Guess the car

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 25th, 2005, 3:14 pm

I don't know my newer cars well enough to answer this one :oops:

Val

Postby Val » November 25th, 2005, 3:27 pm

lol, sheit, I think I forget the name yes

I'll give the ppl a chance

Postby MG Man » November 25th, 2005, 8:25 pm

wagonrunner wrote:just kidding..............:lol:

came across it on ebay.
it's a 1950 Talbot Lago T26 Record Cabriolet RHD
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/1950-Talbot-Lago- ... otohosting

crap, ah was rel off dey boi

Postby MG Man » November 29th, 2005, 4:08 pm

before ah fall off page 1

Val

Postby Val » November 29th, 2005, 6:56 pm

btw, the car I posted was a Bizarrini Concept something or de other

MG Man, let me guess dat one, hmm, a Renault Rust!! lol :lol:

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » November 29th, 2005, 7:15 pm

looks american....

Val

Postby Val » November 29th, 2005, 7:17 pm

looks american....

cause it rusty ent?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » November 29th, 2005, 7:19 pm

:lol: :lol: well thats one thing and the shape looks like an american design more than renault

Val

Postby Val » November 29th, 2005, 7:24 pm

eh, but we agree that it is Tetanus-in-Motion right??? :D

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » November 30th, 2005, 1:45 am

agree'd. :mrgreen:

Postby MG Man » November 30th, 2005, 8:43 am

and I thought this would be easy
Hint.........its a EURO

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » November 30th, 2005, 10:44 am

Looks like a cross between a Humber Super Snipe and a Vauxhall Velox...
Gimme ah while I'll get back to you.

Postby MG Man » November 30th, 2005, 12:00 pm

well u on de right track, but is not a Vauxhall :wink: is vauxhall 'family'

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 30th, 2005, 12:56 pm

MG Man wrote:lol
and I thought this would be easy
Hint.........its a EURO

I knew that, but as to what exactly, you have meh tie up.
I go have to do some thinking and searching.

fletch

Postby fletch » November 30th, 2005, 5:13 pm

Would that be an Opel Record?

Postby MG Man » December 1st, 2005, 12:45 pm

fletch wrote:Would that be an Opel Record?

bah-dah -bing!

well ReKord, actually........same as Vauxhall Velox and Holden somethingortheother.........all GM Badge engineered with trans-atlantic styling, hence the American styling influence

OK Fletch, your turn

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 1st, 2005, 2:55 pm

My guess is two stag, ice cold....

ohho, he eh post yet :oops:

Postby MG Man » December 1st, 2005, 3:21 pm

^^^ punk :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

fletch

Postby fletch » December 1st, 2005, 4:13 pm

Right lemme hear ya.

Postby MG Man » December 1st, 2005, 4:33 pm

don't have a clue........headlights remind me of a lancia flaminia, but grille looks Fiat

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » December 1st, 2005, 4:46 pm

ok folks try on this one for sight , no pic its a question .
the motor in it comes from the rover p5 and the body it came in was supposed to have replaced the mini , and sports an A series powerplant as well- when bone stock .
limitied in production , very potent car , especially in rallycross , can you guess what car is it ? :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 1st, 2005, 5:22 pm

what is:
Austin metro?

Yeo

Postby Yeo » December 1st, 2005, 7:22 pm

The car wore many names: Austin Metro, MG Metro, Rover Metro and Rover 100 series for its passenger cars. There was also a Morris van version. The range was cancelled in 1998, effectively replaced by the Rover 200.

In the autumn of 1980, British Leyland introduced one of the most common and instantly recognisable cars in Britain since the Mini 21 years earlier. The Austin Metro was intended as a replacement for the Mini, but used a larger design which was badged as being more modern and practical. Yet some of the Mini's underpinnings were carried over into the Metro, namely the 998 cc and 1275 cc A-Series engines and much of the front-wheel drivetrain and four-speed manual gearbox. The Metro used the Hydragas suspension system found on the Allegro. The hatchback body shell was one of the most spacious of its time and this was a significant factor in its popularity. Initially, the Metro was sold as a hatchback with just three doors.

The Metro range was expanded during 1982 to include the Vanden Plas and MG versions. The Vanden Plas version was biased towards luxury and high equipment levels, while the more powerful MG Metro 1.3 sold as a sports model. Soon afterwards there was an MG Metro 1.3 Turbo with a top speed of 110mph. The 1985 Metro 6R4 was equipeed with a mid mounted V6 engine, four wheel drive and a top speed of over 120mph.

A mild facelift during 1985 saw some minor styling modifications to the Metro's front end, along with a new dashboard design and the long-awaited 5-door version but little else was changed. The lack of a 5-speed transmission would become a major handicap as time went on - the BMC sump-mounted gearbox was never developed to accommodate an extra gear ratio, which was a severe handicap against the opposition. The Hydragas suspension also gave the car a harsh, bouncy ride despite pleas from the system's inventor Dr. Alex Moulton that it should be interconnected front-to-rear as opposed to side-to-side as was found on the production version.

While the Metro was a huge seller in the UK, it had gained a reputation for unreliability and lacklustre build quality early in its career which dented its appeal in foreign markets, where the likes of the Volkswagen Polo, Fiat Uno and Peugeot 205 were firmly established favourites.

Engines:

1980–1990 - 998 cc A-Series I4, 41 hp (31 kW) at 5400 rpm and 51 ft·lbf (69 Nm) at 2700 rpm
1980–1990 - 1275 cc A-Series I4, 63 hp (47 kW) at 5650 rpm and 72 ft·lbf (98 Nm) at 3100 rpm
1982–1989 - 1275 cc A-Series I4, 72 hp (54 kW) at 6000 rpm and 73 ft·lbf (99 Nm) at 4000 rpm (MG Metro)
1983–1989 - 1275 cc A-Series turbo I4, 93 hp (69 kW) at 6130 rpm and 85 ft·lbf (115 Nm) at 2650 rpm (MG Metro Turbo)
1989–1990 - 1275 cc A-Series I4, 73 hp (54 kW) at 6000 rpm and 73 ft·lbf (99 Nm) at 4000 rpm (MG Metro GTa)

fletch

Postby fletch » December 1st, 2005, 9:05 pm

:?: :?: :?: :?:

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » December 1st, 2005, 9:27 pm

well you guys are half right , so i'll give you another chance

fletch

Postby fletch » December 1st, 2005, 9:50 pm

R u refering to a Rover 6R4?

Postby MG Man » December 5th, 2005, 8:12 am

fletch wrote::?: :?: :?: :?:

well????
I made my guess, so buss de mark nuh :P

fletch

Postby fletch » December 5th, 2005, 10:23 am

Its Gordon-Keeble GT

100 produced
Space frame chassis
Body by Giorgetto Giugiaro then at Bertone
Chevy V8
Loads if aircraft bits
www.gordonkeeble.com

fletch

Postby fletch » December 5th, 2005, 10:25 am

Question for you all.

What was the last production use for the engine used in the Rover P5 and then 6R4 as above?

Postby MG Man » December 5th, 2005, 5:08 pm

fletch wrote:Question for you all.

What was the last production use for the engine used in the Rover P5 and then 6R4 as above?

too much thinkin

hol dis

pretty easy