nigie wrote:king bob wrote:this may sound odd, bt cam as in cam shaft?
bob behave ....
moti wrote:yup, here it is.
car looks solid from what i saw and is still there up to today.
house is right opp. the school there (not sure of the school name)
d spike wrote:NOMOSS wrote:NOMOSS wrote:Nigie are you still looking for a pinto 2.o cam ..nigie wrote:Yes Yes....im looking spike...
Heard of a 322 crane for small $$
SILENCE!! I KEELL YOU!!!
Yuh eh even wait tuh hear what condition it in... NOMOSS, yuh eh easy, nah...![]()
Kingbob, in the small collection of cams, there is a mild road cam... hold onto it for you?
king bob wrote:this may sound odd, bt cam as in cam shaft?
NOMOSS wrote:king bob wrote:this may sound odd, bt cam as in cam shaft?
Camshaft manufacturers have different codes that they assign to camshafts depending on the engine and the application that they are for.The Europeans usually categorize them into mild road ,fast road ,road/rally, rally ,race and there are quite a few manufacturers like burton,kent,piper,newman,camtech,crane, iskendarian to name the popular ones.Each company has a different set of letters and numbers that they assign to their cams because there are so many and there is so much information about the camshaft that a engine builder would need you get a "camsheet" with the information that can be accessed from the code.
d spike wrote:NOMOSS wrote:king bob wrote:this may sound odd, bt cam as in cam shaft?
Camshaft manufacturers have different codes that they assign to camshafts depending on the engine and the application that they are for.The Europeans usually categorize them into mild road ,fast road ,road/rally, rally ,race and there are quite a few manufacturers like burton,kent,piper,newman,camtech,crane, iskendarian to name the popular ones.Each company has a different set of letters and numbers that they assign to their cams because there are so many and there is so much information about the camshaft that a engine builder would need you get a "camsheet" with the information that can be accessed from the code.
What about getting a cam "cut" by Zigs? (I believe they still do this) Aren't there others who do this?
Unless local machine shops really got their acts together these days, that may not be such a good idea.d spike wrote:What about getting a cam "cut" by Zigs? (I believe they still do this) Aren't there others who do this?
Sanctifier wrote:Unless local machine shops really got their acts together these days, that may not be such a good idea.d spike wrote:What about getting a cam "cut" by Zigs? (I believe they still do this) Aren't there others who do this?
Without some method of heat-treating, case hardening or surface treatment to reduce wear, (Parkerising, soft-nitride treatment, etc.) the lobes will soon be destroyed by the tappets/cam followers... with all that swarf circulating through every bearing surface/journal of your engine.
IMHO it's more cost-effective... and MUCH less risky to buy a "name brand" cam tailored to suit your application.
Beats a "tear-down & rebuild" any day... btw ALWAYS buy NEW tappets/cam-followers with a new cam.
The 2nd. best way to prematurely "kill" a new cam is to re-use the old tappets... (AND buy the Assembly Lube recommended by the cam manufacturer as well.)
The lobe surfaces are hardened deep enough to survive regrinding without the need for rehardening .Modern grinds tend produce more power and use less fuel than those older ones and I prefer to save and purchase a new and complete kit.Unfortunately not everyone has the money to go that way
My $0.02¢
There is no technical limit to the depth of hardening with carburizing techniques, but it is not common to carburize to depths in excess of 0.050 in.
d spike wrote:All said, it sounds like a factory-cut cam is the safer way to go.
NOMOSS wrote:d spike wrote:All said, it sounds like a factory-cut cam is the safer way to go.
Guys had little choice in the matter in the late seventies early eighties ,They used them and they ran well .Not much is removed in these regrinds about as much as when regrinding a crank.You don't re-harden a ground crank do you ,Re-profiling is in the order of thousandths of an inch ,when you're done you still in the hardened zone.Zigs regrinds were that way by design.And besides the cost of re-profiling was around $300 .
MG Man wrote:NOMOSS wrote:d spike wrote:All said, it sounds like a factory-cut cam is the safer way to go.
Guys had little choice in the matter in the late seventies early eighties ,They used them and they ran well .Not much is removed in these regrinds about as much as when regrinding a crank.You don't re-harden a ground crank do you ,Re-profiling is in the order of thousandths of an inch ,when you're done you still in the hardened zone.Zigs regrinds were that way by design.And besides the cost of re-profiling was around $300 .
without a dyno, all of that was idle speculation
I not knocking the older heads, but I have heard so much kaka from so many 'ole skool escort man' that I don't hvae much faith on most of them
Unkle Sanctifier is (IMHO) one of the more experienced / well read guys out there, and his statements are rooted in verifiable fact rather than seat o'the pants feelings..........if reporfiling cams was so easy, Crane, Kent and Isky would be outta business by now
NOMOSS wrote:Guys had little choice in the matter in the late seventies early eighties.
