wtk: traffic flow law's by la romaine traffic lights

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2011, 1:17 pm

From the cross crossing interchange there are 2 lanes & both of these continue straight till the traffic light.
At the traffic light the traffic on the left is that which turns off into la romaine (left turn by the lights) & the traffic on the right is that which continues straight across.
On evenings there is a lot of traffic & I was on the left lane since a bit before by Prive there. I did not get a chance to change lanes at all. I cruised down on the left lane looking for a spot to merge in & got one nearly by la romain traffic lights.
I pull into the spot half way & the car that was there drove up a bit in an agressive manner to try & squeeze me out. A tuner was with him & was telling me that I was breaking the law.

My question's are: Is there a specific merging distance from the traffic light?
Is left for la romaine & right for straight across, if so what was I supposed to do in my case where there is absolutly no space on the right lane from as far back as the entrance to club sting there.
I see some people drive straight up to the white line before the traffic light (left lane) & when it turns green they drive across. Is that legal?
The white almera in front me did that yesterday & that driver reached long before me because she drove straight up to the white line & was not looking for a spot to merge in the right lane.

I just want to know if I right or wrong & if I am wrong what is right in the circumstance mentioned?

Re: wtk: traffic flow law's by la romaine traffic lights

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 22nd, 2011, 1:21 pm

you merge after the lights......

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2011, 1:26 pm

after la romaine lights?
wouldnt that hinder the traffic flow into la romaine?
is it legal cuz in the past I have seen man get ticket for that.

Postby goalpost » July 22nd, 2011, 1:38 pm

Good question.

My opinion is that you supposed to merge since by Gulf City lights, because I've seen cars that merge later on closer to the lights by Coca Cola get ticketed. This is actually stupid, but the markings on the road indicate that the left lane is for going into la romaine and the right lane to go straight.

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2011, 1:41 pm

but if everyone up on each other from as far back as the entrance to by sting what to do? park up?
I barely cleared the intersection by gulf lights before the lights changed & from there was bumper to bumper traffic.

Postby rollingstock » July 22nd, 2011, 1:45 pm

Nerve there used to be road markings there, the left lane is to turn left by bamboo junction only, the merge was in the vicinity of space indicated by broken white lane markings, after that area there was solid double lines meaning no merging or changing lanes. Over time the area was repaved, road markings are now not visible.

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2011, 1:52 pm

anyone have any idea of how far down you allowed to merge since it now seems to not have lines?

& my question still stands, what is one to do in a case like what I was in yesterday? drive up as far as you allowed to merge & then park up till you get a chance to merge?

Postby rollingstock » July 22nd, 2011, 1:59 pm

If your driving skill is so limited that you can't simply change lanes, turn left, then turn right at the next traffic lights continue on that road and cut out by St. Benedict :|

Or you can continue taking the bus :roll:

keeshan

Postby keeshan » July 22nd, 2011, 2:02 pm

rollingstock wrote:If your driving skill is so limited that you can't simply change lanes, turn left, then turn right at the next traffic lights continue on that road and cut out by St. Benedict :|

ouch

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2011, 2:04 pm

so if there is no space to change lanes then its the persons fault? they must make un necessary drives?

The bus does drive straight down the left lane. :drinking:

Postby K74T » July 22nd, 2011, 2:12 pm

:? :?

Postby rollingstock » July 22nd, 2011, 2:19 pm

nervewrecker wrote:so if there is no space to change lanes then its the persons fault? they must make un necessary drives?

Well there's your answer, The bus can cross it :? :lol:

But honestly if your intention is to go straight the onus is on you to plan your drive and get in the proper lane before being forced to make an illegal or stupid drive. The fact is that a lot of drivers knowingly sees the left lane empty and decides to use it to get in front as the centre lane always has a long line of traffic.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 22nd, 2011, 2:25 pm

if you know that you need to be on the right lane then you need to get in the lane from cross crossing self....if that fails, in that you coming from the ss erin or if from golconda side, put on right indicator and keep close to the right lane angling vehicle accordingly.... someone bound to "ease you up"....

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 22nd, 2011, 2:26 pm

there are no signs saying left turn only!

while it isn't illegal to go down the left lane, common sense would tell you get in lane before you reach the lights.....

there is a merge lane after the lights for those coming from bamboo junction side

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2011, 2:27 pm

nervewrecker wrote:so if there is no space to change lanes then its the persons fault? they must make un necessary drives?

Well there's your answer, The bus can cross it :? :lol:

rollingstock wrote:But honestly if your intention is to go straight the onus is on you to plan your drive and get in the proper lane before being forced to make an illegal or stupid drive. The fact is that a lot of drivers knowingly sees the left lane empty and decides to use it to get in front as the centre lane always has a long line of traffic.

