king bob wrote:a lot or things that are a pound and a crown to repair, costs cheaper 2 buy a nex 1
NOMOSS wrote:MG Man wrote:I would love to see a dyno comparison of a before and after wrt a zigs cut cam.......
at the end of the day, the dyno doesn't lie.........but seat-of-pants does
Those old grinds (a la zigs)cant compare with modern ones,they tended to be long duration and less lift ,not good for emissions and not to great for producing power but easy to tune and very tolerant to bad timing and mango tree tuning.
MG Man wrote:NOMOSS wrote:MG Man wrote:I would love to see a dyno comparison of a before and after wrt a zigs cut cam.......
Those old grinds (a la zigs)cant compare with modern ones,they tended to be long duration and less lift ,not good for emissions and not to great for producing power but easy to tune and very tolerant to bad timing and mango tree tuning.
ok now I totally baffled here.....spike u wanna throw in a spanner here?
d spike wrote:king bob wrote:a lot or things that are a pound and a crown to repair, costs cheaper 2 buy a nex 1
Ermmm... what did you do to that engine?
king bob wrote:d spike wrote:king bob wrote:a lot or things that are a pound and a crown to repair, costs cheaper 2 buy a nex 1
lol, nun, but to the bob's relief and some plugs it started, bt i still carrying it by d mechanic tomorrow, me eh takin no chances
NOMOSS wrote:king bob wrote:d spike wrote:king bob wrote:a lot or things that are a pound and a crown to repair, costs cheaper 2 buy a nex 1
lol, nun, but to the bob's relief and some plugs it started, bt i still carrying it by d mechanic tomorrow, me eh takin no chances
Hey Bob you need to do some reading and start pulling those spanners yourself .
king bob wrote:on d hunter yeah, cus d engine less complicated bt not on d main car just yet
d spike wrote:king bob wrote:on d hunter yeah, cus d engine less complicated bt not on d main car just yet
Which 626 model is it you have?
NOMOSS wrote:MG Man wrote:NOMOSS wrote:MG Man wrote:I would love to see a dyno comparison of a before and after wrt a zigs cut cam.......
ok now I totally baffled here.....spike u wanna throw in a spanner here?
Baffled about what? my dichotomous position on the cams .I pointed out the good and bad about the cams obviously a 30 year old grind not going to be as good as a modern grind especially with the ability now to different intake and exhaust profiles.but that does not mean you discount them totally.We put one of those old zigs boys on with stock head stock followers and extractors and the boiatch woked did some great times on the older wallerfield track,burnt rich like hell and idled like a broken washing machine.We upgraded to a 310 crane and did the same thing ,she spit coughed and burnt back until we got a vernier and advanced the cam a few degrees .The crane was a factory grind that worked excellently ,it just did not tolerate the mango tree treatment like the old 300degree piper grind.Two different eras two different different products .Its sort of like points and carbs vs electronic fuel injection .They both work,one is more efficient than another and I use both .I like carbs on old steel and injection on modern metal ,Is one better than another depends on your point of view ,they both have their pros and cons.i can tell you that none of my carb and points cars were ever towed home but none of them ever gave me 30 on a gallon with the AC on either.
NOMOSS wrote:d spike wrote:king bob wrote:on d hunter yeah, cus d engine less complicated bt not on d main car just yet
Which 626 model is it you have?
carbs or injection??
I just love to play with grease.
king bob wrote:carb, well what happenin is that it burnin oil, back pressurin an d leakin oil
d spike wrote:king bob wrote:carb, well what happenin is that it burnin oil, back pressurin an d leakin oil
Okay, so it's old and the oil-scraper rings are going.
Is it smoking? And if it is smoking, how badly?
Bad smoke means the oil-scraper rings have gone...
If it isn't smoking too badly, then there are ways of making it run until you can do the rings job.
Use a heavier body oil (50 body) and use an additive (Bardahl2 if the smoking isn't too bad, Bardahl No-Smoke if it is)
There is also an additive that helps with the leaking... the seals and gaskets can get hard and brittle, and certain additives can soften and "re-new" those gaskets.
That will deal with your 3 problems: burning oil, "back-pressuring" and oil leaks.
Try not to "push" an engine in these circumstances, and it will run reliably well - just clean your plugs as often AS REQUIRED, even if it is every 2-3 days.
so she just leaking at the seals and back pressuring ?king bob wrote:it's nt smoking, knockin, bt when i buy d kit i have no experience any engine excapt d hunter and i don't have much wid that either
NOMOSS wrote:so she just leaking at the seals and back pressuring ?king bob wrote:it's nt smoking, knockin, bt when i buy d kit i have no experience any engine excapt d hunter and i don't have much wid that either
king bob wrote:carb, well what happenin is that it burnin oil, back pressurin an d leakin oil
nigie wrote:Aye ...Ive use "no smoke" on 3 engines with no success whatsoever...so bob if it works for u should u use it let me know....
NOMOSS wrote:nigie wrote:Aye ...Ive use "no smoke" on 3 engines with no success whatsoever...so bob if it works for u should u use it let me know....
I have never had success with that product either.Maybe I used it when the engines were too far gone
d spike wrote:NOMOSS wrote:nigie wrote:Aye ...Ive use "no smoke" on 3 engines with no success whatsoever...so bob if it works for u should u use it let me know....
I have never had success with that product either.Maybe I used it when the engines were too far gone
"Maybe" you say...
This "raising the dead" thing you like to do... it ent right...
(This is a fellah who had a room of engines, gearboxes and parts... you would have to open the door, climb up on top of 2 to 3 feet of Ford parts, and walk carefully, looking down for whatever it is you wanted (and don't slip, or you would end up being anally raped by a crankshaft or gearbox output shaft![]()
)
NOMOSS wrote:nigie wrote:Aye ...Ive use "no smoke" on 3 engines with no success whatsoever...so bob if it works for u should u use it let me know....