T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 7th, 2014, 1:11 am

kjaglal76v2 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:jump high jump low, an auto pickup is far superior to any car in its price bracket!!

plz tell me abt the short & expensive service intervals u guys tlkin abt

Fuel filter replacement at every 5 to 10,000 km? Oil filter changes recommended more often (compared to gasoline vehicles) due to the level of sulphur (500 ppm) in our diesel? More expensive brake pads?

^^_exaggerated figures

drchaos wrote:tires for a pickup real expensive too

not by much, but they last a helluva lot longer

Not exaggerated. And even if they were and you want to stretch to 15000 like kami it's an extra cost not inherent to gasoline vehicles. The sulphur figure is accurate as well. Don't know if you seriously trying to argue that maintenance on a diesel van compared to an equally priced gasoline vehicle is the same or lower.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 7th, 2014, 1:29 am

I edited the previous post

Anyhow... to service the gas would be cheaper. Less oil required, lower pressures(components under less stress), better water tolerance, lower Cost to service fuel system or replace fuel system components, etc.
The gas also is usually cheaper than the diesel when purchasing with a price difference of $20k or more (which covers the fuel bill for quite a while)
Lower insurance premiums.

Postby DVSTT » August 7th, 2014, 6:44 am

kamakazi wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:jump high jump low, an auto pickup is far superior to any car in its price bracket!!

plz tell me abt the short & expensive service intervals u guys tlkin abt

Fuel filter replacement at every 5 to 10,000 km? Oil filter changes recommended more often (compared to gasoline vehicles) due to the level of sulphur (500 ppm) in our diesel? More expensive brake pads?

We talking oem or aftermarket

For diesel fuel I use the oem filter but my interval is 15000kms

For oil filter I use Purolator... my old man does 10000km intervals; mine not so much. The Sulphur isn't the reason why the filter needs to be replaced often. That honor goes to the egr system for introducing soot back into the intake and eventually back into the oil. The high Sulphur comment shortens oil life. The soot shortens both filter and oil life.

Bosch for the front
OEM for the rear.

Doing a vehicle to vehicle comparison
2.7 gas lux vs 3.0 diesel lux both auto

Diesel
6.5 litres of oil
More frequent fuel filter replacements
Checking water separator frequently
Servicing or replacing fuel system parts generally more costly
Glow plugs in diesel

Gas
5 liters of oil(same filter for both)
Fuel filter can sit there for almost 40000kms
Injectors not as susceptible to water damage (lower pressures larger tolerances and openings)
Sparkplugs need replacing

I'm sorry, 40,000km intervals. :o

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 7th, 2014, 11:10 am

Yes sir it's possible.
But if the vehicle is cutting off from change of load or losing power you can change it before. When the filter is approaching its limit you will feel it.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 7th, 2014, 2:24 pm

All diesel men will change their tune when diesel stop being $1.50/litre.
(There is also a difference between fuel economy and cheap fuel)

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 7th, 2014, 2:53 pm

I also worry for the price of super. .... diesel more so as the majority of goods are transported by diesel engine vehicles... everything will raise :(

Postby Morpheus » August 7th, 2014, 2:55 pm

No subsidy checking in :cry:

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 7th, 2014, 3:02 pm

Diesel is abused locally..they really need to get rid of that subsidy or slowly remove it

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 7th, 2014, 3:19 pm

diesel subsidy would nvr be touched

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 7th, 2014, 3:21 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Diesel is abused locally..they really need to get rid of that subsidy or slowly remove it

Careful what you wish for. ... groceries are stocked by diesel vehicles and because everyone has to eat. ....

Postby DVSTT » August 7th, 2014, 3:43 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Diesel is abused locally..they really need to get rid of that subsidy or slowly remove it

This I agree with....

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 7th, 2014, 4:23 pm

You're looking at the short term impacts...do u see the US suffering from a subsidy prob
Long term effiency is better than a subsidy

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 7th, 2014, 4:39 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:You're looking at the short term impacts...do u see the US suffering from a subsidy prob
Long term effiency is better than a subsidy

They have a more efficient public transport system. ...we currently do not.
The US Btw owes the most amount of money to the world bank. .. Has very high taxes. .. Do I need to continue

Edit... not sure if it's the most bit I remember it being pretty large sums of money

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 7th, 2014, 4:54 pm

Trini's aren't the most pro active people.. All this talk bout a more efficient transport system..drop the subsidy and u will see how fast one develops..in addition to car pooling and less cars overall on the world.
BTW the us owes that money due highly to military cost etc.
U fighting down the subsidy just to keep a inefficient dumb ass van

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 7th, 2014, 6:49 pm

man chest gasket blow yes

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 7th, 2014, 7:26 pm

not sure if thread is hilarious or sad :/

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 7th, 2014, 9:23 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Trini's aren't the most pro active people.. All this talk bout a more efficient transport system..drop the subsidy and u will see how fast one develops..in addition to car pooling and less cars overall on the world.
BTW the us owes that money due highly to military cost etc.
U fighting down the subsidy just to keep a inefficient dumb ass van

