Sheldon Bissessar wins big at Indy!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2011, 7:19 pm

This is a blog post. To read the original post, please click here »

Article submitted by PTRT

After a strong semi-final finish at the Pro Top Outlaw Dragster Race at the Dorchester Dragway South Carolina on July 3rd, Sheldon and his entire Methanex/Total Lubricants sponsored race team headed to the NHRA Lucas Oil Raceway Indianapolis Indiana for the July 8th NAPA Friday Nite Rage presented by VP Fuels. This raceway is home to the largest and most prestigious drag race in the world- The NHRA US Nationals.

Sheldon has always wanted to race at this facility since the beginning of his racing career. On arrival, he was overwhelmed by the magnitude of such a top class and professionally run operation. It was clear that all the track officials were well trained to the highest level possible and the equipment, safety and track preparation was the best the team has ever seen.

Sheldon was allowed to make two test passes in the Methanex Dragster prior to the two qualifying rounds. The passes generated adequate tuning data in preparation for qualifying. Track and weather conditions are different for every track so new tuning data is required at every race. The evaluation of this data for tuning decisions is a critical factor for winning races. Sheldon’s crew chief Aaron Sipple of Ironman Chassis, is considered to be one of the best when it comes to data evaluation and tuning.

After two qualifying sessions, Sheldon grabbed the no.2 qualifying spot. In the semi final round, Sheldon was up against veteran racer Mark Mcelwee. This was a close race but Sheldon got the edge reaching the finish line first to take the win with a time of 4.00 seconds at 190MPH against Mcelwee’s losing time of 4.05.

The big shootout of the event was the finals where Sheldon was up against the well known no.1 qualifier Eddie Carecia. The big win for Sheldon at Indy came when Carecia in his attempt to react faster than Sheldon caused him to leave before the starting lights was activated giving the Ultimate Dragster win to Sheldon and the Methanex /Total Lubricants team. Sheldon also reset the Ultimate Dragster speed record with a trap speed of 190MPH.

Winning a big race at their first time at Indy will always be remembered as a career highlight for Sheldon his team and Trinidad Tobago.

The Trinidad Rocket Sheldon Bissessar and the Party Time Racing Team would like to thank their sponsors Methanex, Total Lubricants, VP Racing fuels, The Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs and PSTL.

W2J

Re: Sheldon Bissessar wins big at Indy!

Postby W2J » July 11th, 2011, 7:57 pm

Congrats Sheldon and crew, just saw it on CNC3 you keep making T&T proud!!

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 11th, 2011, 8:06 pm

*clicks Like*

Postby wagon r » July 11th, 2011, 9:08 pm

big big win for Sheldon and TnT by extension..... Congrats to PTRT...!

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » July 11th, 2011, 10:13 pm

4 secs.....i can't imagine the G - Forces, that would be a difficult drive. Congrats Sheldon and team. Well done!

southside crew

Postby southside crew » July 11th, 2011, 10:19 pm

CONGRATS!!!!!!

If we can only be lucky to have event like these in our life time here in Trinidad it would be great...

calleocho

Postby calleocho » July 11th, 2011, 10:47 pm

very nice man. keep up the good work...

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 11th, 2011, 10:51 pm

Congrats on achieving another milestone as you set the bar to really new heights in achieving your dream.

Has not been easy but thank God you can fly our flag proudly, and in doing so, now begin to attract real sponsorship that can support your expenses in that new stratosphere you are straddling.

Hope that the deserved recognition you have earned will no longer be a battle as you move forward.

nigie

Postby nigie » July 12th, 2011, 6:29 am

Congratulations to continuously making us proud..thank god for these blessings...it inspires us all

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 12th, 2011, 6:55 am

great job sheldon and team PTRT

Postby turbosingh » July 12th, 2011, 7:49 am

Now daiz FIAZZZZ

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » July 12th, 2011, 8:00 am

Amazing achievement!

Postby cinco » July 12th, 2011, 8:07 am

Boom!!! congrats!!!

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 12th, 2011, 9:41 am

Congrats!

Keep flying the Flag!

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » July 12th, 2011, 10:03 am

Congrats Sheldon and PTRT on this milestone achievement !!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 12th, 2011, 2:00 pm

Sheldon just emailed me these photos showing the tyre deformation. The rear tyres deform quite a bit at the moment the car is launched.

Postby cinco » July 12th, 2011, 2:03 pm

seeing that deformation from behind the car is awesome
it is like watching a 325 tyre go to a 195 tyre faster than you can blink

Postby SMc » July 12th, 2011, 2:22 pm

Excellent...I always feel a sense of pride everytime I read an artical related to Sheldon.

Doing what he really wants to do without a handout, putting the coutnry in a positive light and kicking as$ wherever he goes.

BTW..when the vids being posted?

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » July 12th, 2011, 3:09 pm

Sheldon, excellent job bro...keep the red white and black flying high.......Doing us proud as usual.

thought it was interesting to read that the performance was done at the track that plays host to the NHRA US Nationals......2 bits of irony here. First is that i am convinced that the powers that be will probably find a way to say that the win never happened even though it was done on a track that is certified by the NHRA and home to their biggest event. Secondly is that the track is obviously used by various groups in US drag racing (not necessarily belonging to or affiliated to the FIA ASN for the US). Guess time will tell how the powers that be handle the new local deal.

Postby SMc » July 12th, 2011, 4:22 pm

or gord man Robbie put a comma or two, me eyes hurting from that read

JED-I

Postby JED-I » July 12th, 2011, 4:23 pm

Hats off to the Trinidadian Rocket!!!!! (Again) Bodow.....

toyotajumbie
Location: GOD without man is still GOD but man without GOD is nothing

Postby toyotajumbie » July 12th, 2011, 4:42 pm

Congrats to Sheldon and his team, this guy is a living legend and undeniable proof dat "yuh cyah stop ah Trini" .

Postby brams112 » July 12th, 2011, 6:40 pm

congrats sheldon,keep flying your country's flag high,

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » July 13th, 2011, 10:24 am

SMc wrote:or gord man Robbie put a comma or two, me eyes hurting from that read

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
haha sorry

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 13th, 2011, 3:14 pm

That's very fast for a 10.5" tire in the 1/8 mile.... By limiting the class to a 10.5" tire, it makes the playing field somewhat level if you have door slammers competing with the dragsters. Obviously with his usual 16" tire, this car will go well into the 3's... Maybe 3.80's or even quicker

Congrats to Sheldon and the entire PTRT

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 13th, 2011, 4:02 pm

Well done Sir Sheldon .... no stopping the Trinidad Rocket

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 14th, 2011, 11:45 pm

FKN AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Very Best wishes to you and the ENTIRE Team!!!!

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » July 17th, 2011, 9:08 am

A win is a win but a win at Indy must be quite memorable!
Way to go Sheldon...
Congrats to you and the team!!!!

big daddy 1

Postby big daddy 1 » July 19th, 2011, 9:11 am

Congrats Sheldon and PTRT I feel good knowing where you and I come from, way to go guys.