T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

scotty_buttons

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby scotty_buttons » July 13th, 2011, 3:40 pm

VWs have pretty low resale..but an equivalent C class or 3-series would be alot more expensive than 'a b14'

it varies really.

Postby Stephon. » July 13th, 2011, 3:51 pm

I love the low resale value on euro cars though. It's definitely worth it compared to Japanese cars.

nes123

Postby nes123 » July 13th, 2011, 4:11 pm

when ya see a 2006 bora and up show me...cuz as far as I know the bora was replaced by the Jetta...so I challenge the naysayers to indicate to me where ya'll getting a 2006 euro and up for under 65k......allyuh taking bout 2002 model euros homes...and cinco bora and b14 is de same price eh king...some even fetch far 5-10k more...like ya never visit trinicarsforsale orrr?

@ Stephon....which cars in particular you see with lower resale than Japanese from 2006 + seeing that that is what I was speaking about?

Postby Stephon. » July 13th, 2011, 4:14 pm

My neighbor sold his Octavia for 60k last week.

nes123

Postby nes123 » July 13th, 2011, 4:18 pm

good...what year model was it?certainly not MKII since that model is 2006+ ..just saying :shock:

E.G. 2006 NZE corolla resale =$55 - 80k

2006 Octavia resale = $85 - $130k

Ya'll want more examples?I eh here to fight ya'll down yunno...I just think some of ya'll just misinformed that's all.. :?
Last edited by nes123 on July 13th, 2011, 4:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 13th, 2011, 4:29 pm

i was of the notion that only VW (and octavia), peugeot, renault were the only euro cars with low resale..

jetta (119K) - http://www.trinicarsforsale.com/databas ... -SOLD-3090

civic (124K) - http://www.trinicarsforsale.com/databas ... 10554-8942

civic slightly older plates, more mileage, but yet more expensive! u cud look around and see that's the basic trend there

but this wont apply to other euros like BMWs, Mercs, Audis, Volvos, etc..

hence, it varies...

nes123

Postby nes123 » July 13th, 2011, 4:40 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:i was of the notion that only VW (and octavia), peugeot, renault were the only euro cars with low resale..

civic slightly older plates, more mileage, but yet more expensive! u cud look around and see that's the basic trend there

hence, it varies...

Point noted...but in all fairness ya can't compare a 2.0FSI being sold at a giveaway price against a 1.6EX Civic,because this car was being sold for more than that since last year September as the owner was migrating...I was inquiring about it so I would know...but that model went for 225k at the time....I won't really say this justifies your point...

You are correct with the following being of low resale value... peugeot, renault , VW from pre 2006...but I think if renault was to make a comeback presently there would be a difference in resale outcome some 5yrs later...as of now we can look at the current pugs being sold in the showroom now and wait 5yrs later to see the resale on them

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 13th, 2011, 4:50 pm

nes123 wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:i was of the notion that only VW (and octavia), peugeot, renault were the only euro cars with low resale..

hence, it varies...

Point noted...but in all fairness ya can't compare a 2.0FSI being sold at a giveaway price against a 1.6EX Civic,because this car was being sold for more than that since last year September as the owner was migrating...I was inquiring about it so I would know...but that model went for 225k at the time....I won't really say this justifies your point...

true. but the jettas and civics at that time..and even today sell for around the same prices!..and if u check the trend..VWs depreciate by around the same amount or by more when compared to the civics..just my opinion..don't get me wrong, i love the VWs..i just don't like the resale value that's all..otherwise I'd still get a Jetta over a civic any day

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 13th, 2011, 4:51 pm

nes123 wrote:

hence, it varies...

