The Official Car Care Thread

nick639v2

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby nick639v2 » March 1st, 2021, 12:32 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:anyone uses like a fleet wash product like nerta ?

i wanna get something to start doing touchless washes on my vehicles, i not able with the mothers wash im currently using. car plus should have ent?
I use the nerta touchless sometimes. Its shocking how well it works. But I found it will strip your wax fast. Sprayed my underbody with and results were excellent too.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 14th, 2021, 9:46 am

Anyone used interchem wash and wax in a foam cannon??? Thinking to give it a try

Postby Dave » April 14th, 2021, 10:37 am

The wash and wax in the creamy color?
Used in a soap dispenser. Wasn't bad but the simple green they sell is what they recommended to use for foaming.

Postby aaron17 » April 14th, 2021, 2:00 pm

Any advice for ashfall and sahara dust?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 14th, 2021, 2:16 pm

Dave wrote:The wash and wax in the creamy color?
Used in a soap dispenser. Wasn't bad but the simple green they sell is what they recommended to use for foaming.
Yea I ended up just buying the simple green. Wash and wax (orange color) works best as a 2nd wash/topper from the feedback they got, detergents in it works dismal at best for heavy road grime according to the floor attendant.

I personally tried the foam bomb from GF and i get the same results from the simple green. Just not as thick 'shaving cream' type foam.

Postby Dave » April 15th, 2021, 4:47 am

Yup thanks for confirming. In my experience with other wash and wax solutions they are more for the slightly dirty finished rather than the true road grime.

I usually have two different car wash solutions for that purpose.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 15th, 2021, 3:59 pm

The birds these days are literally attacking my vehicles when they're clean.. I don't want to kill them but gosh is daily they're flying into the garage, scratching and pooping all over.

If anyone got remedies to keep em away let me know

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 16th, 2021, 10:39 am

nick639v2 wrote:The birds these days are literally attacking my vehicles when they're clean.. I don't want to kill them but gosh is daily they're flying into the garage, scratching and pooping all over.

Based on my experience, I would recommend getting a Natural Enemy "Owl Scarecrow ".

Owls are natural enemies to most common birds. Using the scarecrow will help keep off some of these pesty feathered creatures.

You can find them at any reputable plant shop or general hardware, like Peakes or Bagwanshings.

I hope this helps

Regards
KK

Postby aaron17 » April 16th, 2021, 11:05 am

Are they seeing their reflection?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 17th, 2021, 3:38 pm

Broo.. they literally climb all over it and sheit on the owl lol.
Karim Khan wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:The birds these days are literally attacking my vehicles when they're clean.. I don't want to kill them but gosh is daily they're flying into the garage, scratching and pooping all over.

Based on my experience, I would recommend getting a Natural Enemy "Owl Scarecrow ".

Owls are natural enemies to most common birds. Using the scarecrow will help keep off some of these pesty feathered creatures.

You can find them at any reputable plant shop or general hardware, like Peakes or Bagwanshings.

I hope this helps

Regards
KK

And yea its the reflection seems to attract them. For now it's plastic bags on the mirror and a sheet over the rear window

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 10th, 2021, 8:57 am

The new craze in the automotive paint protection industry is “ Graphene coatings”.

This is a simple but effective explanation that debunks this Graphene coating craze. :!:

Good graphene VS bad graphene

The GOOD graphene :angel: went to school for many years, graduated from college, set off to become a game-changer, ripping off detailers with bold claims.....

The BAD graphene :evilbat: dropped out of elementary, started drinking a lot, had no job, robbed a detailing shop, went to prison... and now he's there to rip off detailers too.....

Both are the same; one wears a mask, the other a cape...

Good Graphene vs bad graphene .jpeg

Please don't be swindled with marketing hype

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 11th, 2021, 10:05 am

Did Adams 7yr graphene coating on a personal vehicle, the amount of time, 'toppers' and products you have to use to ' rejuvenate' the beading action compared to a neglected evoque KK did like what 2 years now? further proved the longevity and quality of a proper ceramic to me..
Good advice from the boss as usual!

carluva

Postby carluva » May 30th, 2021, 2:47 pm

Doing my van at the moment. It was painted in January. It's been left to off gas for more than 3 months.

Wash, iron remover, clay bar, polish with Meguiars 205 polish, turtle Wax paste sealant wax and now applying the final Meguiars yellow carnuba wax. Pics will be posted when done.

carluva

Postby carluva » May 30th, 2021, 4:29 pm

Done. Pics of products used and end result.

Pics just not doing justice.
IMG_20210530_161347857_HDR.jpeg
IMG_20210530_161332150_HDR.jpeg
IMG_20210530_161301016_HDR.jpeg
IMG_20210530_161021189_HDR.jpeg
IMG_20210530_161010064_HDR.jpeg
IMG_20210530_151837681.jpeg

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 30th, 2021, 4:46 pm

Not sure if that last step is necessary... But I'm just a weekend warrior

Can't speak for a lot of meguiar's products but turtle wax ICE line is pretty good

carluva

Postby carluva » May 30th, 2021, 5:07 pm

It probably wasn't but for all that I read, an extra coat of protection wouldn't hurt. Honestly, the carnuba wax added a much different gloss compared to the ICE paste wax alone. Alot more gloss.

