T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

rayrayray

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby rayrayray » June 15th, 2021, 6:21 pm

Corolla Cross anyone ? I'm only curious. Any idea when it's expected to get here ?

ALady4ALady

Postby ALady4ALady » June 15th, 2021, 7:46 pm

rayrayray wrote:Corolla Cross anyone ? I'm only curious. Any idea when it's expected to get here ?

Hi, rayrayray

The last I heard was it was coming to T&T in June/July. No idea but I suspect we shall get the 1.8 G & V variant but no Hybrid (too expensive with the tariffs or something... no idea).

DOUBT we will get the models which are available in the US now: 2.0 AWD with electric brake, improved JBL sound system and light coloured ceiling upholstery.

Feel free to keep us posted, if you hear anything.

rayrayray

Postby rayrayray » June 15th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Staff currently doing training on it. Will update when I can.
ALady4ALady wrote:
rayrayray wrote:Corolla Cross anyone ? I'm only curious. Any idea when it's expected to get here ?

Hi, rayrayray

The last I heard was it was coming to T&T in June/July. No idea but I suspect we shall get the 1.8 G & V variant but no Hybrid (too expensive with the tariffs or something... no idea).

DOUBT we will get the models which are available in the US now: 2.0 AWD with electric brake, improved JBL sound system and light coloured ceiling upholstery.

Feel free to keep us posted, if you hear anything.

Postby Habit7 » June 16th, 2021, 1:09 pm

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 16th, 2021, 9:59 pm

Is it just me or the market generally is getting very saturated with crossover/SUV choices? What would be the reason/s why a shopper enters a showroom and then proceeds to a test drive and then actually buys the car? The power of marketing or here in T&T it's known as bs advertising?

So for the Toyota brand alone we have currently:

Raize 1.0T (grey market)
Yaris Cross 1.5 Hybrid (grey market)
CHR 1.2T, 1.8 Hybrid (grey market)
Corolla Cross 1.8, 2.0 (coming allegedly)
Rush 1.5
RAV4 2.0, 2.5 (2.5 via special order only)
Venza/Harrier 2.0, 2.5 Hybrid (grey market)
Fortuner 2.4TD, 2.8TD
FJ Cruiser 4.0 (no longer available locally)
4Runner 4.0 (not available locally)
Land Cruiser Prado 2.7, 2.8TD (grey market are 2.7 TX and TX-L)
Highlander/Kluger 3.5 (not available locally)
Land Cruiser 3.4TT (left to be seen)

So we have 13 entries from Toyota. 8 are available locally from a combination of the authorized dealer and the grey market dealers.

If the Corolla Cross does arrive, then where does that leave us? The price of the RAV4 has gotten so expensive now that people with professions who normally would have been a RAV4 shopper years ago will have to settle for a Corolla Cross? Is that progression or regression?

Also, I get that cars masquerading as "SUVs" are crossovers but what's up with this 'Cross' trend now? This is getting out of hand...

Subaru XV/Crosstrek
Suzuki SX4 S-Cross
Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross
Datsun Cross
Toyota Yaris Cross
Toyota Corolla Cross

Has there been any other name more exploited than Cross?
Last edited by agent007 on June 17th, 2021, 10:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

zando

Postby zando » June 17th, 2021, 1:53 am

Blame the muricans dem, the bigger countries set the trend and that trend started in the u.s., when that happens we have no choice but to follow because it's all we will get, look at Ford, gm and Soon Nissan, they're getting rid of all passenger cars in favour of cuv's, those r also more expensive to buy which means more money for the auto manufacturers, it's a numbers thing.
agent007 wrote:Is it just me or the market generally is getting very saturated with crossover/SUV choices? What would be the reason/s why a shopper enters a showroom and then proceeds to a test drive and then actually buys the car? The power of marketing or here in T&T it's known as bs advertising?

Raize 1.0T (grey market)
Rush 1.5
Fortuner 2.4TD, 2.8TD

So we have 12 entries from Toyota. 7 are available locally from a combination of the authorized dealer and the grey market dealers.

If the Corolla Cross does arrive, then where does that leave us? The price of the RAV4 has gotten so expensive now that people with professions who normally would have been a RAV4 shopper years ago will have to settle for a Corolla Cross? Is that progression or regression?

Also, I get that cars masquerading as "SUVs" are crossovers but what's up with this 'Cross' trend now? This is getting out of hand...

Subaru XV/Crosstrek
Suzuki SX4 S-Cross
Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross
Datsun Cross
Toyota Yaris Cross
Toyota Corolla Cross

Postby j.o.e » June 17th, 2021, 2:23 am

It’s unfortunate. I absolutely hate SUVs particular soft car based ones. I prefer bigger sedans for my money.

Postby Habit7 » June 17th, 2021, 9:31 am

Toyota knows where their bread getting buttered. They sell more Rush than Corolla, so a less utilitarian and sleeker Rush in the form of a Corolla Cross is what the ppl want.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 17th, 2021, 2:00 pm

Better visibility (this is my main reason for liking slightly taller vehicles)
Easier to enter,exit and load
Better ground clearance (slightly)
Potentially better protection in an accident involving a lower vehicle; also better if all the other vehicles around you are getting taller (more SUV and crossover sales)
More wheel and tyre options to contend with our roads

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » June 17th, 2021, 8:06 pm

Any prices and details on the Corolla Cross? I see TTTL has it on their site now and Facebook.

Postby Gladiator » June 17th, 2021, 9:00 pm

agent007 wrote:Thanks Max,

Based on what's available right now, I would have to say its a toss up between the RAV4, CRV and Forester for a comfy ride. If you want a more firm ride then the CX5 should appeal to you. My personal fav for ride however is the Forester. That thing is silky smooth. When things open back up, test drive all and see which one appeals to you, since everybody spine have varying thresholds.