You are correct with the following being of low resale value... peugeot, renault , VW from pre 2006...but I think if renault was to make a comeback presently there would be a difference in resale outcome some 5yrs later...as of now we can look at the current pugs being sold in the showroom now and wait 5yrs later to see the resale on them

i share the same opinion there

nes123

Postby nes123 » July 13th, 2011, 4:59 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
nes123 wrote:

hence, it varies...

true. but the jettas and civics at that time..and even today sell for around the same prices!..and if u check the trend..VWs depreciate by around the same amount or by more when compared to the civics..just my opinion..don't get me wrong, i love the VWs..i just don't like the resale value that's all..otherwise I'd still get a Jetta over a civic any day

nah man is all good :D ...but I think they depreciate around the same price to be completely honest...reason I think apart from some other underlying factors which affect depreciation is the avg showroom price...eg. showroom civic was around 200k and the jettas of same year was around the same...the trend would be that vehicles post 2006 EURO/JAPS depreciate by around above 30% - 48% of showroom price..the other factors such as theft rate/availability of parts/longevity or quality is what all adds up to affect depreciation really...but I love the VAG group or else I won't have gotten on board the VAG group train ...the quality ,the interior I think will last longer than some JAPS :oops:

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 13th, 2011, 6:59 pm

nes123 wrote:

hence, it varies...

New peugeots being sold????? more info please

(l)bass

Postby (l)bass » July 14th, 2011, 12:35 am

It's hard to kill a Euro! Maintain it well and this car will be on the road for generations! Maybe the local resale value might be a bit lower than Jap models but you have a car for life!

nes123

Postby nes123 » July 14th, 2011, 7:14 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
nes123 wrote:

hence, it varies...

peugeot 207 & 308 still being sold homes...

nes123

Postby nes123 » July 14th, 2011, 7:42 am

christopherwilliams2....hold dat

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

Postby Habit7 » July 14th, 2011, 8:27 am

in a country where half of the ppl believes the best car in the world is either a Mitsu Lancer Evo or Subaru Impreza WRX, convincing them to spend money on a euro is challenging

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 14th, 2011, 8:49 am

euros don't have the best resale value but in terms of safety, security, comfort, features and power they have that down especially emissions standards. There is no Japanese or South Korean compact in its most powerful, fully loaded form even compare to a VW Jetta or Skoda Octavia. The Ford Focus and Chevrolet Cruze are up there too then the Mazda 3 and Lancer. Cerato and Elantra still fighting up with the bargain basement compacts like the Corolla, Civic, Sentra/Bluebird Sylphy etc...

nes123

Postby nes123 » July 14th, 2011, 10:30 am

Habit7 wrote:in a country where half of the ppl believes the best car in the world is either a Mitsu Lancer Evo or Subaru Impreza WRX, convincing them to spend money on a euro is challenging

who's trying to convince who to buy what?To each his own brother...if some of them wanna buy Japanese cars and have to be mindful of where they go for fear of being car-jacked..that's totally up to them...I was merely showing there are other cheaper options than paying 200k+ for a Jap car.....don't even bother to bring up cost of parts argument,cuz as far as I know there are some local car dealers (who shall remain anonymous) who have customer cars parked up still awaiting part orders and when they do get it,the cost is on par with local cost of parts for the Euro's...gawd how I live the power of internet shopping.... :oops:

(l)bass

Postby (l)bass » July 14th, 2011, 11:28 am

Well we trinis have a lot of choices in autos now and we have learned how to get more value for money in terms of what is most important to us when looking for a vehicle. So if somebody purchase a brand or model and then steupsin after and cussin the brand then they look for that... Make up yuh mind wey yuh want and just go for it! Is your money! Doh study nobody! Well this don't really apply to dem bess tings that have dey legs wrap round dem big $$ sugardaddies. Get they sugardaddy to buy the most expensive ride and 2 months after they get it dey bored and want something else... or else the nookie well dry up for dat homie! :)

nes123

Postby nes123 » July 14th, 2011, 11:56 am

wigamer wrote:Well we trinis have a lot of choices in autos now and we have learned how to get more value for money in terms of what is most important to us when looking for a vehicle. So if somebody purchase a brand or model and then steupsin after and cussin the brand then they look for that... Make up yuh mind wey yuh want and just go for it! Is your money! Doh study nobody! Well this don't really apply to dem bess tings that have dey legs wrap round dem big $$ sugardaddies. Get they sugardaddy to buy the most expensive ride and 2 months after they get it dey bored and want something else... or else the nookie well dry up for dat homie! :)

well one ting ya right about is the value for money point,hence my reasoning behind the euros which come more equipped,of better quality interior wise and for way less money....besides ppl doh spend 200k on a car they haven't reviewed..who does that?

