The Official Car Care Thread

Karim Khan

Re: The Official Car Care Thread w/expert consultation

Postby Karim Khan » August 6th, 2012, 7:24 am

^^^They carry a wide range of products, cant remember all the brands they carry, but check the phone book and give them a call if you like.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 6th, 2012, 3:35 pm

Karim Khan wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:
pioneer wrote:Talk to Karim - I believe he works (marketing) at Lubetech? Not sure tho.

I don't work Lubetech. I work for myself.

Like man starting his own company or wha?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 6th, 2012, 3:39 pm

trvs wrote:
Karim Khan wrote:If you want to get Detailing Products

Check

1. Wheel Wizard
2. Glenns Super Shop
3. Car Plus

Great customer services and a wide range of products.

What range of brands tho? Other than AG :D

Some Meguiar's stuff, Mother's and Turtle wax in Car plus. I do buy stuff there. Quite pleasant people.
If you're in South, Barely Legal in La Romain has basically all the Sonus stuff too if you want to try it.
I rather like the Sonus clay.

trvs

Postby trvs » August 6th, 2012, 8:00 pm

pioneer wrote:Guess i'll give bel air store a try weekend

Pointless calling lubetech, the girl didn't even know what I was talking about. Seems people want a job but don't wanna work.

These companies have any sort of formal training for employees and make them aware of the products they sell? Or is jus to come to work, look pretty n hope nobody bothers u for the day?

Saw this tonight at Unipet in marabella for $220.

http://www.meguiars.com/en/automotive/p ... ation-kit/

trvs

Postby trvs » August 6th, 2012, 8:01 pm

Karim Khan wrote:^^^They carry a wide range of products, cant remember all the brands they carry, but check the phone book and give them a call if you like.

I will do some recce and post what I see :D

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 7th, 2012, 11:17 pm

Maybe we should start compiling a table of products and their easiest to find locations in south/north/central/east/west type dealio. Or start another thread that only has this info that everyone can add to.

trvs

Postby trvs » August 8th, 2012, 12:09 am

^Planning that for my project :lol: Just time is not on my side lately.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » August 8th, 2012, 6:36 am

trvs wrote:

Pointless calling lubetech, the girl didn't even know what I was talking about. Seems people want a job but don't wanna work.

These companies have any sort of formal training for employees and make them aware of the products they sell? Or is jus to come to work, look pretty n hope nobody bothers u for the day?

Pioneer they also have the headlight protectant you were looking for. Think its $58

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 8th, 2012, 6:58 am

nemesis wrote:Maybe we should start compiling a table of products and their easiest to find locations in south/north/central/east/west type dealio. Or start another thread that only has this info that everyone can add to.

Good Idea, but we can start another thread for this. Lets leave this one for consultation and product reviews.

Postby pioneer » August 8th, 2012, 1:18 pm

33 hertz wrote:
trvs wrote:

Pioneer they also have the headlight protectant you were looking for. Think its $58

Directions to this unipet ya'll speak of?

trvs

Postby trvs » August 8th, 2012, 4:03 pm

Drive until you reach Gasparillo flyover...
Drive down a little further to the "Gasparillo Bypass Road" and drive into there.
Drive until you meet the crossroad and take a left and drive straight down to union road

Check this map for a marker: http://goo.gl/maps/WfZs8

Postby pioneer » August 8th, 2012, 7:12 pm

ohhhh thaz what that road for...i always used to turn by the flyover then turn back around by kfc there since the no right turn sign came :lol:

wow

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 8th, 2012, 8:26 pm

Hey guys i am interested to find out what motivates you to detail your car?

For me i just cant stand a dirty car !!

Postby brams112 » August 8th, 2012, 8:33 pm

A clean car looks great anytime,plus the interior must be clean down to the fine details.even the clean scent is a winner.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » August 8th, 2012, 10:03 pm

Karim Khan wrote:Hey guys i am interested to find out what motivates you to detail your car?

Absolutely nothing.
That's why I let you do it :lol:

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 8th, 2012, 10:11 pm

Karim Khan wrote:Hey guys i am interested to find out what motivates you to detail your car?

It falls on it's side when dirty?

