T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

kidcamby

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby kidcamby » September 16th, 2014, 3:07 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:the fact is that some people can only afford 6-7 year loans

same way allyuh want to know why they taking 6-7 year loans, other people are looking at you and wondering why you buying a car on the whole if you need to take a loan to buy it

Well Said Buddy......ppls financial circumstances differ......what they supposed to do? Give up on owning a vehicle?!

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 16th, 2014, 3:19 pm

Sometimes knowing the history of your vehicle is important.
You know what it is to have a timing belt or tensioner pulley fail and your odometer reads 70000kms. Yes it can happen at anytime but the likelihood of it happening on a new vehicle is significantly less. There are also less surprises with a new car and if anything comes up. .. well warranty might cover it.
Those people with cvt transmissions in tiidas comes to mind

You might want to pay the extra for piece of mind.
Buying a used car to have to spend a next $15k to do a thorough service and run around to source parts and a mechanic.

To each his/her own

Postby MG Man » September 16th, 2014, 4:46 pm

drchaos wrote:They can buy roro ... No shame is going foreign used, had only good experiences.

or even good local used...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 16th, 2014, 4:56 pm

kamakazi wrote:Sometimes knowing the history of your vehicle is important.
You know what it is to have a timing belt or tensioner pulley fail and your odometer reads 70000kms. Yes it can happen at anytime but the likelihood of it happening on a new vehicle is significantly less. There are also less surprises with a new car and if anything comes up. .. well warranty might cover it.
Those people with cvt transmissions in tiidas comes to mind

You might want to pay the extra for piece of mind.
Buying a used car to have to spend a next $15k to do a thorough service and run around to source parts and a mechanic.

To each his/her own

True dat! but just remember you can get really burned with a brand new lemon as well, probably less of a chance but when it happens it hurts really bad.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 16th, 2014, 6:40 pm

Yeah it can be a horrible experience if you end up with a lemon.
My civic was foreign used but was bought from someone who had it before
Poor soul wanted to do the right thing just didn't know who to go by our what to do
I found original brand (nissin) brake pads in the front between my calipers just it was the wrong size; he purchased and used the brakes for the EXI in the SIR.
After having it for five days the coil died one minute from home. .. and there are more stories :smile:...it was a good bit of work

Anyone have the price on the new Honda city. .. doesn't look half bad

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 16th, 2014, 9:11 pm

2014 Nissan Versa 1.5 - $149,000. (new)
dp = $14,900.
loan amount = $134,100.
monthly instalment for 7 years = $1,927.
age of car at loan maturity: 7 years
projected resale value upon maturity: $65,000.
resale loss: $84,000.
pay back amount: $161,868.
bank profit: $12,868.

2011 Nissan Tiida 1.5 - $105,000. (roro)
dp = $21,000.
loan amount = $84,000.
monthly instalment for 5 years = $1,643.56
age of car at loan maturity: 8 years
projected resale value upon maturity: $55,000.
resale loss: $50,000.
pay back amount: $98,613.60
bank profit: $14,613.60

Which route is better? Tough call isn't it?

Postby Ted_v2 » September 16th, 2014, 9:32 pm

Tiida all day.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 16th, 2014, 10:23 pm

Don't forget
Trans fluid $400
4 new Tyres $2400
Oil and filter change $400
Air filter and cabin filter $200
Brakes and brake fluid $500
Coolant $200
Fuel filter $200
Wipers $100

Total $4400

I can't stand the look of the versa though

Postby cinco » September 17th, 2014, 10:08 am

emm
2011 Nissan Tiida 1.5 - $105,000. (roro)
dp = $21,000.
loan amount = $84,000.
monthly instalment for 5 years = $1,643.56
age of car at loan maturity: 8 years
projected resale value upon maturity: $55,000.
resale loss: $50,000.
pay back amount: $98,613.60
bank profit: $14,613.60

emm
2011 Nissan Tiida + 3 years since we in 2014 + 7 year loan = age of car at loan maturity: 10 years
this is also highly unlikely projected resale value upon maturity: $55,000.
you would be closer to $40,000 for a ten year old Tiida

you didnt take into consideration
2011 Tiida with 90k km rolled back to 30k
will need
new shocks $1500
new cradles/bushings $1200
new engine mounts $1500
various other new suspension parts (endlinks and other bushings) $2000
all within the loan period

highly unlikely the NEW showroom car will require any of these parts repaired

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » September 17th, 2014, 11:34 am

Have y'all noticed the VERSA in the showroom on Trageret rd?
Tinted, aftermarket wheels and rear spoiler, trying really hard to make it look nice :lol:

Postby Ted_v2 » September 17th, 2014, 12:55 pm

Good idea what cinco said.

Also what's the price per servicing for a versa?
Reasonable?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 17th, 2014, 5:15 pm

eurotuner wrote:Have y'all noticed the VERSA in the showroom on Trageret rd?
Tinted, aftermarket wheels and rear spoiler, trying really hard to make it look nice :lol:

Like putting lipstick on a pig :mrgreen:

LalChun

Postby LalChun » September 17th, 2014, 5:32 pm

Price on the new C class mercedez?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 17th, 2014, 8:10 pm

Any new prices guys??

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » September 17th, 2014, 9:18 pm

cinco wrote:emm

will need
new shocks $1500
new engine mounts $1500

Many believe the low mileage on their RORO is genuine :oops:

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 17th, 2014, 9:59 pm

Calor wrote:
cinco wrote:emm

will need
new shocks $1500
new engine mounts $1500

Many believe the low mileage on their RORO is genuine :oops:

Agreed. Japan is 82 times bigger than Trinidad. Even though commuters mainly use the train and bus transit systems, they still drive a lot.

Postby j.o.e » September 18th, 2014, 12:08 am

And aside from that dealers buy the highest mileage, cheapest cars...clean them up and maximize profit. Go in the auction and try to find a low mileage car, check the price and u will see no dealer would bring that down to make a profit.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 18th, 2014, 9:06 am

In some developed countries, tampering with the vehicle's odometer is illegal. Are there any laws in Japan and T&T that prevents owners from doing such? I always wondered how a 6 year old car can only have 19,000kms on the odo :lol: It means the entire roro industry is a racket if all of these vehicles have roll back mileage!

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » September 18th, 2014, 9:07 am

acesinghit wrote:In some developed countries, tampering with the vehicle's odometer is illegal. Are there any laws in Japan and T&T that prevents owners from doing such? I always wondered how a 6 year old car can only have 19,000kms on the odo :lol: It means the entire roro industry is a racket if all of these vehicles have roll back mileage!

Laws are pointless if they are not enforced.

Postby cinco » September 18th, 2014, 9:45 am

acesinghit wrote:In some developed countries, tampering with the vehicle's odometer is illegal. Are there any laws in Japan and T&T that prevents owners from doing such? I always wondered how a 6 year old car can only have 19,000kms on the odo :lol: It means the entire roro industry is a racket if all of these vehicles have roll back mileage!

even if you import your own vehicle the dealers in japan ask if you want to roll it back. some even do it before you ask, the de-registration certificate will show the real mileage.

arsenal32

Postby arsenal32 » September 19th, 2014, 7:58 am

is the bmw 4 series (gran coupe) available on special order only? not seeing its price on page 1

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » September 19th, 2014, 8:07 am

arsenal32 wrote:is the bmw 4 series (gran coupe) available on special order only? not seeing its price on page 1

Technically most BMW's are special order as they often don't stock many trims or models. You may have to go check them yourself as the persons finding out prices may not necessarily be the ones to ask BMW for the price of the 4 series GC.

dkhan946

Postby dkhan946 » September 22nd, 2014, 10:08 am

hey any prices on those toyota hybrids i saw advertised in the paper today ?

Tim85

Postby Tim85 » September 22nd, 2014, 11:43 am

What papers you saw that in?

dkhan946

Postby dkhan946 » September 22nd, 2014, 12:11 pm

last page in today's newsday bro...

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 22nd, 2014, 1:04 pm

Which hybrids ?

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 22nd, 2014, 1:39 pm

all d rolling back happens in japan, some do it for free, while others charge ~200us

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 22nd, 2014, 2:24 pm

Prius is about the cost of rav 4 in the us and uk markets. So once they cross 300k for it you know they will be ripping you off. It's TOYOTA so expect them to rip you off.

Back in 2012 when I asked for the price of the Prius they said around 475K if I remember correctly.

Postby cinco » September 22nd, 2014, 2:52 pm

drchaos wrote:Prius is about the cost of rav 4 in the us and uk markets. So once they cross 300k for it you know they will be ripping you off. It's TOYOTA so expect them to rip you off.

Back in 2012 when I asked for the price of the Prius they said around 475K if I remember correctly.

if the prius costs more than a corolla it is a rip off

remember toyota also gets the benefit of no duties on the hybrid

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 22nd, 2014, 4:07 pm

cinco wrote:
drchaos wrote:Prius is about the cost of rav 4 in the us and uk markets. So once they cross 300k for it you know they will be ripping you off. It's TOYOTA so expect them to rip you off.

if the prius costs more than a corolla it is a rip off

remember toyota also gets the benefit of no duties on the hybrid

They still have to pay duty, its the MVT and VAT they get off