and ya talking bout bess ting ?who in this day does buy car for outside woman :lol: ?pooci is pooci!...why I must buy a car for a woman other than my wife?..dem kinda man is arse in my book.. :?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 14th, 2011, 12:17 pm

I think Hyundai will be the biggest threat to the 'affordable' Euros in TT. Their new line up is becoming very competitive and their vehicles are offering as much kit as the Euros for a lower price... just look at the 2011 Elantra and Sonata. Quality wise Hyundai is miles ahead of the Euros ... any IQS or long term quality survey will show that . I never considered a Hyundai before but their new products and the significant advancements being made by this company is making me reconsider .... this company does not just want to take over the number 1 spot from Toyota but it wants to be the best in every segment it enters.... the Equus and Genesis is showing that they have the capability

Postby Habit7 » July 14th, 2011, 1:14 pm

ek4ever wrote:I think Hyundai will be the biggest threat to the 'affordable' Euros in TT. Their new line up is becoming very competitive and their vehicles are offering as much kit as the Euros for a lower price... just look at the 2011 Elantra and Sonata. Quality wise Hyundai is miles ahead of the Euros ... any IQS or long term quality survey will show that . I never considered a Hyundai before but their new products and the significant advancements being made by this company is making me reconsider .... this company does not just want to take over the number 1 spot from Toyota but it wants to be the best in every segment it enters.... the Equus and Genesis is showing that they have the capability

I might want to disagree, as much as Hyundai is improving, a mid spec Elantra is trumped by a Skoda Octavia, full spec Elantra by a special edition VW Jetta and the Sonata trumped by the VW Passat. In the US Hyundai undercutting everyone but in T&T they just as bad.

(l)bass

Postby (l)bass » July 14th, 2011, 2:32 pm

Habit7 wrote:
ek4ever wrote:I think Hyundai will be the biggest threat to the 'affordable' Euros in TT. Their new line up is becoming very competitive and their vehicles are offering as much kit as the Euros for a lower price... just look at the 2011 Elantra and Sonata. Quality wise Hyundai is miles ahead of the Euros ... any IQS or long term quality survey will show that . I never considered a Hyundai before but their new products and the significant advancements being made by this company is making me reconsider .... this company does not just want to take over the number 1 spot from Toyota but it wants to be the best in every segment it enters.... the Equus and Genesis is showing that they have the capability

I might want to disagree, as much as Hyundai is improving, a mid spec Elantra is trumped by a Skoda Octavia, full spec Elantra by a special edition VW Jetta and the Sonata trumped by the VW Passat. In the US Hyundai undercutting everyone but in T&T they just as bad.

This is tru! But for some reason we don't get many of the Euro options here. The Skoda Fabia is an excellent vehicle and I believe Sterling Motors only just started bringing it. And again is only when they realize how well the Octy II was doing. So hopefully soon we see more Euro models from our favorite brands and then we will be comparing apples with apples...

