<<2010 Trinituner F1 Thread>>

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 6th, 2010, 2:49 pm

10 Things To Look Forward To In 2010

There are so many new things to look forward to in 2010, despite Richard Branson getting more heavily involved in the sport.

The Flavio Decision
A French court is about to deliver a happy new year or a grumpy new year to Flavio Briatore. They are set to rule whether the FIA acted outside their remit by banning the Renault boss for his involvement in Crashgate. Whatever the outcome, it's unlikely to end here.

26 Cars on the Grid
The last time we had 26 cars on the grid for any number of races it was back in the 1995 season. Now we're back with a full grid in F1. We don't necessarily have the best 13 teams lining up - how else could you explain the absence of Lola and the FIA's previously preferred new team, Prodrive. But it will certainly add to the spectacle. The marshals will have more to do, the leaders will have more backmarkers to pass and Monaco should be gridlock.

Proper Stewarding
Mosley resisted it for so long and Todt has embraced it straight away; the idea that somebody who knows what he's talking about should get involved in stewarding decisions i.e. a driver. Four stewards will now be sitting at each grand prix rather than the current three. These will be made up of those drawn from a smaller permanent group of F1 stewards and ex-drivers, along with one steward representing the National Sporting Authority holding the grand prix. The four stewards will electing their own chairman at each race. At last we have the chance of consistency of decisions, something that's been totally lacking in recent years.

Schumi's Return
There will be a lot to look forward to in Bahrain, not least the return of Felipe Massa after his enforced absence. But as the bright-eyed rookies take to the track and the new teams roll out their unfamiliar liveries, the world's media will be encamped outside the Mercedes garage. Because the return of the most successful driver in motorsport history will be the biggest news story going at the Sakhir Circuit

Senna back in F1
Providing the Campos team can get their car together in time - Bernie has hinted that he's less than convinced - Bruno Senna will make his F1 debut. Thus we will have the winningest driver of all time on the grid and the nephew of the best driver of all time on the grid. Bruno doesn't pretend to be Ayrton, but any tussle with Schumi will revive some dusty old Schumacher vs Senna headlines. And let's face it, Bruno is more of a Senna than the Tony Fernandes Lotus is a Lotus.

Hamilton vs Button
Massa vs Alonso
Rosberg vs Schumacher
Schumacher vs Vettel
There are going to be some titanic inter-team tussles in 2010 and it all kicks off in Bahrain (it might even kick off before that). Hamilton will want to show Button who's the better World Champ, Massa will want to keep team honours at Ferrari, Nico Rosberg will want to prove he can live with a living and Vettel will want to be the fastest German.

The Korean GP
With each new GP track there is the hope and expectation that Herr Tilke has finally cracked it and delivered a race track that is truly memorable. Trouble is when the media arrive at a new circuit they tend to look at the buildings, such as the grandstands in Shanghai and Malaysia, the pit complex in Bahrain and the hotels in Singapore and Abu Dhabi. There's been so many new tracks now that the law of averages must kick in sooner or later.

Changes to Silverstone
Silverstone bosses have said they will have the new arena circuit - designed for the long-awaited Moto GP race - in action by March and there's still a possibility that the F1 cars could run on it in July. The shape of things to come now that it's got the race for 17 years.

Changes to Monaco?
Back in the summer, there were diggers in action at the Monaco tunnel exit (as this exclusive PF1 photo reveals) and the road down to the chicane was being pulled up. Does this mean that we're going to have a straight road down there and a possible overtaking opportunity in the Monaco GP? We can but sit and hope.

Running on Full Tanks
It might be a false dawn, but with refuelling banned in 2010, drivers are going to have to get used to testing and racing with a lot more fuel on board. And while practice sessions could be done on relatively low levels of fuel in the past, the range of characteristics that a driver is going to have to set the car up for this season are huge. Qualifying will be done with no fuel and they'll start the race with 200 miles' worth. So there's the chance for more than a few errors to creep in. It's a situation just made for the greatest adaptor of all, Michael Schumacher.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 7th, 2010, 8:43 am

and now we know who the Iceman likes in F1 and why!

Kimi Raikkonen has tipped Sebastian Vettel for this year's World title - but that's based more on likeability than ability.

