T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

acesinghit

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby acesinghit » July 31st, 2014, 5:38 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
acesinghit wrote:. . .Going down on my knees tonight praying that the Devil doesn't touch Volkswagen...

:? Wait, VW makes good looking cars? Since when? The Jetta is so boring to look at. The Passat is just a bigger, just as boring, Jetta.

it has a clean executive kinda look...may not have the sporty appeal like say a mazda 6 or Altima but I wont call it boring.

Postby RASC » July 31st, 2014, 7:51 pm

acesinghit wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:
acesinghit wrote:. . .Going down on my knees tonight praying that the Devil doesn't touch Volkswagen...

:? Wait, VW makes good looking cars? Since when? The Jetta is so boring to look at. The Passat is just a bigger, just as boring, Jetta.

it has a clean executive kinda look...may not have the sporty appeal like say a mazda 6 or Altima but I wont call it boring.

Same Jetta and Passat we talking about here?
Other than their Hatches and CC I would call it downright dreadful.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » July 31st, 2014, 8:58 pm

To each his own but the Jetta style is boring

Postby DVSTT » July 31st, 2014, 10:43 pm

I actually prefer the look if the older model Passat from 09

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 31st, 2014, 10:59 pm

That cruze is designed for the Chinese market and not for the rest of us.

Some may say vw is boring but it's not a design that in 5 to 10 years you will think " how drunk was I when I bought this ugly piece of scrap". Cough........ cough "elantra".

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 1st, 2014, 12:23 am

DVSTT wrote:I actually prefer the look if the older model Passat from 09

This!

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 1st, 2014, 1:32 am

The new jetta and the new passat look almost the same. .... its almost the same size by the looks of it. Between those two I prefer the new passat (I am a sucker for projector lights
I like the look of the new elantra...I also believe it will age well. But for best looks in an economy car, my vote goes to the mazda 3

Only problem I have with cars designed with flowing lines is lack of headroom... which is evident when you sit in the back of them

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 3rd, 2014, 12:11 pm

If going on looks I'd go with the Mazda 3 as well. Really nice design. I think in years to come elantra owners will look back and think why did they buy this. Don't think it will age well.

Postby gt4tified » August 3rd, 2014, 12:31 pm

They should change the name of this thread.

#bashcarsdatwecyahafford

Postby DVSTT » August 4th, 2014, 6:55 am

gt4tified wrote:They should change the name of this thread.

#bashcarsdatwecyahafford

Versa owner ?

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 4th, 2014, 7:37 pm

lol @ the euro men talking about vehicles not aging well, when when talks come about reliability, the old excuse of, "who keeps their car for more than 5- 10 years anyway?" manages to pop up :lol:

Postby DVSTT » August 4th, 2014, 8:12 pm

Dad has a hilux doing half a million kilos, from 1998-present. No real significant problems with it, but oil and filters are changed every 10k kilos.

Postby 1UZFE » August 4th, 2014, 10:43 pm

DVSTT wrote:
gt4tified wrote:They should change the name of this thread.

#bashcarsdatwecyahafford

Versa owner ?
hahaha...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 5th, 2014, 12:09 am

Yeah but its a hilux ... who cares if it lasts 100 years. I would probably shoot myself if I had to drive it every day for more than a year ....

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » August 5th, 2014, 7:42 am

tourniquet wrote:lol @ the euro men talking about vehicles not aging well, when when talks come about reliability, the old excuse of, "who keeps their car for more than 5- 10 years anyway?" manages to pop up :lol:

Considering the average new car buyer does in fact keep their car for 4-7 years the "excuse" is totally valid in a "New Car thread".

With regard to looks aging on cars. I only consider that important when you purchase a year or two before a major model change. Then your car can look very dated. Otherwise to me it's not something that concerns the average new car buyer.

drchaos wrote:Yeah but its a hilux ... who cares if it lasts 100 years. I would probably shoot myself if I had to drive it every day for more than a year ....

+1

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 6th, 2014, 6:07 am

drchaos wrote:Yeah but its a hilux ... who cares if it lasts 100 years. I would probably shoot myself if I had to drive it every day for more than a year ....

Why bro?

Other than a lighter steering feel and a heating option, I can't really fault my lux.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 6th, 2014, 1:37 pm

It's not that I hate the the thing but that it's designed for a narrow spectrum of use. The thing does best in extreme conditions, towing, carrying heavy loads and serious off road use.

The vehicle is not designed for comfort, fun driving, speed, interior entertainment, handling, cornering, safety, smooth operation and so on.

Also I'm not convinced diesel is the magic bullet that everyone makes it out to be. They are expensive to maintain and buy with short maintenance intervals. Engines are large with poor fuel economy, most I the 20'ties with us mpg's. They give the illusion that they are fast because of the high torque and the fact that the engine's rumble can be very loud and felt through every bone in ones body, but I assure you they are pretty sluggish.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 6th, 2014, 3:02 pm

drchaos wrote:It's not that I hate the the thing but that it's designed for a narrow spectrum of use. The thing does best in extreme conditions, towing, carrying heavy loads and serious off road use.