(l)bass

Postby (l)bass » July 14th, 2011, 2:37 pm

nes123 wrote:
wigamer wrote:Well we trinis have a lot of choices in autos now and we have learned how to get more value for money in terms of what is most important to us when looking for a vehicle. So if somebody purchase a brand or model and then steupsin after and cussin the brand then they look for that... Make up yuh mind wey yuh want and just go for it! Is your money! Doh study nobody! Well this don't really apply to dem bess tings that have dey legs wrap round dem big $$ sugardaddies. Get they sugardaddy to buy the most expensive ride and 2 months after they get it dey bored and want something else... or else the nookie well dry up for dat homie! :)

well one ting ya right about is the value for money point,hence my reasoning behind the euros which come more equipped,of better quality interior wise and for way less money....besides ppl doh spend 200k on a car they haven't reviewed..who does that?

and ya talking bout bess ting ?who in this day does buy car for outside woman :lol: ?pooci is pooci!...why I must buy a car for a woman other than my wife?..dem kinda man is arse in my book.. :?

No doubt! But it ha dem fools dat does put they $$ first and wonder how dey only pickin up gold-diggerz... No matter what i drivin i like my rubber slippers and jean yes

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 14th, 2011, 2:44 pm

Hyundai vehicles in T&T are overpriced. The Sonata at 310k vs the Optima at 289k? Go figure, what exactly is included in the Sonata that the Optima doesn't have to justify the 21k extra price?

The Cerato sedan is 178k vs an Elantra (with a sunroof---> big deal) for $209k? A difference of 31k?

The Sportage at 257k with pan roof vs a Tucson similarly spec'd at $274k?

Greed.

(l)bass

Postby (l)bass » July 14th, 2011, 3:49 pm

acesinghit wrote:Hyundai vehicles in T&T are overpriced. The Sonata at 310k vs the Optima at 289k? Go figure, what exactly is included in the Sonata that the Optima doesn't have to justify the 21k extra price?

The Cerato sedan is 178k vs an Elantra (with a sunroof---> big deal) for $209k? A difference of 31k?

Greed.

Hyundai owns 49.2% of Kia so I guess Hyundai may never admit that Kia is on par with or better than their like models!

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 14th, 2011, 7:15 pm

nes123 wrote:

hence, it varies...

meh bai...those 207 and 308 were sold to employees and like i was told it was about 20 of them and they sold no more...more than 2 years ago...you see any pcs pct Peugeot 207 or 308 ??
Can you even call and ask the price of one?....try tmrw

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 14th, 2011, 7:37 pm

nes123 wrote:christopherwilliams2....hold dat

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

would love to get one though.

nes123

Postby nes123 » July 14th, 2011, 8:53 pm

nes123 wrote:

hence, it varies...

meh bai...those 207 and 308 were sold to employees and like i was told it was about 20 of them and they sold no more...more than 2 years ago...you see any pcs pct Peugeot 207 or 308 ??
Can you even call and ask the price of one?....try tmrw

not sure where you get that story from or else they won't be in the showroom now the 308 goes for around 190k...when last ya went up by Neal & massy compound bai? :lol:

Postby sharkman121 » July 14th, 2011, 10:29 pm

acesinghit wrote:Hyundai vehicles in T&T are overpriced. The Sonata at 310k vs the Optima at 289k? Go figure, what exactly is included in the Sonata that the Optima doesn't have to justify the 21k extra price?

Greed.

Studied both the Optima and the Sonata in depth, both are great vehicles most ppl would go with the Optima but theres something about the Sonata's Style and interior design that i love.

Have to make a decision by nexth month..already ruled out the elantra.

(l)bass

Postby (l)bass » July 14th, 2011, 11:01 pm

Take yuh time and chose bro! For my part if i spending dat kinda $$ on a vehicle I want something that have some history and track record. The worst thing is to have to encounter probs with the vehicle after only a couple years and have to fork out $$$ to fix while you still paying Mr Bank or Credit union or whoever back the principal + interest! I rather know what probs i might encounter with meh Jap or Euro model before hand and at least prepare for it than walk into the unknown... I have seen 5,6,7... hell even 10 yr old Japs and Euros in good condition still doing the job well! I haven't seen many Korean vehicles doing this as yet! Ah fraid loans and ah fraid repairs but ah fraid even more when d 2 bounce up on meh unannounced! :(