<<TriniTuner 2009 F1 Thread>>

dmitc

Postby dmitc » September 15th, 2009, 6:42 am

^^ well them according to your logic Button is not championship material

Freelander

Postby Freelander » September 15th, 2009, 11:37 am

worksux101 wrote:Good driver yes...champion material no...
champions generally have the ability to pull a little extra out of the bag when necessary and do that one crazy thing that people wouldnt have thought possible to get them over the line...
Schummi had it...Hakkinen...Alonso...Kimi...even Hami to an extent has it...
Rubens reminds me of Coulthard...a model of conisistency...little else...

so consistently winning races and making podiums doesnt constitute to a good driver?

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 15th, 2009, 12:03 pm

^read the first line :roll:

^^ well them according to your logic Button is not championship material

Compared to previous champs...no...the races he's won have been due to a superior car...you can say the same about Schummi, Alonso etc., but there were always moments in those seasons where they had to fight at some point to pick up an extra point by throwing in a few crazy laps or a brilliant pass...even Hamilton had to do it last year...can't say i've seen the same of Button...
Also, you rarely see the points leader beaten as frequently by his teammate as Button, or drop out of the front row so often when their car hits a bad spell...

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » September 15th, 2009, 4:32 pm

CNN) -- Lotus will return to Formula One in 2010 after being handed the 13th team franchise on Tuesday, while the seemingly doomed Sauber may also be on the grid following a takeover deal.

Lotus, which has had legendary drivers such as Jim Clark, Graham Hill, Stirling Moss, Nigel Mansell and Ayrton Senna on its books, will be back on the circuit for the first time since 1994 after gaining the nod ahead of Sauber and Epsilon Euskadi.

However, world motorsport's governing body the FIA has given Sauber a "reserve" place following the emergence of a new owner to take over from BMW, which is pulling out of F1 at the end of this season due to financial reasons.

The FIA also announced that it is hoping to persuade the other teams to expand the grid to 28 cars next year, thus allowing Sauber -- which has been bought by Swiss-based Qadbak Investments Ltd -- to compete.

"BMW Sauber will be entitled to fill any vacancy that arises on the 2010 grid," the FIA said in a statement on Tuesday.

"In addition, the FIA believes that a good case can be made for expanding the grid to 14 teams."

Qadbak represents the interests of Middle East and European-based families, according to the official F1 Web site, and will be fronted by Swiss national Lionel Fischer.

The Lotus name has been resurrected by a partnership between the Malaysian government and a consortium of Malaysian entrepreneurs, and the team will initially be based in Britain -- in Norfolk, near the Lotus Cars factory.

Its technical director will be Mike Gascoyne, who has performed the same role for Force India, Toyota, Renault and Jordan in a 20-year F1 career.

Lotus has already agreed an engine supply deal with Cosworth, and is expected to select from a shortlist of six drivers by late October to fill its two race seats for next year

Postby Monk BANzai » September 15th, 2009, 4:41 pm

^^ AYIYI!!!!!!

Postby teems1 » September 15th, 2009, 5:01 pm

wow, great news.

Bring back Brabham and it'll be like the good ol days of yore...

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » September 16th, 2009, 10:08 am

Renault managing director Flavio Briatore and executive director of engineering Pat Simonds have left the Formula One team.

Renault have also decided not to dispute the recent allegations made by the FIA concerning the 2008 Singapore Grand Prix, the team have announced.

Postby teems1 » September 16th, 2009, 10:28 am

Silvermike wrote:Renault managing director Flavio Briatore and executive director of engineering Pat Simonds have left the Formula One team.

Renault have also decided not to dispute the recent allegations made by the FIA concerning the 2008 Singapore Grand Prix, the team have announced.

holy shite, that means the whole fiasco with asking Piquet Jr. to crash in Singapore 08 is true.

wda, he could have been seriously injured, or someone else could have... lawdo...

I wonder if the FIA will charge them some spectacular fine, like the 100m USD fine McLaren got for spygate.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » September 16th, 2009, 10:51 am

^ they let BMW sign in for 14th team... i think thats the replacement for renualt...

i wonder if ferrari will take on alonso in 2010 instead of massa.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 16th, 2009, 12:37 pm

^^ now tat make sense!!! Alonso in a Ferrari Seat.....now if only Hammie cud join him...

(ducks)....

TREX

Postby TREX » September 16th, 2009, 2:27 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ now tat make sense!!! Alonso in a Ferrari Seat.....now if only Hammie cud join him...

(ducks)....

We aint going through that again, let Hammie stay where he is.

Would be interesting to see what Alonso can do in a Red car.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 16th, 2009, 4:57 pm

TREX wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ now tat make sense!!! Alonso in a Ferrari Seat.....now if only Hammie cud join him...

(ducks)....

this is interesting...last yr when McLAren do the Spying thing..w.as aGREAT outrage!!!

now..Renualt actually FIXa race?....WHERE IS D NOISE!!!!

WHERE IS D NOISE!!!!