The vehicle is not designed for comfort, fun driving, speed, interior entertainment, handling, cornering, safety, smooth operation and so on.

Also I'm not convinced diesel is the magic bullet that everyone makes it out to be. They are expensive to maintain and buy with short maintenance intervals. Engines are large with poor fuel economy, most I the 20'ties with us mpg's. They give the illusion that they are fast because of the high torque and the fact that the engine's rumble can be very loud and felt through every bone in ones body, but I assure you they are pretty sluggish.

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » August 6th, 2014, 4:05 pm

drchaos wrote:It's not that I hate the the thing but that it's designed for a narrow spectrum of use. The thing does best in extreme conditions, towing, carrying heavy loads and serious off road use.

this is the most accurate statement I've read in this here ched .If you not planting garden,hustling on the port or partake in regular water sports I see no reason for owning these type of vehicles.

Postby DVSTT » August 6th, 2014, 4:35 pm

whyteliver wrote:

this is the most accurate statement I've read in this here ched .If you not planting garden,hustling on the port or partake in regular water sports I see no reason for owning these type of vehicles.

If your jobs is in POS and you are from San Fernando you'll be relieved to drive a diesel vehicle.

Postby S_2NR » August 6th, 2014, 4:59 pm

DVSTT wrote:
whyteliver wrote:

If your jobs is in POS and you are from San Fernando you'll be relieved to drive a diesel vehicle.

just fuel economy?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 6th, 2014, 5:00 pm

I must mention that the lux also came with a gasoline engine.
Bigger tyres also do a better job of absorbing the impacts of a pothole and bridging the gap across some of them. .
Flooding also happens. .. Sometimes in areas where you least expect it.

It's honestly not cheaper to run the diesel as was mentioned. . The lux as an example the gas auto version was $50k cheaper than the 3.0 L diesel auto. That could potentially buy fuel for close to 180000km. (It runs on super at about 10km/l). No timing belt to change, lower service costs, lower insurance premiums etc.

Reaching your destination faster by speeding now is an exercise in futility. ... too many cars on the road. More than 30000 cars already registered from the beginning of this year alone

Some of those other items are subjective
Fun for me is exploring the limits of grip in any vehicle. Van is usually run in rwd ... kicking the back end out is fun.
Driving through mud is fun
Driving off road is fun :grin:
Don't need 1.0g of grip to have it
Last edited by kamakazi on August 6th, 2014, 5:33 pm, edited 3 times in total.

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » August 6th, 2014, 5:24 pm

DVSTT wrote:
whyteliver wrote:

if that's your only reason for buying a lux then there are tons of other options that are more economical in the long and short run.

Postby DVSTT » August 6th, 2014, 5:58 pm

whyteliver wrote:
DVSTT wrote:
whyteliver wrote:

if that's your only reason for buying a lux then there are tons of other options that are more economical in the long and short run.

That wasn't my reason for buying a hilux, that was my reason for choosing diesel over gas.

Postby cinco » August 6th, 2014, 6:23 pm

DVSTT wrote:
whyteliver wrote:
DVSTT wrote:
whyteliver wrote:

That wasn't my reason for buying a hilux, that was my reason for choosing diesel over gas.

An nze corolla gets 600 to a tank of super ~$90

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 6th, 2014, 7:55 pm

Lol at men who think owning a diesel vehicle is better than a petrol one cause they save at the pump. What you save at the pump pays for higher maintenance, a small cabin, a rough ride, subpar handling attributes and less comfort/luxury feats including safety. Feel sorry for those 260k navara automatic leather drivers out there who feel they have a luxury starship vs a more superior roro bluebird sylphy. Navara dash hideous and dated like that of a b12 sentra and the leather soo fake, thin and cheap.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 6th, 2014, 8:47 pm

so allyuh telling man how to spend dey $$ now??

an auto 4x4(hilux etc) is d best allround vehicle to own for daily commute on OUR nation's roads no matter the distance

Postby S_2NR » August 6th, 2014, 8:49 pm

I would say an SUV is best suited for our roads and the average Joe who is not carrying any load

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 6th, 2014, 8:53 pm

S_2NR wrote:I would say an SUV is best suited for our roads and the average Joe who is not carrying any load

like tucsons???

find those kinda low & i doubt dey wud standup well in a flood like wah happen in south recently

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 6th, 2014, 9:10 pm

Lard boy ace :P doh insult meh wife ride so nah boy :P
The pleather is cheap, the plastic interior does scratch real bad, the welding and painting so bad on the roof that i can see small rust spots where the roof panel join.

She just like it cause it big ....