T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

jhonnieblue

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby jhonnieblue » August 6th, 2014, 9:13 pm

Owned all of those vehicles.. Most brought new...one lesson I learned easily
New cars are the absolute worst investment a young person could ever make(30 and under)
Diesel is a waste unless your planning to go off road every weekend..being cheaper at the pump isn't worth the extra cost in maintenance and comfort...god those vans drive aweful..sorry I'm to old to care about such cheaply made vehicles.
SUV are a good balance but not worth the cost new
Honestly its a matter of opinion..but weigh out overall cost..insurance, fuel cost, service, maintenance, comfort, usability etc. I'm sure if you put together a spread sheet you can make a more informed decision.
As for diesel being more economic.. I currently drive a euro that does 800-900km off a tank of 170 super..so that point is null and void on the newer engines on the market.
Seriously. a new car is a horrible investment. Don't understand why people think its cool to take out a 7 yr loan to buy a piece of crap????..Trini's yes

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 6th, 2014, 9:15 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:so allyuh telling man how to spend dey $$ now??

an auto 4x4(hilux etc) is d best allround vehicle to own for daily commute on OUR nation's roads no matter the distance

Everybody just talking from they own personal experience here yuh know. At the end of the day do what ever floats your boat :mrgreen:

All we saying is why we don't think it makes sense for us. I mainly do highway central to south so for me a small fast car is de scene.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » August 6th, 2014, 9:28 pm

I want to know what road y'all does be driving on daily. I don't need a hilux to drive in Trinidad. The roads aren't as bad as y'all make it seem.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » August 6th, 2014, 10:16 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Owned all of those vehicles.. Most brought new...one lesson I learned easily
New cars are the absolute worst investment a young person could ever make(30 and under)
Diesel is a waste unless your planning to go off road every weekend..being cheaper at the pump isn't worth the extra cost in maintenance and comfort...god those vans drive aweful..sorry I'm to old to care about such cheaply made vehicles.
SUV are a good balance but not worth the cost new
Honestly its a matter of opinion..but weigh out overall cost..insurance, fuel cost, service, maintenance, comfort, usability etc. I'm sure if you put together a spread sheet you can make a more informed decision.
As for diesel being more economic.. I currently drive a euro that does 800-900km off a tank of 170 super..so that point is null and void on the newer engines on the market.
Seriously. a new car is a horrible investment. Don't understand why people think its cool to take out a 7 yr loan to buy a piece of crap????..Trini's yes

Suppose i take out a 7 yr loan for a non-piece of crap? care to make any suggestions as to a non-crappy option?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 6th, 2014, 10:32 pm

Sando to everywhere :smile:
But to highlight the bad ones
Sando to
Point Fortin
Erin
Princess Town
Moruga
Tabaquite
Mayaro
Any field road in South

Need I go on
Daily for me could be anywhere... :-)
The van is better at dealing with the rigors of the roads I travel
Last edited by kamakazi on August 6th, 2014, 10:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 6th, 2014, 10:33 pm

House..business..anything the appreciates instead of depreciates.. Kinda dumb question there no?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 6th, 2014, 10:34 pm

On a bad road I'd hate to use a van. On the road to point a car is more comfortable for the occupants at soaking up bumps than a van. Y'all making it sound like you driving thru heavy floods at least once a week or 2 feet deep potholes.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 6th, 2014, 10:41 pm

When last have you driven though La Brea. Shock and bushing replacements every two yrs. .. Be my guest
You will also need something longer than 2 feet to measure those potholes. .. cause they are in the class of craters
Last edited by kamakazi on August 6th, 2014, 10:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby j.o.e » August 6th, 2014, 10:42 pm

Van men preparing for zombie apocolypse.....personally I'm not a van or SUV guy..I prefer a car with decent size and comfort. I have no use for a tray and I hate the ride/drive of a pickup. Some guys have use for a van but I'll never understand some ppl thinking vans are luxurious.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 6th, 2014, 10:46 pm

kamakazi wrote:When last have you driven though La Brea. Shock and bushing replacements every two yrs. .. Be my guest
You will also need something longer than 2 feet to measure those potholes. .. cause they are in the class of craters

I drive a frickin lowered Jetta and been in la brea several times. No issues with suspension. Dunno what 2 feet deep potholes you talking bout. Y'all real like to exaggerate.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 6th, 2014, 10:54 pm

I must ask ....are you one of those people that slow down and zig zag to avoid everything on the road.
Several can mean more than one
How about 5 times a week for 10 months in the year

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 6th, 2014, 10:59 pm

No zig zagging. It not scraping the ground. Several other owners of cars I know work in point daily and from north. Make the trek to alng five days a week all year round. No suspension issues.

