T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby nervewrecker » December 13th, 2014, 11:02 pm

Saw the jetta tsi on display at massy stores today. My curuousity got the better of me and I asked if it comes in manual, guy said no.
Curious again I did a little digging and saw there is a 5fwd and 6fwd version. Is it a mistake or the firm just don't bring the fun models? Saw a lot of people saying that about most brands / models.

Pretty neat little car.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 13th, 2014, 11:50 pm

Firm don't bring manual. Blame Vw and basically the number of people actually willing to purchase manual cars.

Postby cinco » December 13th, 2014, 11:54 pm

I know some one who bought a cy lancer just because they were the only company willing to sell him a manual new car within his budget

Postby 16 cycles » December 14th, 2014, 12:26 am

Whoever buying a ford ranger ...good luck....just saw some going to dealership at 12am....no d plates and redline by drivers...no police escort either...

No wonder ppl having engine problems with them

Postby nervewrecker » December 14th, 2014, 1:00 am

16 cycles wrote:Whoever buying a ford ranger ...good luck....just saw some going to dealership at 12am....no d plates and redline by drivers...no police escort either...

Not the first time this happening on the nations roadways.

Can't blame the firm for not bringing what the minority wants though.
Dragist mentioned something in here, I think was the Mazda speed 2.3L turbocharged. One would hope it was manual :lol:

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » December 14th, 2014, 2:44 am

kamakazi wrote:Have the electrical gremlins been removed from the tucson.... They used to have a lot of problems

Almost my second year of ownership, only problem I had was brake pads that wore out way too fast other than that nothing to complain about. I haven't regretted the purchase what surprised me most was its ability to handle some mud some chunky tyres who knows what it could do, but its no true offroader.

Hyundai has really improved.

Also to tuners who are purchasing new vehicles, heck any vehicle if you can get a scan tool. Recently purchased a new vehicle from a dealership and when I checked the actual mileage from the ecu versus the dash they did not correspond ECU showed it was almost 23k+, just looking out. I am hoping that was engine testing from factory but have received no response to my queries.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 14th, 2014, 11:41 pm

I asked BA if they would bring in a manual golf GTI they said VW only offering them the 6 speed DSG.
Manual would have been cheaper to buy and maintain, more reliable and more fun.
When i checked around the globe alot of other third world countries can't get the manual, Malaysia and UAE are examples ...

Postby cinco » December 15th, 2014, 12:20 am

16 cycles wrote:Whoever buying a ford ranger ...good luck....just saw some going to dealership at 12am....no d plates and redline by drivers...no police escort either...

Dragist mentioned something in here, I think was the Mazda speed 2.3L turbocharged. One would hope it was manual :lol:

The mazdaspeeds 2.3 that are here none were brought through southernshits

Postby DVSTT » December 15th, 2014, 7:47 am

cinco wrote:

The mazdaspeeds 2.3 that are here none were brought through southernshits

Yup

Postby nervewrecker » December 15th, 2014, 10:49 am

Know what I forgot to ask the sales rep for the VW: whats the engine displacement?

Met a guy sometime back but his has a 1.3L, are all 1.3L? Or was it a 1.8L?

Coworkers be miring it.

How did those guys get those mazdaspeed in here then?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 15th, 2014, 11:29 am

nervewrecker wrote:Know what I forgot to ask the sales rep for the VW: whats the engine displacement?

Met a guy sometime back but his has a 1.3L, are all 1.3L? Or was it a 1.8L?

Coworkers be miring it.

How did those guys get those mazdaspeed in here then?

All the mk6 Jettas are 1.4 litres. The previous models had 1.6 litre non turbo and 1.4 litres tsi like the recent ones. Generally if you see a Jetta with the letters TSI in the back it's the 1.4 litre engine.

Mazdaspeeds would be RORO.

Postby nervewrecker » December 15th, 2014, 1:58 pm

Nice nice.

Epic trunk space too.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » December 15th, 2014, 3:20 pm

Only way I'd ever consider a manual would be as a weekend car. It's fun but too much work

Postby Morpheus » December 15th, 2014, 3:49 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:Only way I'd ever consider a manual would be as a weekend car. It's fun but too much work

Somewhat agree. My commute is mainly on the CRH-Traffic galore.Ugh.....
Don't mind having a manual as a 2nd car for late/night movements.

But as mentioned, it was really nice and a surprise that Diamond offered the Lancer GT with a manual gearbox.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » December 15th, 2014, 4:41 pm

Same here but these days when you ask for a manual most watch you like you're going mad. Besides some of these new transmissions are excellent, especially on the higher end.

