Old School Projects

d spike

Re: Old School Projects

Postby d spike » December 13th, 2011, 8:21 am

cinco wrote:black smoke yuh over fueling
carb/plugs/points

Quite right... but remember, bob is ah trini - to him all smoke is black :lol:
Kingbob, there is a difference in the exhaust smoke depending on the problem. Really black smoke means you are burning too rich, while the exhaust of an oil-burning engine tends to be rather white.

But based on the following symptom:
king bob wrote:well i gettin blace smoke when i mash out

I suspect that this smoke is due to oil being burnt, as this "smoking upon quick acceleration" is the result of oil on the cylinder walls (which builds up during idling) being washed off by the "flushing action" of the larger charge of fuel and burnt.

If this is the only time the engine is smoking (and your pocket isn't deep) then don't fix what ain't broke yet :lol:
Once your right foot isn't heavy, then she will last a while - a year +, (if you clean the plugs REGULARLY - and re-route the blow-by gases ['back-pressure"] away from the top of the carb... fellahs used to run it through a hose under the car) I nursed a Galant in this condition for 2 years... she is now running from North to Point Lisas and back every day with no complaints... yet to get a rings job)

There is one more thing (I almost forgot :oops: ):
The oil breaks down, but to the average guy, one is topping up regularly so there is no need to do an oil-change... this couldn't be more wrong! I do it every 3 months, and use Bardahl2 religiously.

The biggest problem with an engine job is the "down-time". If you can afford to not have the car in use, then do the rings job.
king bob wrote: i goin an buy a engine kit an wuk some magic

Doing it yourself will be cheaper by far and can be done in 3 days, but there are certain things you will need (especially if you are a little rough in your driving) otherwise you will actually end up spending more money (when you frig-up the engine):
a torque wrench;
the torque settings for the major bolts and nuts;
and your "engine kit".
The best investment you will ever make (if you intend to keep the car) is to buy the Haynes manual for it (Mohammed book-store has it).
This book has all the torque settings, as well as complete tear-down and rebuild explanations, pictures etc.

My dotish advice is to take your time, acquire all what you need to do the job first... MAINTAIN your car (check under the bonnet every day, even if it means getting up extra early - don't jump jump in and bounce starter... that is the difference between fellahs who seem to have cars that run problem-free for years, and those whose vehicles deteriorate as soon as they get them)

...or ban' yuh jaw an' give it to de fellah to fix... he will take a few weeks... as well as some good pesh... and yuh tackle a job like this when yuh t'ink yuh really ready for it. No shame in that.

nigie

Postby nigie » December 13th, 2011, 9:09 am

Bob which engine u going 2 try to fix?

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 13th, 2011, 6:37 pm

nigie wrote:Bob which engine u going 2 try to fix?

d man daily driver 626 magnum engine giving him a little headache

king bob

Postby king bob » December 13th, 2011, 7:50 pm

i bandin meh jaw and droppin it by d uy and ask his opinion fix or change, cus a magnum by me is 1500, so if it costin 2500+ i feel i go change him an done he stories.

king bob

Postby king bob » December 13th, 2011, 7:54 pm

and in d mean time attend 2 d hunter body like if is a sweet red woman lol >_<

Postby cinco » December 13th, 2011, 7:56 pm

bob if you can afford it buy the used engine put it in and strip down yours and learn to rebuild it
the experience is invaluable and you already will have an engine on the ground to dig around with
btw i realllllyyyyyyyy think you over stressin that engine backpressuring and black smoke
its almost a design of dem magnum :lol:
get yuh carb cleaned and adjusted and change yuh plugs and points and get yuh timing set
(advancing it a bit actually helps wid dem engine)

nigie

Postby nigie » December 13th, 2011, 11:56 pm

Bob if u going 2 try and fix the magnum yourself i have a book somewhere that ill give u ...just have 2 dig up for it...
but ill tell u that 626 was the second most fuel burning car i ever had...actually thats why i got rid of it...

d spike

Postby d spike » December 14th, 2011, 1:00 am

cinco wrote:bob if you can afford it buy the used engine put it in and strip down yours and learn to rebuild it
the experience is invaluable and you already will have an engine on the ground to dig around with
btw i realllllyyyyyyyy think you over stressin that engine backpressuring and black smoke
get yuh carb cleaned and adjusted and change yuh plugs and points and get yuh timing set

I agree with Cinco.

king bob wrote:and in d mean time attend 2 d hunter body like if is a sweet red woman

Yuh mean yuh going tuh rough it up, beat it like a snake, drink heavy liquor an' give it level horn? :shock: :shock: oh gormm... (When yuh talk tuh dem so, yuh swear all men does be like dat... :lol: :lol: )

king bob

Postby king bob » December 14th, 2011, 6:22 am

lol guys, i'll do the same ting wid d 1725 as well, but idk if i can stretch 2 buy d spare engine 1 time bt i puttin that advice on my 2 do list

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 14th, 2011, 6:44 am

nigie wrote:Bob if u going 2 try and fix the magnum yourself i have a book somewhere that ill give u ...just have 2 dig up for it...
but ill tell u that 626 was the second most fuel burning car i ever had...actually thats why i got rid of it...