1. I believe in taking care of my vehicle, and that entails not only servicing on time, changing oil etc.

2. I hate the car to be dirty inside.
3. And well, I like the look of a properly done exterior detail. I like the end result, and I like knowing that I did it. May not be the absolute best possible in the world by professional standards, but it will be mine, and it'll keep getting better, hopefully.

*waits on the people who say they just bored or because Karim too expensive* :twisted:

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 8th, 2012, 10:41 pm

Corollaman wrote:

Absolutely nothing.

lol, i am sure after i was done with you car , you are motivated to keep it looking its best..lol

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » August 8th, 2012, 10:49 pm

Karim Khan wrote:
Corollaman wrote:

Absolutely nothing.

lol, i am sure after i was done with you car , you are motivated to keep it looking its best..lol

As much as I hate to admit it, yes
Saw some bird poop on the accord yesterday, wash dat off one time! :oops:

Bacon

Postby Bacon » August 9th, 2012, 2:08 am

Just drove across the border and got the Meguiars Smooth surface clay kit from walmart $18.00

Also gonna try the Meguiars Endurance tire spray $6.00

And topped up my supply of that nice smelling yellolw Ultimate Wash and Wax $8.00 (1.42L)

As for KK's question......I just get great satisfaction doing the best job I can.....I sometimes do cars for other people, I do their engine bay even though I know fully well that they would never pop the hood and see, but just me knowing that I did it is my satisfaction.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » August 9th, 2012, 8:59 am

^ after seeing your pics
i had some time on my hands this week and a friend who wanted to help

did a mothers clay bar (removed soooo much metal/rust particles from the white)
then used the autoglym radiant polish/wax

decided to try both products because they were bought right from the area

will post a pic later

copper_shot

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby copper_shot » August 9th, 2012, 9:08 am

Bacon wrote:Image

what did you use on your carbon? looks like new

and what do you all recommend to use on carbon to protect from turning yellowish? its new carbon btw..

Bacon

Postby Bacon » August 9th, 2012, 10:52 am

Just hadda find the time now....Dais the problem....wish I had a friend to help :/

Yeah post pics....

I used the Meguiars Ultimate Liquid wax on the hood.....

KK based on one of your previous responses to me....It is safe to clay bar the carbon right???

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » August 9th, 2012, 5:19 pm

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » August 9th, 2012, 5:22 pm

btw bacon.. you need this..

Image[

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 9th, 2012, 5:37 pm

copper_shot wrote:^ after seeing your pics
i had some time on my hands this week and a friend who wanted to help

did a mothers clay bar (removed soooo much metal/rust particles from the white)
then used the autoglym radiant polish/wax

decided to try both products because they were bought right from the area

will post a pic later

Be careful when you removing metal or rust with clay. Have to keep changing/kneading it else it be scratching up the car much.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » August 9th, 2012, 6:11 pm

yea i kept folding it, used the 2 bars on the car
to me it had an extreme amount or rust and metal on it

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 9th, 2012, 6:21 pm

Sounds like you need something like this: http://www.autogeek.net/carpro-iron-x-cleaner.html

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 9th, 2012, 8:13 pm

Bacon wrote:KK based on one of your previous responses to me....It is safe to clay bar the carbon right???

Use a mild or fine clay bar on the carbon fiber once it is clear coated.

With respect to the Iron X here are some pics of what it can do.

The purple suds is the chemical reaction from the Iron X when it comes in contact with Iron deposits.

I only offer this kind of service with the Top of the line details

Postby pugboy » August 9th, 2012, 8:39 pm

so what does one do if their job entails a lot of driving everyday
and rain etc ?

Doesn't make sense to be detailing every 2 days....

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 9th, 2012, 8:40 pm

Ok guys about once week ago i was given a product to use and review

Here is a pic of the product

I like this tin of wax because it is much larger than many other waxes on the market and its easy to use in our hot climate. Based on my experience, most waxes tend to be very difficult to remove when it dries. The reason for this, is that most detailing products are not designed to be used in such a hot climate. So far i have not gotten this problem with this product yet.

When compared to other waxes on the market, this product really gives you that gloss. Seriously!!!

Here is a pic of the product applied to a white car