So you change bushings every two years. You gonna spend extra on a different vehicle. One with shorter service intervals, less comfort, less features, worse ride quality for occupants just so you don't have to change shock absorbers and bushings? What's the cost of the bushings and shocks?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 6th, 2014, 11:18 pm

Don't know haven't had to change them :-)
As regards features and comfort. .. I really only need power steering and air condition. ...I look at fancy features as more things to go wrong.
Ride quality...
Once it's better than the d22 Frontier. ...I am happy
Btw. ...I have another vehicle with no p/s, no ac, manual windows, manual transmission. ... Love it

Mention was made of a cramped cabin. ... my head was an inch of the roof liner of the jetta
Last edited by kamakazi on August 6th, 2014, 11:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 6th, 2014, 11:23 pm

sucks when you don't have a trunk, also when u have to shell out thousands of dollars for a tray cover ...

if fuel economy is your main concern I hear chevy have a spark with a 1.0L engine.
Should be real cheap to buy, run and maintain.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 6th, 2014, 11:25 pm

kamakazi wrote:Don't know haven't had to change them :-)

You mentioned having to change bushings every to years on your previous car no?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 6th, 2014, 11:43 pm

Co worker
Was relating a Co workers experience
Last edited by kamakazi on August 6th, 2014, 11:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 6th, 2014, 11:45 pm

jump high jump low, an auto pickup is far superior to any car in its price bracket!!

plz tell me abt the short & expensive service intervals u guys tlkin abt

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 6th, 2014, 11:51 pm

superior? depends on what u doing with that pickup boyo ...

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 7th, 2014, 12:03 am

All vehicles have their good and their not so good.
I know the weaknesses of mine as I am sure you are aware of the weaknesses of yours.
For me. .. the van makes more sense but everyone's situation is different. .. the jetta probably makes more sense to you
Enjoy your vehicle :smile:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 7th, 2014, 12:04 am

kjaglal76v2 wrote:jump high jump low, an auto pickup is far superior to any car in its price bracket!!

Fuel filter replacement at every 5 to 10,000 km? Oil filter changes recommended more often (compared to gasoline vehicles) due to the level of sulphur (500 ppm) in our diesel? More expensive brake pads?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 7th, 2014, 12:06 am

kamakazi wrote:All vehicles have their good and their not so good.
I know the weaknesses of mine as I am sure you are aware of the weaknesses of yours.
For me. .. the van makes more sense but everyone's situation is different. .. the jetta probably makes more sense to you
Enjoy your vehicle :smile:

Agreed :drinking:

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » August 7th, 2014, 12:13 am

so.. sorry to digress about all this 'diesel vs everything else' talk, but i coulda swear I saw the new Macan in Lifestyle showroom tonight..
didnt think they'd reach here so fast! assuming it is in fact he Macan

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 7th, 2014, 12:17 am

tires for a pickup real expensive too

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 7th, 2014, 12:20 am

scotty_buttons wrote:so.. sorry to digress about all this 'diesel vs everything else' talk, but i coulda swear I saw the new Macan in Lifestyle showroom tonight..

I realize Porsche, BMW and Benz don't stick to get the latest models here. Hoping Jaguar does the same with the new XE. Looking forward to that.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 7th, 2014, 12:29 am

XE will probably more expensive than the comparable BMW, Merc or Audi. Its ansa we talking bout here also that mostly aluminum body aint cheap.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 7th, 2014, 12:49 am

Yeah but if they smart and really trying to compete with the 3 series it shouldn't be a whole lot more expensive than the 320i I'm thinking. If Jaguar messes up with the XE they pretty much eventually go out of business or suffer. Hoping that makes them competitive with their offerings.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 7th, 2014, 1:02 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:jump high jump low, an auto pickup is far superior to any car in its price bracket!!

Fuel filter replacement at every 5 to 10,000 km? Oil filter changes recommended more often (compared to gasoline vehicles) due to the level of sulphur (500 ppm) in our diesel? More expensive brake pads?

We talking oem or aftermarket

For diesel fuel I use the oem filter but my interval is 15000kms

For oil filter I use Purolator... my old man does 10000km intervals; mine not so much. The Sulphur isn't the reason why the filter needs to be replaced often. That honor goes to the egr system for introducing soot back into the intake and eventually back into the oil. The high Sulphur comment shortens oil life. The soot shortens both filter and oil life.

Bosch for the front
OEM for the rear.

Doing a vehicle to vehicle comparison
2.7 gas lux vs 3.0 diesel lux both auto

Diesel
6.5 litres of oil
More frequent fuel filter replacements
Checking water separator frequently
Servicing or replacing fuel system parts generally more costly
Glow plugs in diesel

Gas
5 liters of oil(same filter for both)
Fuel filter can sit there for almost 40000kms
Injectors not as susceptible to water damage (lower pressures larger tolerances and openings)
Sparkplugs need replacing
Last edited by kamakazi on August 7th, 2014, 1:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 7th, 2014, 1:04 am

Was off the top of my head so please excuse the mixup on the sulphur. I was talking oem intervals. I don't really deal up too much with aftermarket.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 7th, 2014, 1:06 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

^^_exaggerated figures

drchaos wrote:tires for a pickup real expensive too

not by much, but they last a helluva lot longer

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » August 7th, 2014, 1:07 am

scotty_buttons wrote:so.. sorry to digress about all this 'diesel vs everything else' talk, but i coulda swear I saw the new Macan in Lifestyle showroom tonight..

mecans in the showroom about a month now....saw a grey on the road today.
prices not that bad either ,rep says starting at 675 if I recall correctly...good bye evouqe :lol: