Evo 10 vs Ford Ranger

Re: Evo 10 vs Ford Ranger

Postby Morpheus » June 2nd, 2015, 2:25 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:i was on the EMR this morning & i aint meet anywhere an evo x cud pass daily

Why is that? Congestion? Road conditions?

Postby Morpheus » June 2nd, 2015, 2:25 pm

pete wrote:
20150602_111422~2.jpg

You compulsive liar you.......

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 2nd, 2015, 6:58 pm

nick639 wrote:
src1983 wrote:If you hitting a north/south run and drive hard you looking at $500 a week with a evo-x.

500$ a week???? Dan that's installment Plus diesel lol

When buying high performance one should not be concerned about fuel cost

Oh prepare thy self for stiff ride all day everyday

Postby 1UZFE » June 2nd, 2015, 8:24 pm

Morpheus wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:i was on the EMR this morning & i aint meet anywhere an evo x cud pass daily

Nah. All money spent to buy ah evo now no money for gas....

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 2nd, 2015, 8:27 pm

Anytime I hear men say evo, gtr or other high powered cars here can't be daily drivers I question whether tuner is an enthusiast website for cars.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » June 2nd, 2015, 8:32 pm

1UZFE wrote:
Morpheus wrote:

Nah. All money spent to buy ah evo now no money for gas....

btw i made an error, i mean "can't"

Postby Morpheus » June 2nd, 2015, 8:36 pm

I don't see why an Evo X can't drove on the EMR. Allyuh have lead foot?

Postby Morpheus » June 2nd, 2015, 8:39 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Anytime I hear men say evo, gtr or other high powered cars here can't be daily drivers I question whether tuner is an enthusiast website for cars.

Like I said before, everyone is different. Some people think anything feeling harsher than a Camry suspension is too harsh.
Some people will make the comfort sacrifice for the handling.....

The goal with the X was to make it less harsh and appeal to more people. So it not that bad really.....

Cyah buy Evo and expect Lexus ride

dgobo

Postby dgobo » June 3rd, 2015, 12:40 pm

^^ I kinda disagree with that

dgobo

Postby dgobo » June 3rd, 2015, 12:41 pm

src1983 wrote:
nick639 wrote:
src1983 wrote:If you hitting a north/south run and drive hard you looking at $500 a week with a evo-x.

500$ a week???? Dan that's installment Plus diesel lol

When buying high performance one should not be concerned about fuel cost

Oh prepare thy self for stiff ride all day everyday

dgobo

Postby dgobo » June 3rd, 2015, 12:55 pm

Oops disregard my last two post can't seem to edit posts from my phone. Anyway some advice to the OP go with the Ranger for daily use, maybe am getting old but I would not even think of using my X as my daily. I find the X ride to harsh even compared to my old VII and VIII although it was supposed to be more refined.

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 3rd, 2015, 2:01 pm

OP should also consider the maintenance schedule of both vehicles.

If SST you should ensure you know a good mechanic.
Was told by more than one mechanic that oil should be changed every 5000km
Your tires also cut faster camber -1 front and back

There is a defect with the pump in the back that feeds the back diff (more happens in cold countries due to ice) so if purchasing pray you don't get a lemon

Don't make a silly mistake like me and tune your car by a dude that locks your ECU, still trying to sort that crap out *sigh*

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 3rd, 2015, 2:08 pm

src1983 wrote:OP should also consider the maintenance schedule of both vehicles.

There is a defect with the pump in the back that feeds the back diff (more happens in cold countries due to ice) so if purchasing pray you don't get a lemon

Don't make a silly mistake like me and tune your car by a dude that locks your ECU, still trying to sort that crap out *sigh*

What's the official service schedule for SST from Mitsubishi?

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » June 3rd, 2015, 2:28 pm

500 a week on gas? No wonder i see no Evo's/Sti's/other high performing cars idling in traffic daily.

