The Official Car Care Thread

Re: The Official Car Care Thread w/expert consultation

Postby DVSTT » August 3rd, 2012, 11:26 am

Hey Karim, what is the best product to use on white leather seats to clean them?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 3rd, 2012, 4:32 pm

[/quote]On to another story
Today i was working in south and i ran out of a certain Autoglym product. The nearest place that had it was Carplus,so i went down there to pick it up. While in the shop one of the guys who work there recognizable me and we started a nice conversation about detailing. At the end i was given some new products to try out and review. I just cant wait to get sometime to test them out...[/quote]

Believe I know who that is.
Let us know how they work.

[/quote]you know a man doing great work when a vehicle detailing company calls you in to detail their personal vehicle... :lol: :lol:[/quote]

That just real funny.

DVSTT: Many leather cleaners available, but depends on how dirty they really are. You should start with warm water and very light soap and then determine how much chemical cleaning you need. Also, when you do get leather cleaners test them at the base of the backseat or something first since some may stain the white leather. The griot's leather care spray does mild cleaning and conditioning in one, and hasn't discolored black/tan/red leather in my use of it thus far. Also have used the mother's which didn't cause any problems either, but you have to use the conditioner after and I really don't like the slippery feel. Lexol is good on feel and smell but I've seen it darken lighter leather already.

And now wait on the person you actually addressed the question to to answer. hahaha.

trvs

Postby trvs » August 3rd, 2012, 5:26 pm

I have chemical guys leather cleaner and their conditioner to try. Can't seem to find time. As soon as I try it will post a review.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 3rd, 2012, 7:39 pm

DVSTT wrote:Hey Karim, what is the best product to use on white leather seats to clean them?

With respect to brand , i use Autoglym, Meguiars and Lexol for cleaning and conditioning leather. i got some new products to try out yesterday, i did not get the time to try it. Anyway,i use a combination of the above products to determine which work the best . More often i use the Meguiars Leather Cleaner as it tend to work well for me.

IF you need to get products you can check

1.Wheel Wizard on Ramsaran Street Chaguanas
2. Glenns Super Shop
3. Car Plus San Fernando

The staff at all of the above establishments are very friendly and helpful. They also carry a wide range of detailing products.

nemesis wrote:
karim khan wrote:you know a man doing great work when a vehicle detailing company calls you in to detail their personal vehicle... :lol: :lol:

That just real funny.

And now wait on the person you actually addressed the question to to answer. hahaha.

^^^ lol

Postby DVSTT » August 3rd, 2012, 8:43 pm

Karim Khan wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Hey Karim, what is the best product to use on white leather seats to clean them?

With respect to brand , i use Autoglym, Meguiars and Lexol for cleaning and conditioning leather. i got some new products to try out yesterday, i did not get the time to try it. Anyway,i use a combination of the above products to determine which work the best . More often i use the Meguiars Leather Cleaner as it tend to work well for me.

IF you need to get products you can check

1.Wheel Wizard on Ramsaran Street Chaguanas
2. Glenns Super Shop
3. Car Plus San Fernando

The staff at all of the above establishments are very friendly and helpful. They also carry a wide range of detailing products.

Thank You! Do I just use it with a microfiber cloth or do I use a brush or something?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 3rd, 2012, 9:34 pm

^^^ You can use a microfiber cloth, but before you use the product read the instructions

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 4th, 2012, 6:48 am

SO guys anyone cleaning their car in this weather??? if yes what u plan to do?

Postby Chimera » August 4th, 2012, 8:12 am

park it in the rain.

trvs

Postby trvs » August 4th, 2012, 1:17 pm

Might do an interior detail.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 4th, 2012, 2:45 pm

washed before the rains came.....

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 4th, 2012, 3:23 pm

Meaning you washed and made the rain come?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » August 4th, 2012, 4:43 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:like no one has tried the wash and wax from meg ? just want to get a feed back about it.

Postby DVSTT » August 4th, 2012, 5:03 pm

Karim Khan wrote:^^^ You can use a microfiber cloth, but before you use the product read the instructions

Ok thanks! Will try the meguir's and let you know!

Postby pioneer » August 4th, 2012, 5:28 pm

pioneer wrote:Called Lubetech...seeing I from T.City they told me Xtra Foods in O'Meara would have the Meguiar's headlight protectant.

Makin ah turn this evenin

Will aware ya'll

Well I went today and in typical third world country fashion I was misguided by lubetech, Xtra Foods O'Meara doesn't have it.

Lubetech doesn't even know if they have it :?

trvs

Postby trvs » August 4th, 2012, 8:30 pm

trinibajan34 I tried it, it's okay. It smells like citrus but it's not as sudsy as the Gold Class Shampoo (diff product)

pioneer best your order it from Amazon.

I bought some Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Bars and some Ultimate Quick Detailer to do some claying soon.

Might try some Klasse AIO after I clay.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 4th, 2012, 10:17 pm

trvs wrote:trinibajan34 I tried it, it's okay. It smells like citrus but it's not as sudsy as the Gold Class Shampoo (diff product)

pioneer best your order it from Amazon.

I bought some Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Bars and some Ultimate Quick Detailer to do some claying soon.