The Finn, who quit Formula One at the end of last season in favour of a switch to the World Rally Championship, admits this year's Championship could be a tight affair.

While the 2009 season was dominated by Brawn GP, now running as Mercedes GP, and Red Bull Racing, traditional front-runners Ferrari and McLaren had a difficult time of things.

However, both teams are expected to come to the fore again in 2010, making it rather difficult to predict a winner.

But, if he had to choose, Raikkonen says he would hand the title to Red Bull racer Vettel.

"Hard to say," he told the 'The Red Bulletin' when asked for his opinion on who might win the title.

"I don't know what Ferrari's plans are. Mercedes will probably have a good car, so will McLaren.

"Red Bull Racing probably will too, so I'm going to have to award the title based on who I like: Sebastian Vettel - he's so down to earth."

Postby teems1 » January 7th, 2010, 10:54 am

that, and mebbe also the fact his rallying Citroen team is sponsored by Red Bull...

Watch for Kimi in Mark Webber's seat in 2011

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 7th, 2010, 5:16 pm

^ good point!

Postby noshownogo » January 8th, 2010, 7:56 am

Agreed, Kimi will have preference for Webber's seat in 2011. Kimi and Vettel would make a great team.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 10th, 2010, 9:43 am

well excuuuuuuuuuuuuse me!

Lewis Hamilton has upped the ante ahead of the 2010 Formula One season by claiming he "blew" Fernando Alonso away during his debut season in 2007.

Hamilton came agonisingly close to winning the World Championship in his rookie year - losing out by just one point to Kimi Raikkonen after he could only finish seventh in the final race of the season. His then team-mate, double World Champion Alonso, finished on the same number of points but was third by virtue of having less podium finishes than the Brit.

Although it was "sickening" to lose the Championship in that fashion, Hamilton says he got a lot of satisfaction from beating team-mate Alonso.

"I definitely didn't blame myself for the year that I missed out," he said during an interview with McLaren team sponsor Johnnie Walker. "It was my first season in Formula 1, alongside a World Champion - a double World Champion - and I blew him away. I beat him.

"No-one has ever come into their first year and been at the front, let alone beat a World Champion, beat the mentality and the strength that he would have had and his experience in Formula 1 already up to that point.

"I'm very proud of the whole experience of leading the World Championship for most of the year, and it's sickening, for sure, to think we lost it in the last couple of races.

"There's no answer I can possibly come up with except for fate. I was leading and needed a couple of points in the last two races. I barely got one. The worst two races of the whole year. In one I went off, the second one the car stopped and it never stopped on me before. It was a growing experienced and made me who I am today."

http://www.planetf1.com/story/0,18954,3 ... 10,00.html

JWT

Postby JWT » January 10th, 2010, 2:12 pm

Schmi will have a hard time against the younger ones but i think this new fuel rule will put a damper on F1 interms of strategy. Qualifying will now become a must win

Postby noshownogo » January 11th, 2010, 9:04 am

JWT, i dunno bout that, i actually think being in front at the start of a race with no fuel stops may be to your detriment. Firstly you can't drive hard from the start like previous seasons with fuel stops. Secondly being behind the front runners would mean draft, lower wind resistance and greater fuel economy giving those drivers a chance to open up in the final few laps with a lighter car giving them the ability to be significantly faster.

JWT

Postby JWT » January 11th, 2010, 10:32 am

Agreed but again remember stops were used in strategy to give drivers a chance to really run the car to make time for the stop, without that well have no idea i am guessing tire changes will be even more critical.
Also i waiting to hear how much these cars weigh with the full tank of fuel it will make a huge difference.

Postby noshownogo » January 11th, 2010, 10:43 am

the average car weighed 680kgs with driver on a three stop strategy at the beginning of a race in the 2009 season.

My guess is as good as yours on the weight for the upcoming season.

Postby teems1 » January 11th, 2010, 11:28 am

Well trained and disciplined pit crews will be a huge factor.

No more refueling, so the pit stop time would go from 10ish seconds to 3ish. That was an extra 7ish seconds to fix an error in case something happened with a tyre.

I could foresee lots of errors and mistakes happening causing people to lose positions.