It's sad that you can't see
I was merely stating the domino effect that would occur if the subsidies, especially on diesel, are removed.
Trinis have this false pride; we complain when they raise the price of anything yet going to buy it the next day without much protest.
I think most people will still be driving their vehicles normal.
The US loves conflict (check how much they were involved in)
My van is currently more efficient than my carburetor controlled car. ..:smile:
Public transport is subsidized as well

My apologies to viewers of this thread for side tracking it

Anyone have info on the new Mazda 3
Car looks good

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 7th, 2014, 10:42 pm

Wah de jail ... Jamaicans have ultra low sulphur diesel and E10 (ethanol and gasoline mix) ... Their fuel prices much higher ... They poorer than us and they more progressive ...

I agree with raising fuel prices ... Trini's will continue to be behind everyone else in the world until we pop the bubble we have all been living under.

Countries much poorer than us have dropped the fuel subsides and their people have risen to challenge.
It will force people to be more efficient and that can only be a good thing.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 7th, 2014, 10:54 pm

padnas d day they touch diesel prices every single thing is gonna raise

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 7th, 2014, 10:59 pm

nice comic relief with tha jamaica statement

Postby DVSTT » August 7th, 2014, 11:14 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:padnas d day they touch diesel prices every single thing is gonna raise

And the government that does it will significantly hurt their chances of reelection

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 7th, 2014, 11:25 pm

If I had a doomsday mentality and was an avid beach goer, surfer, off-roader, owned my own business and would need to carry around equipment or do pickups and or live in an area prone to flooding, steep inclines or declines and require torque and traction to pull a trailer then yes a pickup is def a vehicle of choice. Outside of that I think space wise, a captiva, sorento, Santa Fe and xtrail t31 can swallow up most stuff found in price smart with the back seats folded and they are all more luxurious and safer than any pickup with okayish off-road capability. Good doomsday compromise! The sgv 2.0 and 2.4 4wd is an excellent choice despite its dated design and semi lack of power. Pickups are too commercial and overpriced by design.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 7th, 2014, 11:36 pm

And almost 50k more expensive than

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 8th, 2014, 12:06 am

kjaglal76v2 wrote:padnas d day they touch diesel prices every single thing is gonna raise

People make it sound like everything gonna raise to the point of we will all starve and die. Transport costs make up a small fraction of an item in the supermarket, to use this as an example.To move an item from a warehouse to the supermarket is nothing. International shipping cost will not raise if diesel goes up, vat and duty will not go up and production/packaging costs will not go up and these are the factors that make up most of the price of an item.

So stop the fear mongering just cause your pos to sando runs will cost more.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 8th, 2014, 12:31 am

drchaos wrote:

People make it sound like everything gonna raise to the point of we will all starve and die. Transport costs make up a small fraction of an item in the supermarket, to use this as an example.To move an item from a warehouse to the supermarket is nothing. International shipping cost will not raise if diesel goes up, vat and duty will not go up and production/packaging costs will not go up and these are the factors that make up most of the price of an item.

stay dey in yur bubble & feel so

clearly you underestimate greedy private sector businessmen

diesel raise --> flour raise ----> doubles/bread raise

^^ daz jus flour alone, now apply that across the board for food,then maxi men goin raise d rates, down to the simple apple vendor wud raise prices to cover his increased travel & food bill, dont be naive ita gonna trickle right down.

with that said,d only way the govt cud actually control the subsidy to benefit true commercial transport is to raise the prices then offer a rebate maybe every quater to businesses affected

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » August 8th, 2014, 4:54 am

Those without vehicles will real suffer but I guess that doesn't concern y'all

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 8th, 2014, 4:55 am

kjaglal76v2 wrote:
drchaos wrote:

stay dey in yur bubble & feel so

clearly you underestimate greedy private sector businessmen

diesel raise --> flour raise ----> doubles/bread raise

^^ daz jus flour alone, now apply that across the board for food,then maxi men goin raise d rates, down to the simple apple vendor wud raise prices to cover his increased travel & food bill, dont be naive ita gonna trickle right down.

with that said,d only way the govt cud actually control the subsidy to benefit true commercial transport is to raise the prices then offer a rebate maybe every quater to businesses affected

Buh Dan, dai a bobol thing dey, rebates for men range rover and thing.

Postby Dave » August 8th, 2014, 6:08 am

Fellas keep on track. The topic name is new vehicles and prices.
Thank you

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 8th, 2014, 7:39 am

Mazda BT-50

$271k 2.2 4wd
$299k 3.2 4wd

arsenal32

Postby arsenal32 » August 8th, 2014, 12:26 pm

soliciting honest reviews comparing the new mazda3 and 6 to other cars in their price bracket.