T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby DVSTT » January 7th, 2016, 3:12 pm

That rav 4 is pretty ugly....

Postby Morpheus » January 7th, 2016, 3:43 pm

What really going on with Toyota in truth?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 7th, 2016, 6:21 pm

They trying too hard ...

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 7th, 2016, 6:41 pm

Toyota could spit out hideous designs and yet people will still buy them all because of perceived reliability which impacts resale value positively so they over price their vehicles especially locally. They would laugh their way to the bank because of the world wide occultish following and give us basic boxes to drive. I am sure if Electrolux or whirlpool decided to make cars it'll have more fun baked into them than one of the sportiest Toyotas i.e. The failed Scion FR-S / Toyota ft-86. Looking at the pic above I see an almost 9 yr old Lancer design and I think to myself....its a shame Mitsubishi and Mazda don't get the attention they deserve. Kudos to toyota's marketing dept over the years. They probably have aljgsb emba's.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 7th, 2016, 11:09 pm

The 86 is not a failed car ... just toyota over estimated how stupid trini's are and started selling the car 140K more than it actually supposed to be sold for. Just because they thought they could. I personally laughed at the sales man when he told me the price.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 8th, 2016, 4:38 am

Mitsubishi. ....lol... Please don't make me laugh. I believe most car makers have the ability to make great cars; but when shareholders, finances and other external factors get thrown in the mix.... these plans fall apart.

The evolution is the only exciting vehicle in mitsubishi' s current lineup and production is expected to be halted soon if not already. Mitsubishi is headed downhill

Mazda is kinda on the up. ... We just get what ssl orders or what mazda gives them.

Toyota has built their reputation on reliability, TTTL is kinda abusing the name now; probably similar to A company that used to deal the vehicles before. But when it was taken from them for that brief period. ... It was one of the best experiences I have ever witnessed. Anyhow the FT86 is a revival of an old formula that was utilised in a Corolla of all cars. What is now one of the most boring cars of today inspired the creation of a lightweight rear drive sports car. It was supposed to be affordable but TTTL didn't get the memo. .. what was hilarious was that the technical copy of the car was offered for almost 100k less with a different badge.

Simple works. The reliability is ingrained. .. We see those vehicles transporting para military groups and terrorists in Africa and in the middle east all the time. They also are the platforms for 50cal guns and other weaponry in some of the harshest environments. ... Yeah, I say that reputation is hard to argue.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 9th, 2016, 3:07 am

Saw the new facelifted ranger by a small private dealer .... Looks good

scotty_buttons

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby scotty_buttons » January 9th, 2016, 3:04 pm

kamakazi wrote:Saw the new facelifted ranger by a small private dealer .... Looks good

Yup I agree. Only thing missing is some stylish DRLs and HIDs in the projectors (this they're halogen) and it'll win me over!

l200guy

Postby l200guy » January 9th, 2016, 4:36 pm

It's the designers. Kia and Hyundai have poached the good designers from the traditional companies. That's why the new Ceratos, Elantras and Tuscons look so good while the Yaris's and even Audis seem to be getting uglier and uglier.
But I much rather a car that will last longer and hold its resale value than the pretty vehicles that break apart after 3 or four years (aka Korean).

Postby Kenjo » January 9th, 2016, 4:43 pm

Is there any evidence that the rise of these vehicles like Kian and Hyundai that flaws are being found in them? In the 90s it's was an insult to say you driving one of those

Postby gastly369 » January 9th, 2016, 4:43 pm

Break apart.....ok

Postby S_2NR » January 9th, 2016, 5:33 pm

l200guy wrote:It's the designers. Kia and Hyundai have poached the good designers from the traditional companies. That's why the new Ceratos, Elantras and Tuscons look so good while the Yaris's and even Audis seem to be getting uglier and uglier.
But I much rather a car that will last longer and hold its resale value than the pretty vehicles that break apart after 3 or four years (aka Korean).

i beg to differ!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 9th, 2016, 5:38 pm

Kenjo wrote:Is there any evidence that the rise of these vehicles like Kian and Hyundai that flaws are being found in them? In the 90s it's was an insult to say you driving one of those

This! Can any Korean owners chime in and give their own experiences? I myself heard around 100k kms or so, major problems start to arise (more than a similar aged vehicle)

And I'll ignore the Audi being ugly comment. :lol:

Postby gastly369 » January 9th, 2016, 5:53 pm

Optima 3 years later...tires change ... Reg maintenance..