Thanks bro.

That Forester sure is enticing!

Allyuh fellas have some strange tastes yes... the Forester is hedious i find.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » June 18th, 2021, 3:08 pm

I found out that the Corolla Cross is starting at 305k. Trying to get more info on options.

telfer

Postby telfer » June 18th, 2021, 4:08 pm

agent007 wrote:Is it just me or the market generally is getting very saturated with crossover/SUV choices? What would be the reason/s why a shopper enters a showroom and then proceeds to a test drive and then actually buys the car? The power of marketing or here in T&T it's known as bs advertising?

Raize 1.0T (grey market)
Rush 1.5
Venza/Harrier 2.0, 2.5 Hybrid (grey market)
Fortuner 2.4TD, 2.8TD

So we have 13 entries from Toyota. 8 are available locally from a combination of the authorized dealer and the grey market dealers.

Subaru XV/Crosstrek
Suzuki SX4 S-Cross
Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross
Datsun Cross
Toyota Yaris Cross
Toyota Corolla Cross

Question peoples….if the cost to register a car is based on cc how does an electric car get classified?? Fully electric like Tesla………

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » June 18th, 2021, 5:06 pm

telfer wrote:Question peoples….if the cost to register a car is based on cc how does an electric car get classified?? Fully electric like Tesla………

I think this is up to date..can anyone say otherwise?
Screenshot_20210618-170430.jpg

synTax_ErR0R1

Postby synTax_ErR0R1 » June 19th, 2021, 9:18 am

On the small car end of the spectrum....here's the 2021 note!
4587784_carP_l_1.jpeg
2021-nissan-note.jpeg
2021-Nissan-Note-e-Power-Singapore-CarBuyer.com_.sg-1.jpg

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 19th, 2021, 6:28 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
telfer wrote:Question peoples….if the cost to register a car is based on cc how does an electric car get classified?? Fully electric like Tesla………

Thanks for this
Last edited by viedcht on June 19th, 2021, 6:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 19th, 2021, 6:30 pm

So a base model 3 max output is 165kW... So its $8.00 X 165kW

ALady4ALady

Postby ALady4ALady » June 20th, 2021, 12:12 pm

Good all,

Happy Father's Day, guys!

carluva

Postby carluva » June 20th, 2021, 12:51 pm

Thank you!
ALady4ALady wrote:Good all,

Happy Father's Day, guys!

Schablal

Postby Schablal » June 20th, 2021, 5:11 pm

Joshie23 wrote:

Hey man. I know this has no relation to this topic.Was on a sportage thread and saw you posts. Need some advice.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 21st, 2021, 12:52 pm

IMG_4138.JPG

Just thought that I’d share even though we already discussed it.

2WNBoost

T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby 2WNBoost » June 21st, 2021, 1:57 pm

Model 3
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tesla_Model_3

Battery
54, 62, 75 or 82 kWh (190, 220, 270 or 300 MJ) Lithium ion[3][4]

Model S
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tesla_Model_S

Battery
100 kWh lithium ion
Discontinued: 60, 70, 75, 85 and 90 kWh lithium ion

viedcht wrote:So a base model 3 max output is 165kW... So its $8.00 X 165kW

Pirate

Postby Pirate » June 21st, 2021, 2:08 pm

^^^ Engine Power and Battery capacity are two different things...

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » June 21st, 2021, 3:19 pm

In that case:

Model 3 Standard
Peak Power
211 kW (283 hp)[223]

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 21st, 2021, 8:38 pm

Orhhh
2WNBoost wrote:Model 3

Battery
54, 62, 75 or 82 kWh (190, 220, 270 or 300 MJ) Lithium ion[3][4]

Model S
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tesla_Model_S

Battery
100 kWh lithium ion
Discontinued: 60, 70, 75, 85 and 90 kWh lithium ion

viedcht wrote:So a base model 3 max output is 165kW... So its $8.00 X 165kW

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 21st, 2021, 8:56 pm

I was browsing a while back so I use this info
Screenshot_20210621_205406.jpeg

Postby Habit7 » June 25th, 2021, 11:57 am

Toyota is advertising the Corolla Cross as a hybrid. With a 1.8L hybrid I wonder if there will be a price overlap with the Rav4.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 25th, 2021, 1:22 pm

Habit, it’s $305k to $364k, subject to verification.

CB Style

Postby CB Style » June 26th, 2021, 1:12 pm

j.o.e wrote:It’s unfortunate. I absolutely hate SUVs particular soft car based ones. I prefer bigger sedans for my money.

When the Camry got the facelift in 2015, I enquired at TTTL if they were getting that model. The sale person told me it will only be on special order. He couldn't give me an exact quote but it was around base price $450k and up depending on the package.
I didn't even bother going further because I don't want a vehicle that is special ordered and not mainline.
Since then I only saw one here but not sure if its local or RORO.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 27th, 2021, 12:18 pm

CB Style wrote:
j.o.e wrote:It’s unfortunate. I absolutely hate SUVs particular soft car based ones. I prefer bigger sedans for my money.

When the Camry got the facelift in 2015, I enquired at TTTL if they were getting that model. The sale person told me it will only be on special order. He couldn't give me an exact quote but it was around base price $450k and up depending on the package.
I didn't even bother going further because I don't want a vehicle that is special ordered and not mainline.
Since then I only saw one here but not sure if its local or RORO.
Same situation. My dad loved the Camry after we rented one in Miami... Such a solid vehicle, it's sad we don't price them reasonably when they even reach here