Postby teems1 » September 16th, 2009, 7:06 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
TREX wrote:

(ducks)....

this is interesting...last yr when McLAren do the Spying thing..w.as aGREAT outrage!!!

now..Renualt actually FIXa race?....WHERE IS D NOISE!!!!

WHERE IS D NOISE!!!!

patience nah...

the WSMC hearing is Monday, all will be revealed...

this could be the last few days of Renault F1. yuh never know...

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » September 16th, 2009, 9:43 pm

Alonso, let me be the 1st to welcome you to the Scuderia :D :D :D :D :D

Postby MG Man » September 16th, 2009, 9:50 pm

(ducks)....

ever since the Senna / Prost team duels, Ferrari won;t sign on TWO #1 dri......WTF am I saying? Hammy has proven he's #2 :!:

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 16th, 2009, 10:20 pm

The question is if FA knew...in which case he should be penalised as well...
Hammi and Kovaleinen only got away because they testified and got immunity...Alonso didn't, so his career is fair game to the WSMC...

Postby teems1 » September 17th, 2009, 6:29 am

JoKeR1980 wrote:Alonso, let me be the 1st to welcome you to the Scuderia :D :D :D :D :D

Ferrari used their 4 drivers for the season already, Kimi, Felipe, Luca and Giancarlo...

I highly doubt they would want to hire a driver who was in the middle of 2 of the biggest F1 scandals of the decade, Spygate and Crashgate...

dmitc

Postby dmitc » September 17th, 2009, 8:33 am

Maserati wrote:As expected Nelson Piquet dropped from the Renault F1 team
his full statement here

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/77539

A manager is supposed to encourage you, support you, and provide you with opportunities. In my case it was the opposite. Flavio Briatore was my executioner.

:shock: :shock:

I guess Piguet Jr got the last laugh after all,
Flav should have known better than to fire a man that could buss files on him.
Oh well Renault is no big loss to F1 in any case and as for Alonso well he's up sh!t creek as well.
Soon the file will buss on him knowing what transpired and he would be out too, yet again no big loss to F1

Freelander

Postby Freelander » September 17th, 2009, 11:50 am

ok ppl i have been in the works for the past month researching and planning an epic Canadian Grand Prix 2010 Group lime.

So far i have about 4-5 ppl extreemly interested. If you happen to be in canada or ontario or anywhere in the region and want more details send me a PM.

Some key points

1. A canadian Visa is required to enteer canada, so if you cant organise your passport or a visa you are out.

2. Some of us will be driving from toronto to montreal, so we can try and facilitate room for ppl.

3. If you want to fly into montreal airport, transport is arranged and included in the package.

4. any further specifics will only be divulged to interested parties.

For further details and specifics PM ASAP i mean ASAP. the more ppl in the group the cheaper the overall price.

Postby teems1 » September 17th, 2009, 4:04 pm

dmitc wrote:
Maserati wrote:As expected Nelson Piquet dropped from the Renault F1 team
his full statement here

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/77539

A manager is supposed to encourage you, support you, and provide you with opportunities. In my case it was the opposite. Flavio Briatore was my executioner.

:shock: :shock:

I guess Piguet Jr got the last laugh after all,
Flav should have known better than to fire a man that could buss files on him.
Oh well Renault is no big loss to F1 in any case and as for Alonso well he's up sh!t creek as well.
Soon the file will buss on him knowing what transpired and he would be out too, yet again no big loss to F1

x10

Postby Monk BANzai » September 17th, 2009, 4:19 pm

(ducks)....

ever since the Senna / Prost team duels, Ferrari won;t sign on TWO #1 dri......WTF am I saying? Hammy has proven he's #2 :!:

I wiah me and you cud be on the same F1 team....yunno we wud end up sharing the Championship right?

Postby MG Man » September 17th, 2009, 7:26 pm

and de cornbread too :twisted:

TREX

Postby TREX » September 18th, 2009, 3:46 pm

Freelander wrote:ok ppl i have been in the works for the past month researching and planning an epic Canadian Grand Prix 2010 Group lime.

So far i have about 4-5 ppl extreemly interested. If you happen to be in canada or ontario or anywhere in the region and want more details send me a PM.

Some key points

1. A canadian Visa is required to enteer canada, so if you cant organise your passport or a visa you are out.

2. Some of us will be driving from toronto to montreal, so we can try and facilitate room for ppl.

3. If you want to fly into montreal airport, transport is arranged and included in the package.

4. any further specifics will only be divulged to interested parties.

For further details and specifics PM ASAP i mean ASAP. the more ppl in the group the cheaper the overall price.

90% sure Will be there.
(as alsways)

Freelander

Postby Freelander » September 18th, 2009, 4:05 pm

^^^ trex pm you facebook info and i will add you to the facebook group. It is our central hub for all planning.