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 9th, 2016, 8:49 pm

The two Hyundais that I have driven since new (1996 Accent and 2006 Coupe) have given less trouble, actually no trouble really, than the two Japanese cars (Mazda 626 and Mitsubishi CK Lancer) that I have also driven since new.

Once you follow the maintenance schedule, you really would not have any issues. OEM parts for Hyundais are not that expensive from Massy Motors and are even less expensive when you import them out of the USA (even when you add in VAT and duty charges). I would not hesitate to buy another Hyundai when I am in the market for a new car.

With respect to mainstream cars, Nissan, Toyota and Mitsubishi have absolutely nothing that appeals to me. However, I do like the new Mazda 6 (with the 2.5L engine). The Mazda 3 is butt ugly.

Postby Dave » January 9th, 2016, 8:56 pm

^^^This coupe is one of the cleanest on our roads

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » January 9th, 2016, 9:50 pm

My sister in law had a Kia Sportage, starting having major transmission problems after 3 years and under 40,000km. But I've heard many other good stories too so maybe a lemon.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » January 10th, 2016, 9:30 am

New Kia Sportage and Elantra now in Trinidad.
Look out for them.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 10th, 2016, 4:36 pm

its amazing how we get the new korean models before the first world market even get time to do proper reviews on these. Every other car brand we have to wait a few months after everyone else gets them.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 10th, 2016, 4:49 pm

4Motion wrote:My sister in law had a Kia Sportage, starting having major transmission problems after 3 years and under 40,000km. But I've heard many other good stories too so maybe a lemon.

That van didn't really drive at all in the time. ... Could the lack of use be the reason for those problems; or could it be somewhat attributed to the short drives.

Postby cinco » January 10th, 2016, 5:57 pm

4Motion wrote:My sister in law had a Kia Sportage, starting having major transmission problems after 3 years and under 40,000km. But I've heard many other good stories too so maybe a lemon.

In contrast to the numerous vw transmission failures would you All consider the koreans less reliable?

Postby Morpheus » January 10th, 2016, 6:11 pm

^^popcorn

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 10th, 2016, 7:12 pm

cinco wrote:

In contrast to the numerous vw transmission failures would you All consider the koreans less reliable?

Yuh ever just doh like somebody?

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 10th, 2016, 7:13 pm

Scary what's on with vw tho
Last edited by racedriverpro on January 10th, 2016, 7:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 10th, 2016, 7:14 pm

cinco wrote:

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 10th, 2016, 7:14 pm

cinco wrote:

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 10th, 2016, 9:35 pm

And in comparison my 06 RAV4 from new have been littered with problems. Most through warranty. Some after. Steering rack x 2. Alternator. Sensors. No engine or drivetrain trouble though.
I still think Toyota of today has way more credit than it deserves.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 11th, 2016, 6:39 am

I think VW 7 speed dsg is the biggest fiasco atm. Have heard of problems with the tucson transmission but nothing where the whole thing shuts down, just really rough shifts and refusal to go into tiptronic mode.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 11th, 2016, 8:12 am

Saw a Corolla on the shoulder this morning with bonnet popped up. Driver was starting his investigation. This is impossible for the great Corolla! Perhaps its a 2nd-hand once-crashed unit that was brought back and is poorly maintained!

Postby cinco » January 11th, 2016, 8:30 am

acesinghit wrote:Saw a Corolla on the shoulder this morning with bonnet popped up. Driver was starting his investigation. This is impossible for the great Corolla! Perhaps its a 2nd-hand once-crashed unit that was brought back and is poorly maintained!

One car does not make a whole model line up bad. Could even be a bad alarm install.