expensive because polish is polish, period!

That's amazing

Postby BrotherHood » September 13th, 2011, 8:48 pm

Mother's

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » September 13th, 2011, 8:51 pm

Shining Monkey!

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 13th, 2011, 8:55 pm

evolution7tt wrote:Shining Monkey!

I was promised a sample of Shining Monkey ,,,,,,,,ah still waiting !! lol

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 13th, 2011, 9:02 pm

ummm mothers......

BlitzMekenzie

Postby BlitzMekenzie » September 13th, 2011, 9:04 pm

evolution7tt wrote:Shining Monkey!

x2....

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 13th, 2011, 9:12 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Mother's

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:ummm mothers......

But which one of the mothers polish or wax..........the FX? Reflections or the Classic?

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » September 13th, 2011, 9:17 pm

I've been through many brands autoglym, meguiars, mothers, dodo juice. Even the high end stuff xymol.

They each have their strengths...except the xymol. It is sheit! The wax will not even last a day before it gets burnt off.

IMHO autoglym has the best balance of shine and practicality. But their stuff ain't cheap.

Autoglym clay
Then autoglym hd cleanse
Then autoglym hd wax 2 layers

Shine is all about the carnuba percentage and the hd wax is very high. Natural wax will beat out synthetics anyday but will never last as long

If you really want a concourse finish, you can top it off with meguiars no. 7 glaze. That stuff is great but it runs straight off in the heat and rain. To lock it in I apply another layer of hd wax over it

Postby S_2NR » September 13th, 2011, 9:31 pm

as we on this topic..question for the detailing people..
the wash and wax car washes..what u guys think?
in comparison to a dedicated waxing product.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 13th, 2011, 9:36 pm

paparazzi wrote:I've been through many brands autoglym, meguiars, mothers, dodo juice. Even the high end stuff xymol.

They each have their strengths...except the xymol. It is sheit! The wax will not even last a day before it gets burnt off.

IMHO autoglym has the best balance of shine and practicality. But their stuff ain't cheap.

Autoglym clay
Then autoglym hd cleanse
Then autoglym hd wax 2 layers

Shine is all about the carnuba percentage and the hd wax is very high. Natural wax will beat out synthetics anyday but will never last as long

If you really want a concourse finish, you can top it off with meguiars no. 7 glaze. That stuff is great but it runs straight off in the heat and rain. To lock it in I apply another layer of hd wax over it

All products are good but its all about product knowledge and technique,, zymol is a very good product i have used it before,,, i would love to continue using it but it get just as good or even better result with the system i presently use.

I can take the regular products and have a car looking much better than when it came from the showroom.

In Detailing its 40% product and 60% technique and knowledge..

Knowledge and patience is what most lack!

Paparazzi when you are ready you to have your vehicle professional done let me know..

If you are looking for a concourse finish there are a lot more steps than claying, polishing and waxing
Last edited by Karim Khan on September 13th, 2011, 10:14 pm, edited 6 times in total.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 13th, 2011, 9:41 pm

S_2NR wrote:as we on this topic..question for the detailing people..
the wash and wax car washes..what u guys think?
in comparison to a dedicated waxing product.

Dedicated waxing is a MUST if you want to keep your vehicle looking its best !!!!! for our CLIMATE you should wax your car for a minimum once a month!!!

Wash and wax is ok to use between your wax sessions.!!! you should also use a quick detailer in between your wax sessions!!!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 14th, 2011, 4:56 am

guys what kinda cloth do u use to wax on an wax off.....I used a nice yellow microfilm kinda cloth form pricesmart but realised that i got the circles on my car afterwards...scratches ....Previously i had used a polishing cloth but that shiet so expensive......

