TriniTuner v3.0

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2009, 12:14 pm

TriniTuner.com will be 10yrs old on March 5th 2010 having started on March 5th 2000.

We have a number of things planned for our '10 in 2010 Anniversary', one of them being TriniTuner version 3.0.

We are eternally thankful to our users for helping us to build T&T's largest and most active online community. This year (2009) Google Analytics reports that we have averaged over 5millions page views each month and over 100,000 unique individual users each month. Alexa.com reposrt that we are the most visited local site in T&T ending 2009.

In light of this and wanting to keep our users totally involved in our development we would like to make this a user suggestion thread for features for version 3.

Let us know what features you would like added or removed. What would you like to see more of or less of.

the new site will make it easy to manage content, as we can assign users and mods to be writers, contributors, editors etc and they will be able to add an article to the homepage as easy as making a post.

1. design and layout
2. universal login (users will now login from the homepage)
3. RSS feeds from phpbb content
4. Single full feature Google based Search for entire site
5. Google universal SEARCH for the entire site
6. upgraded calendar where contributors can add events
7. New classifieds that will mirror the existing forum classifieds
8. Separate the cars from auto parts
9. break up misc bargain center into misc and another for electronics
10. DIY and technical sections to be made up of useful tech forum topics – made to look like homepage articles as well as coinciding with existing forum posts.

with this format anyone can create an article, showcase, or coverage for an event or write a "how to" article - with permission of course and submissions will be posted as a draft pending approval by the admin or mods.

will will also be adding
1. Tuner directory – user populated parts places and shops with referrals and personalized contacts (e.g. Fred Tyre Shop - ask for Fred, tell him Andy sent you)
2. Users as contributors and editors
3. News syndication – ability to tag a news worthy and breaking news posts and submit it to a RSS feed that shows in a meebo-like bar at the bottom of every page.
4. Users can publish their facebook etc albums, event photos as part of a single event on a single homepage article
5.An upload tool similar to facebook’s that allows photographers to upload event photos to an event album.

user's tuner name can be linked to their facebook, twitter or linked-in profile seamlessly - if they wish

Photographers and contributors will get their own profile page.
Their blog address will be trinituner.com/username

each article, photo, blog will have comments, rankings, like/dislike etc.

as you can see, its all about the online community - still automotive, but giving the mods and users the ability to contribute more

In the classifieds we will be auto pruning all WTB and FS posts older than 3 months. We will be checking 3 months from the date of the last reply.

news syndication will put a ticker at the base of the page that will not scroll - it will have weather updates, breaking news, stolen car alerts, traffic alerts etc and will link to the post about it

Any other ideas???
Last edited by Duane 3NE 2NR on January 14th, 2010, 12:02 am, edited 4 times in total.

Postby SUPAstarr » December 4th, 2009, 12:18 pm

NICEEEEEEEEE!!! Completed Showcase?? jus askin

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » December 4th, 2009, 12:23 pm

a continuously updated showcase. There are a lot of project cars on the road and in garages.
An updated calendar of events of rally, cars, cart and who ever else is having an event.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2009, 12:25 pm

^ well with the new system anyone can contribute to the showcase.

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » December 4th, 2009, 12:33 pm

make TRDcorolla a mod just for ah day....ill clean up the toyota forum good :lol: :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2009, 12:36 pm

TRDcorolla wrote:make TRDcorolla a mod just for ah day....ill clean up the toyota forum good :lol: :lol:

forum specific mods are definitely something we want to implement.
We will be selecting those mods based on who has been reporting the most posts as this would give us a clear idea of the truly helpful users.

reporting spam your own threads will not count for mod status :|
Last edited by Duane 3NE 2NR on December 17th, 2009, 8:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Team Loco » December 4th, 2009, 12:36 pm

possibly look at converting or make a new section for an ebay type online bidding/buy it now section. many car folks have stuff lying around they would like to sell. many tuners are ebay fanatics. V3 can take advantage of this. it can be an os commerce site

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 4th, 2009, 12:39 pm

finally!!!

Postby SUPAstarr » December 4th, 2009, 12:43 pm

TRDcorolla wrote:make TRDcorolla a mod just for ah day....ill clean up the toyota forum good :lol: :lol:

We will be selecting those mods based on who has been reporting the most posts as this would give us a clear idea of the truly helpful users.

Zim gonna be a mod then...

Postby eliteauto » December 4th, 2009, 12:43 pm

news syndication will put a ticker at the base of the page that will not scroll - it will have weather updates, breaking news, stolen car alerts, traffic alerts etc and will link to the post about it

Good stuff there, when I first joined tuner on my old account it was because I felt the forums were more in-sync with the pulse of the country, it was almost like an ear to the ground, I hope that returns

Will there be a feedback section for sales conducted on tuner?

