Arima Gran Prix - officially cancelled

AutoSport

Arima Grand Prix - OFFICIALLY CANCELLED

Postby AutoSport » April 23rd, 2011, 7:13 pm

Cancellation of the Arima Grand Prix carded for 24th April 2011.

On behalf of the organizers of the Arima Grand Prix, I wish to confirm that this Event has been cancelled. We regret that this is being indicated at this eleventh hour, but this is how the Authorities in this country deal with these major issues, and we then ask ourselves why we are so backward in comparison to countries like Barbados, and those even smaller than us.

Fact: We did apply for permission by letter dated 21st March 2011. This was personally taken into Police Headquarters by me. As has happened in the past, I asked whether I could wait to take the forwarding document to the Tunapuna Police Station, where it would have been sent for further investigation. This was denied. I checked several time about the status of this request and was advised that it would be sent to Arima for investigation. Several checks later, same response.

On Monday 18th April at approx 10:45 PM, I received a call from Malabar police post, inquiring about certain letters that they had to have. I advised that they did have this. And read out a copy of said letter. OK. Another call from Malabar police post, 5 minutes later inquiring about whether the DJ had a COTT license – Yes he did, OK. Another call from Malabar police post, 5 minutes later inquiring about safety and security – again advised that this was also in place, OK.

So on Tuesday, Bar license hearing in Arima Court – what about Police permission for the Event. Not yet granted, so Bar License hearing postponed for Thursday. On Tuesday we followed up with the Malabar Police post and were told that this would be sent to Tunapuna on Wednesday morning. Checked here, and were told that a report would be forwarded to Police HQ later.

I waited in Police HQ from 1:00pm till 3:00pm, and eventually received the Police report – permission refused because we were blocking in some residents. I immediately indicated that this was incorrect, and showed this very clearly on a map of the area. I was advised that I had to take this appeal to the OC, Tunapuna. I wrote a letter of appeal clearly stating the facts, and took to Tunapuna on Thursday morning. Spoke to the Chief Clerk, and showed her the facts. She in turned spoke to the OC, Tunapuna, who indicated that she would have a senior officer go to the site to examine and report back to her. This was done at midday on Thursday, met the Supt. Showed him all of our plans and he indicated to me that he would advise that permission be granted, and, if he passes on Sunday and sees anything different to what was agreed upon, he would shut down the Event. I agreed with this position.

We proceeded to continue our arrangements for the Event. Bar License approved on Thursday, paid more than $14,000.00 for recommended strength of required Police for the Event, paid for Bar license. This could not happen unless certain instructions were passed on to the Court.

On Saturday, I went to pay for the rental of Police barriers, and was advised that they had no permission. Several telephone calls later, revealed that what was told to me by the Supt. on Thursday, was different to what was relayed to the OC, Tunapuna, and this is now in the hands of the Commissioner of Police.

We clearly determined that several facts were being distorted. At this point we were advised that we could have whatever was planned for INSIDE the Stadium, but no racing on the road. We did not do all of this planning for a “Car Show”. We decided to cancel the event in the best interest of all involved. The Mayor did come to speak with us at the Stadium, and indicated that he would meet with us shortly to ensure that this Event will take place in the not too distant future at THIS Location.

WE are prepared to immediately refund the entry fee to all competitors who so desire.

We apologize for all who have been inconvenienced and look forward to a bigger and better event shortly.

Re: Arima Gran Prix - officially cancelled

Postby A172 » April 23rd, 2011, 7:31 pm

hard luck bigman

Postby K74T » April 23rd, 2011, 7:37 pm

yuh forget d TTASA part dan

Postby Team Loco » April 23rd, 2011, 7:40 pm

your story sounds like a horror story out of licence office.
looking forward to the next event. i am sure the mayor is disappointed.

southside crew

Postby southside crew » April 23rd, 2011, 8:02 pm

What about OUR LOVING $ports MINISTER? ( Mr. Promise) ... He couldn't help.. ?? Or he forget bout he *after party*???

Postby M_2NR » April 23rd, 2011, 8:04 pm

R, that story is so depressing. It is good you told it though so that we may know the trouble that you and others go through to get something done that will benefit all of us. Hopefully God willing we have another event.