Freelander

Postby Freelander » September 18th, 2009, 11:26 pm

Korea aiming for 2010 calendar spot

With considerable support of the government, Korea is hoping for a place on the 2010 Formula One Grand Prix calendar even though the provisional dates have already been released. And with the government backing up the event, hopes have increased that the Formula One approved race circuit will be completed in time.

The CEO of Korean race promoter KAVO (Korea Auto Valley Operation Company Young-Cho Chung said,
"With the passing of the F1 Act and the construction of the circuit well above its progression rate, the dream of having an international motorsport circuit has become a reality for the motorsports community."

"By maintaining strong cooperative relationships with the central government and with the support on a national level, we will do our best to make the 2010 F1 Korean Grand Prix an event of unprecedented success."

http://www.f1technical.net/news/13352?s ... f91b843704

TREX

Postby TREX » September 19th, 2009, 9:02 am

Freelander wrote:^^^ trex pm you facebook info and i will add you to the facebook group. It is our central hub for all planning.

Ok
What is FAceBook???

Never did it to keep Wife from finding all old G/friends/"Study" partners etc.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » September 21st, 2009, 9:15 am

(CNN) -- Renault's Formula One team was handed a two-year suspended ban by the sport's governing body Monday after a hearing into their part in fixing the 2008 Singapore Grand Prix.

The 26-strong World Motor Sport Council of the Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA), met for 90 minutes to discuss allegations by former Renault driver Nelson Piquet Jr. that he was ordered to crash deliberately during last year's race.

As a result, former team boss Flavio Briatore was banned from FIA-sanctioned events for an unlimited period, while ex-engineering director Pat Symonds was excluded from the sport for five years.

Both men quit the team last week after Renault decided against contesting the allegations.

A statement on the FIA Web site said: "The World Motor Sport Council considers Renault F1's breaches relating to the 2008 Singapore Grand Prix to be of unparalleled severity.

"Renault F1's breaches not only compromised the integrity of the sport but also endangered the lives of spectators, officials, other competitors and Nelson Piquet Jr. himself."

Renault, one of the strongest teams in Formula One, could have faced expulsion from the sport, but the council revealed it took into account Renault's willingness to "address the failings within its team and condemn the actions of the individuals involved."

The individuals in question were identified by Renault at the hearing as Briatore and Symonds.

Formula One supremo Bernie Ecclestone had previously hinted that the resignations might be enough to avoid the ultimate sanction of expulsion.

"I think we need to show balance," said the 78-year-old

"What they did was very serious. There can be no excuse, but they have acted quickly to get rid of the culprits, and that must be borne in mind."

Renault president Bernard Rey gave evidence at the hearing as well as Piquet Jr.

Two-time world champion Fernando Alonso, who went on to win the Singapore Grand Prix for Renault after the alleged fake crash, also addressed the council.

The saga comes in the wake of last year's "spygate" scandal which saw McLaren fined a record $80 million and a row between leading teams and world governing body FIA (International Automobile Federation) over a budget cap for next season.

The first grand prix held under lights in Singapore last year proved an eventful affair and Alonso won the race -- the first for Renault in two years -- despite starting from 15th on the grid.

Just two laps after Alonso came in early to take on more fuel, Piquet's crash forced the deployment of the safety car and the subsequent pit stop of nearly all other drivers, an action that promoted Alonso to fifth from where he went onto to secure victory.

Piquet attributed the crash to a simple error at the time, but subsequently changed his story after falling out with the French team and being sacked.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » September 21st, 2009, 9:47 am

Kimi has an agreement with McLaren

A dispute with Ferrari over his salary is the only thing holding up Kimi Raikkonen's return to McLaren, according to a report.

Raikkonen's position at the Italian team is under threat with continued rumours claiming that Fernando Alonso will be taking his race-seat next season.

The Finn, who drove for McLaren from 2002 until 2006, has previously stated that he is prepared to go to another team next year if Ferrari decide to get rid of him.

"If for some reason I am not at Ferrari next season I know I'll have a seat at another team in the paddock," he recently told the British press.

The Mirror reports that a move back to McLaren is in line for Raikkonen.

'Paddock sources say the Finn, 29, has signed an outline agreement to return.

'But first he has to settle a dispute with his current employers. He is refusing to step down unless he is paid all of his 2010 £30m salary.'

Engine supplier Mercedes, though, is thought to be in favour of a move for Williams' Nico Rosberg.

'The deal could explain McLaren's increasingly tense relationship with engine supplier Mercedes, who wanted German Nico Rosberg in the car.'

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » September 21st, 2009, 9:51 am

But if they ban Briatore and Symonds...why Nelson get away? he went ahead and crashed the car! its not the army where you have to follow every order.

I would like to see which team gonna employ him now

Freelander

Postby Freelander » September 21st, 2009, 11:46 am

FIA probubly gave him immmunity as the higher ups were taken down who gave the order. basically like a cop doing a drug bust and nelson being the dealer who spills the beans for a drug lord.

Quite frankly i think renault got off easy. too easy. and even though nelson has immunity no other F1 team will want to hire him as he showed no team loyalty.