MG Man wrote:...if reporfiling cams was so easy, Crane, Kent and Isky would be outta business by now
d spike wrote:MG Man wrote:NOMOSS wrote:d spike wrote:All said, it sounds like a factory-cut cam is the safer way to go.
without a dyno, all of that was idle speculation
I not knocking the older heads, but I have heard so much kaka from so many 'ole skool escort man' that I don't hvae much faith on most of them
Unkle Sanctifier is (IMHO) one of the more experienced / well read guys out there, and his statements are rooted in verifiable fact rather than seat o'the pants feelings..........if reporfiling cams was so easy, Crane, Kent and Isky would be outta business by now
Well, I guess the major factor for it being done was:NOMOSS wrote:Guys had little choice in the matter in the late seventies early eighties.
Luckily, options are more easily available nowadays.MG Man wrote:...if reporfiling cams was so easy, Crane, Kent and Isky would be outta business by now
I don't think NOMOSS meant that it was easy (more efficient) as much as it was 'good enough' back then.
Wouldn't re-profiling a cam be limited by the height of the donor cam? you could only cut... you couldn't "add" height to the cam more than what was already there.
Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ Hardened layer may not be deep enough even for many modern cam profiles...There is no technical limit to the depth of hardening with carburizing techniques, but it is not common to carburize to depths in excess of 0.050 in.
Link--> Case Hardening Methods.
Since cams are rarely reground locally, I would be reluctant to bet my scarce $$$ or even worse, long-term engine life on a local experiment.
My $0.02¢
roadracer7 wrote:tired hearing about zigs cut cams. no good,waste of time,best you take your money light the stove and burn it. if i had a hundred dollars for every zigs cut cam whoe story i'd have a healty bank balance.
d spike wrote:roadracer7 wrote:tired hearing about zigs cut cams. no good,waste of time,best you take your money light the stove and burn it. if i had a hundred dollars for every zigs cut cam whoe story i'd have a healty bank balance.
Did you ever run/own one?
Bear in mind that a modified cam often required a timing/tuning that differed from standard... a cam that helped your engine breathe better would require a head that is also modded (my apologies to the young 'uns, I meant modified) to breathe/flow better.
If you just stuck in a modded cam, expecting it to work its magic, then you would be disappointed. Far to many people buy medicine and refuse to read the label... den dey does vex wid de medicine, cause it eh wukkin'...
Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ NOMOSS I really don't want to prolong the debate but... while much of what you said may sound reasonable, I too am from the ol' school.
Past experience with some local machine shops (to remain "unnamed") has left me not just skeptical... but often completely "anti-local" when it comes to the lack of expertise and sometimes downright butchery exhibited by so many of them.
Unfortunately, I have frequently found "too much mouth" backed by "too little experience" in so many cases...
Cylinder head "experts" who grind off the valve guide boss, so NONE of the valves seat AT ALL!...
Boring a block to fit "straight" sleeves (no top lip) without machining a lower seat (lip) at the bottom of the bore... AND "miking" the sleeves "hot" before machining, instead of chilling them in dry ice (or similar) first... so, with an inaccurate tolerance fit, the sleeves drop when the engine is being broken-in and destroy the block/crank & pistons and on...and on!
Have you checked how old Zig's cam grinder is? IIRC they had one over thirty-five years ago. Is it the same one?
Anyhow, long story short... I'll take my chances on local machine shops for things that they do FREQUENTLY... but
"for everything else" (align-honing main bearing journals... reprofiled cams... etc.) "there's MasterCard."
But that's just me... Everyone is entitled to their own opinion... and the choice of how they spend their own $$$.
My $0.02¢
king bob wrote:peeps d bob in a bind, ,meh main car gave out
anyone have any ideas where i can find a magnum engine 4 a 626?
MG Man wrote:I would love to see a dyno comparison of a before and after wrt a zigs cut cam.......
at the end of the day, the dyno doesn't lie.........but seat-of-pants does
king bob wrote:d ting is if i drop a nissan in i'll hav e 2 prolong the hunter for a couple months