Postby brams112 » April 23rd, 2011, 8:42 pm

maybe you applied to late,it takes months to plan some events,,

professor

Postby professor » April 23rd, 2011, 8:46 pm

AutoSport, you probably need to put your story in the main thread, or post a link, seems like a lot of people are believing the 'Conspiracy Theory' , and they don't know the facts as you have stated them.

Postby sliderz1 » April 23rd, 2011, 9:05 pm

AutoSport wrote:I waited in Police HQ from 1:00pm till 3:00pm, and eventually received the Police report – permission refused because we were blocking in some residents.

thaz BS....authorities screwing us as usual, cuz i kno the area quite well........there are sufficent alternative routes to use

Postby pugboy » April 23rd, 2011, 9:14 pm

find out how the cycling people are able to conduct racing around the savannah
there is a big race this thursday night, 14 laps

probably same bureaucracy except there is no alcohol bar and no people trying to stop it

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » April 23rd, 2011, 10:01 pm

sorry to hear about the stress but i still say this couldve been avoided if planning had taken place wayyyy more in advance.

oh well, better luck next time.

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 23rd, 2011, 10:39 pm

M_2NR wrote:R, that story is so depressing. It is good you told it though so that we may know the trouble that you and others go through to get something done that will benefit all of us. Hopefully God willing we have another event.

x2 answers a lot of questions.

I wish you guys the best and even doh its not much, my support is behind you 110% Autosport, anything I could help with Pm me.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » April 23rd, 2011, 10:49 pm

Death-Row wrote:sorry to hear about the stress but i still say this couldve been avoided if planning had taken place wayyyy more in advance.

oh well, better luck next time.

You obviously do not know how our police "work". Months in advance or one week, they still wait until the last minute, set their "strength". and you pay it or go home.

See what time they called to ask questions related to the granting of the licence? See the amount of money one had to pay for Police presence?

Let's change the focus a bit. Barbados Rally Carnival.

Now almost matching T&T Carnival as far as foreign exchange earnings to Barbados.

How much are the authorities and Government involved? Totally!
They have over thirty overseas competitors that bring in their Rally cars for this Event.
One is even being flown into Barbados from....... Australia!
They get the total support from he Government.
Why? Because they are serious about building a Motor Sport Industry.

When told that similar events have ben held in San Fernando an Chaguanas, look at the response...one individual who will sit back and say .. " I do not want anyone racing on my roads!"

Yes it is the lady's roads, and tough luck for anyone who wants to develop motor sport.

In this country we all need some miracles to change the backward thinking that surrounds some in authority. only then will we see real development taking place.

Mr Gear

Fire the Sport Minister

Postby Mr Gear » April 23rd, 2011, 11:41 pm

It is about time to fire that waste of time Sport Minister.

He promised drag racing will return to Wallerfield within six weeks of taking up office - FAILED

either that or he is a liar.

Either way his promise was not delivered but he was given another chance.

He has surrounded himself with the TTASA ole guard and now they went behind his back and sabotaged an event that he personally wanted in his constituency.

For being an idiot to trust these back stabbers and for even now continuing to believe that they had nothing to do with it while they are working overtime to continue twisting their knife in his back -- I say incompetent. Fire his arse !!

Imagine he wants to lead the COP and he doesn't even have the foresight to seewhat is right before his very eyes with TTASA. Something that even the casual observe can see clear as day. Fire his arse.

Don't support nuttin TTASA and it won't come back around to haunt you. If they are involved in any event boycott because as long as you continue to give them funding with your presence (whether you pay or not to attend) they will remain alive to sabotage any event that they are not in charge of.

Re: Fire the Sport Minister

Postby K74T » April 23rd, 2011, 11:45 pm

Manning cause that

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 23rd, 2011, 11:49 pm

I am a little confused here.

After the San Fernando Grand Prix in 2010, The Honorable Minister of Sport mandated that ~4 more Grand Prix events should take place around T&T, the very next of which should be in HIS constituency of D'abadie/O'meara. He even appointed the chairman of the Arima event on his special MotorSport Committee. This Arima Grand Prix was HIS idea and the Mayor of Arima was in full support of this event. The Mayor looking forward to bringing the energy that the Borough of Chaguanas recently enjoyed for Rally Trinidad 2011 to his Borough of Arima.

The Minister of Sport, The Member of Parliament for the area AND the Mayor of the Borough could not get the necessary approvals to prevent this event from being cancelled THE DAY BEFORE the event?

REALLY? no, REALLY?