Postby nervewrecker » December 15th, 2014, 4:56 pm

Heard of transmission issues with quite a few makes. Would save myself the headache in the long run and foot it out with a manual transmission.
Then again, where traffic is a concern I can understand automatic. Manual gets frustrating after awhile and I only been in traffic twice.

Postby j.o.e » December 15th, 2014, 5:49 pm

Manual in a modern car ain't bad...a/c blowing nice, car quiet with proper insulation, tunes playing clean...I'd do it. Car must be super comfy not bargain sheit

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 15th, 2014, 6:00 pm

Traffic or not I would prefer a manual unless it's for track days then I'd go dsg. Manuals are super easy to drive.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » December 15th, 2014, 6:17 pm

Paddle shifters are fun enough imo

Postby DVSTT » December 15th, 2014, 7:49 pm

j.o.e wrote:Manual in a modern car ain't bad...a/c blowing nice, car quiet with proper insulation, tunes playing clean...I'd do it. Car must be super comfy not bargain sheit

It still gets annoying in traffic. Regardless I can't go back to an auto.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » December 15th, 2014, 10:38 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:Paddle shifters are fun enough imo

Not the same as manual..
Not the same as total control of clutch and stick...sense of oneness with the road... Heel-toe downshift.. Sigh..

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 15th, 2014, 11:16 pm

Heel and toe out the door soon with manuals ... the new mini cooper and BMW's ecu will rev match for you when you down shift.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 15th, 2014, 11:50 pm

Once I have air-condition and power steering bring on the manual. My current manual doesn't have either and it's a bit of a workout.
Traffic usually moves at the pace of first gear so I good

I left foot brake in all automatics to give my left foot something to do :grin:

As for the autocross comment. ... You might be faster with the dsg over a lap... but you might cry if it steps into limp mode after a couple of runs

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » December 16th, 2014, 1:34 am

j.o.e wrote:Manual in a modern car ain't bad...a/c blowing nice, car quiet with proper insulation, tunes playing clean...I'd do it. Car must be super comfy not bargain sheit

This. I totally agree..I drive bothe an automatic vehicle (personal) and a manual vehicle (company) on a daily basis and people also give me the mad man look for opting to go manual for my vehicle change in a while..I mean, how much work is it really to balance your clutch and accelerator pedals?? according to scotty_buttons,, that level of control you feel..unless you're in Kamakazi's position, manual is amazing and even then, he isn't complaining.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 16th, 2014, 6:35 am

Automatic is fuh girls.

Postby j.o.e » December 16th, 2014, 8:20 am

http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-news/indus ... al-gearbox

Like it or not, 2013 was the year in which the manual gearbox all but rolled over and died.

The list of so-called enthusiast’s cars that were replaced this year without the option of a manual gearbox is long and, in some instances, quite shocking. Take a bow the new Porsche 911 GT3 and 911 Turbo, Renault’s new Clio RS 200 Turbo, Aston Martin’s latest V12 Vantage S and all of Lamborghini’s new supercars, to name but a few.

What this proves, beyond all reasonable argument, is that the manual gearbox, or the stick shift, as they refer to it across the pond, will soon be a thing of the past, certainly among new cars at any rate. Or will it?

In the UK, and despite the hype surrounding the supposed death of the manual transmission and the inexorable rise of the flappy-paddle gearbox, some 75 per cent of the 1.8 million new cars that were bought before 20 October this year had, yes, a manual ’box. In other words, only a quarter of new cars sold in the UK this year were automatics, and by no means all of those have flappy paddles and even fewer are full-blown dual-clutch autos.

God Save the queen...we shouldn't have gotten independence.
Last edited by j.o.e on December 16th, 2014, 9:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » December 16th, 2014, 8:26 am

Gt6 and g27 when I want drive a stick.

Postby nervewrecker » December 16th, 2014, 8:51 am

kamakazi wrote:Once I have air-condition and power steering bring on the manual. My current manual doesn't have either and it's a bit of a workout.
Traffic usually moves at the pace of first gear so I good

I left foot brake in all automatics to give my left foot something to do :grin:

As for the autocross comment. ... You might be faster with the dsg over a lap... but you might cry if it steps into limp mode after a couple of runs

What you drive?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 17th, 2014, 9:11 am

first car I bought was manual in 2005

never ever would buy auto.. well I bought one for wifey but my cars will always be manual

and yes I face north south traffic everyday
auto is for p u s s I e s

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 17th, 2014, 9:14 am

p u s s I e inside 8-)