Freelander

Postby Freelander » January 11th, 2010, 12:11 pm

officially Hamilton and Scherzinger no longer a couple so hammy might actually concentrate on racing now instead of checking the stands for bouncing boobies....

Postby noshownogo » January 11th, 2010, 12:45 pm

man say he upgrading for the 2010 season oui :shock:

Postby Maserati » January 12th, 2010, 11:11 am

Freelander wrote:officially Hamilton and Scherzinger no longer a couple so hammy might actually concentrate on racing now instead of checking the stands for bouncing boobies....

really :P

Postby noshownogo » January 12th, 2010, 11:29 am

Maserati, Hammie is all yours now, you movin in for de kill or wha? :|

calleocho

Postby calleocho » January 14th, 2010, 12:56 pm

Well its final
Commenting on his time working with Shell, Michael said,

"I have really enjoyed working with all the people at Shell over the last 14 years both in my capacity as a driver for Ferrari and as a brand ambassador. I am especially grateful for the support of the Shell scientists, who made a significant contribution to our success at Ferrari, developing championship winning fuels and lubricants. I have had some great experiences working with Shell all over the world, promoting V-Power fuels and Shell Helix motor oils. Most recently I have been involved in Shell's road safety initiatives and I applaud Shell for taking such a lead in this vitally important area. Unfortunately, due to my new commitments with Mercedes GP, I am unable to continue in my role as a Shell brand ambassador. Shell is a tremendous company and I wish you continued success."

Postby Maserati » January 14th, 2010, 1:00 pm

nah Hammie is Banzai one

I'll take Nicole not a problem

look how lonely she looks :( :( :(

Freelander

Postby Freelander » January 14th, 2010, 3:13 pm

*unzips pants to comfort her*

shhh babyy shh it's gonna be ok I'll make the pain go away

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 14th, 2010, 3:36 pm

daz how de man treat she? she was there for nearly every race and de man dump she like ah ole hoe? de phoq...

umm, Freelander, link on that quote please? :oops: or this is like how Chelsea gonna win CL, a nice dream but never really gonna happen :| :lol:

Postby Maserati » January 14th, 2010, 3:49 pm

Freelander wrote:*unzips pants to comfort her*

ROFL :lol: :lol:

guess we'll not see her in Montreal :cry:

plex

Postby plex » January 14th, 2010, 5:41 pm

Freelander wrote:*unzips pants to comfort her*

plex

Postby plex » January 14th, 2010, 5:44 pm

Alonso sure Ferrari will be his last team

Fernando Alonso says he is absolutely sure he will finish his Formula 1 career at the Ferrari team, despite having just joined the Maranello squad.

The two-time world champion has joined Ferrari to replace Finn Kimi Raikkonen as Felipe Massa's team-mate from this year, having agreed a three-year contract.

Although the Spaniard will not be able to test his new car until next month, he says he is already feeling at home, having been working with the team in his visits to the factory.

"We have had contact, especially with my race engineer and the technicians of the team," Alonso told reporters at Ferrari's media event in the Dolomites.

"We kept exchanging emails and phone calls and I'm always updated about the development of the car so we can be perfectly ready when the tests start in February.

"We have worked well. From day one I found myself at home at the team. There is like a family feeling from the start. When I went to Maranello I saw the passion of the people that are working at Ferrari. It is something unique in Formula 1.

When asked if he was sure he will finish his career at Ferrari, he said: "I'm 100 per cent sure."

"For any driver, coming to Ferrari is the best thing you can do in your career," Alonso added.

"It's almost impossible to find the motivation to race for another team after racing for Ferrari, because you will never find the same environment or have the same feeling due to its history.

"It's a legendary team represented by the prancing horse. Of course I feel calm now because I've achieved one of my goals."

Alonso, the 2005 and 2006 champion, admitted it will be difficult for him to win the title in his first year with Ferrari, and reckons he will need a few races before he's fully integrated at the team.

"Of course it's difficult," he said. "I know I'm going to have to adapt very quickly to the car.

"I only have seven, eight days of testing in February and I know that perhaps in the first three, four races we will not be 100 per cent adjusted to the car and to the team.

"But from race three or four I'm sure we will be able to see the best version of Alonso as well as the best version of Ferrari."