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 3rd, 2015, 2:30 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
src1983 wrote:OP should also consider the maintenance schedule of both vehicles.

What's the official service schedule for SST from Mitsubishi?

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=300737&hilit=evo+x

maint4.jpg
Last edited by src1983 on June 3rd, 2015, 2:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 3rd, 2015, 2:33 pm

Thanks...looking at that document though it seems like it might be for a different EVO? EVO X has a timing chain, no?

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 3rd, 2015, 2:38 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Thanks...looking at that document though it seems like it might be for a different EVO? EVO X has a timing chain, no?

Same thing on Evolutionm.net

Postby A172 » June 3rd, 2015, 4:46 pm

dgobo u gehem then

dgobo

Postby dgobo » June 3rd, 2015, 7:20 pm

A172 wrote:dgobo u gehem then

Say wha ?

Postby A172 » June 4th, 2015, 11:46 am

lol check yur pm

Postby crazybalhead » June 5th, 2015, 1:33 pm

skulls wrote:D ranger better suited for trinidad roads
While d evo is best for track or rallying
Its your choice partner

Lawd.

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Interesting thread.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » June 6th, 2015, 3:17 pm

I'm reading who is saying buying cars like evo not to worry about fuel mileage and cost of fuel, etc....

but reality is life and things can change over the course of time... could have your car and going good, then next situation causes you to reconsider all those things.

So all those little 'extra costs' should be considered cause you gonna have rainy days.. no matter the vehicle.

I might as well list the pros and cons as I didn't earlier:

EVO:

pros:

* Fun to Drive
* Still a practical vehicle (seating and trunk space)
* Smaller than van so fit in spots easier
* General servicing is not too expensive
* Parts available from USA for some items

cons:

* Parts are expensive when you need them (especially drivetrain parts)
* Terrible fuel mileage
* Must use higher quality fuel (unless you go meth injection)
* Few places will insure you and the price may be quite high (unless going 3rd party)
* You're a magnet for the odd person with a souped up car
* You'll be flamed by 'purists' and 'spectator purists' if you put anything cheap on it (tyres, rims, oil etc)
* Not really a practical car for every day use unless distances to cover aren't quite far
* If the urge comes to modify power wise, it can become an expensive venture

PICKUP:
pros:

* Extremely practical (especially crew cab)
* Fuel efficient (diesel)
* Beneficial if you have one with high ground clearance
* More stores will have running parts for them.
* Easier to get in or out of especially in times if injured (or age)

cons:

* Maintenance costs can be expensive
* Insurance is expensive
* Can be potentially a target to thieves
* Larger vehicle so parking or maneuvering in tight spaces can be problematic
* Certain parts cannot always be gotten (drive train, body parts etc) as easily depending on model
* Will be flamed by others for the size of your vehicle in certain situations
* Is not a car so you have to be mindful vehicle control in wet, etc
* Inspections must be done annually at Licensing (unsure if this has changed)

Many of those things may or may not matter in your case based on what you buy, but as well stated, times and priorities can change along the line. I still say the diesel is the more practical choice but depends on what you want now vs what you foresee in the future for yourself. Ask yourself what you see yourself doing/ having in 5 to 10 yrs from now and if the car or van will be better beneficial to you now and in that time as well.

rookie

Postby rookie » June 9th, 2015, 9:48 pm

sorry for the late reply i took everyone's advice into consideration, @MISHI point taken whatever i choose won't be a daily drive cause i got a car and a motorcycle already and my job doesn't allow me to put a lot of millage on any of them. I waiting to see the 2016 versions reach our shores and ill decide, a lancer evolution was a dream car for me so thats why its being considered i went to the toyota brz but that sheit not making sense its a 2 seater with 4 seats

rookie

Postby rookie » June 9th, 2015, 9:50 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1433901103.404677.jpg

rookie

Postby rookie » June 9th, 2015, 9:50 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1433901144.500059.jpg

rookie