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » December 4th, 2009, 12:44 pm

We should be able ti ignore posts from tuners of our choice.
And like a scorecard on cricinfo.com.. each forum should update every few seconds.

kthxbai :mrgreen:

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » December 4th, 2009, 12:46 pm

You gonna reward the Informers with Mod-ship??!!

Informer fi dead!!

j/k eh Duane..
Don't ban meh please!! :oops:

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » December 4th, 2009, 12:46 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:

Zim gonna be a mod then...

wat yuh go say abt rexximan .....(sry about the spelling yo)

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » December 4th, 2009, 12:56 pm

its about time dis site revamp :-)
Last edited by mediahouse on December 4th, 2009, 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » December 4th, 2009, 1:13 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ well with the new system anyone can contribute to the showcase.

With these posts they'd need to be vetted before being seen on the site though

Postby eliteauto » December 4th, 2009, 1:19 pm

whilst I agree with the need for forum specific mods, I think the criteria should be expanded to include those who make actual worthwhile contributions to those forums, there are several users who post emoticons, pictures and spam tech/ car park/brand specific forums simply to attain tech posts and serve no real benefit in said forums.

Also I'd suggest melding threads that overlap each other and are repetitive so that you have one thread to disseminate that info, this should clean up a lot of clutter, make searches easier and quicker and create comprehensive threads. This may be easiest done in the brand specific forums e.g.
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=203594
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=210903
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=209730
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=145095
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=217572
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... hp?t=94070
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=221633
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=244861
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=254016
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... hp?t=27083

which could all have their sensible contributions added to one thread:

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=215872

Postby tr1ad » December 4th, 2009, 1:20 pm

so it ha xmas bonus for "certain" users

Postby cinco » December 4th, 2009, 2:44 pm

good idea
i would suggest making users post a note with their screen name in it along with the part they are selling so you can verify they currently own this part (not for powersellers) similar to this
http://www.9thgencorolla.com/forum//sho ... p?t=106012
and only allow sales of items with pics since EVERYONE has a phone with a cam or a digi cam nowadays also only allow one bump per 24hrs

trvs

Postby trvs » December 4th, 2009, 2:59 pm

Sweet. Finally :) :D

z4ks

Postby z4ks » December 4th, 2009, 3:07 pm

Replace PHPBB with something like http://mybboard.net/ , which is a free clone of the expensive vBulletin. Easier admin, better control and appearance and endless plugins.

It lacks some of phpBB's annoying traits.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 4th, 2009, 3:09 pm

Always wanted the feature to allow for the post to be seen from the initial link, meaning if you were to place the pointer over the topic link it will show the beginning of the body of the post.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » December 4th, 2009, 3:13 pm

This will be very good. more speed and everything is much more easy on 3.0.....

Looking forward on this upgrade.

Postby Maserati » December 4th, 2009, 3:13 pm

*runs off and starts to report posts* :lol: :lol:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 4th, 2009, 3:28 pm

would all the old info be carried over to V3?
i would at least like that all the sensible info on this site not be lost......thats the reason i joined in the first place..........

TriniGT wrote:Always wanted the feature to allow for the post to be seen from the initial link, meaning if you were to place the pointer over the topic link it will show the beginning of the body of the post.

always wanted the little preview as well.....lets you decide if its wort opening.......

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 4th, 2009, 3:47 pm

1. More space in your inbox.
2. The ability to surf from a forum that bypasses "blocks" on the website - etc being blocked by Web-sense programs. YIPEEEEE

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » December 4th, 2009, 6:29 pm

classifieds needs a form to be filled before the info is posted to become a thread as i seen other forums have it.

For example, if you were to post a FS thread, you'd have to full out certain fields like name, contact, item for sale and description of it

Kinda getting fedup of the posts where men put something and u PM and have to wait wait wait bcuz they put no contact

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » December 4th, 2009, 6:30 pm

and yuh no, i could be a mod too, look when ah join nah duane, come nah man :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby honda hoe » December 4th, 2009, 6:46 pm

would we have to rejoin the new site?

or will our accounts be transferred?

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » December 4th, 2009, 7:05 pm

Would like to see a system similar to iTrader implemented so users can leave feedback for transactions done on the site.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=102965

Postby equipped2ripp » December 4th, 2009, 8:19 pm

would we have to re-register new forum names for V3.0?

because you know there are gonna be the wicked ones who would make fake profiles to "steal" users' names from V2... if you get what i'm talking about.