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 14th, 2011, 7:15 am

I use a foam pad to apply and micro fiber cloth to remove. Karim can hook you up with cloths and pads. I am a firm believer in Autoglym after Karim introduced the product to me. Easiest and most effective polish I've ever used. (Super Resin and Glass) Upkeep by washing car with Shampoo Conditioner.

bugsy rabbit

Postby bugsy rabbit » September 14th, 2011, 7:25 am

wham to wash down with blue soap and leggo ah prestone, doh forget to remove to old pitch with pitch oil and dress under fender with wd40, for de inside nuttin but baby oil jed.....de cheap one.

yeah we hit ah cheap ass aunty who doh like to pay dat formula.

other than that is Meg's of mother's for personal cars.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 14th, 2011, 7:38 am

silent_riot wrote:I use a foam pad to apply and micro fiber cloth to remove. Karim can hook you up with cloths and pads. I am a firm believer in Autoglym after Karim introduced the product to me. Easiest and most effective polish I've ever used. (Super Resin and Glass) Upkeep by washing car with Shampoo Conditioner.

Glad to hear that you are getting great results. Silent_Riot vehicle it looks really great guys.

*$kїđž!™ wrote:guys what kinda cloth do u use to wax on an wax off.....I used a nice yellow microfilm kinda cloth form pricesmart but realised that i got the circles on my car afterwards...scratches ....Previously i had used a polishing cloth but that shiet so expensive......

Try folding the cloth in 4 equal parts and pull out the tag. Try it again and let me know if you still seeing the circles scratches. Make and use a clean Microfiber eh.. if it fall on the ground wash it before you use it.!!!

bugsy rabbit wrote:wham to wash down with blue soap and leggo ah prestone, doh forget to remove to old pitch with pitch oil and dress under fender with wd40, for de inside nuttin but baby oil jed.....de cheap one.

yeah we hit ah cheap ass aunty who doh like to pay dat formula.

other than that is Meg's of mother's for personal cars.

lOl
I just tell the low ballers,, "Check another detailer their prices are better than mines"

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » September 14th, 2011, 7:43 am

I use either Meguiars NXT 2.0 or Griots BoS Wax.

Polishes include Mothers Pre-Wax Cleaner and Autoglym Super Resin Polish (depends on the application it's being used on).

Polishes are applied with the Meguiars yellow Foam pads. Buffed off with Mothers polish removal microfibres.

Waxes applied using Griots red foam pad (by hand) and buffed off with the soft microfibres.

For claying, I use Meguiars Smooth Surface Clay kit.

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » September 14th, 2011, 7:50 am

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 14th, 2011, 8:26 am

sr20ve wrote:Image

I have been waiting for the local representative of this product to come and meet with me.

I got a few promises but not reply

I am still waiting !!!

If you forgot the number
here it is
784-9290

Postby Rainman » September 14th, 2011, 8:56 am

Every 3 Months
Wash with mothers california gold car wash
Mother's clay bar system
Rewash to get rid of clay residue
Meguiar's Ultimate Compound
mother's Sealer and Glaze
mothers FX Syn Wax (2 Coats) (will be swapping this with the Wolfgang Fuzion that i ordered)

Once a Week
Wash with Mother's california gold car wash
Mother's quick detailer

moti

Postby moti » September 14th, 2011, 9:00 am

Autoglym Super Resin Polish

Prestone Car Wax

Postby Rainman » September 14th, 2011, 9:02 am

moti wrote:Autoglym Super Resin Polish

Prestone Car Wax

Does not compute!!

moti

Postby moti » September 14th, 2011, 9:23 am

Rainman wrote:

^^ for the Hilux

Prestone Car Wax

^^ for the corolla (1981 TE71 corolla) ole car thing

Does not compute!!

Postby Rainman » September 14th, 2011, 9:25 am

ok ok i thought you were polishing with the glym and then sealing with prestone :?

moti

Postby moti » September 14th, 2011, 9:34 am

nah i not that stupid.
plus the prestone was designed for cars without clear coat

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 14th, 2011, 9:44 am

moti wrote:
Rainman wrote:

^^ for the Hilux

^^ for the corolla (1981 TE71 corolla) ole car thing

Does not compute!!

I recommend this combo for the two cars.

you would not be disappointed