Project: 1998 SR20VET Sentra

THE SYNDICATE

Re: Terrence's FWD SR20DET B14 (Update: Camden First Visit p

Postby THE SYNDICATE » February 3rd, 2012, 5:30 am

nice pics Terrence :)

NXTREME

Re: Terrence's FWD SR20DET B14 (Update: REBIRTH)

Postby NXTREME » March 4th, 2012, 1:36 pm

Project Rebirth

So we ran into some problems after water hose blew out on the engine and the car overheated, the leak was repaired but the car kept overheating on boost so the assumption was made that the head/block was warped.

The only perfect option we had was to tear apart the engine and send the head and block to machine and deck both surfaces and apply a new head gasket. Seeing that their would be some down time I decided to add some upgrades I had lying around a few months beforehand into the equation.

Before I start this update I would like to thank may of you who have supported my project and those who provided much assistance throughout its course, this would include Hayden my tuner, Mike my mechanic and our "garage family", all the guys from tuner who gave me some good advice like Mr. Fugitives, Anil, Nick from Tuner Imports who supplied me with all or most of my parts for my build, as well all those who supported at all events, whether at the track or otherwise.

Sticking to be a true SR20DET, the parts list is as follows:

APEXI SR20DET Head gasket
Mazworx Head Stud Kit
SR20DE 50A "Big Spline" Gearbox/Fat Axles&Joints
ACT 6 Puck Spring Loaded Clutch
ACT Pressure Plate
Garrett ???? Turbo Charger
Tial External Wastegate
Stainless Steel Down Pipe
HKS 740CC Injectors
CXRacing 28x10x2.5 Intercooler
JDM Sentra Black Projector Headlights
Greddy Oil Catch Can
NIA Aluminium Sentra 1999 Radiator

Unfortunately I didn't have the funds to purchase all the parts instantly so I had been planning an budgeting for the past 6 months to get this upgrade going. Took my time and did my research to see what I wanted and how I wanted to be done. So after much discussions with my Tuner, Mechanic as well as the "SR20 gurus" on tuner and some research on the SR20forums. Finally got it to the garage to start the work. Ofcourse I took some pics for you guys:

Stock Avenir Ball Bearing T25 Turbo Out :cry:

Underside view of my Block>Clinder walls in perfect condition since it was polished on the first build

P11 Small Spline Gearbox

My Gearbox Collection :|

Suspension/Brake Upgrade>TEIN Full Coilover Setup/R33 Double Piston Setup

Engine Gone Yes

My First Copper Clutch

Starting the REBIRTH>Sunday Morning, Organising Parts, Cleaning up and Mounting up

CP Standard Pistons/Manley Connecting Rods

Underside Shot of the Forged Piston

Forged Piston and Rod

Nissan W11 Avenir SR20DET Block>Properly Decked Surface

Nissan W11 Avenir SR20DET Block>Perfectly Polished Cylinders

Block completely assembled by lunch time>team work FTW! :mrgreen:

Another shot of the block

New Head Gasket

Applied to properly machined surface

APEXi Badge 8-)

Top View before we torque down the head

Put some paint on the Intake seeing its out already

Trying out the new clutch :?

Head torqued>Clutch/PP/Flywheel Mounted>Timing Set

SR20DET

SR20DET

SR20DET

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 4th, 2012, 1:47 pm

Over the next week, while I was at work, Mike was busy putting things together, eventually he secured the engine inside the car. Meanwhile trying to rice it a bit I sent the valve cover over to my close friend and painter Mr. Doc who did an awesome job for me as you guys will see soon enough.

Being at work, I didn't have the time to work on the car myself so it was all left up to Mike with some assistance from Darren aka "8" they mount up the headlights and indicators for me, they even wired up the halos and led too. This was overwhelming when I saw the progress they had made with the car.

Headlights>New FMIC Installed>Modified Bumper

Almost completed pic>Installed Turbo>Wastegate>Intake Piping>Injectors

Still to put on heatwrap 8-)

Car almost ready to drive, as it stands today its just the exhaust down pipe to finish up.

Can't wait to get it driving :oops:

GA15DE-T

Re: Terrence's FWD SR20DET B14 (Update: REBIRTH Page 4)

Postby GA15DE-T » March 4th, 2012, 2:01 pm

HA 1st man to see the post and comment :D

I cant wait to see how it going to perform..

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 4th, 2012, 2:15 pm

Car was very impressive before, and looked NORMAL...

Now the car looks GREAT and im sure its gonna pull insane with that **** :D TURBO!

Talk about JDM "FANCY" Parts...man have HKS injectors yes...hmmphhh when uh biggg :lol:

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » March 4th, 2012, 2:39 pm

wow :shock:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » March 4th, 2012, 3:31 pm

Good going boss man!! We have a few parts well in common lol

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » March 4th, 2012, 7:03 pm

ploi look good boi even better in person

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 4th, 2012, 7:13 pm

certificate of fyyahz gheeing established.

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » March 4th, 2012, 8:20 pm

NXTREME wrote:
My Gearbox Collection :|

Yuh ha gearbox to give away hoss. :lol:

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 4th, 2012, 9:32 pm

Thanks for all the positive comments guys.