And the Spanish driver is well aware that emulating the success Michael Schumacher enjoyed with Ferrari is also a tall order.

"You always want to win, but I think seven titles is something that is nearly impossible to repeat these days," he said. "I think Formula 1 now is so close and the rules are very strict.

"The competition now is about two or three tenths, so winning five championships in a row, or four like Michael did, is something very difficult to repeat."

Alonso claimed he now feels much more ready to tackle the Ferrari challenge than a few years ago.

"I don't know what Kimi gave to the team," he said when asked what he can bring that Raikkonen didn't.

"I'm here to give the team all my professionality, to give all my skills to drive the car, and outside of the car I know the driver must continue to work with the engineers as well for the development of the car.

"Also to establish a good relationship with the fans, with the media, and so I think I'm more prepared now than when I won my championships with Renault, and also when I was with McLaren.

"Today I feel much more ready, much more prepared to tackle this challenge, which is not easy because Ferrari is known throughout the world and many expect a lot from you around the world.

"It could be in Japan, in Europe, in India, because Ferrari is known everywhere, and so your results have a big impact on the media and we know we have to win."

Autosport

dmitc

Postby dmitc » January 15th, 2010, 10:29 am

^^ Blah blah blah blah blah

Nothing FA says is worth reading or as a matter of fact posting

plex

Postby plex » January 17th, 2010, 7:47 am

Di Resta close to Force India role

Paul di Resta says he is close to a deal to become Force India's reserve driver this season, after impressing the team in a test at the end of last year.

The Scotsman, who shone during a maiden appearance in the young driver test days at Jerez last December, says he is '90 per cent' of the way towards completing a breakthrough deal that will get him into Formula 1.

"Things are moving along quite strong," di Resta said on the main stage at the AUTOSPORT International Show.

"Since the test for sure we have been in talks, and I would say we are about 90 per cent there. We are in the final stages of finishing off for the programme they have set and hopefully we can build a very long and strong relationship for me to try and race with Force India in the future."

Paul di Resta, Force India, Jerez testing 2009Di Resta said he hoped that if a deal did come off, it would put him in a prime spot to prove to the outfit that he deserved a chance to race in 2011.

"The two drivers they have - Adrian [Sutil] did a very good job last year. And also Tonio [Liuzzi]. It is a fight to get a seat, and I am going to try and fight for that - and try to prove to Force India that I am capable of getting in that car and doing the same job they can if not better," he said.

Speaking about his Jerez outing last year, di Resta said: "We had a very difficult year in the DTM last year. It did not get off to the best start but then, during the year, we started talking to Force India. And thankfully they gave me an opportunity to go down to Jerez and do three half days in the car.

"It was a big opportunity and something I have waited a long time to do, to get a serious chance to drive the car, and it was very productive. We came out very strong and also moved forward and built a relationship with Force India."

Autosport

JWT

Postby JWT » January 17th, 2010, 9:41 pm

Aite Ferrari needs to dig up ENZO and put him back at the helm. They need to get testing the new chassis and get it t its best asap. I need to see a red 1st and 2nd

Postby MG Man » January 17th, 2010, 9:52 pm

JB FTW 2010

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 18th, 2010, 5:03 am

Lewis Hamilton has upped the ante ahead of the 2010 Formula One season by claiming he "blew" Fernando Alonso away during his debut season in 2007.

Is this guy for real?

Postby noshownogo » January 18th, 2010, 9:01 am

MG Man wrote:JB FTW 2010

sorry but 2009 champion will be that and only that...

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 18th, 2010, 9:14 am

Interesting idea, but Bernie's idea is just madness...but then again its Bernie, shouldn't be surprised :wink:

PlanetF1 can unveil the new PF1 Tour de France chicane that could revolutionise dull processional motorsport races, where cars follow each other for lap after lap.

http://www.planetf1.com/story/0,18954,3 ... 70,00.html

Postby MG Man » January 18th, 2010, 9:18 am

Knight1 wrote:

Is this guy for real?

nobody sensible takes on hamilton
his head trying to swell up to match his ears
he keeps forgetting Kimi would have wiped his ase with his ears if the red team did not screw up so much.......
I have no doubt hamstinker will win another world championship at some point, but he will always be a prat