The ICE paste wax is really great. It's a bit hard to remove, especially if it stays too long before buffing off.

I used Mother's before and then tried Meguiars. I am just waiting for the Meguiars to finish and then I'll try something else. I am eyeing the Autoglym as the next product to try. I used some of their products (spray wax, trim gel, tar remover) and found them to be really great, better than the Mother's and Meguiars counterparts. Hopefully the same will apply to the polishes.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 30th, 2021, 6:55 pm

I feel as tho yuh need to come help me do mine now....
carluva wrote:Done. Pics of products used and end result.

Pics just not doing justice.
IMG_20210530_151837681.jpeg
IMG_20210530_161010064_HDR.jpeg
IMG_20210530_161021189_HDR.jpeg
IMG_20210530_161301016_HDR.jpeg
IMG_20210530_161332150_HDR.jpeg
IMG_20210530_161347857_HDR.jpeg

carluva

Postby carluva » May 30th, 2021, 7:41 pm

Boy. That was three days of work. Friday evening when it was cool - wash and prep. Saturday half day was polish and today half day was two coats of wax.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 30th, 2021, 7:51 pm

carluva wrote:Doing my van at the moment. It was painted in January. It's been left to off gas for more than 3 months.

Wash, iron remover, clay bar, polish with Meguiars 205 polish, turtle Wax paste sealant wax and now applying the final Meguiars yellow carnuba wax. Pics will be posted when done.
Just got two queries if you don't mind:

- the clay bar makes a significant, noticeable difference?

- that's the original rims you got or did you change it to these on now? (Was looking for a spare from the other pattern like the Prado)

carluva

Postby carluva » May 30th, 2021, 8:04 pm

Clay bar - absolutely makes a difference. There are different types of clay bar. The one I have is more of a clay foam rather than the putty. I have used this clay bar about 6 times already and it works great. Anyhow, yes, the claybar removes that layer of grime and grit that can't be washed off or chemically removed. While using it, a noticeable difference can be felt as at first there is some resistance and then once the layer is removed there is less resistance.

Rims - no, not original. I purchased these back in December 2019. Came off a Hilux that was driven from the dealer to a house and then a house to a wheel shop to swap wheels. I ended up getting them with tyres with under 600km on them. I sold the other set to another tuner.
viedcht wrote:
carluva wrote:Doing my van at the moment. It was painted in January. It's been left to off gas for more than 3 months.

Just got two queries if you don't mind:

- the clay bar makes a significant, noticeable difference?

- that's the original rims you got or did you change it to these on now? (Was looking for a spare from the other pattern like the Prado)

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 30th, 2021, 9:23 pm

Thanks, I really only tried the clay bar once a decade ago, I didn't notice any kinda difference or maybe I too caveman to notice.

As I mention caveman, if I spot any grease, or mechanic smudge around the fender I just dab a lil quix and take it out. Sacrilege I know, but

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 31st, 2021, 3:57 am

I think the older ice paste polish used to recommend using the ice spray detailer to help with removal...I have been doing it ever since.

carluva wrote:It probably wasn't but for all that I read, an extra coat of protection wouldn't hurt. Honestly, the carnuba wax added a much different gloss compared to the ICE paste wax alone. Alot more gloss.

The ICE paste wax is really great. It's a bit hard to remove, especially if it stays too long before buffing off.

I used Mother's before and then tried Meguiars. I am just waiting for the Meguiars to finish and then I'll try something else. I am eyeing the Autoglym as the next product to try. I used some of their products (spray wax, trim gel, tar remover) and found them to be really great, better than the Mother's and Meguiars counterparts. Hopefully the same will apply to the polishes.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » May 31st, 2021, 12:17 pm

Anyone knows where has car pro perl in stock? Called garage fresh as they were the only place advertising but they said they may restock in July.

carluva

Postby carluva » May 31st, 2021, 1:29 pm

Zaid Mustapha in San Juan is the local agent for Carpro products.

Carplus in San Fernando also sells Carpro. You should call to find out if they have.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » May 31st, 2021, 11:23 pm

kerwinishere wrote:Anyone knows where has car pro perl in stock? Called garage fresh as they were the only place advertising but they said they may restock in July.

I got mine by Zaid mustapha. Love the stuff

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » June 1st, 2021, 11:13 am

Looking good Carluva .

Did you machine polish or hand polish?

carluva

Postby carluva » June 1st, 2021, 4:32 pm

Thanks for the compliment.

Machine polished using a porter and cable polisher. Hand applied the ICE paste wax. Machine applied the carnuba wax.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 2nd, 2021, 5:38 pm

Fellaz

What good to use to do a propppppper wheel and tire clean.

I wanna clean the wheels off the vehicle so i cam get all at the back/inside

carluva

Postby carluva » June 2nd, 2021, 5:50 pm

https://youtu.be/K6XvOFh_eLo

https://youtu.be/WkYUYpbX4kU

https://youtu.be/9NvipqeNzaw

That should give an indication of what's involved and the typical products used.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 2nd, 2021, 7:20 pm

Will view them later on

Thanks