Well I home whole day today and I now seeing these guys work on the car today and sorted out the shifter so its back on the road, just to do some exhaust work now. They sent me this pic of BBM:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 5th, 2012, 12:13 pm

^^weyy Terrence,ur car looking real bess dawgy! glad to see everything falling into place with ur project!

good luck in ur future endeavors. :)

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 5th, 2012, 1:42 pm

yeh bai syndicate, thanks for the big up, wen yuh bringing the car for we to give it a lil tune up boiii

nigie

Postby nigie » March 5th, 2012, 2:27 pm

Great project ..serious work going down...this must runnnnnn....big up!!!

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » March 5th, 2012, 8:36 pm

nice documenting bro...neatness going on...keep it flowing..wish i had the time to do such. :cry: ......around south?

GA15DE-T

Postby GA15DE-T » March 5th, 2012, 10:11 pm

BullWUkk performance Fellas.......

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » March 5th, 2012, 10:15 pm

Doh make meh blush nah hehehee, Thanks dude , Looking besss bro , car gonna pull insane for sheezy , some slikkys and twelvies here we come hey heyyyy

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 6th, 2012, 5:11 am

we goh see what going on, i taking my time as usual, i wanna see how the car will perform first and give it some test runs on the tracks :mrgreen:

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 6th, 2012, 6:49 am

slimshiney wrote:nice documenting bro...neatness going on...keep it flowing..wish i had the time to do such. :cry: ......around south?

slimshiney, the car is from penal, but its more or less built and tuned in central. been burnt numerous times trusting mechanics from south, i guess that was just my experience, the main reason i choose to document my build through each phase is for tuners to see the quality of work being done by our garage. remember it was done on time an on a simple basis with the reliability and performance factors kept in check.

lots of tuners do similar builds an they are reluctant to giving advice, i believe the more information and knowledge u share the more will come to you. :D

Postby turbosingh » March 6th, 2012, 9:09 am

Can't wait to see this pull :mrgreen:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 6th, 2012, 9:16 pm

NXTREME wrote:yeh bai syndicate, thanks for the big up, wen yuh bringing the car for we to give it a lil tune up boiii

after seeing the kind of monster cars coming from that garage,i shame to bring my little turtle there! :oops:

soon though....i fell i need a LITTLE push! :mrgreen: :drinking:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 6th, 2012, 9:18 pm

NXTREME wrote:
slimshiney wrote:nice documenting bro...neatness going on...keep it flowing..wish i had the time to do such. :cry: ......around south?

slimshiney, the car is from penal, but its more or less built and tuned in central. been burnt numerous times trusting mechanics from south, i guess that was just my experience, the main reason i choose to document my build through each phase is for tuners to see the quality of work being done by our garage. remember it was done on time an on a simple basis with the reliability and performance factors kept in check.

lots of tuners do similar builds an they are reluctant to giving advice, i believe the more information and knowledge u share the more will come to you. :D

X2! :fadein:

$m@llboy

Postby $m@llboy » March 6th, 2012, 9:38 pm

Beautiful project, man. Well done.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 7th, 2012, 7:38 am

thanks again guys, men done start inbox me for info yes. like i said before knowledge is to share, is about time people stop this fight down thing for the sake of Motorsports.

Anyways picked up the car yesterday, shockingly the car is bit quieter with the new turbo. The car's driveability has remained perfect, hayden tuner did make a few adjustments to compensate for the bigger injectors, i cant even tell parts have been changed. these guys have really done a great job.

the car looks awesome with the new lights, have to look around for some HIDs etc. still has some breaking in to do before i do a final tune, most likely a dyno tune should be done soon :mrgreen:

Postby turbosingh » March 7th, 2012, 8:10 am

Check meh for the HIDs :mrgreen:

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 7th, 2012, 8:16 am

rite now looking for some 6000k for the fogs. pm what u got naaa.

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » March 7th, 2012, 11:30 pm

NXTREME wrote:thanks again guys, men done start inbox me for info yes. like i said before knowledge is to share, is about time people stop this fight down thing for the sake of Motorsports.

Anyways picked up the car yesterday, shockingly the car is bit quieter with the new turbo. The car's driveability has remained perfect, hayden tuner did make a few adjustments to compensate for the bigger injectors, i cant even tell parts have been changed. these guys have really done a great job.

the car looks awesome with the new lights, have to look around for some HIDs etc. still has some breaking in to do before i do a final tune, most likely a dyno tune should be done soon :mrgreen:

kudos.......for back to the road...from the pics..it really does look clean with those head lamps...guess we'll be hearing lots about it............it's good off u to share yuh info dey pal.............keep it flowing...

yakuza

Postby yakuza » March 8th, 2012, 6:32 am

NXTREME wrote:Block completely assembled by lunch time>team work FTW! :mrgreen:
Why didn't you deck the block with the front cover (oil pump) on?
Now your mating surface is not true.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 8th, 2012, 7:38 am

i agree with what u saying, but this has been done like this before on all our sr builds an it was checked before it was put up, so really its a none issue.
Last edited by NXTREME on March 8th, 2012, 9:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 8th, 2012, 7:41 am

Finally carried it to align, Mike adjusted the camber perfectly for me on the TEIN coilovers, so it just needed alignment.

This is a shot of the car at G&A Wheel Alignment Center in Debe, been doing my alignment more than a year now, never had any issues and they always willing to check it back for me at no extra fee.