Postby wagonrunner » April 23rd, 2011, 11:54 pm

Mr Gear wrote:Don't support nuttin TTASA and it won't come back around to haunt you. If they are involved in any event boycott because as long as you continue to give them funding with your presence (whether you pay or not to attend) they will remain alive to sabotage any event that they are not in charge of.

but dan. there are so many who "i not involving mehself in the politics, i just want to race" (doh sell alyuh selves out, there are about 5 of allyuh............
but if you lend support to these idiots, this is the kind of sheit you leave as your legacy.

"I" get to race, VS all of we could race, a lot more often than now.

sad to say, ive seen the choice in the past.

Postby K74T » April 23rd, 2011, 11:57 pm

Is Rowley fault

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » April 24th, 2011, 12:00 am

All allyuh kant who wanna post sheit in this thread about Rowley and Pnmite- haul allyuh ares- Its your illiterate small minded arse that has motorsport and the entire country the way it is. Blind jackarse party loyalist. Hush allyuh kant fuh once nah.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 24th, 2011, 12:04 am

I real wash up an ting boy... was getting ready to strip out the car for racing and I get a call saying this event get called off :(

Now the above story sounds like typical trininess... if you ever had get the approvals you need to build a house, or even get a passport you know that these "hard-working" public servants love to send you all over the blasted place like a damn jackass... but I digress

Let me ask you "AutoSport" did TTASA have ANYTHING to do with blocking this event (writing letters etc)?

Just to set the record straight

And Duane has some very valid questions as well

Postby K74T » April 24th, 2011, 12:05 am

Yes TTASA did

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » April 24th, 2011, 12:07 am

sooo despite increasing grants to cricketers, payin d footballers them, auditin TTFF, fixin all dem community ground, and tryin to finish dat metal piece a shiznit on d highway, you want him to go cuz YOU didt get what you didnt get what you want? LMAO Doh blame Anil, blame d men in TTASA for eh sayin nuttin, and and blame racing for not bein popular enough for a lot of ppl to care

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » April 24th, 2011, 12:25 am

Scoobert your myopic view is so typical of a small islander- whey yuh from, probably Trinidad right.

Any Minister could have done what Anil has done so far. He has not done anything special. Nothing to differentiate himself from the crowd of many others who could have occupied that office.

Putting Racing on a solid foundation in this country and doing something like tying it into sports tourism in light of all that has gone wrong with motor racing before and overcoming the hurdles and obstacles and succeeding where others have failed would have indeed set him apart from all the others.

I have not seen anything impressive so far and well, the honeymoon is over. Time for some new life.

His job is an executive position. If he was in an executive position in any decent corporation in the first world he would have received his axe in the mail by now. Hommie is running the affairs of a country's Ministry of Sport. Ah feel he better call Fedex to find out if they have a package for him.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » April 24th, 2011, 12:25 am

what about the progress at chickland? if the TTASA has anything to do with it i'm not expecting progress to be quick

Rickstar#1

Postby Rickstar#1 » April 24th, 2011, 12:28 am

I second this Trend ..........Good for nothing piece of sheit , sitting his ass in d office all day doing nun at all but only making promises

Rickstar#1

Postby Rickstar#1 » April 24th, 2011, 12:29 am

zcarz wrote:what about the progress at chickland? if the TTASA has anything to do with it i'm not expecting progress to be quick

I can saftly say that TTASA has nun to do with us in chickland , however EMA issues holding back but it's getting sorted out and progress will continue
Last edited by Rickstar#1 on April 24th, 2011, 12:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby DFC » April 24th, 2011, 12:31 am

gorm..anil really sticking.

i agree Mr. Gear, anil is wasting our time and must go.

Postby S_2NR » April 24th, 2011, 1:01 am

not surprised at all ..is anil roberts we talkin about here..
d man who love to talk first..think after.. :|

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » April 24th, 2011, 1:05 am

this is why i support street racing....I knw its wrong but it might just knock some sense into this stupid government we have....

I guess going about it the legal way doesnt cut it in this low standard country.....

I say call out all racers and have a huge protest/ car rally... get the minister attention...

we have to do something...This is sheit.....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 24th, 2011, 1:20 am

^ pointless, there are alot of legal motorsport events that take place with the Ministry's support.

protesting will not correct anything and doing something illegal will not do anything either.
A little bit again you will say "bess we tief, cause making an honest living doh make sense"