Might try some Klasse AIO after I clay.

1. Don't ever expect something with non-sudsy additives to be as sudsy as the shampoo only. That will hold true for all brands of wash+wax vs their wash only I believe. I currently use the Dodo Sour Power and I rather like it. Will try the Meguiar's sometime soon.

2. If you're ordering from amazon look for the little red writing that says cannot ship internationally. If it's there, you can ship it, but it might come up to 2x the cost or more depending on the trini customs officer you get. Some of them read the label and charge you for dangerous goods, some don't.

3. Meguair's clay isn't bad. Cleans pretty well, and their detailer is reasonably good on being slippery.
Only thing I don't particularly like is that the clay itself is a little harder to mold than some of the other brands. Shouldn't really be an issue though.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 5th, 2012, 3:41 pm

So hear dis. Lots of people here very new or now starting to try products. For allyuh online shoppers, why yuh don't buy car care kits to start with? They actually do save you when compared to buying everything separately. Some are actually much cheaper than you could put together on your own in Trinidad :
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_nr_n_0?r ... d=15690151

http://www.autogeek.net/kitspecials.html

Would just need to refill things like the shampoo locally. but otherwise those kits could last you quite a while. If you're just starting to take care of your paintwork, and can't spend the time to do many processes, try it.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » August 5th, 2012, 4:02 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:like no one has tried the wash and wax from meg ? just want to get a feed back about it.

I really like it....but me ain't no expert....

I does wanna bathe in it when I smell it sometimes :oops:

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » August 5th, 2012, 4:31 pm

Bacon wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:

I really like it....but me ain't no expert....

I does wanna bathe in it when I smell it sometimes :oops:

ok then :shock:

trvs

Postby trvs » August 5th, 2012, 4:57 pm

lol @ bacon. It really smells nice.

The Meguiar's Complete Car Care Kit is a nice starter kit. I bought two of those over the years. It's a nice deal.

The Gold Class Endurance High Gloss smells like grape. lol

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 5th, 2012, 6:59 pm

It's always nice to have good smelling products. Some of the high end items claim that it's best if there's no fragrance and coloring etc. I personally prefer to go for the good smelling stuff. One of the reasons I dislike the Swissvax cleaner fluid is because it smells like strong industrial chemicals. Between that and the fact that it's a bit difficult to remove even without drying, kinda turn me off of it a bit. Even though it's a great cleaner and has an amazing look on the surface after. :)
So yay for everyone that keeps buying the good smelling stuff. Eventually they'll have to release a product that smells better.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 5th, 2012, 7:10 pm

pioneer wrote:Well I went today and in typical third world country fashion I was misguided by lubetech, Xtra Foods O'Meara doesn't have it.

Lubetech doesn't even know if they have it

I see not much has changed with them.

Talk to Karim - I believe he works (marketing) at Lubetech? Not sure tho.
Last edited by DSM_05 on August 5th, 2012, 7:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 5th, 2012, 7:13 pm

Yeah honestly. Their customer service real poor for individuals. Not sure if they're better dealing with companies. At least there's one guy in there that helps out if have to go there yes. :)

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 5th, 2012, 10:12 pm

DSM_05 wrote:
pioneer wrote:Talk to Karim - I believe he works (marketing) at Lubetech? Not sure tho.

I don't work Lubetech. I work for myself.

Postby shogun » August 5th, 2012, 10:15 pm

pioneer wrote:Called Lubetech...seeing I from T.City they told me Xtra Foods in O'Meara would have the Meguiar's headlight protectant.

Makin ah turn this evenin

Will aware ya'll

Well I went today and in typical third world country fashion I was misguided by lubetech, Xtra Foods O'Meara doesn't have it.

:lol: :lol: 'D hell...

trvs

Postby trvs » August 5th, 2012, 10:28 pm

Okay so for the Megs ppl, so far the only places I've been to that have at leat some range of stuff are,

Bel Air Store
Price Club
Annand Low Price (I think I saw one headlight kit remaining here)
Unipet on Union road marabella.

Postby pioneer » August 5th, 2012, 10:37 pm

Guess i'll give bel air store a try weekend

Pointless calling lubetech, the girl didn't even know what I was talking about. Seems people want a job but don't wanna work.

These companies have any sort of formal training for employees and make them aware of the products they sell? Or is jus to come to work, look pretty n hope nobody bothers u for the day?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 5th, 2012, 10:45 pm

If you want to get Detailing Products

Check

1. Wheel Wizard
2. Glenns Super Shop
3. Car Plus

Great customer services and a wide range of products.

Postby shogun » August 5th, 2012, 10:55 pm

These companies have any sort of formal training for employees and make them aware of the products they sell? Or is jus to come to work, look pretty n hope nobody bothers u for the day?

Freal though eh. Sometimes the product right behind their back and they don't know. Pennywise employees, famous for that sh!t.

They don't care, as long as their paid.

trvs

Postby trvs » August 5th, 2012, 11:25 pm

Karim Khan wrote:If you want to get Detailing Products

Check

1. Wheel Wizard
2. Glenns Super Shop
3. Car Plus

Great customer services and a wide range of products.

What range of brands tho? Other than AG :D