That is the cause self! I still look to merge, tantee drive straight up yesterday.
First time I get in a situation like this, I usually merge from in the vicinity of maska / club space there.

So it seems I owe the guy an apology then? I was doing the wrong thing.
but he get on like a real gyul dey jed, I does only expect that kinda drive from female drivers.

Postby ronsin1 » July 22nd, 2011, 2:28 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:you merge after the lights......

The Left lane turns Left only not Straight you will get a ticket the merge lane after the lights is for persons coming from the La Romaine

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 22nd, 2011, 2:32 pm

^^^correct

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2011, 2:34 pm

Vega, Aaron, that the thing eh, I usually stay on whichever lane moving & merge after gulf city lights. I always get a space somwhere before club space region.
I not really willing to take that risk of getting that ticket, something like this happened before & I really did swing into la romaine & drive till I come out by paria suites.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » July 22nd, 2011, 2:36 pm

rollingstock wrote:If your driving skill is so limited that you can't simply change lanes, turn left, then turn right at the next traffic lights continue on that road and cut out by St. Benedict :|

Exactly....

Postby ronsin1 » July 22nd, 2011, 2:42 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Vega, Aaron, that the thing eh, I usually stay on whichever lane moving & merge after gulf city lights. I always get a space somwhere before club space region.
I not really willing to take that risk of getting that ticket, something like this happened before & I really did swing into la romaine & drive till I come out by paria suites.

you know how close the solid white line in the Road near the traffic light is you cannot change lanes there you can do it anywhere before the solid white line starts.

Also if there is traffic on the right and you cut it is is considered that you breach the law by overtaking (In this case Undertaking) a line of traffic and cutting back in.

Postby rollingstock » July 22nd, 2011, 2:45 pm

ronsin1 wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Vega, Aaron, that the thing eh, I usually stay on whichever lane moving & merge after gulf city lights. I always get a space somwhere before club space region.

you know how close the solid white line in the Road near the traffic light is you cannot change lanes there you can do it anywhere before the solid white line starts.

Also if there is traffic on the right and you cut it is is considered that you breach the law by overtaking (In this case Undertaking) a line of traffic and cutting back in.

The offence would be improper overtaking (on the left) and you can also be charged for dangerous driving if other vehicles are forced to come to a sudden stop or veer away from you.

Postby 16 cycles » July 22nd, 2011, 2:47 pm

side note: $5000 fine if inspection sticker is out of date...

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2011, 2:51 pm

wow, all that. :shock:

normally the traffic isnt moving on the right lane so I never made anyone have to come to a sudden stop though.
I'll pay a bit more attention to the lines if they ever are rapainted.

thanks gaiz.

playerscrew, whats the joke in taking the bus sir? I take the bus all the time. :? :roll:
Its cheaper, convenient (if is straight to work & back home), comfortable, less hassle, I get to take a lil walk to city gate on evenings which is healthy & is one less car on the road.

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2011, 2:52 pm

16 cycles, my sticker always in order.

Postby ronsin1 » July 22nd, 2011, 2:54 pm

nervewrecker wrote:wow, all that.

you do know all this is covered in the Road traffic act right also it has some of this in the Regulations you had to pass before you get your driving test and permit :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby rollingstock » July 22nd, 2011, 2:58 pm

nervewrecker wrote:wow, all that. :shock:

normally the traffic isnt moving on the right lane so I never made anyone have to come to a sudden stop though.

thanks gaiz.

playerscrew, whats the joke in taking the bus sir? I take the bus all the time. :? :roll:
Its cheaper, convenient (if is straight to work & back home), comfortable, less hassle, I get to take a lil walk to city gate on evenings which is healthy & is one less car on the road.

Doh study he, when de highway flood who will cross it???????? THE BUS!!!

Postby ronsin1 » July 22nd, 2011, 3:01 pm

nervewrecker wrote:wow, all that. :shock:

thanks gaiz.

Doh study he, when de highway flood who will cross it???????? THE BUS!!!

yea but the BUS canna cross the median it splits is half :shock:

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2011, 3:02 pm

ahahahahahahahahahhaa!!

ronsin1 wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:wow, all that.

you do know all this is covered in the Road traffic act right also it has some of this in the Regulations you had to pass before you get your driving test and permit :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

I'm guilty of cramming for that exam. :oops:

Postby K74T » July 22nd, 2011, 3:06 pm

ronsin1 wrote:yea but the BUS canna cross the median it splits is half :shock:

shady23

Postby shady23 » July 22nd, 2011, 3:50 pm

They need to do something about those two lights yes. Traffic is ridiculous no matter what time of the day, mornings and evenings even worse :?