I have heard that complaint before but I always thought it was a case of bad tuning

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 14th, 2011, 6:47 am

d spike wrote:
cinco wrote:bob if you can afford it buy the used engine put it in and strip down yours and learn to rebuild it

I agree with Cinco.

king bob wrote:and in d mean time attend 2 d hunter body like if is a sweet red woman

Yuh mean yuh going tuh rough it up, beat it like a snake, drink heavy liquor an' give it level horn? :shock: :shock: oh gormm... (When yuh talk tuh dem so, yuh swear all men does be like dat... :lol: :lol: )

Three things a man doh need...a old car,tight shoes and a bad red woman

d spike

Postby d spike » December 14th, 2011, 7:45 am

NOMOSS wrote:
Three things a man doh need...a old car,tight shoes and a bad red woman

Yuh want mines? Choose one, an' get de next two free :lol: :lol:

king bob wrote:lol guys, i'll do the same ting wid d 1725 as well, but idk if i can stretch 2 buy d spare engine 1 time bt i puttin that advice on my 2 do list

I'd hate to sound like a stuck record, but take cinco's advice. (You haven't said as yet what was wrong with the Mazda... if all you did to get it to start is change the plugs, then the problem most likely does not require major surgery to solve - just maintenance Red 'oman talk again :lol: .)
Once the 1725 was running properly, then all it needs is to place the distributor properly - just follow the steps I outlined in the PM.

Postby cinco » December 14th, 2011, 8:00 am

bob just now spike and i go stop advising yuh eh
i giving you the most solid advise i can you sound like you just want to trow money at it that is totally unecessary you can rally that engine out as is
you even open the air filter cover and see if it have oil in it?

nigie

Postby nigie » December 14th, 2011, 8:26 am

My brother in law got rid of his 626 because of the power steering pump..and yes...im bashing magnum 626... :mrgreen:

d spike

Postby d spike » December 14th, 2011, 8:45 am

nigie wrote:My brother in law got rid of his 626 because of the power steering pump..and yes...im bashing magnum 626... :mrgreen:

Bob is a 19 year-old now finding his way...
Bob don't change the engine just yet - that is unnecessary expense that could be channeled elsewhere. Live with the magnum for now, like a one-legged 50 year-old whore, she might not win approval, but she can teach you a helluva lot.

Postby cinco » December 14th, 2011, 8:52 am

get rid off a car because of power steering???
you dont even need that on that car steups

nigie

Postby nigie » December 14th, 2011, 10:10 am

cinco wrote:get rid off a car because of power steering???

Yes the power steering unit was troublesome leaking and making noise (common problem) and was 3500 $ on the foreign used market...and if u buy a engine...they used 2 take it off... for resale separately

Postby cinco » December 14th, 2011, 10:24 am

yeh but you can just take off the p/s

d spike

Postby d spike » December 14th, 2011, 3:39 pm

cinco wrote:get rid off a car because of power steering???

Damned right!!!!
Now that's what I call a real man!
Cinco is my hero. :lol:

Kingbob, exactly in what condition is the Mazda's engine?

Postby wagonrunner » December 14th, 2011, 4:09 pm

d spike wrote:Kingbob, exactly in what condition is the Mazda's engine?

It's a mazda 4 cylinder. how much worse you need him to tell you it is? :lol: :lol:

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 14th, 2011, 4:35 pm

d spike wrote:
nigie wrote:My brother in law got rid of his 626 because of the power steering pump..and yes...im bashing magnum 626... :mrgreen:

Bob is a 19 year-old now finding his way...
Bob don't change the engine just yet - that is unnecessary expense that could be channeled elsewhere. Live with the magnum for now, like a one-legged 50 year-old whore, she might not win approval, but she can teach you a helluva lot.

Especially if she eh hav no teet

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 14th, 2011, 4:36 pm

It's a mazda 4 cylinder. how much worse you need him to tell you it is? :lol: :lol:

It could have been a Nissan

d spike

Postby d spike » December 14th, 2011, 6:48 pm

NOMOSS wrote:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » December 14th, 2011, 7:13 pm

my project.

All DIY . started rewiring the entire car. Don't know when I'll be finished.

king bob

Postby king bob » December 14th, 2011, 8:48 pm

well, what i realised is that i listned to ppl's speculations like (d car back pressuring, burnin oil)
but frm what i knw 4 sure is that it's leakin oil and d POWER STEERING PUMP gone, and just recently ah buss d radiator :(. and minor things, wiper assembly need repair, need's 2 fix d power windows, tear up d floor mat an check d floor.
bt dise small ting what i say when i get pay i go change d gasket on d oil pan 2 solve d oil leak, fix d electricals , wipers and simmer wid dat we.
and cinco and spike, i listenin 2 ur guys advice and i really really appreciate it alot cus as spike said i'm a 19 yr old now findin my way in d car world so any advice is much appreciated.

king bob

Postby king bob » December 14th, 2011, 8:51 pm

on a lesser note, meh breadrin say he have a v6 for meh, he say 3500 engine an tranny, bt he doh have d b box 4 it, it come out frm they benz. and i knw you ppl go real laugh eh
bt 2 nite d taxi shut down and yuh boy try 2 help d man start he car but 2 no luck :"( he shifter stickin so no matter how much times i bridge d starter it nt catchin d gear lol.

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 14th, 2011, 10:56 pm

Dave-ve wrote:my project.

Well done.Thats the way to do it in this game.DIY.BTW what car is it I recognize the power plant .Is the body 120y??

d spike

Postby d spike » December 15th, 2011, 1:16 am

NOMOSS wrote:
Dave-ve wrote:my project.

Well done.Thats the way to do it in this game.DIY.BTW what car is it I recognize the power plant .Is the body 120y??

Certainly not the Datsun 120y 210B. A Toyota, perhaps?

Postby wagonrunner » December 15th, 2011, 1:20 am

NOMOSS wrote:

then he'd have been better off. :|

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » December 15th, 2011, 5:49 am

280zx